Carlton in no man's land

I have been a long time reader of this forum and finally decided to sign up, the one thing I have noticed is how quickly Carlton supporters have gone from saying they have a Premiership list to them now needing to completely rebuild. Looking at their team last night there was about 5 players that wouldn't get a game at most clubs in the competition..

Only watched sporadic bits of the game as it was on the background of a function I was attending.

But I don’t think I’ve seen many games where a lack of putting one’s head over the ball was more evident.
Sydney were no exception I have to admit but most Carlton players were woeful .

And Holy crap Nik Blakey must have just been laughing his head off at the amount of times it was kicked to him by the opposition

It’s looking pretty grim but I would still put money on Carlton losing a few more games , copping heaps of media flak and then coming out and beating us again in a few weeks time like what happens most years .

People need to stop and realise how special this is. Footy moves so quick that narratives change from week to week, but at the start of the season I’d made peace with Carlton finally doing damage in September.

They have the weapons up front to blow a big final apart.

Somehow they’ve stuffed this up, again. Truly amazing and I’m very grateful.

I thought the same about Setterfield.

I'd be curious to see how Dow went somewhere that gives him midfield time. I think Carlton stamped his papers very early when he didn't dominate early, classic Carlton impatience.

Dow will probably end up at the Saints or North.

Dow like Setterfield will be a good AFL mid. Nothing special but good enough for the level and certainly deserves a run at it after great VFL form.

Right now we have a far better mid in Matt Kennedy lining up at full back whilst our AA HBF splits his time between inside mid and HFF.

Shouldn’t that tell you all you need to know.

That AA system while giving joy to Carlton fans, is cooked?

Have Carlton replaced us in No Man's Land?

Like us I think they have the list to get out of No Man's Land, they just need to get a better coach to lead them out of it.

I don't think Voss is the answer, they missed the boat on a gun experienced coach like Clarko or RTB so they need to get a gun assistant coach like Fly.

Bombers been stuck in no man's land since early 00s.

West Coast should offer to take Williams off Carlton's hands if the Carlton throw in their first pick in this year's draft. Just like the Suns did with Jack Bowes. That'd give West Coast two top 5 picks in this year's draft. Given that they'd be n rebuild mode they'd have the salary cap space to absorb Williams' hefty price tag
Free agent deals stay with the club regardless of trade apparently. If we trade Williams his money would still be on our books.

Did not know that. Cheers.
That can't possibly be right.
You can trade out money if another club is willing to take it on. The money stays in the cap if a player is retired or delisted early, and money can’t be moved from year to year, IIRC.
That's the dumbest rule I've ever heard
Not entirely sure myself but one bloke on our board is absolutely adamant thats the rule. Seems stupid as **** if you ask me but something to do with Buddy and Tippett stuff which resulted in them bringing in a rule.

Hope for our sake he's just on the pipe but I do recall hearing something like that in the media a couple years back.

Not entirely sure myself but one bloke on our board is absolutely adamant thats the rule. Seems stupid as **** if you ask me but something to do with Buddy and Tippett stuff which resulted in them bringing in a rule.

Hope for our sake he's just on the pipe but I do recall hearing something like that in the media a couple years back.
Might have some truth to this, though I recall with Buddy the conversation was Sydney can't have him retire a year early and save any cap space. The full value goes into the salary cap. I can't think of another example of a free agent then being traded on the proviso that someone else pays their salary or the original club pays a certain amount.

There have been a couple of contracts that got renegotiated. Daniher went on a deal to give Essendon the best compensation but then his deal was extended and renegotiated, it seemed like a loophole. Vickery (shudders) I think as well went to Hawks for two years for best compensation then his contract went to 3 years.

If true, buyer beware I guess. Don't sign a big money contract for a player and think there is any getting out of it.

I have been a long time reader of this forum and finally decided to sign up, the one thing I have noticed is how quickly Carlton supporters have gone from saying they have a Premiership list to them now needing to completely rebuild. Looking at their team last night there was about 5 players that wouldn't get a game at most clubs in the competition..
You only counted 5?

Weitering mentioned that they are good enough but just can’t kick straight. Reality is, if they had more shots within 30m they would have a much better record. Too many inside dump kick types who don’t get that extra hand on the ball before an I50.

They've got another game v WCE but apart from that yeah... 16th looks about right for the Blues this year.
I don't reckon you could pick Carlton against any team in the comp apart from West Coast at the moment.

Carlton needed some very favourable umpiring to get some momentum against North earlier in the season, and they have improved since then whilst Carlton have regressed...

Carlton in no man's land