Gouldy

Sep 18, 2007
Sunny coast
Manchester United
This game is going to be an absolute cracker for sure.

And I believe Carlton are going to come into it in the best possible position, apart from the fact that we have indeed traveled the week before.

We're coming off an epic win, where the only bloke that had a 'bad' game (Stevens) still managed over 10 disposals in the last quarter.

and again, our Number One forward only managed 2 goals (not including his last goal which didnt effect the result). it should be interesting to see if Fev can kick another bag on O'brien.

Our young players are looking AWESOME Kreuzer was instrumental up forward, taking pack marks and kicking goals on the run, Marc Murphy never stopped working especially in the last qtr he got heaps of the ball and was the one of the 3-4 players that got us over the line, Bryce Gibbs completely closed down Ports x factor in chad cornes, which shows he is both flexible in his playing style and that he can match it with the best of them, Jordan Russell was hard at the ball and appeared to be there whenever it counted as to with Bentick. and Simpson....well what can i say?:D, that magical left foot of his comes thru with the goods again. mentions also to armfield and grigg.

quite obviously we know how to beat the pies.

Collingwood were pushed right until the final siren by Melbourne and you could see that by looking at the players. At one stage Dale Thomas jst about fainted, kudos to him tho, he never stops.

They are in good form, but are due for a loss, they will lose a day of recovery and they should know very well that we will make them work twice as hard than Melbourne did.

look out pies and be ready for tough match.

I can't wait either. Heading to the game with some Collingwood supporting friends too which should make it all the more interesting!

Go Blues! Do us all proud! :thumbsu:

Having an extra days rest will help us.

Fev will be looking forward to playing (finally) in a one on one situation.

Boys will be full of confidence next week. Cannot wait to go to the footy, haven't since the lions game now :(

Bloody exams. Couldn't go to Round 4 against the Pies because of mid-semester exams, and now this week I get f*cked again by the gods, with exams on Monday, Thursday and Friday of next week, all but ruling out me going to the game.

:(

Will be an absolute ripper.

Bloody exams. Couldn't go to Round 4 against the Pies because of mid-semester exams, and now this week I get f*cked again by the gods, with exams on Monday, Thursday and Friday of next week, all but ruling out me going to the game.

Cmon mate! Surely you can put in a few more hours of study leading up to Sunday and head to the game. It's only 3 hours!!!

i heard he did a hamstring. I hope his out for just one more week.. I mean very rarely does someone come back from a hamstring after a week...

Originally i heard a hammy, but then i heard a back injury so i dunno.

Burns said after the match he should be right to go and he was surprised he didn't pull up for this game as he was fine yesterday.

Originally i heard a hammy, but then i heard a back injury so i dunno.

Burns said after the match he should be right to go and he was surprised he didn't pull up for this game as he was fine yesterday.

god damn it. You guys really missed him today against Melbourne. I hope his out anyways LOL

You don't go to Melbourne Uni by any chance, do you?

Definitely need our backline to be on song against Didak, Thomas, Leon and Medhurst whom all are in super form, or have been recently.

I propose:
Armfield on Thomas
Jammo on Medhurst
Carrazzo on Leon
Gibbs on Didak

with Waite and Carlos to go Cloke and Rocca respectively.

Study at half time?

Cmon mate! Surely you can put in a few more hours of study leading up to Sunday and head to the game. It's only 3 hours!!!

Look it'd be fantastic to be there, it's kind of devastating, but 4.5 hours, leave home at 1 get home at 5.30-6ish is just too much time to lose :(

You don't go to Melbourne Uni by any chance, do you?

Yep.

Hopefully today was our "down game". Should be a great match though, always worry playing the Blues, especially because your blokes will be on a high after this weekends match.

Definitely need our backline to be on song against Didak, Thomas, Leon and Medhurst whom all are in super form, or have been recently.

I propose:
Armfield on Thomas
Jammo on Medhurst
Carrazzo on Leon
Gibbs on Didak

with Waite and Carlos to go Cloke and Rocca respectively.
i would love to see Armfield on thomas, but id rather gibbs on thomas and maybe armfield on leon, chuck carazzo on medhurst and jammo on didak. naturally waite on cloke and thornton on rocca. dunno bout setanta, maybe play him on cloke and have waite as a loose goose in defence.

Yeah that's a good call.

I thought T-bird was good on Motlop so perhaps he could start on Didak. So how about:

Armfield - Leon
Gibbs - Thomas
Thornton - Didak
Jammo - Medhurst
Waite - Cloke
Carlos - Rocca

?

Yeah that's a good call.

I thought T-bird was good on Motlop so perhaps he could start on Didak. So how about:

Armfield - Leon
Gibbs - Thomas
Thornton - Didak
Jammo - Medhurst
Waite - Cloke
Carlos - Rocca

?
agreed. armfield seems to be able to go with the slippery indigenous players. and thornton needs to be very physical with didak, put him off his game and make sure he doesnt get an inch, make sure he earns every kick he gets if any. i think these are the two key matchups down back.
gibbs and thomas will be one of the best matchups for the day.
hopefully r. shaw plays on the Juddstar, r. shaw is their best tagger and he isntn within sniffing distance of judd.

Got to be Carlos on Rocca and Thorn maybe on Meds - he would be too good overhead for Carrots, if we tried it - Malthouse would put Meds to FF to capitalize
This is assuming Jammo out - he has Meds measure

Yeah that's a good call.

Armfield - Leon
Gibbs - Thomas
Thornton - Didak
Jammo - Medhurst
Waite - Cloke
Carlos - Rocca

?

I agree this is how the match-ups should be. Armfield on Davis would be an interesting one. 3rd gamer against a player who has chalked up 150. Certainly Army has the pace to match it with Davis & his aggressive tackling could put Davis off his game.

Being able to have these match-ups really demonstrates how well our defence is developing. We now have a number of options & are able to really have a 'horses for courses' defence. Even more pleasing is the fact we still have Bower, Banno & Walker to add to the defence. Our defensive depth has gone from being extremely thin, to heading towards a wealth of options.

Surely you can have a rest on a Sunday afternoon?

I've never studied when Carlton are playing.

Who will get the Fev this time round?

O'Brien again?

Maxwell please. :cool:

It would be good to see Mick put Brown on a quick leading player and see how good their young defender really is.

Hopefully Bentick can replace Hadley's influence from round four and block for Judd on the wider spaces of the G.

We love playing at the MCG. :thumbsu: :)

Who is the unlucky player if we promote Jamison?

Do we even need another tall with Rocca out?

Thornton-Medhurst, Gibbs-Didak, Thomas-Armfield, Carrazzo-Davis, Waite-Cloke, Setanta-??????.

Browne and Armfield have replaced Pfeiffer and Bannister in the team that won in round four.

Browne might be under the most pressure to hold his spot.

Pfeiffer for Scotland would be my change.

Carlton vs. Collingwood