Chris Grant on 774

Jun 7, 2007
yarraville
Just heard Granty on 774 commenting on the goings on this week. I was in the car so apologies for being so brief with my recollections:

• was a supporter of Ackers until the last 6-8 weeks and got on well with him
  • now seeing Ackers true personality - "vindictive" - as a result of his poor form and inability to get back in the 1sts. He said you only see a person's true character when their back's to the wall and what we've seen of Jason's the last few days shows us what sort of person he is
  • Ackers lashing out at Brad Johnson who is a great person not just a great footballer is indicative of Ackers character
  • not once is he able to take responsibility for himself in any of the things he has said - it's always someone else's fault
  • backs the club and the people running the club that the right thing has been done
  • the Dogs may not be able to win a flag this year but "I guarantee you they would NOT have won with him still at the club"
One thing I could not do in this post is convey the simmering intensity in his voice as he spoke.

That is a big roast from the great man. Interesting when you consider he has never had a go at a person in his professional life. Hell, he even shook hands with Barry Hall and Jonothan Brown in the games that they hit him behind play. We all know Granty's not one to hold grudges or make enemies so I'm prepared to back his opinion.

The last one is so true.

I'm quietly optimistic that getting rid of Aker is the spark we need. It's interesting that we've played our best footy the past five weeks - when Aker has been suspended. Should lift in performance even more now with him gone for good.

My fave all time doggie summising the situation perfectly. Gotta love that man. Seriously enjoyed Aker as a doggie and he was very worthwhile for the club IMO. Ill also follow him with great pleasure during his media career, but it was time for him to move on. Thats life.

Great work Chrissy!

I share some of my views with him too, especially about the fact that now he shows he true personality and i can trust that the club made the right the decision

I heard him speak ...... it was a very classy and thorough assessment of the situation.

While listening to Chris talking on 774 ........ I thought about what a bunch of morons that the media supporters of Acker were and how they had been sucked in by his tactics.

Chris spoke extremely well and left no doubt who the vilan was in this situation .... and certainly not Jonno, Rocket or Smorgo.

I fail to understand why Acker is getting so much support from people outside of your Club. Like Grant said, he's now been asked to leave by two clubs, but apparently it's not been his fault in either case. What a staggering coincidence!

I posted at the blog on the main page that Acker is a narcissistic w***er. I'd like to say it again. There you go.

Grant has massive respect; an awesome footballer and seemingly a genuinely good bloke. I didn't hear his comments on Grandstand but if the above bullet points are correct, then he's spot on.

He's also a welcome addition to the Grandstand team. Does a good job.

I fail to understand why Acker is getting so much support from people outside of your Club. Like Grant said, he's now been asked to leave by two clubs, but apparently it's not been his fault in either case. What a staggering coincidence!

I dont he is getting support from anyone that matters. Only people like Newman and the Footy Show, his radio pals at MTR and the tossers on Before The Game.

Those who are highly respected have come out and supported the decision by the Bulldosgs. Matthews, Alves, Grant etc.

I also heard Granty on the ABC, and I can honestly say I can never remember him being so angry before, albeit in a controlled way.

His comments settle the matter for me. I've loved having Aker at the kennel, but no club could tolerate someone wreaking havoc behind the scenes like he has done.

Also heard Leigh Matthews' comments on radio replayed on The Fifth Quarter. Aker has little sympathy from those in football who know him well.

All of this really saddens me. I really thought Aker was a good fit for us...

I dont he is getting support from anyone that matters. Only people like Newman and the Footy Show, his radio pals at MTR and the tossers on Before The Game.

Those who are highly respected have come out and supported the decision by the Bulldosgs. Matthews, Alves, Grant etc.

Don't be too intoxicated by the opinions of the highly respected. The easiest route to take and support is the 'shut up and toe the line' path. Matthews has been burnt by similar issues so he's hardly objective. Grant can't be objective either because he will hardly ever go against his club. Admirable but hardly compelling evidence of the dog's doing the right thing. Alves had issues with his own board because of his faith in the leadership and decision making prowess of his players. So he can't support an individual or he'll be seen as a hypocrite. The only people who really matter are the club and Aker. Everyone else has an opinion and that's all it is.

Irony is people seem to be intoxicated by the opinions of Sam and Jason.

True but Newman's issue seems to be with the Leading Teams 'trial by peers' process rather than the sacking itself. Even before this saga, I always that such a process was fraught with danger when put in the hands of some try hards who go a step too far in trying to show their leadership skills/potential. From an outsider's perspective, I thought the writing was on the wall for Aker when he was told not to hand stand because it was too individual. Silly IMO. Bigger fish to fry in the team. Yet acknowledging and appreciating the fact that the individual raises the profile of the club is ok? I know it took a while for it to come to this but it was always going to end this way.

If people have a spare 10 minutes at some stage, there is an audio link to 3 interviews with 1)Leigh Matthews 2)Brian Taylor and 3)Tony Shaw all about the aker situation. I found it really interesting, especially what Leigh had to say about his time when aker was at Brisbane. :)

http://www.3aw.com.au/blogs/3aw-football-blog/not-much-love-for-akermanis-on-3aw/20100723-10nzo.html

Thanks TBFB compelling listening, if after this people still cant understand the rationale behid the decision after listening to this then boy there are some issues out there.

True but Newman's issue seems to be with the Leading Teams 'trial by peers' process rather than the sacking itself. Even before this saga, I always that such a process was fraught with danger when put in the hands of some try hards who go a step too far in trying to show their leadership skills/potential. From an outsider's perspective, I thought the writing was on the wall for Aker when he was told not to hand stand because it was too individual. Silly IMO. Bigger fish to fry in the team. Yet acknowledging and appreciating the fact that the individual raises the profile of the club is ok? I know it took a while for it to come to this but it was always going to end this way.

Lucky that is not what hapened in this case.

I'm delighted to see your capacity for independent thought demonstrated by parrotting Malthouse's seductive (phwooar - nice word) opinions about the Leading Teams process. Apparently it's not been implemented at Collingwood so I guess your club made the right decision not to "put it in the hands of some try hards".

Sam crapped on about the same thing when Steve Johnson got suspended via the same process in 2007. Gee, I'm an old bloke and my memory's a bit hazy but I'm sure Geelong won the Grand Final by over 100 points and Stevie J won the Norm Smith that year.

Just heard a partial re-cap of Grant's Saturday comments on 774. The emphasis to me seemed to be the words 'smart' and 'vindictive' in regards to Aker. Left no doubt as to where the trouble was and the other commentators totally agreed.

I heard the comments in the car as well and I think the synopsis from BTVOD is pretty close to the mark. As I recall Grant said that Aker was "vindictive and smart" and would manipulate the media to his advantage. He also said that that we had worked hard to develop a new culture at the club and Aker was undermining that and having a negative influence on the younger players.

Any doubts I may have had over the decision have been dispelled by Aker's comments and behaviour over the last few days, and now re-inforced by Grant's comments.

Any concerns that Grant would toe the club line are completely baseless, I believe that if Grant disagreed with a club decision then we would probably hear nothing. We may have different opinions on some issues but no-one on this board would ever seriously question the integrity and character of Chris Grant, something unfortunately, that cannot be said of Aker.

As I recall Grant said that Aker was "vindictive and smart" and would manipulate the media to his advantage.

No worries with him manipulating the media ... the only media listening to him is pretty uninfluential at its best.
I wrote when this all started that Aker has no future in the media because he has burnt too many. This is now the reality, consider who is doing his spruiking - some pretty low-brow individuals - and the venues / media outlets where he is being heard, and his future is not bright.

Aker hasn't got much of a media career as it stands - 'rent a quotes' don't have much long-term value (just ask Warrick Capper) - and will have none in about 12 months time.

I'm delighted to see your capacity for independent thought demonstrated by parrotting Malthouse's seductive (phwooar - nice word) opinions about the Leading Teams process. Apparently it's not been implemented at Collingwood so I guess your club made the right decision not to "put it in the hands of some try hards".

Sam crapped on about the same thing when Steve Johnson got suspended via the same process in 2007. Gee, I'm an old bloke and my memory's a bit hazy but I'm sure Geelong won the Grand Final by over 100 points and Stevie J won the Norm Smith that year.

Did the word seduced cause a bit of a rumble in your ‘ageing’ loins? Pretty simple argument that I don’t agree wholeheartedly with the process so it must be because I am parroting Malthouse’s sentiments (cause the same rumble?). If the Collingwood leadership team were try hards back then, then they were right to scrap it. No argument there.
One bloke who is involved in the Leading Teams training said in an interview, that it is not suitable to all clubs. Club, team and the individual dynamic will determine its success. Note that he wasn’t judgmental of clubs who do not adopt it.
Interesting article talking about Westy today. Have great respect for him as a player but IF he did confront Aker on his appearance through the same process, then it makes a mockery of it. As for Geelong, you would think 8 or so years of building and recruiting mastery would be more the reason for the flags than a leadership structure. If you attribute the ultimate success to the process, will you then attribute team and individual failure to it as well?

Don't know either, but I suspect there is a difference between Malthouse and Rocket. Both played for successful clubs- Malthouse played in the Graeme Richmond/Hafey era where players did what they are told. It think that fell apart later on during the Tony Jewell time.

Did the word seduced cause a bit of a rumble in your ‘ageing’ loins? Pretty simple argument that I don’t agree wholeheartedly with the process so it must be because I am parroting Malthouse’s sentiments (cause the same rumble?). If the Collingwood leadership team were try hards back then, then they were right to scrap it. No argument there.
One bloke who is involved in the Leading Teams training said in an interview, that it is not suitable to all clubs. Club, team and the individual dynamic will determine its success. Note that he wasn’t judgmental of clubs who do not adopt it.
Interesting article talking about Westy today. Have great respect for him as a player but IF he did confront Aker on his appearance through the same process, then it makes a mockery of it. As for Geelong, you would think 8 or so years of building and recruiting mastery would be more the reason for the flags than a leadership structure. If you attribute the ultimate success to the process, will you then attribute team and individual failure to it as well?

Just want to get you up to date with things & let you know that Westy's no longer at our Club.

Chris Grant on 774