Changes v GWS - 4 changes, welcome Maynard

Pretty happy with those changes. Glad to see Pedo get a run. If finals weren't on the line maybe we could roll the dice with Weid but there's just too much at stake to not go with a known quantity.

No Cameron but they bring in Delidio and Johnson...two players very well positioned for the Boomer Harvery memorial thread. Would honestly be shocked if they don't both earn themselves a nomination.

Yeah I'm happy with the changes. With the Patton rumours too I think we're in a real shot.

If Patton doesn't get up and they are already missing Cameron and Greene, I'll be filthy if we come away with a loss.
Stevie J back and wasn't in great form prior and Deledio back after 6 quarters in the NEAFL will be interesting.
Have seen NEAFL footy first hand and it stinks so form there doesn't necessarily mean you're flying.
Is class so can make a big difference to them with a low number of disposals but if he cuts us up we're cooked!

Thank god they didn't bring in Weid.

Will be a player eventually, but is a liability at AFL level still. 2-3 decent VFL performances over, what, 10 weeks (?) doesn't mean he's ready to come into the side while we are battling for finals.

Well done to the selectors.

If Patton doesn't get up and they are already missing Cameron and Greene, I'll be filthy if we come away with a loss.
Stevie J back and wasn't in great form prior and Deledio back after 6 quarters in the NEAFL will be interesting.
Have seen NEAFL footy first hand and it stinks so form there doesn't necessarily mean you're flying.
Is class so can make a big difference to them with a low number of disposals but if he cuts us up we're cooked!
6qrts of NEAFL footy surely won't be enough to see a sustained effort throughout the game ... I'd be expecting a big start before a big fade.

As an aside, what NEAFL footy have you seen first hand? There can be a pretty reasonable gap in quality between games in the same week.

Would you be happy with a draw?

6qrts of NEAFL footy surely won't be enough to see a sustained effort throughout the game ... I'd be expecting a big start before a big fade.

As an aside, what NEAFL footy have you seen first hand? There can be a pretty reasonable gap in quality between games in the same week.
Yeah I agree mate. The pace of 2's footy is always going to be a fair bit slower than the seniors but NEAFL ain't no VFL that's for sure.

I took a pretty keen interest in Southport for 2 seasons a couple of years back and watched all their games as a mate played there so saw them weekly but only other sides a couple of times each. You are correct there is a massive discrepancy game to game.
The National model of a 2's comp just doesn't work but I suppose there's not much else you can do as they are generally not AFL states

Just saw the Maynard spycam footage, great viewing. I thought it was starting to get a bit cliched but Goody and Misson stitched him up good and proper. Who knew Misson had a sense of humour!
I literally just watched that myself. Loved the amount of F-bombs he kept dropping. Even when he knew the cameras were on, he couldn't stop himself.

How badly do you reckon he was regretting saying that he was sore?
Haha yeah my thought the whole time I was watching it just waiting for Goody to say "well we were gonna pick you mate but it sounds like you're cooked"

Ha. Honestly, if I was anything other than a Melbourne supporter, I'd be putting $$ on us this wknd at $2.50. GWS not playing well, no Cameron, no Patton, no Greene and in neutral territory playing a side in the top 8!

But we are ranked 18th for scoring since Round 13. We're not kicking enough goals and not playing well enough ourselves.

I'm worried about all there mids, but Coniglio is the key IMO. Do we send Vince to him to tag? We have to break even in the middle to have a chance.

Changes v GWS - 4 changes, welcome Maynard