catempire
Premium Platinum
Lids are for losers. Enjoy the ride!I am trying to keep the lid on here and you are not being helpful at all
Tell me about I get flogged by the young guys at my BJJ/MMA club you really don’t know how badly your later year affects your conditioning and flexibility no matter how much you try….and you take it for granted in your 20’s and 30’s how well you can move and adapt regarding fitness and recovery.As you’re maybe aware, no matter the will, as you get older, your body feels likes it’s moving through jelly compared to how it felt in your 20s.
Yeah been there, sometimes you just have to temporarily give up the hard earned illusion that dad knows everything.Tbh I'd gotten the more difficult question about centimetres about 2 seconds before and come up with some figure like 15,000 so it really shouldn't have been that hard to add the extra 0 when the inevitable follow up question came, but it was right in a tense moment in the game and it threw me. Suddenly the field and the moment dissolved into these tiny insignificant pieces of length I said I don't know mate, I just don't know. Lol
Our running power is elite. I suspect we have above average numbers of players who can run long and medium distances very quickly.I think we simply just out worked them. Which is a great testament to the team. And also shows the value of the kittens (still include close and Miers as teenage kittens). We can lose the contested ball if our work rate is dominant. Time and time again I saw unrewarded run from Dempsey, Close, Clarke to fill holes defensively but also create space and options on the counter. And then we have Miers and Holmes who get reward for work rate.
View attachment 1965744
View attachment 1965736View attachment 1965737View attachment 1965738View attachment 1965739
Yes, and Oscar would have spanked him.Brisbane relying solely on Oscar is a skill issue with their team composition. If stanley/Conway went down we'd at least have blicavs to pay full time ruck.
A simple footy opinion on the merits or abilities of a player never deserves a response of "go and get f'd" and being told to go leave the board."going mental" lol
i'm calling out some absolute stupidity. stupid s**t deserves to be called out.
I think he'll do enough to stave off getting dropped, but this isn't just a six-week slump, it's a 10-month slump IMO, with one or two cameos to keep heads above water.Yeah he struggled but still influenced with his goal assistances
Everyone wrote him off a few years ago early in the year and he came back to storm him home, I’m sure he and the club have a balanced view and will give him time to work into it or hand it off to Neale
True.. Apart from the usual suspects Blicavs, Miers ,we have a decent cohort of other guys who can rack up the Ks during a game. Jack Henry often up amongst the top distance covered in a game is interestingOur running power is elite. I suspect we have above average numbers of players who can run long and medium distances very quickly.
Scotty said during the Covid season that Queensland has the most Geelong supporters outside of, well, Geelong (and VIC) and you could tell last night at the Gabba! They had great support from us despite the weather.My first game at the Gabba last night, been around a bit of the country, and I'm still continuously surprised at the level and numbers of Cats supporters everywhere we play, the volume and the quality of support we give the players, and the great people you meet and chat to.
Testament to the way the clubs been run for a while now. Despite our 'regional' status, we're no doubt a big club.
I reckon we may have among the largest number of ‘closet’ supporters in the country. Would be interesting to do a poll.My first game at the Gabba last night, been around a bit of the country, and I'm still continuously surprised at the level and numbers of Cats supporters everywhere we play, the volume and the quality of support we give the players, and the great people you meet and chat to.
Testament to the way the clubs been run for a while now. Despite our 'regional' status, we're no doubt a big club.
Yeah lots of supporters get hung up by losing clearances. I remember watching Ross Lyon break down the the Saints’ clearances against Geelong a few years back (he wasn’t the coach at the time), their whole plan was to guard the stoppage from 10 to 15m away, it was all designed around making Danger kick under pressure and immediately as he burst from a stoppage.Smashed in CP by 20, but it was clear we were happy enough to give up the contest and sit an extra two behind the ball, knowing how lethal we are off turnovers.
Scotty and his group schooled Fagan again.
Conway’s game was an interesting one.
Was physically a bit out of his depth against McInerney early, got rag dolled a few times, then looked like he was starting to figure out how to break even when McInerney got injured.
Then looked a bit confused when he was opposed to part time ruckmen before he figured out how to use his size to dominate.
Twice in the one game he looked like he was working stuff out on the fly, likely because he had rarely been in the situation before. In both situations he worked through it, solved the puzzle and became influential. Really good signs.
Have we discovered the rare animal - A smart ruckman?
Polls on this consistently indicate that we're closer to the back of that particular pack than the front. Sydney almost always the winner of that, followed by Collingwood.I reckon we may have among the largest number of ‘closet’ supporters in the country. Would be interesting to do a poll.
Geelong on the AFL ladder - 6-0.
Geelong on the free kick ladder - 0-6.
And his physical strength. He did get pushed around by the bigger boy early on.The main limitation is still his endurance and i reckon that will take 2-3 years to fix (which is why we need to nurse stanley through to the finish line this year and then trade in a short term depth ruck) but when it clicks he will be very good.
Yeah lots of supporters get hung up by losing clearances. I remember watching Ross Lyon break down the the Saints’ clearances against Geelong a few years back (he wasn’t the coach at the time), their whole plan was to guard the stoppage from 10 to 15m away, it was all designed around making Danger kick under pressure and immediately as he burst from a stoppage.
But us mere punters see clearance numbers think the midfield have been poor. On this occasion, the saints were set up to lose them.
Dangerfield not in the top group of mids last night. Cameron goal-less.Geez the main board is really talking us down and claiming Scott only good because of the good players we have while simultaneously claiming it’s a soft draw helping us…despite the fact that the “good players” were all developed under Scott using late pics they just focus on the FA in Danger and JC and apply that to the whole list.
Copinum in full effect
No current season stats available
And his physical strength. He did get pushed around by the bigger boy early on.
Mm, I still think that a 20yo who is 105kg is still a very different level of strength to a 30yo who is the same size. You get a little older, and you just drop the puppy fat and get a lot stronger in the places that matter - i.e. your core, legs etc.I actually think he has the strength already but positionally he doesnt know how to use it yet (admittedly big o did push him around). Mostly in the vfl hes playing against younger rucks where he can get away without having that craft, so his best learning will be playing against bigger rucks in the afl.