• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Caroline Wilson renews push for Hird sacking

The essence of what you saying theoretically is right. Hard bit to know if they're untruths first though. Possible they are of course but time will tell.
Given how cagey we've been with statements, the fact we've come out and blatantly said "you're wrong" shows that we know it to be the case.

Hey guys, did you know that Hird is not the architect behind the doping program because it was Robinson who brought Dank to the club?

lololol
So I guess that makes Hird the project manager...

They don't correct factually incorrect statements when they paint Essendon in a good light do they?

If your mantra is "No comment" stick with it and be vindicated in the end.

I can just see it now

"The Essendon Football Club would like to state that Mark McVeigh was incorrect in his assertion that all players knew 100% what they were taking. That is factually incorrect"

McVeigh was wrong in what he said back in February, that much appears correct.

There is something of a difference, though. McVeigh has not been making continued public comment day upon day, week upon week, and month upon month.

Wilson has.

So they have picked out a couple of assertions over the last two days and said they were wrong.

Given the lack of denials we now assume the following are factually correct

Evidence has also emerged suggesting that Hird's senior assistant, Mark Thompson, cautioned the Bombers' coaching group and football staff against the injecting program.

But Hird, a club legend, premiership captain and Australian Football Hall of Famer, has emerged as an enthusiast behind the injecting program

Fairfax Media understands evidence has emerged that the banned substance was last year onsite at the club.

The last comment is humourous
We have no comment to make on this story, but the facts will be revealed in due course

No, no comment James - but I'll get the club to do it instead

McVeigh was wrong in what he said back in February, that much appears correct.

There is something of a difference, though. McVeigh has not been making continued public comment day upon day, week upon week, and month upon month.

Wilson has.

So why not factually correct Mark in the media? Wouldn't have looked good I guess.....

This whole "No comment" mantra is horseshit from Essendon.

So they have picked out a couple of assertions over the last two days and said they were wrong.

Given the lack of denials we now assume the following are factually correct

The last comment is humourous

No, no comment James - but I'll get the club to do it instead
So what's correct is:

Bomber: I'm not sure about this
Hird: Nah come on mate, I reckon it'll be good.

HANG THEM BY THE NECK UNTIL THEY ARE DEAD

I'd tell you to go and read the statement, but it's kinda long and I get the idea you'd struggle to get through it.

lololol!!!!
Oh I've read it and its as pissweak, laughable and slimy as your club's course of action has been during this saga.
Nothing to substantiate the denials of everything Caro has said other than tiresome and blatantly misleading "we can't talk now" rubbish.

Get someone else to explain this to you.

So why not factually correct Mark in the media? Wouldn't have looked good I guess.....

This whole "No comment" mantra is horseshit from Essendon.

Do you really think it has been solely Essendon's choice to have made so few public comments?

They would be under pretty strict instructions from the AFL that they have to, as much as possible, let the investigation play out. It would be a terrible look for the credibility of any investigation if public comments from the club concerned were constantly pre-empting and undermining it.

Given how cagey we've been with statements, the fact we've come out and blatantly said "you're wrong" shows that we know it to be the case.

Yeah "you are wrong but we can't tell you why unless it implicates a guy who we stood down"

Do you really think it has been solely Essendon's choice to have made so few public comments?

They would be under pretty strict instructions from the AFL that they have to, as much as possible, let the investigation play out. It would be a terrible look for credibility of any investigation if public comments from the club concerned were constantly pre-empting and undermining it.

So few comments? There have been numerous comments.

As you can read from another thread I created, from the moment the shit hit the fan in February - this has been a stage managed PR exercise. Essendon wouldn't be calling the shots, their PR team would be.

I can now only assume that this is to appease Essendon stakeholders (Members, sponsors etc)

I feel for the players, however in my eyes their choices were more than the Chinese Swimmers and I'm sure Essendon supporters, like the rest of this country howled for them to be suspended and records extinguished.

Just recently Tyson Gay has been found guilty of doping. He doesn't deny the drug in his system, just that he was let down by someone he trusted. That sounds familiar - and he is copping his whack.

what a load of shit. it makes the very good point that she's either making it up, or sources are talking who shouldn't be, and Hird isn't in a position to defend himself. It's a very strong statement asserting she is talking shit, and I think it will get a lot of attention

So its not OK when the Bombers are mislead by rogues or villians BUT if Caros sources are duds you squeal like stuck pigs ... take it on the chin Lance !!

That part of the statement was quite revealing I thought.
Yes it falls in line with what we knew all along and helps Essendon's pathetic rogue theory and desire to exonerate Hird at all costs.

But according to Bombers fanbois "its a strong statement"

You're better than that, LP.

If Caroline Wilson is spreading blatant untruths about Hird, at what point do they protest? Or should they just continue to stay silent?

There is a difference between commenting on the investigation, and calling out an individual (Wilson) on their continued media campaign against an individual.
I'm pointing out that Essendon pick and choose when to comment.

They keep their mouth shut for most of the time, which leads speculation run rife.

But when Jobe wants to leak out a bit, or Evans wants to talk about how long the effects of AOD last they come out and talk.

If Caro is publishing lies then she deserves to be tapped on the nose, but please, don't try and tell us you can't comment on the investigation when you're out there saying which conversations didnt happen etc.

So few comments? There have been numerous comments.

Considering the innumerable amount of things that have been reported in the media since February 5, Essendon's public comments on the whole thing have not been that numerous. That's all I meant.

If I was a Bomber fan, I'd be pretty disappointed that Matthew Lloyd hasn't pushed back on Caro more on Footy Classified.. you would hope he stood up for Hirdy a bit more on the field.

I think it's also fair to say that Caro and Hirdy will probably never cross paths in the media ever again (should Hird eventually go back to the media). It would be pretty awkward. Can't really see Hirdy as a regular on Footy Classified..

If I was a Bomber fan, I'd be pretty disappointed that Matthew Lloyd hasn't pushed back on Caro more on Footy Classified.. you would hope he stood up for Hirdy a bit more on the field.

I think it's also fair to say that Caro and Hirdy will probably never cross paths in the media ever again (should Hird eventually go back to the media). It would be pretty awkward. Can't really see Hirdy as a regular on Footy Classified..

Lloyd is likely to be restricted with what he can and cannot say on air in his job but I imagine behind closed doors there would be some harsh words.

But you're right, I would love nothing more than a massive spray from Lloydy right now.

They keep their mouth shut for most of the time, which leads speculation run rife.

But when Jobe wants to leak out a bit, or Evans wants to talk about how long the effects of AOD last they come out and talk.

If Caro is publishing lies then she deserves to be tapped on the nose, but please, don't try and tell us you can't comment on the investigation when you're out there saying which conversations didnt happen etc.

That's fair enough and I don't disagree, but I think there is still more of a distinction between commenting specifically on the investigation itself, and the media speculation surrounding it than you are allowing for. Especially when, in their view, it is passing off incorrect things about people as facts.

but Caro is not "the investigation"!!

Predictable BF response to Essendon's statement by opposition fans. All I can say is "SUCK IT NERDS!" The club is allowed to defend itself and its people. Caro has made a habit of being factually incorrect this year. I look forward to its apology in the coming weeks.

That's fair enough and I don't disagree, but I think there is still more of a distinction between commenting specifically on the investigation itself, and the media speculation surrounding it than you are allowing for. Especially when, in their view, it is passing off incorrect things about people as facts.
A more traditional no comment version would be to come out and issue a warning to journalists that factually incorrect articles are going to be pursued legally.

But they've spoken of specific 'factoids' presented by CW about Hird's and the AFL's stance on the issue before it was an issue.

What it says to me is that Caro broke the code and did something unexpected. Regardless of which side of the fence you sit, it's obvious that Essendon and the AFL are doing everything in their power to control the thoughts and perceptions around this.

For them to come out this strongly suggests to me that it was unexpected. It also says a bit about the speculation that has been allowed to play out unabated.

For me it's an interesting twist in a drawn out saga.

but Caro is not "the investigation"!!
Dude - she is saying things in her article about Essendon's program and Hird being forewarned. It relates to the investigation and puts a cloud over the 'rogue' angle being presented.

Saying its factually incorrect is a comment on that claim, which relates to the case.

Essendon have attacked the claims made in the article, which relate to the case.