List Mgmt. Carlton's 2018 Draft Thread (cont. in Part 2)

Article can't be taken seriously when it throws in "He's a good-looking rooster" :)

Couldn't see Carlton taking him anywhere in the top 20 should we manufacture such a pick.
Probably not a pick for Adelaide either and maybe even Port. Essendon should have hung onto the pick #9

Article can't be taken seriously when it throws in "He's a good-looking rooster" :)

Couldn't see Carlton taking him anywhere in the top 20 should we manufacture such a pick.
Probably not a pick for Adelaide either and maybe even Port. Essendon should have hung onto the pick #9
Adelaide will take him as they know they will lose players again next year ... ;)

Those selections will all come in a bit, because Norf and the Swans will use a large number of picks on Tarryn Thomas, Bailey Scott & Nick Blakey.
I've tried to come up with 3 different ones to LemmingMaster, TerryWallet & Arr0w.

Tom Lewis 179cm 80kg, 18/2/2000, Sturt SA, Inside Midfielder

Was an integral cog in a very well drilled and organised SA midfield. Lewis is one of those players you're shocked to find out is only 179cm, because he looks like he's mid 180s when you watch him live. Was given the role of a defensive midfielder throughout much of U18 Carnival, which he carried out with aplomb and great maturity, yet still finished within the Top 25 for accumulating possessions. So good were his efforts that another highly rated mid, Kai Pudney, struggled to get a gig. Plays a very tough and combative style of footy whether he's attacking the ball or an opponent where he literally bullocks his way through a stoppage, quite often with 2 or 3 opponents hanging off him. Lewis is exceptionally strong through the core, hips, arse and legs for someone his size and age and much bigger opponents really struggled with trying to bring him down.

View attachment 576939
Left: Lewis accidentally on purpose dumps Chayce Jones head first into the ground to give Tom Sparrow (behind) access to the ball. Right: Lewis running alongside Hayden Sampson ready dish out a heavy shepherd if required. All photos by yours truly.

Lewis plays with a great team ethos often sacrificing his own game for the betterment of the team. He'll execute a nice bump, grab a fist full of the opposition's jumper if he's on the blind side of the umpire, take an opposition players' run, lay a heavy shepherd, provide a block or create a path for a team mate to access the ball. Not many 18yo kids do these one percenters on a regular basis, let alone up to a dozen times per match. For this reason a 15 possession game from Lewis is equivalent to 20+ for most others such are the amount of sacrificial acts he performs each game. Also has a knack of knowing when is the right time to get the ball himself or perform the sacrificial act.

View attachment 576945
Those pesky Croweaters I tells ya. Lewis grabs the scruff of Rowbottom's jumper whilst keeping an arm around his waste just in case he has any thoughts of getting the clearance (left). Sampson (2) grabs a fist full of Smith's (15) jumper so he can't accelerate towards the ball (right). After missing the jump at the ball Sivior (44) grabs Rendell's (34) shoulder to impede his ability to jump at the ball. Believe it or not, no free kick was awarded. So who did win the clearance???
Photo by yours truly.

View attachment 576747
The dirtiest one of course.....Lewis (16). Photo by yours truly.

As stated earlier Lewis finished just inside the Top 25 for total possessions across the National Champs. He amassed an impressive 36 tackles throughout the Carnival finishing 2nd just behind McHenry who laid 38. He also finished =7th for clearances, which is remarkable when you consider the defensive role he played and had both Hatley and Valente in the same midfield.

View attachment 576948
Just like his namesake Jordan, no one loves a scrap more than Lewis.......and sure enough there he is right in the middle of it between Noah Anderson (24) and Riley Collier-Dawkins (26). Heck, knowing Lewis, he probably started it. JustaBattler would love this kid. Photo by yours truly

Lewis will generally release accurately by hand from a stoppage, but he'll try and draw 2 or 3 of the opposition towards him before doing so. Sometimes he'll hang on to the ball for too long which allows for the opposition to also be drawn towards his intended target. His disposal by foot out of clearances is often haphazard, but generally bought about by the immense pressure he's under trying to find space to execute. One of the reasons for this is that Lewis, despite having a good tank, he isn't very quick. Lewis' kicking when out in open space is generally clean and accurate, but he does lack penetration and struggles to get more than about 40m.

View attachment 576949
Left: Tom Lewis warms up with Finn Betterman. Right: Lewis lays a heavy block on Bailey Smith to create a path for Mihail Lochowaik to gain uncontested access the ball. All photos by yours truly.

There are a lot of areas where Lewis can be improved and I'd be looking for Bolton/Russell to strip some of the excess weight off him and replace it with lean muscle mass. Doing that should improve his agility and speed without impeding his ability to hold his body over the ball. I'd also engage a running coach for Lewis as not only is he slow, but his acceleration isn't particularly great. You only need to increase his speed, agility & acceleration by 10% and that buys him more time in the contest, which gives a second or two more to assess his options, that in turn leads to greater awareness and vision. The other thing you'd like to see happen is a dedicated weights program to increase the power in his legs and some time with Sav to add some penetration, a little more depth and consistency to his kicking.

Due to his unique skillset, Lewis is one of those kids that makes you look at what he can do rather than what he can't and then work out how feasible is it to improve him in the various areas that need attention within realistic limitations. If you put him through the development program at Sydney then he comes out as Kieran Jack, at the Crows he comes out as Matt Crouch. Put him through the wrong program and he comes out as Nick Graham. With the way Lewis can use his shoulders to shrug an opponent, the way he bulldozes through stoppages, his short kicking and his ability to play dirty and get away with it reminds me a little of Greg Williams. At his stage Lewis is expected to be selected somewhere in the 3rd Round, but depending how far our picks come in and if he slides a little, then he might just be available when our turn comes around. Lewis is someone I reckon could well thrive and take the next step in an elite AFL environment.

Jack Bytel 188cm 82kg, 14/3/2000, Calder Cannons, Inside Midfielder.

At the start of this year I suspected we'd struggle with the contested side of our midfield. Kennedy was going to be coming off a double shoulder reco and would have next to no preseason, while Dow was an 18yo kid also coming off a shoulder reco with a limited preseason......and so it proved to be the case. With that in mind I was really looking forward to monitoring the progress of a big lump of kid I'd read so much about called Jack Bytel.

View attachment 576836
Left: Not many love their footy as much as Jack Bytel. Middle: Bytel competing against Izak Rankine (14) at a centre stoppage. Right: Bytel flies for a mark against South Australia's Jez McLennan. All photos by yours truly.

Bytel had a very strong year in the TAC Cup during 2017 where he averaged around 23 disposals, more than half of them contested, nearly 7 clearances and almost 6 tackles per game. Known for his strong attack on the ball and the ability to stick a heavy tackle it was little wonder many draft watchers had him pegged as a potential Top 10 pick at the start of the year. His start to 2018 was mixed with variable performances which was at odds with the consistency he'd shown the year before. Bytel then suffered a serious back complaint which essentially killed off his season to a large extent. While he did play 3 games at the Nationals this year it was only for limited minutes and it was quite obvious he was playing under some duress that affected his performances.

View attachment 576867
Jack Bytel doing what he does best, extracting yet another clearance while Sampson (2) works hard to shut him down. Photo by yours truly.

Despite his limited amount of game time I did learn some things about Bytel I didn't know. After reading some reports, I expected him to be slow/medium pace, but he's actually a fair bit quicker than I expected when watching him live. He can also launch the ball 50m+ off either foot with good penetration, but he doesn't always take as much care as he could about its direction. If he can tidy that up then his disposal by foot has the potential to become a real weapon.

Bytel will need to reassess how he operates at stoppages at the next level. ATM now he gets the ball, tries to crash his way out of congestion with brute strength and then find an option. The likes of Hately, Valente and Lewis comfortably had his measure when Metro came up against SA and Bytel will only find it harder when he has to compete in open-age company. Right now I don't think Bytel's vision is quite where it needs to be for the role he plays and in turn this can affect his decision-making. I'd like see him take the first clear option he sees and develop his game from there.

View attachment 576891
Left: Jack Bytel and Bailey Smith head towards the centre square. Middle: Bytel snaffles another clearance. Right: Bytel sets off in pursuit of Hayden Sampson. All photos by yours truly.

The trick with Bytel will be trying to teach him to become a more effective player. Finding his own ball is not an issue and in this department he's just as accomplished as Bailey Smith or Sam Walsh, but he lacks their polish and vision. Bytel's back injury must have been reasonably significant because he's now expected to be selected with a mid 3rd Round Pick or later. Providing that issue is no worse than McKay's or Cripps' then Bytel could end up being a draft bargain. Question is, do we need another specialist inside mid with Cripps, Setterfield, Kennedy & Dow??? I think the next kid might be a better option.

Damon Greaves 186cm 74kg, 25/4/2000, East Perth/WA, Medium Defender

Wouldn't be much good being The Smoking Gun if I couldn't give a genuine left-field smokey now would it??? Greaves is medium defender who started off the 2018 Carnival in cracking fashion before injuring his elbow just after the start of the game against Vic Country down at the Cattery. He's a wonderful judge of reading the play and flight of the incoming ball, making him an exceptional interceptor.

One of the things I really like about Greaves is that he is a tremendous rebounder who can turn defence into attack with 65m+ play by running 15m and then launching the ball 50m to find a target. One of the issues with interceptors that rebound is that they're not particularly defensively accountable, but Greaves has that knack of how to balance his attacking and defensive roles. To give you an idea of what I mean, in one game against West Perth Greaves accumulated 31 possessions, but still managed to lay 10 tackles while in another against East Freo he managed to find the ball 22 times and stick 16 tackles (It should be pointed out that both those games were at Colts level).

Greaves is a very powerful and accurate kick with an unerring knack of finding a target even when under pressure. I would rate his kicking on a similar level to O'Brien's. To go with this he is quite a powerful runner with very strong endurance base, which means he could have the scope to become a very damaging winger with the ability to run both ways. At this stage Greaves is fairly lightly built and will probably need a couple of preseasons to stand up to the rigours of AFL level footy, but once he fills out he'll be a terrific addition to any teams defence.

Greaves is extremely well regarded in his home state and given our connections in the west, if he's available when the first of our 4th Rounders comes around don't be in the least surprised if SOS snaps him up. He'd be a great get. At this stage Greaves is expected to selected anywhere from the mid 3rd Round onwards.

Great write up mate.

I like Lewis, has Liam Duggan about him at the same age.

can someone explain to me how all these other teams have an advantage draft night with their academys but carlton and others don't, how is that a level pkaying field?

GWS gets a 20% discount when they recruit from their academy.

And then after 2 years we get an extra 40-60% when we recruit them injured from GWS.

;)

I know I'm being lazy as the answer is probably in this thread but what impact can we expect from Walsh next year?

I would have LOB playing every game he can and Dow the majority, if not all also. Fisher and SPS will have more consistent impact I'd think, and probably spend more time forward but can we also carry another young player in Walsh who will surely be inconsistent, albeit talented?

Setterfield and Kennedy too and still relatively young, so seems more pain if we stick with them all.

Do they all fit in? Would Walsh take either Fisher or Dow's place in the mid and push them forward, or would Walsh be suited more suited forward?

At this stage I would think either half a season each for Dow and Walsh, or is Walsh expected to have more of an impact than most first year mids?

I don’t want to deny everybody a month of fun, but guys - we’re keeping pick 1 and taking Sam Walsh. End of

Which is fine and makes for perfect sense, but a little surprised SOS wouldn't have played cards closer to chest.

Maybe it doesn't matter, as it's possible Port & Adelaide would fight it out for the picks 2 & 3 and then one be forced to go the extra step to attain the one.....just to be sure. Maybe not, but that would make things interesting.

I know I'm being lazy as the answer is probably in this thread but what impact can we expect from Walsh next year?

I would have LOB playing every game he can and Dow the majority, if not all also. Fisher and SPS will have more consistent impact I'd think, and probably spend more time forward but can we also carry another young player in Walsh who will surely be inconsistent, albeit talented?

Setterfield and Kennedy too and still relatively young, so seems more pain if we stick with them all.

Do they all fit in? Would Walsh take either Fisher or Dow's place in the mid and push them forward, or would Walsh be suited more suited forward?

At this stage I would think either half a season each for Dow and Walsh, or is Walsh expected to have more of an impact than most first year mids?

How is Dow going to go from playing 20 odd games to half a season next year?
The names you are mentioning (including Walsh) are all best 22 and play every game (if fit).

How is Dow going to go from playing 20 odd games to half a season next year?
The names you are mentioning (including Walsh) are all best 22 and play every game (if fit).
The question was if they're all too young to play together, hence suggesting do we see Walsh and/or Dow (or whoever) spend more time in the seconds.

Dow, LOB, Walsh, Fisher, SPS, Kennedy, Setterfield is a VERY young and inexperienced midfield to take into all 22 games, unless we're expecting more impact from Walsh than what Dow (and majority of first year mids) provided.

The question was if they're all too young to play together, hence suggesting do we see Walsh and/or Dow (or whoever) spend more time in the seconds.

Dow, LOB, Walsh, Fisher, SPS, Kennedy, Setterfield is a VERY young and inexperienced midfield to take into all 22 games, unless we're expecting more impact from Walsh than what Dow (and majority of first year mids) provided.

They'll cope.

They won't win many games, but they'll learn to cope.

Which is fine and makes for perfect sense, but a little surprised SOS wouldn't have played cards closer to chest.

Maybe it doesn't matter, as it's possible Port & Adelaide would fight it out for the picks 2 & 3 and then one be forced to go the extra step to attain the one.....just to be sure. Maybe not, but that would make things interesting.

Hasn't who SOS wants in the draft usually leaked this far out prior to the draft

2015: McKay & Cuningham
2016: Setterfield & SPS McCreadie
2017: Dow & O'brien

Maybe and maybe not seconds, but just giving them a rest or two extra through the course of the year.

We could have ourselves a serious midfield in a couple of years time with those names and the ones I feel most comfortable about forming the nucleus of our midfield are; 1. Cripps (of course) 2. Dow 3. Setterfield (really expect a lot from him) 4. Fisher 5. Walsh (it's going to take him a couple of years to be able to mix it with the big boys) 6. Kennedy. We still have ECurnow & Murphy who will roll through the centre for a couple of years yet.

SPS should be there but have lost a little enthusiasm for him becoming a bona-fide mid.
Just don't feel we should be developing O'Brien into a starting mid. I like him on the flanks using his tank and kick. to advantage.

Interesting that in the last three years, SOS will have got his preferred player in the drafts; 2016-Setterfield....2017-Dow....2018-Walsh.

Maybe and maybe not seconds, but just giving them a rest or two extra through the course of the year.

We could have ourselves a serious midfield in a couple of years time with those names and the ones I feel most comfortable about forming the nucleus of our midfield are; 1. Cripps (of course) 2. Dow 3. Setterfield (really expect a lot from him) 4. Fisher 5. Walsh (it's going to take him a couple of years to be able to mix it with the big boys) 6. Kennedy. We still have ECurnow & Murphy who will roll through the centre for a couple of years yet.

SPS should be there but have lost a little enthusiasm for him becoming a bona-fide mid.
Just don't feel we should be developing O'Brien into a starting mid. I like him on the flanks using his tank and kick. to advantage.

Interesting that in the last three years, SOS will have got his preferred player in the drafts; 2016-Setterfield....2017-Dow....2018-Walsh.
4 -Weiters

amazing how some years there is a clear number one a month out from draft.. and other years (see last year), no one has a clue until draft night (or very close to it)

this year seems like Weiterings year
Interesting too is that this will be the first year since I can recall that a mid will be taken ahead of a KPP that was worthy of going at pick #1.

In almost all other cases, when a mid has been taken just ahead of a KPP prospect at pick #1, they were the clear standout in their draft years that all clubs would have selected (e.g. Swallow, Gibbs, Murphy, Deledio).

When there wasn't such a clear standout as with those examples, the KPP has always been taken instead (e.g. McCartin over Petracca, Boyd over Kelly, Kreuzer over Cotchin).

Perhaps I'm wrong but Walsh and Lukosius seem to fit that second paring (i.e. both worthy number #1s) more so than the first grouping (i.e. Walsh the consensus #1 for each club).

Or maybe not interesting at all but something against the grain it seems.