Cerra

Cerra

Yep. Even if you could get him for that, a first rounder and our best developing KPF he comes with a fat salary which nobody here seems to want to put a figure on. He's knocking back $750k x 4y reportedly if he comes home. I doubt he comes to us for anything under $600-650k x 4/5. Minimum.

With our current form and his, that price is only going up.

I've said before with no offence to the kid himself that he is a potential culture killer. We've built a culture on solid players playing for peanuts for a common goal. Lambert, Edwards, Vlaustin, Astbury, Bachar, even Short (a premiership best and fairest) just a couple of examples of very good B+ players with great careers never got near $650k x 5 at age 21. Or ever.

That sort of deal is reserved for the best possible talents at that age. Hello Shai Bolton. Hello Andrew Brayshaw. High ceiling players. Sam Walsh is a another level again. These guys are future Brownlow Medalists. I don't believe Cerra is at their level.

If the cliff is indeed approaching (not convinced this team fully fit with a strong full preseason, tweaked game style and a friendly draw doesn't have at least one more in them with Dusty still in his prime), then we need to hit the draft by trading up our 6 inside 50 picks to 3/4 good picks inside 25 including two top quality picks.

We either stored all these picks to smash the draft or go after some targets and it's the ace in our hand right now. If Cerra wasn't so over priced pick wise and salary wise then he'd be a luxury pick up sure but we need Tom Green more than we need Cerra. He does everything that Cerra does and more, and is a big midfielder with grunt.

We're getting killed around the ball, it's pretty obvious we need muscle inside to compliment Prestia and create time and space to release Shai. All the early 20s midfield role players are already at the club, Graham, RCD (hit the gym kid or become a winger) Naish (get him nearer the goals), Ross, Dow, Martyn, Cumberland and Ralph Smith are the nucleus of the next gen. Surround them with elite young talent over the next two drafts.

The AFL is full of examples right in front of our faces Lions, Hawks, Eagles who traded mature players in at the cost of good early drafting to stay up.

IF we do go hard for someone, try to shake Green free for less probably than Cerra, particularly if Josh Kelly re-signs on the big bucks crazy option he has, which I believe he will.

Finally, Cerra is playing decent footy at Freo and works well with Brayshaw and Serong. They have chemistry as a unit and I just don't see how he fits in at Richmond. I doubt he leaves.
Great post mate. I've been big on Tom Green for a while now. Exactly what we need. With the new world we now live in players salaries will be scrutinized by every club, players won't have the luxury of mega deals like they used to have, it's all about list management and not paying excessive overs. The Pies come to mind and it's going to set them back years I reckon. Money is very tight for the AFL. We still have the nucleus of a very good team, we need to nail this draft like never before. Our future depends on it. 👍

Cerra had 33 touches going at 63% with 8 clangers = Star
Stack had 25 touched going at 96% with 0 Clangers = nothing to see here

I know which player i would rate better in this game

I think all the freo supporters are surprised Cerra played well
LoL.
Yet another random stat to bolster your narrative.
Well here's one for you.
Cerra's career best games came at the time when Fyfe was injured and not playing.(Past 2 weeks).

Yep. Even if you could get him for that, a first rounder and our best developing KPF he comes with a fat salary which nobody here seems to want to put a figure on. He's knocking back $750k x 4y reportedly if he comes home. I doubt he comes to us for anything under $600-650k x 4/5. Minimum.

With our current form and his, that price is only going up.

I've said before with no offence to the kid himself that he is a potential culture killer. We've built a culture on solid players playing for peanuts for a common goal. Lambert, Edwards, Vlaustin, Astbury, Bachar, even Short (a premiership best and fairest) just a couple of examples of very good B+ players with great careers never got near $650k x 5 at age 21. Or ever.

That sort of deal is reserved for the best possible talents at that age. Hello Shai Bolton. Hello Andrew Brayshaw. High ceiling players. Sam Walsh is a another level again. These guys are future Brownlow Medalists. I don't believe Cerra is at their level.

If the cliff is indeed approaching (not convinced this team fully fit with a strong full preseason, tweaked game style and a friendly draw doesn't have at least one more in them with Dusty still in his prime), then we need to hit the draft by trading up our 6 inside 50 picks to 3/4 good picks inside 25 including two top quality picks.

We either stored all these picks to smash the draft or go after some targets and it's the ace in our hand right now. If Cerra wasn't so over priced pick wise and salary wise then he'd be a luxury pick up sure but we need Tom Green more than we need Cerra. He does everything that Cerra does and more, and is a big midfielder with grunt.

We're getting killed around the ball, it's pretty obvious we need muscle inside to compliment Prestia and create time and space to release Shai. All the early 20s midfield role players are already at the club, Graham, RCD (hit the gym kid or become a winger) Naish (get him nearer the goals), Ross, Dow, Martyn, Cumberland and Ralph Smith are the nucleus of the next gen. Surround them with elite young talent over the next two drafts.

The AFL is full of examples right in front of our faces Lions, Hawks, Eagles who traded mature players in at the cost of good early drafting to stay up.

IF we do go hard for someone, try to shake Green free for less probably than Cerra, particularly if Josh Kelly re-signs on the big bucks crazy option he has, which I believe he will.

Finally, Cerra is playing decent footy at Freo and works well with Brayshaw and Serong. They have chemistry as a unit and I just don't see how he fits in at Richmond. I doubt he leaves.

It's like you reached into my mind and pulled out every point I wanted make - well said YeOldyOne - even if I say so myself ;)

Two can play this game of pointless guffage.

Adam's name starts with the first letter of the alphabet. Plus Sydney apparently can only eat 6 slices of pizza, whereas Adam can eat 7.

Also Adam has a bigger shoe size which all the freo supporters personally told me they were suprised about.

Two can play this game of pointless guffage.

Adam's name starts with the first letter of the alphabet. Plus Sydney apparently can only eat 6 slices of pizza, whereas Adam can eat 7.

Also Adam has a bigger shoe size which all the freo supporters personally told me they were suprised about.
Glad you are now sticking to something you are more adept at .

well done

Yet Hardwick rated Cerra as second best behind Brayshaw and ahead of Stack.

This kid is gonna be the Dion Prestia debate all over again isn’t he?

Yet Hardwick rated Cerra as second best behind Brayshaw and ahead of Stack.
And if Richmond had won as per normal the winning teams players get majority of the votes

Cerra played a reasonably good game but unless i was watching a different game he was not the player that won the game for them that was Brayshaw and without brayshaw winning the ball Cerra would have been starvation corner.

During the game i looked at the stats and Cerra had 16 touches going at 42% but Brayshaw destroying us allowed them to get the ball to Cerra
Stack was immense in our defence
25 disposals and a career-high 12 intercepts and 10 marks. He also had four score involvements in 455 metres gained going at 96% de

I gotta hand it to RC he wouldn’t suffer fools Like Freo and Ess with their Nigerian scam type deals and when it comes to how the deal would materialise , the best they come up with is a hair brained dart at the wall in the PSD , RC would be straight on the ph afterward telling shai he’s signing at Richmond these shit clubs just aren’t worthy

And if Richmond had won as per normal the winning teams players get majority of the votes

Cerra played a reasonably good game but unless i was watching a different game he was not the player that won the game for them that was Brayshaw and without brayshaw winning the ball Cerra would have been starvation corner.

During the game i looked at the stats and Cerra had 16 touches going at 42% but Brayshaw destroying us allowed them to get the ball to Cerra
25 disposals and a career-high 12 intercepts and 10 marks. He also had four score involvements in 455 metres gained going at 96% de
When the game was up for grabs in the last quarter Cerra had 11 disposals @ 82% DE with 7 contested possessions 3 turnovers 4 intercepts 2 marks 2 clearances & 2 tackles.

Across the whole game he had
33 disposals (ranked 2nd)
8 marks (ranked 2nd)
6 tackles (ranked 2nd)
11 contested possessions (ranked 5th)
7 turnovers (ranked 2nd)
7 intercepts (ranked =4th)
7 score involvements (ranked 6th)
21 pressure acts (ranked 11th)
3 clearances (ranked 6th)
9 I50 (ranked 1st)
4 R50 (ranked =7th)
735m gained (ranked 3rd)

That is an all around game in anyones book and exactly the type of player that we need to add to our midfield unit. I know many have said that we need a contested bull, but I believe we have them in the likes of RCD Dow & Martyn. Martyn & Dow in particular, have shown that you don't have to be 190cm/89kg beasts to be able to win clearances, you need to know where to be at right time to win the contest. Sure they might not impact in 2022, but we've got coverage there for the next 1-2 years while those younger guys continue to develop.

And it continues.

When the game was up for grabs in the last quarter Cerra had 11 disposals @ 82% DE with 7 contested possessions 3 turnovers 4 intercepts 2 marks 2 clearances & 2 tackles.

Across the whole game he had
33 disposals (ranked 2nd)
8 marks (ranked 2nd)
6 tackles (ranked 2nd)
11 contested possessions (ranked 5th)
7 turnovers (ranked 2nd)
7 intercepts (ranked =4th)
7 score involvements (ranked 6th)
21 pressure acts (ranked 11th)
3 clearances (ranked 6th)
9 I50 (ranked 1st)
4 R50 (ranked =7th)
735m gained (ranked 3rd)

That is an all around game in anyones book and exactly the type of player that we need to add to our midfield unit. I know many have said that we need a contested bull, but I believe we have them in the likes of RCD Dow & Martyn. Martyn & Dow in particular, have shown that you don't have to be 190cm/89kg beasts to be able to win clearances, you need to know where to be at right time to win the contest. Sure they might not impact in 2022, but we've got coverage there for the next 1-2 years while those younger guys continue to develop.
Nobody doubting he had a good game apart from the 8 clangers and only going at 63% de for a supposed elite disposer , But like i have mentioned prior and probably to our coaches fault. Freo play through Cerra and they love to use him as their player between the arches that deliver into their foward line
Our club virtually let him play unmanned.

This was probably his best game he has played which i had already mentioned and that is the point he has had 4-5 of this games in his 85 games.

I really have no idea why you would even mention RCD in this as he would never be playing this role , Maybe Naish or Ralph and the closest player we have playing this role (we dont allocate a particular player to use in this manner would be Lambert)

This kid is gonna be the Dion Prestia debate all over again isn’t he?
I said earlier in this thread if we could swap our 2 firsts for Cerra and Fremantles first then I'd be happy with the deal. We get someone who immediately upgrades our midfield unit and can also take best available kid at pick 10 or so in the draft as well plus 2 other picks inside the top 30. Can't really go wrong from there.

Nobody doubting he had a good game apart from the 8 clangers and only going at 63% de for a supposed elite disposer , But like i have mentioned prior and probably to our coaches fault. Freo play through Cerra and they love to use him as their player between the arches that deliver into their foward line
Our club virtually let him play unmanned.

This was probably his best game he has played which i had already mentioned and that is the point he has had 4-5 of this games in his 85 games.

I really have no idea why you would even mention RCD in this as he would never be playing this role , Maybe Naish or Ralph and the closest player we have playing this role (we dont allocate a particular player to use in this manner would be Lambert)
Cerra had 7 turnovers and 7 intercepts so pretty much cancels each other out. As for his 7 turnovers, there were 11 players that had 5+ turnovers including supposed good users in Short Rioli Baker Aish Brayshaw(all with 5) and Ryan (11). As for playing unmanned, wouldn't you prefer someone who gets left alone having an impact like what Cerra did, rather than having a game like KMac or Caddy have had playing the wing where you pretty much get no impact most games.

As for only having played 4-5 games like this in his career, I think you're being a bit unfair there. Below are some pretty handy outings for Cerra just this year.

33 disps (21 kicks 12 hballs), 8 marks and 6 tackles in Rd 20 4-pt win over Richmond at Optus Stadium (1 Aug 2021)
30 disps (19 kicks 11 hballs), 9 marks and 2 goals in Rd 19 40-pt loss to Sydney at Metricon Stadium (25 Jul 2021)
26 disps (16 kicks 10 hballs) and 4 marks in Rd 17 62-pt win over Hawthorn at UTAS Stadium (10 Jul 2021)
24 disps (15 kicks 9 hballs), 5 marks and 4 tackles in Rd 16 16-pt loss to Carlton at the MCG (3 Jul 2021)
27 disps (13 kicks 14 hballs) and 6 marks in Rd 11 46-pt loss to Port Adelaide at Adelaide Oval (30 May 2021)
25 disps (15 kicks 10 hballs), 6 marks and a goal in Rd 10 2-pt win over Sydney at Optus Stadium (22 May 2021)
28 disps (14 kicks 14 hballs), 4 marks and a goal in Rd 9 7-pt loss to Essendon at Marvel Stadium (16 May 2021)
23 disps (17 kicks 6 hballs), 7 marks and 6 tackles in Rd 4 15-pt win over Hawthorn at Optus Stadium (11 Apr 2021)
28 disps (17 kicks 11 hballs) and 7 marks in Rd 2 31-pt win over GWS at Optus Stadium (28 Mar 2021)
24 disps (14 kicks 10 hballs), 7 marks and 5 tackles in Rd 1 22-pt loss to Melbourne at the MCG (20 Mar 2021)

Add to that he has increased his average disposals from 13.7 a game in his debut year to 23.1 a game this year and at 22 is about to enter the prime years of his career so picking him up now would be a very smart pick up.

As for mentioning RCD, that was in relation to people saying we're better off going after Green, who I don't believe is the type we need to target, because we've got the likes of RCD Dow & Martyn who I believe will be more than serviceable as ball winning midfielders.

Cerra