Coach Chris Scott re-signs to 2022 (aka the Chris Scott discussion Part IV)

Do you support Scott coaching from 2020 onwards?

There is a couple of points I would make.
1. THe home ground advantage we supposedly have is because we do not have to play against the better sides in Geelong year in year out so our winning % at GMHBA is inflated and misleading.
2. WE had no problem winning at G between 2007 and 2011. We in fact won 31 from 39 contests = 80%
3. It's a furphy that the GMHBA stadium bites the Cat's on the arse because of it's dimensions. When we were good enough it was not a problem.
It wasn’t a problem because our main focus wasn’t to defend the ground it was to attack it through the middle.

Took me a while, but I eventually figured it out. So many machinations involved (Hendo included too)

Stanley & Cunico - Hugh Goddard (delisted, picked up by Carlton)
Smith - Mackenzie Willis (delisted), Sam Collins (traded Collins pick to Freo, delisted, then, ironically picked up by Gold Coast last year)
Scooter - Free agent (compo pick - Luke Partington, delisted)
Henderson - Jarrod Berry
Danger - Milera, Gore (delisted, back at Geelong VFL, Troy Menzel (delisted)
Tuohy & Fogarty - Smedts (delisted), Cameron Polson & Zac Bailey
Dahl - Free agent (compo pick - Rhylee West - father son selection)
Rohan - Marty Hore

Only one I truly regret, is Henderson in for Berry. Hendo was handy at the time time though, so I can't complain too much. We've done well with everything else though. I wouldn't have minded Marty Hore instead of Rohan, but not much chance we would have selected him anyway with a speculative late pick.
That was a great effort. I struggled to do that previously.

Remember the time we lost to hawthorn by 6 goals after being up by 5 goals at half time and CS proclaimed "Mission Accomplished" and then 2 weeks we later we lost to the hawks again in a QF by 6 goals.

Memories.

Lead the team where? To more finals failure?

Exactly. I mean, what else is Dangerfield going to tweet? The media is coming hard at Chris Scott, which the club isn't used to. He's going into bat for his mate / colleague. It's fair, transparent though.

So what happens on Friday night? If we see the club turn the corner and produce a real relentless, gut running, fierce approach to the game (which a qualifying final couldn't get out of them), then there's still a problem. This is almost routine now for the club.. LWL.. Finals failure.. 'oh, we'll fix it next year'. Routine is culture, culture is set and maintained by leaders.

It doesn't go away. Fans should be happier with a finals loss if they know their team worked their hardest and did their best. We're not seeing this from the GFC, the supporters see it (some, not all). They either don't want it enough or don't have the attitude required to compete against hungrier opponents. I can assure you, the club is all scratching their heads right now too...

Not good enough. All criticism is deserved.

Quality tweet, that.

They just neglected to include the final couple of sentences, after "He's led us incredibly well in the recent days."

Danger went on to say, "Those days being Saturday, Sunday and Monday, specifically. After all, what he did to us on Friday at the selection table can only ever be considered an utter abomination and a horrendous affront to common sense."

They either don't want it enough or don't have the attitude required to compete against hungrier opponents. I can assure you, the club is all scratching their heads right now too...

I agree from the gist of your post re the warranted fallout but I don’t agree with this bit.

If you rewatch the first 10 mins of the match, where we basically lost it, the ‘desire’ was evenly matched with Collingwood. There was desperation and intensity.

We won contested possessions overall which is usually an indicator of whether a team is displaying the effort required - we’ve been smacked in this statistic in most of our worst losses in recent years.

To me the problem is mental. Fumbles, dropped marks, lack of communication. Basic errors, simple set shots missed, players out of position. Stephenson’s early goal was because three of our defenders spoiled each other - this isn’t a lack of effort, it’s players trying to do the right thing but screwing it up.

We’ve played plenty of H&A games with finals like pressure in the last few years and I’m struggling to think of one where we’ve been down 3-5 goals to zero early on which has been a common theme in finals.

The coach and the leaders must be held accountable but I don’t know how to fix it.

The more we keep doing it, the more pressure there is next final and the more basic errors we make. It’s a horror show.

I'm backing us to win this week a la the Sydney 2017 SF and that will be enough for the club to back him in even when we get smashed by the Tigers. Just enough to paper over the cracks of another wasted year and for Scott to not have to face scrutiny from the club let alone come anywhere near facing the axe.

We need to move the ball a lot quicker and get away from this keeping possession at all costs to eventually trap it in the forward line style. Trapping it in the forward line is great, but our glacial pace means our forwards are getting no 1v1 contests and our shots at goal are pretty low quality. Take some risks, play on, go through the corridor... just stop with the slow ball movement, it's not generating enough quality shots to consistently win matches, it's killing our creativity, and it's making us such a one dimensional team.

I also just can't believe the ruck decision. We did this exact same thing in 2013 when we dropped Trent West going into the QF against Freo and went with a Blicavs/Vardy ruck combo which probably cost us that match as they absolutely murdered us in the ruck, and here we are 6 years later trying the same thing against the current best ruckman in the comp. Going with Blicavs as our main ruckman as failed many times before, including in finals, why the **** are we trying it again in a final?!? Absolutely indefensible considering we've tried this exact tactic before, including in a final, and it's failed spectacularly everytime.

Both West and Stanley were/are far from world beaters, but they're better than just giving up the ruck position.

Blicavs developed into a key defender one with a bit of rebound in him. So WTF did Scott try to make a ruckman out of him Talk about rob Peter to pay Paul problem is our backline has fallen apart because of this move.

There comes a time when your star as a leader falls in to the collective mire. Ask Bob Hawke. Ask John Howard. I suspect that that time has now arrived for CS. Too much of the same failure at the point end of the season. Not pragmatic enough to honestly communicate what the inner sanctum are thinking (for Scott it is always mentioned that they know best ... not the plebs). He may try to be articulate yet he is not. He doesn't know how to connect with ordinary mainstream fans. A little distant. It is how I see his persona. A touch aloof. I suspect his star is falling. Yet, conversely, in his darkest hour he may still pull the rabbit out of the hat !

Blicavs developed into a key defender one with a bit of rebound in him. So WTF did Scott try to make a ruckman out of him Talk about rob Peter to pay Paul problem is our backline has fallen apart because of this move.
Didn't even pay Paul though, Scotty screwed him over as well.

Can somebody please explain what Dangerfield means when he says this?

"I think the key for us is just making sure we've got targets ahead of the footy.

"We didn't work as well as a unit and when the defence is set up well down the line, you don't want to move the ball quickly because they're already set. We don't move it slowly on purpose.

"It's the team collective around getting better shape within the contest so we can move it quickly when it's appropriate to do so."

If you rewatch the first 10 mins of the match, where we basically lost it, the ‘desire’ was evenly matched with Collingwood. There was desperation and intensity.

We won contested possessions overall which is usually an indicator of whether a team is displaying the effort required - we’ve been smacked in this statistic in most of our worst losses in recent years.

To me the problem is mental. Fumbles, dropped marks, lack of communication. Basic errors, simple set shots missed, players out of position. Stephenson’s early goal was because three of our defenders spoiled each other - this isn’t a lack of effort, it’s players trying to do the right thing but screwing it up.

Which suggests pretty strongly that it is finals pressure above all which causes the most problems. I think there are other issues as well, but too many players look like stars during home and away but fall to pieces under finals heat.

Which suggests pretty strongly that is it finals pressure above all which causes the most problems. I think there are other issues as well, but too many players look like stars during home and away but fall to pieces under finals heat.

I actually feel sorry for the players.. That joke of a game plan is designed to just put more pressure on our own players.. How can you win playing keepings off and bombing it into a flooded forwardline.. Every other opposition supporter is laughing at us...

Can somebody please explain what Dangerfield means when he says this?

"I think the key for us is just making sure we've got targets ahead of the footy.

"We didn't work as well as a unit and when the defence is set up well down the line, you don't want to move the ball quickly because they're already set. We don't move it slowly on purpose.

"It's the team collective around getting better shape within the contest so we can move it quickly when it's appropriate to do so."
Nope. The slow ball movement looks extremely deliberate to me. It is so common and done by so many on the team that I have concluded it can only be a team directive.
Be great if someone can explain that quote. Does paddy do all the talking now? Hardly ever hear from Joel anymore.