Well you’re telling the story Trent?I'd hope so, wouldn't you, they were looking for a coach and the coach of the year doesn't have a club, he should have been their first call
Yep more travel though old mate
So Marcus is 6 weeks into coaching he’s new club and already it’s wrong. Don’t get me wrong Trent everyone is aloud an opinion but you’ve spewed yours out in every thread in a 200km radius like your Bill Belichick andI reckon marcus should have chosen tyntynder over koondrook, I'd think he would have retained all their players leaving and still got their recruits plus a couple more.
I reckon the raiders should have thrown the kitchen sink at Kenny Sheldon
Interesting sliding doors moment
So Marcus is 6 weeks into coaching he’s new club and already it’s wrong. Don’t get me wrong Trent everyone is aloud an opinion but you’ve spewed yours out in every thread in a 200km radius like your Bill Belichick and
Al Clarkson rolled into 1. Have you ever coached? Cause all your should have done this and they should do that crap is laughable as I’m not sure you realise how hard the coaching caper is. Rant over
No I haven't, but my grandfather played senior footy for 22 years and has the league medal in the ellinbank league named after him, my uncle was the president of the gv when they were the best league in country Victoria, another uncle was president at Benalla for 8 years winning a flag, another coached Tocumwal, Milawa and is Wang rovers best ever side, and my dad coached Toora seniors for a year, so I reckon I might know a bit about country footy and what's required to win and how to successfully manage a team with my job.So Marcus is 6 weeks into coaching he’s new club and already it’s wrong. Don’t get me wrong Trent everyone is aloud an opinion but you’ve spewed yours out in every thread in a 200km radius like your Bill Belichick and
Al Clarkson rolled into 1. Have you ever coached? Cause all your should have done this and they should do that crap is laughable as I’m not sure you realise how hard the coaching caper is. Rant over
Bringing in players that had already been there previously and failed to impact was hardly going to push them over the top I know it’s in hindsight but they would of been in a much better position now playing their local kids who had played in a colts grand final and prelim in the last 2 years and finishing 6th compared to flying Brock McLean in and playing an injury prone Mcartney and finishing 6thI think he probably brought in some older players knowing that they were in the premiership window the last few years and try and capitalise. Can’t knock the bloke or the club for doing that
Bringing in players that had already been there previously and failed to impact was hardly going to push them over the top I know it’s in hindsight but they would of been in a much better position now playing their local kids who had played in a colts grand final and prelim in the last 2 years and finishing 6th compared to flying Brock McLean in and playing an injury prone Mcartney and finishing 6th
And that’s all well and good Trent as sometimes i like reading your replies to comments but it’s the preaching of how clubs should do things and the way you make it sound so easy, guess what it’s not and that why with all your experience you should be president of a club or coach a side cause these threads aren’t reality Trent.No I haven't, but my grandfather played senior footy for 22 years and has the league medal in the ellinbank league named after him, my uncle was the president of the gv when they were the best league in country Victoria, another uncle was president at Benalla for 8 years winning a flag, another coached Tocumwal, Milawa and is Wang rovers best ever side, and my dad coached Toora seniors for a year, so I reckon I might know a bit about country footy and what's required to win and how to successfully manage a team with my job.
I'd reckon you'd know bugger all
The colts success question is easily answered. The teams that make finals are the one with the most players particularly top age players. Then in finals the top age factor is crucial plus the availability of 1 or 2 quality players that comeback from seniors determines the grand final teams, but all the finals teams are fully of kids who do well due to age and size, with very few likely to be influential senior players. Nyah sacrificed any hope of colts success for senior success by playing Curran, O’Shannessy and Thompson in the seniors throughout the years rather than colts. A poor standard driven by a lack of numbers means colts success counts for very little.And a good senior coach
Boga have always got junior success and numbers coming out their sphincters, with what looks like the last year of Golden Rivers on paper will the young blokes hang around and rebuild at Boga once the GRFL folds? If I was an 18 year old kid about to head to uni and could pick up some extra $$$ to help pay the bills I know what I would be doing! Or is it more their kids are heading off to uni and playing footy elsewhere where they’re based? Or the alternative, just don’t want to play footy at all?The colts success question is easily answered. The teams that make finals are the one with the most players particularly top age players. Then in finals the top age factor is crucial plus the availability of 1 or 2 quality players that comeback from seniors determines the grand final teams, but all the finals teams are fully of kids who do well due to age and size, with very few likely to be influential senior players. Nyah sacrificed any hope of colts success for senior success by playing Curran, O’Shannessy and Thompson in the seniors throughout the years rather than colts. A poor standard driven by a lack of numbers means colts success counts for very little.
It's not easy mate for sure, only one club can win the flag every year, you need a bit of luck. You also need everyone on the same page at the club and have a 2 3 or 5 year plan on what you want the club to stand for. The raiders are an interesting club, always have good talent, like they were the only side that defeated tyntynder in 3 years, yet didn't play finals that year. They got trev Ryan for a couple of years and that wasn't a great fit either, the only side he was a playing coach he didn't win a flag and they can get guns. They had a former Carlton midfielder one year from from Mornington that was a gun, brodie filo shannon milward, but I don't think they've ever made a gf, maybe 1, so they go.the sugar hit for a couple of years, than go back to nothing and just having who's living in town play. It's the toughest gig I think in the cmfl. As I say I'm not sure what the club what's to be known for and attract recruits and locals to come back and playAnd that’s all well and good Trent as sometimes i like reading your replies to comments but it’s the preaching of how clubs should do things and the way you make it sound so easy, guess what it’s not and that why with all your experience you should be president of a club or coach a side cause these threads aren’t reality Trent.
It's not easy mate for sure, only one club can win the flag every year, you need a bit of luck. You also need everyone on the same page at the club and have a 2 3 or 5 year plan on what you want the club to stand for. The raiders are an interesting club, always have good talent, like they were the only side that defeated tyntynder in 3 years, yet didn't play finals that year. They got trev Ryan for a couple of years and that wasn't a great fit either, the only side he was a playing coach he didn't win a flag and they can get guns. They had a former Carlton midfielder one year from from Mornington that was a gun, brodie filo shannon milward, but I don't think they've ever made a gf, maybe 1, so they go.the sugar hit for a couple of years, than go back to nothing and just having who's living in town play. It's the toughest gig I think in the cmfl. As I say I'm not sure what the club what's to be known for and attract recruits and locals to come back and play
ok please tell me what the rest of the teams stand for in the cmfl cause to me that’s just footy speak from someone who has lots of opinions but doesn’t live them out he just preaches them to sound knowledgeable. Maybe they like lots of other sides are surviving cause in reality if you stay in it long enough your a chance. Marcus in my opinion is a super choice as to me he’s a footy nut who’s greatest asset is he’s a teacher of the game is calm under pressure and wants to win, there were games this year he won using 22-25 points that tells me he teaches a game plan and is system based for whoever is in the side. The Raiders footy club can only be a better place with having him in to coach the senior side .It's not easy mate for sure, only one club can win the flag every year, you need a bit of luck. You also need everyone on the same page at the club and have a 2 3 or 5 year plan on what you want the club to stand for. The raiders are an interesting club, always have good talent, like they were the only side that defeated tyntynder in 3 years, yet didn't play finals that year. They got trev Ryan for a couple of years and that wasn't a great fit either, the only side he was a playing coach he didn't win a flag and they can get guns. They had a former Carlton midfielder one year from from Mornington that was a gun, brodie filo shannon milward, but I don't think they've ever made a gf, maybe 1, so they go.the sugar hit for a couple of years, than go back to nothing and just having who's living in town play. It's the toughest gig I think in the cmfl. As I say I'm not sure what the club what's to be known for and attract recruits and locals to come back and play
I've got two young sons, that play Saturdays, Kerang have the last 20 years, where they stand for developing their juniors, that's 15 minutes down the road, its right in front of them. How many flags, 9 in 20 years? They invest in their locals, have senior guys help coach the thirds, they have locals come back from vfl. Look at lalbert, no school no pub in the town, yet have been pretty successful without the ultimate win. When cohuna were powerful in all 3 grades, they had Colin Anderson coaching the thirds, who was a gun senior coach, teaching their juniors and it goes through the club. When tyntynder won 45 games straight, they were head and shoulders above everyone else in how professional they were. There's plenty of examples through the state of clubs who haven't got big populations being successfulok please tell me what the rest of the teams stand for in the cmfl cause to me that’s just footy speak from someone who has lots of opinions but doesn’t live them out he just preaches them to sound knowledgeable. Maybe they like lots of other sides are surviving cause in reality if you stay in it long enough your a chance. Marcus in my opinion is a super choice as to me he’s a footy nut who’s greatest asset is he’s a teacher of the game is calm under pressure and wants to win, there were games this year he won using 22-25 points that tells me he teaches a game plan and is system based for whoever is in the side. The Raiders footy club can only be a better place with having him in to coach the senior side .
Central Rivers footy, along with North Central is done! At the moment one club, Lake Boga, across the 3 leagues has enough juniors to fill teams without requiring kids to play multiple games each weekend, and that’s just to get games started, let alone have an interchange. Less juniors means less senior/reserves players for the future. I’d suggest Kerang will be the last great dynasty in cmfl as no clubs have the volume of juniors required to be lucky enough to have that quality that they had come together in approx 5 year window 13 - 18 years ago. Plus when clubsHow many clubs in the league would actually have over ten decent senior locals, living locally at their club? Woorinen and Nyah then I think it gets tough to think of any. The majority of clubs are going to have to convince half of the side to travel back and play. Coaching is a pretty tough gig.
Trent you’re looking from the outside reading results of yester year. Kerang fantastic effort and we’re the envy of everyone, but we all can’t copy that model as it doesn’t work if you just don’t have it to work with in the first place. Tell me how you judge success as I think we have 2 different opinions as mines from decades of being deeply involved at the coal face of clubs that are working their arses off to survive and give generation after generation a place to play this great game and sometimes you win and sometimes you lose and that is sport. Balranald for instance go up and down like a yo yo and that is fine as when they have a go they spend 300+k and then they restock that’s their model but the most important part is their surviving. Mallee we’re really bad for a long time coinciding with draught couldn’t raise the capital to to be anywhere near finals but their last 10 years has been successful and I’ll bet they haven’t spent under 250k per year on players, every club will go up and down it’s what happens, Kerang we’re an anomaly and I don’t think it will happen again to any club in CMFL for the rest of time .I've got two young sons, that play Saturdays, Kerang have the last 20 years, where they stand for developing their juniors, that's 15 minutes down the road, its right in front of them. How many flags, 9 in 20 years? They invest in their locals, have senior guys help coach the thirds, they have locals come back from vfl. Look at lalbert, no school no pub in the town, yet have been pretty successful without the ultimate win. When cohuna were powerful in all 3 grades, they had Colin Anderson coaching the thirds, who was a gun senior coach, teaching their juniors and it goes through the club. When tyntynder won 45 games straight, they were head and shoulders above everyone else in how professional they were. There's plenty of examples through the state of clubs who haven't got big populations being successful
How many clubs in the league would actually have over ten decent senior locals, living locally at their club? Woorinen and Nyah then I think it gets tough to think of any. The majority of clubs are going to have to convince half of the side to travel back and play. Coaching is a pretty tough gig.
Respectfully disagree, Kerang had a meeting in 2000 to work out how they'd move forward, 4 years later they are holding up the cup. Maffra a similar sized town in Gippsland, used to recruit big name players and hadn't won a flag in a long time decided to actually invest in their locals and their success is very similar to kerang. They actually have kids from sale travel over to play 3rds there. I'd suggest you look at the rochy doco on their history on YouTube, it was also on kayo, where although they haven't got the flags of kerang and maffra they have a strong local contigent and relish the us against them mentality and play finals most years in the gv. That was set up by the great dirty Williams as coach and I reckon he's attitude on footy is still within rochy.Trent you’re looking from the outside reading results of yester year. Kerang fantastic effort and we’re the envy of everyone, but we all can’t copy that model as it doesn’t work if you just don’t have it to work with in the first place. Tell me how you judge success as I think we have 2 different opinions as mines from decades of being deeply involved at the coal face of clubs that are working their arses off to survive and give generation after generation a place to play this great game and sometimes you win and sometimes you lose and that is sport. Balranald for instance go up and down like a yo yo and that is fine as when they have a go they spend 300+k and then they restock that’s their model but the most important part is their surviving. Mallee we’re really bad for a long time coinciding with draught couldn’t raise the capital to to be anywhere near finals but their last 10 years has been successful and I’ll bet they haven’t spent under 250k per year on players, every club will go up and down it’s what happens, Kerang we’re an anomaly and I don’t think it will happen again to any club in CMFL for the rest of time .
Yeh I rekon they might have half of their side living locally to and all handy players.Lalbert would
So then why is it wrong to get Marcus as coach he built the worineen footy department and is a ground up type of coach, has run Central rivers junior programs as coach for a number of years and you deemed he’s appointment at the Raiders not a good move. According to you they can’t win either way they go ?Respectfully disagree, Kerang had a meeting in 2000 to work out how they'd move forward, 4 years later they are holding up the cup. Maffra a similar sized town in Gippsland, used to recruit big name players and hadn't won a flag in a long time decided to actually invest in their locals and their success is very similar to kerang. They actually have kids from sale travel over to play 3rds there. I'd suggest you look at the rochy doco on their history on YouTube, it was also on kayo, where although they haven't got the flags of kerang and maffra they have a strong local contigent and relish the us against them mentality and play finals most years in the gv. That was set up by the great dirty Williams as coach and I reckon he's attitude on footy is still within rochy.
Balranald are completely different, they are the furtherest club in the league, they are the most isolated, so that's what works for them. But when they have a crack they usually really go hard and win.
I can remember playing against lalbert when they were on their knees, but they still managed to get kids from swan hill to play juniors there and that keeps them competitive, and they still have the same local names playing omeara and McGregor too. So yep they are having a crack with recruits at the moment.
Success depends as I say what you stand for as a club, if the raiders want to be a club that plays all their local kids and they have strong numbers in all grades and good community involvement that's success for me. But if they want the next level of winning flags and playing finals regularly, which by getting marcus as coach they want then you'd look at those examples
Look I imagine you're on the raiders board, I've got no doubt you guys are doing a mountain of work to get a flag. All the best for season 2025Trent you’re looking from the outside reading results of yester year. Kerang fantastic effort and we’re the envy of everyone, but we all can’t copy that model as it doesn’t work if you just don’t have it to work with in the first place. Tell me how you judge success as I think we have 2 different opinions as mines from decades of being deeply involved at the coal face of clubs that are working their arses off to survive and give generation after generation a place to play this great game and sometimes you win and sometimes you lose and that is sport. Balranald for instance go up and down like a yo yo and that is fine as when they have a go they spend 300+k and then they restock that’s their model but the most important part is their surviving. Mallee we’re really bad for a long time coinciding with draught couldn’t raise the capital to to be anywhere near finals but their last 10 years has been successful and I’ll bet they haven’t spent under 250k per year on players, every club will go up and down it’s what happens, Kerang we’re an anomaly and I don’t think it will happen again to any club in CMFL for the rest of time .
There's nothing wrong with the appointment at all, but why get arho?So then why is it wrong to get Marcus as coach he built the worineen footy department and is a ground up type of coach, has run Central rivers junior programs as coach for a number of years and you deemed he’s appointment at the Raiders not a good move. According to you they can’t win either way they go ?
I’m not sure Trent but 3 paragraphs ago you were saying we should have got Kenny Sheldon to coach us . I’d be sure Arho wasn’t there first choice and that they needed a 50 goal forward who would allow Atwell the freedom to be a 40 goals a season instead of 15 so to me it’s filling a void, so as I said previously you don’t always get what you want as in personal so a coach makes a call on does it fill a need and Arho was a need in my mind. And look I’m not he’s biggest fan as watched him play when he was at nyah but if he allows Atwell and Parker to be better players then Raiders all of a sudden have 3 6ft2 plus forwards that might worry sides forward of centre.There's nothing wrong with the appointment at all, but why get arho?