Carlton trades and delistings

Plentyblckie - you should post this on the Carlton Board. Very interesting stuff and it all sounds plausible to me but naturally not many people are going to take your word for it due to your join date.

Post it anyway, if anything it makes for an interesting read and makes for some good discussion.

Hey Smoo

Your right it is easy to link players going back to their home state but don't be fooled by this. A player going back home plays a big role - say like Browne at Carlton where he would love to stay at Carlton but it makes it easier for Carlton to convince him to leave to go back to WA say than SA especially if he is contracted. And all clubs believe rightly or wrongly that Going home factor is a carrot for some players so all clubs look at who they may target who is playing interstate.
James Fantasia - when he was the recruiting guy at Crows always used to say that he would target all SA boys 2 years after they were drafted to interstate clubs.
So if say the Crows wanted Buddy they would have potentially 3 things to use to try and get him
1. Money (more than Hawks paying him)
2. A special relationship with someone at Crows ( say Todd Viney)
3. Success - more than Hawks could offer

But If Freo wanted him they potentially could offer him the same 3 things BUT also that he is coming Home to family and friends. Sometimes that 4th factor can swing it.

I'll spew if Carlton trade away to aquire Lonergan or Staker. The rest are all interesting.

The one that grabs my attention is Shannon Hurn. Mind you, there is no way he would leave the Eagles. But it doesn't surprise me as the club is desperately seeking a player with a lethal kick (i.e. our 3 year deal we offered Drummond 2 years back and our aquisition of Johnson from Melbourne which clearly hasn't worked out the way the club would like).

What do you mean by 'agree to come'. I'm guessing those players have stated an interest in moving to Carlton if deals can get done?

Travis Boak is the massive one for mine. If true, I daresay trade week will be massively focused around him.

So Boak is contracted until end of 2010.

You do realise he was pick 5 in the superdraft and is probably the building block of Port's midfield into the future. He is a gun midfielder who will win his own ball, weave through traffic and then deliver. Kicking sometimes a little bit off.

Pick 5 from the superdraft...what would Port want? Jacobs and a second round pick? :D

To start off you'd need a top 10 pick then something else. We have pick 11 in a draft no where near as good as 06 but some think this and some rubbish player will get a deal done?

Surely you'd watch more footy and see what half these players people throw up at trade time are like, how much they might be worth, whether a deal could actually be done, contract situation and salary cap situation.

McKinley...we already have one forward who is at times lazy...do you actually watch McKinley? He's the king of junk time goals when the eagles have an easy win at home...what's his workrate like? Is he actually different from any forward we have? DOes he lead up hard and draw a defender away? I don't think so. He's a flanker type who will reduce the amount of defensive pressure we can apply in the forward line.

As I hear more I will certainly let you know.
All I'll tell you about pick 11 is that he is still involved with his TAC Team in finals.

Cheers:thumbsu:

Serhat Temel with pick 11??? :eek:

I'm calling bulltish.....the only kid running around (well he aint running around at the moment) in the TAC finals who can play at both ends isn't guaranteed to make it to 11, and I would say contested marking isn't his biggest strength as well.

coryne said:
Boak for #27

I've heard a lot of shocking trade suggestions on this site, but this is the absolute worst one yet. Unless of course you forgot to mention that Port are throwing in our second rounder and Carlton are throwing in Kreuzer, Gibbs or Murphy, which would make it roughly fair.

You have the wrong boy - that lad kicked a few last week for the Cannons but hes not going at 11.
If you watch TAC Cup and watched the u18 champs you will have a fair idea of whom I am talking about.
Plays both ends and takes contested marks. Also a super kick!
But he will need a little time to grow into his body properly.

As I have said Boak will be difficult but he wants to be a blue - simple as that - it doesn't guarantee anything but will make trade week very interesting especially for Port.

The Blues have spoken to the following players and have had these players agree to come but must still work on deals with their clubs

Barry Hall - have almost agreed deal with Sydney

Sydnet still have Hall on list and they are keen on a couple of our players. Barry has told Carlton he would certainly look favourably at joining us. Watch this space

Feva25

Hall I suppose gives us another option going forward and throw in that probably Kruz will also go forward next year it may work well if he can keep his head straight as his body is still in good nick.

The feeling is that he allows us some time to develop Kruz and the no11 pick kid.

The Swans will probably take Bentick (he was close to going last year).
Barry would be rapt to be going to the blues (far less expectations than the dogs). All that stands in the way is Carlton being confident enough with his mind (the are more than happy in his body and believe they could get at least 2 years out of it). If it falls over it is simply because they are worried about his mind. But some at Carlton reckon it may well be worth a punt because a firing Barry Hall would improve the Blues immensley.
All things being equal Carlton edge the dogs out.

Keep me posted on this.

I just cannot see a downside to the Club in drafting Barry Hall. It would cost us a late third round pick in value (plus maybe a fringe player) at worst.

Cameron Cloke or Barry Hall at CHF for the next 2-3 years? Its a no-brainer for mine.

Less one dimensional up forward, back-up for Fevola should he go down, frees up fevola by drawing the second defender... frees up Hall by having the attention and best defenders go to Fevola... with Betts + Yarran roving off packs these two crash.

Christ, Hall averages 3 goals a game on his own boot... no injuries, looks fit, form consistent this year. We keep him and Fevola fit (and sane) and he's probably worth at least an additional 50 goals a year to the side and a good crack at an early flag over the next 2 years.

And he comes cheap.

Where do I sign?

Keep me posted on this.
Christ, Hall averages 3 goals a game on his own boot... no injuries, looks fit, form consistent this year. We keep him and Fevola fit (and sane) and he's probably worth at least an additional 50 goals a year to the side and a good crack at an early flag over the next 2 years.

And he comes cheap.

Where do I sign?

Have been against drafting Barry Hall, but there's certainly a number of positives if we do - would be worth the gamble if he comes fairly cheap

As for Boak, that would be brilliant, not sure how we'd get him, though

He's also a good Anglesea boy, which gives him more kudos.

We need to keep pick 11 (i'd say at almost ALL costs) for that tall KPP that's been mentioned, sounds like Talia who does need a little more muscle, which he can build on.

Be a ripper couple of months if we got Boak, Ball, & Talia. Although I'd say we'd get very long odds on achieving all of that

Anderson - WCE

Well we have a need for a small defender lost Wirra, Nicko and B Jones not in great form and waters has been injured all year so its possible were interested. would be pretty low value wouldn't he?

Anderson - WCE

Well we have a need for a small defender lost Wirra, Nicko and B Jones not in great form and waters has been injured all year so its possible were interested. would be pretty low value wouldn't he?

Would be very low value.

So much so that unless he wanted to leave and asked to be traded, I'm not sure what would be in it for us to trade him.

I've heard a lot of shocking trade suggestions on this site, but this is the absolute worst one yet. Unless of course you forgot to mention that Port are throwing in our second rounder and Carlton are throwing in Kreuzer, Gibbs or Murphy, which would make it roughly fair.

Agree. We have nothing that would do it.

Jordan Russell is 22 might be likely. He is a former first rounder, a SA kid and started to play some really good footy for us over the second half of the year. Would probably thrive with less of a spotlight than he gets at Carlton. Probably worth a late 1st rounder early second rounder.

But even him + our second rounder wouldn't get it done.

Unless it was something like Gibbs for Boak + Ports first rounder, I cant see a trade eventuating.

Um you do realise what I ACTUALLY SAID was

So we can bookmark Talia for pick #11, Boak for #27 and players (Who ??? A combination of Fisher, Jacobs, Russel, Simpson ??? Couldn't see it for less than this IF #11 is off the table) and Hall for some players ???

Was taking the piss out of the guy thinking we are going to actually pick up Boak for a 2nd rd pick and players if #11 was off the table......... I would suggest you actually read a post before you reply to it ............

Well, admittedly I missed the added players, but even then it's a shocking deal for us. If you were taking the piss, I'll let you off. Maybe my sarcasm detector is malfunctioning.

Malifice said:
Agree. We have nothing that would do it.

Jordan Russell is 22 might be likely. He is a former first rounder, a SA kid and started to play some really good footy for us over the second half of the year. Would probably thrive with less of a spotlight than he gets at Carlton. Probably worth a late 1st rounder early second rounder.

But even him + our second rounder wouldn't get it done.

Him and your first rounder wouldn't get it done. Russell has improved massively on this time last year and is now a true AFL-quality player who I wouldn't mind at Port, but not to the point where the club would consider trading a future Port Adelaide captain for him and a pick which is just likely to be a flop as it is a success.

Malifice said:
Unless it was something like Gibbs for Boak + Ports first rounder, I cant see a trade eventuating.

There's no way Port would do that. On what we've seen so far, Gibbs isn't a huge amount ahead of Boak anyway.

You have the wrong boy - that lad kicked a few last week for the Cannons but hes not going at 11.
If you watch TAC Cup and watched the u18 champs you will have a fair idea of whom I am talking about.
Plays both ends and takes contested marks. Also a super kick!
But he will need a little time to grow into his body properly.

As I have said Boak will be difficult but he wants to be a blue - simple as that - it doesn't guarantee anything but will make trade week very interesting especially for Port.
Can you give us any mor info on this guy? IS he a ruckman as well eg. Craig and Vardy. Or a Panos and Talia type

I have also been against us getting Bazza. But I think he would be useful as a cheap pick up. Hold down CHF/FF for a couple of years while Kreuzer develops a bit more and/or our pick 11 (if a kpp) gets a couple of pre seasons under his belt. BUT, when Bazza & Sydney parted company, we were one of the first clubs to say NO to picking him up. So I remain sceptical. Hopeful, but sceptical.

I have been a Jordan Russell basher big time in the past, but his second half of this season was VERY good. Just started to show a bit of what he's got. If he keeps improving at this rate, will be a good footballer. Now may be a good time to trade him if he is on the table. Would be good as part of a trade package.

Agreed. If you'd swapped them... Boaks out put at carlton would be almost, if not, the same as Gibbs

Haven't seen all that much of Boak but I hear he is good.

But don't undersell Gibbs. Already a borderline elite player at 20... and still with plenty of room to improve.

Would be a certainty for future captain at Port if he ended up there.

So if say the Crows wanted Buddy they would have potentially 3 things to use to try and get him
1. Money (more than Hawks paying him)
2. A special relationship with someone at Crows ( say Todd Viney)
3. Success - more than Hawks could offer

But If Freo wanted him they potentially could offer him the same 3 things BUT also that he is coming Home to family and friends. Sometimes that 4th factor can swing it.

Bwahahaha -- funniest shit I have heard today. Fremantle using success to lure a player.

Malifice said:
But don't undersell Gibbs. Already a borderline elite player at 20... and still with plenty of room to improve.

So's Boak (except IIRC he's 21).

Malifice said:
Would be a certainty for future captain at Port if he ended up there.

So's Boak.

Carlton trades and delistings