Review Cats turn Lions into wet pussies at the Gabba by 26 points

The good: Stengle, Parfitt, Zuthrie and Kolo was good too.
The bad: Duncan. Was good in the 4th but looked to give it off before he had it early on. I feel he is very close to the end.
Dangerfield, what is with attempting a goal from 70m out and in the last quarter, chopping off a pass to Stengle? He’s not that player anymore and needs to re-calibrate his thoughts on his ability.
Great win though.

Our start to 2022 was bog average so I'm not getting that at all
This is similar to how we played at the end of 2022…

Homer Drool GIF

I reckon he just tries too hard at the moment, so early in his development, once the game slows down for him he’ll be elite, his hunger for the contest is awesome

I agree with that his hunger to chase and tackle is his selling point and fits well with our gameplan. He needs to find the speed of the game but again better endurance will help there as he wont be making decisions under as much fatigue.

That was possibly our best wet weather win since the 08-11 years.

The method of play we have now arrived at embraced the conditions in way we could have done in our perfect football era.

The comment from Fagan about them being hurt by their ruck than us being hurt by Stewart seemed so contrary to what should have been in those conditions... so the influence and play of ZGuth when Stew went off cant be under estimated... and then for TobyC to contribute like he did was great signs for the future.

Our small forwards were fantatstic. Stengle was class above in those conditions. Close worked so hard ... and both nailed setshots which meant so much in conditions where it would be understandable to miss with a slippery yellow ball.

The last quarter when a Brisbane player dragged Bruhn off a player he had fairly tackled it showed a level of frustration and annoyance. To me , the conditions asked for toughness and by the end of the wet game and our efforts had broken them.

How many will be tried after that much? How many will need to be managed?

On Clark. He is just going thru the games that Bruhn did at GWS. He will up and down. Do some good and bad things till he gets to Bruhn's level of game under his belt. Each game he adds , he will acclimatise and become better. however maybe others deserve games certainly some good performance in the VFL. Hardie looks mature and is probably worked to earn a game. Hard choices for the club.

MOC would be number #1 in the league for both getting tackled to force a stoppage without conceeding HTB and deliberately fumbling the ball over the boundary line without giving away a free kick. He plays perfectly to his limitations. Do you want MOC taking on the tackler or Patrick Dangerfield! Win the stoppage and reset with your better players at the contest. 100% it is tactical.
Yes!

Loves to “wear” a tackle. An underrated skill.

Cats supporters were at their noisy best tonight scrappy game but one that was worth the wet arse to be there very proud to be a cats supporter tonight, this side might just be warming up.
My first game at the Gabba last night, been around a bit of the country, and I'm still continuously surprised at the level and numbers of Cats supporters everywhere we play, the volume and the quality of support we give the players, and the great people you meet and chat to.

Testament to the way the clubs been run for a while now. Despite our 'regional' status, we're no doubt a big club.

Funny because I had the exact opposite view. I thought he controlled our d50 brilliantly like Scarlett in his day. On numerous occasions he was having to beat two forwards and did so easily.
Admittedly my attention was split between the game and answering my son's questions like how many millimetres is it from one end of the field to the other.
Jack only had seven disposals, yet took some terrific grabs + four marks (Holmes + MOC had five marks), considering the slippery ball. He was able to move the ball forward. Some of the criticism about players annoy me. Lions came out on fire, we played badly + that was many of our players. Still, we dug in deep, regained composure + while some players absolutely shone, it was a team effort to achieve the win.

BTW, how many millimetres is the length of the Gabba? :hearteyecat:

They definitely are a flog football side. I have no probs with the club, but the current crop of players are among the biggest flogs in the league.
You forgot the flog of a coach
Sadly the only player that was disappointing was Jack Henry.

He is one of my favourite players however he did not handle the slippery wet conditions. Uncharacteristically he also appeared hesitant and often did not go when it was his turn.

I am sure he will come out and smash them next week and it was just an aberration.
I thought his first half was scrappy but when Stewart went down he was great.

I think we simply just out worked them. Which is a great testament to the team. And also shows the value of the kittens (still include close and Miers as teenage kittens). We can lose the contested ball if our work rate is dominant. Time and time again I saw unrewarded run from Dempsey, Close, Clarke to fill holes defensively but also create space and options on the counter. And then we have Miers and Holmes who get reward for work rate.

IMG_4826.png
IMG_4828.jpeg IMG_4829.jpeg IMG_4830.jpeg IMG_4831.jpeg

I reckon he just tries too hard at the moment, so early in his development, once the game slows down for him he’ll be elite, his hunger for the contest is awesome
U might be right there.
Fingers crossed it all falls into place for him.

Read this on reddit and it made me chuckle so i thought i would share

View attachment 1965684
:joycat: :joycat: :joycat:
That's hilarious

Domestic house Cats*? 🙀
We're pure bred + magnificent!

As a crazy, old, cat lady, I could tell you the specific breed of cat for every player!

*Love domestic house cats too :hearteyecat:

Stengle is a Burmese

Conway’s game was an interesting one.

Was physically a bit out of his depth against McInerney early, got rag dolled a few times, then looked like he was starting to figure out how to break even when McInerney got injured.

Then looked a bit confused when he was opposed to part time ruckmen before he figured out how to use his size to dominate.

Twice in the one game he looked like he was working stuff out on the fly, likely because he had rarely been in the situation before. In both situations he worked through it, solved the puzzle and became influential. Really good signs.

Have we discovered the rare animal - A smart ruckman?

Jack only had seven disposals, yet took some terrific grabs + four marks (Holmes + MOC had five marks), considering the slippery ball. He was able to move the ball forward. Some of the criticism about players annoy me. Lions came out on fire, we played badly + that was many of our players. Still, we dug in deep, regained composure + while some players absolutely shone, it was a team effort to achieve the win.

BTW, how many millimetres is the length of the Gabba? :hearteyecat:
Tbh I'd gotten the more difficult question about centimetres about 2 seconds before and come up with some figure like 15,000 so it really shouldn't have been that hard to add the extra 0 when the inevitable follow up question came, but it was right in a tense moment in the game and it threw me. Suddenly the field and the moment dissolved into these tiny insignificant pieces of length I said I don't know mate, I just don't know. Lol

The method of play we have now arrived at embraced the conditions in way we could have done on our perfect football era.

The comment from Fagan about them being hurt by their ruck than us being hurt by Stewart seemed so contrary to what should have been in those conditions... so the influence and play of ZGuth when Stew went off cant be under estimated... and then for TobyC to contribute like he did was great signs for the future.

Our small forwards were fantatstic. Stengle was class above in those conditions. Close worked so hard ... and both nailed setshots which meant so much in conditions where it would be understandable to miss with a slippery yellow ball.

The last quarter when a Brisbane player dragged Bruhn off a player he had fairly tackled it showed a level of frustration and annoyance. To me , the conditions asked for toughness and by the end of the wet game and our efforts had broken them.

On Clark. He is just going thru the games that Bruhn did at GWS. He will up and down. Do some good and bad things till he gets to Bruhn's level of game under his belt. Each game he adds , he will acclimatise and become better. however maybe others deserve games certainly some good performance in the VFL. Hardie looks mature and is probably worked to earn a game. Hard choices for the club.

Knevitt and Hardie both deserve a run in the senior side.

Hawkins is such a champion of the club and of the game, one of my all time favourites, but coming away from this match, that is the one thing that's on my mind too.

A massive concern.

You could see the big guy trying to use his smarts to help out his teammates however he could. Typically such a brilliant wet weather player too. But it's the first time at a game I have ever thought that he didn't belong out there.

It wasn't a case of taking a better key defender out of the game. He simply couldn't influence contests or get to the positions he normally would. O Henry became the prime target.

I want to believe he is playing through an injury that is hampering him big time right now but which will come good, because I'm not ready to accept the alternative.
As you’re maybe aware, no matter the will, as you get older, your body feels likes it’s moving through jelly compared to how it felt in your 20s.

Hawkins is such a champion of the club and of the game, one of my all time favourites, but coming away from this match, that is the one thing that's on my mind too.

A massive concern.

You could see the big guy trying to use his smarts to help out his teammates however he could. Typically such a brilliant wet weather player too. But it's the first time at a game I have ever thought that he didn't belong out there.

It wasn't a case of taking a better key defender out of the game. He simply couldn't influence contests or get to the positions he normally would. O Henry became the prime target.

I want to believe he is playing through an injury that is hampering him big time right now but which will come good, because I'm not ready to accept the alternative.
Yeah he struggled but still influenced with his goal assistances

Everyone wrote him off a few years ago early in the year and he came back to storm home, I’m sure he and the club have a balanced view and will give him time to work into it or hand it off to Neale …I’m just worried about taking Neale into the finals with no experience should we make it that far.

The method of play we have now arrived at embraced the conditions in way we could have done in our perfect football era.

Potentially- one way to look at what Fagan said about their out vs our out was that we managed the loss better as a team. As in we adapted. Whereas they did not.

The other way is that it took a more crucial piece of their team out and forced a crucial forward (structural setup piece) to be moved.

However, this is arguable, as wet weather typically isn’t a kick mark hold uncontested possession game style. It’s a contest, ugly, territory game. Evasive Small forwards and contested beast mids are the key.

Well, they actually have very good small forwards and very good contested midfielders.

We might be equivalent or better with our small forward stocks, but our mids are very green compared to theirs.

And, Daniher is a near 200 game player, who’s played a fair bit of ruck, virtually the same height as Conway and way stronger. So he shouldn’t be beaten.

Fagan needs to looks at himself. The tactics were terrible. One extra mid and using a mid as ruck. The cats just went to their strength against this - rebound with speed and let the small guys run into it.

Yes!

Loves to “wear” a tackle. An underrated skill.
You know O’Connor would be as strong as hell to be able to tag strong elite mids, so he probably could burst through some tackles. However, he’s disciplined and professional and plays the role he’s supposed to, so creates a safe reset where the percentages are greater for our team to win the ball and move it forward for a score.

These are professional players, nearly everything they do is coached. They have freedom on the field, but the options and decisions they make are limited to what they were coached to do.

Potentially- one way to look at what Fagan said about their out vs our out was that we managed the loss better as a team. As in we adapted. Whereas they did not.

The other way is that it took a more crucial piece of their team out and forced a crucial forward (structural setup piece) to be moved.

However, this is arguable, as wet weather typically isn’t a kick mark hold uncontested possession game style. It’s a contest, ugly, territory game. Evasive Small forwards and contested beast mids are the key.

Well, they actually have very good small forwards and very good contested midfielders.

We might be equivalent or better with our small forward stocks, but our mids are very green compared to theirs.

And, Daniher is a near 200 game player, who’s played a fair bit of ruck, virtually the same height as Conway and way stronger. So he shouldn’t be beaten.

Fagan needs to looks at himself. The tactics were terrible. One extra mid and using a mid as ruck. The cats just went to their strength against this - rebound with speed and let the small guys run into it.
Brisbane relying solely on Oscar is a skill issue with their team composition. If stanley/Conway went down we'd at least have blicavs to pay full time ruck.

Review Cats turn Lions into wet pussies at the Gabba by 26 points