Clarkson take your place among the great coaches of this club in Allan Jeans and John Kennedy Senior

TeamPlayer23

Oct 13, 2012
Hawthorn president Andrew Newbold has declared triumphant Alastair Clarkson ''the best coach in the AFL'' and acknowledged he is now a part of ''rarified air'' at the Hawks, having led his team to its second premiership in six years.

Newbold used his presidential address at the club's post grand final function at Crown Casino on Saturday night to laud Clarkson and his coaching group for producing one of the best seasons in the Hawks' history which was completed in stirring fashion.

''Quite simply, you are the best coach and coaching group in the AFL,'' Newbold said to warm applause. ''Alastair, you can now quite rightly take your place among the great coaches of this club, in Allan Jeans and John Kennedy Senior. That is rarified air, so congratulations.''

It was only days ago that Newbold was forced to quash media speculation that Clarkson would be offered and would accept a massive long-term deal to coach West Coast in Perth next season, but to Newbold and his executive team, it must have seemed like a distant memory on Saturday night.
As players and their families gathered to celebrate the win over Fremantle, Newbold said the club should not underestimate how hard the 2013 premiership was to achieve, given the enormous pressure that had followed the Hawks this season, having failed to follow up on its 2008 flag, when it appeared the club was on the verge of a dynasty.
''In terms of trials this club could take this 11th premiership. Ultimately we did not enjoy the meal last year. That fact caused a great hunger in this football club, which did not go away all year. In 2013, we have eaten well: main course, dessert and entree.
''At the AGM, I said out of this club there would be no excuses. In fact, the motto of this club is 'let us be judged on our actions'.''
''Well ladies and gentlemen, today, we have been judged on our actions. In sport, it is incredibly difficult to keep the promise of expectation. Everyone loyal to this club and this team has probably the best [team] in the competition. But we still have to go out and win it and today we did that.''
The president resisted the temptation to make bold predictions for next year; however, he joked that one board member was already talking about ''going back to back''.
Newbold would say only this to his players and coaches: ''You've climbed the mountain now enjoyed the view.''
All of Newbold, Clarkson and captain Luke Hodge made special mention of the players who had contributed during the year, but were not part of the 22 who played in the game. In particular, the players who suffered season-ending knee injuries: Brendan Whitecross, Ryan Schoenmakers, Matt Suckling and Alex Woodward, who were praised by Clarkson. ''At Hawthorn, squads win premierships, not teams,'' Newbold added.

A further feather in Clarkson's cap is that when he arrived at Hawthorn there was nothing particular about him that suggested he'd succeed. He was seen as a somewhat surprising choice, and from memory it was a hunch on the part of Jason Dunstall that saw him appointed.

By comparison Jeans had already been a long-time and premiership coach at St Kilda, and Kennedy was already a Hawthorn legend when he began coaching.

As much as I love Clarko I reckon he needs one more medal around his neck to be on par with them. Nevertheless, he is a legend in his own right at our wonderful club!

Thanks Clarko..we love ya.
They've never been harder to win; I think these 2 should be weighted more heavily.
But he should get us another one to be absolutely sure. ;)

They've never been harder to win; I think these 2 should be weighted more heavily.
But he should get us another one to be absolutely sure. ;)

Just because I'm in a good mood, I'll give you another one just so we can catch Melbourne on premierships*. But none of this waiting 5 years shit, we'll have to go back-to-back.

*Must overtake Melbourne - will have to be a threepeat then. :D

Think about where we were in 2004 and then look at us now.

Plenty of people deserve the kudos but Clarko is right at the top of the list.

Phenomenal coach and a Hawthorn legend, without a doubt.
Couldnt agree more

Clarko has been colossal for this football club :thumbsu:

Must admit that I have been a critic at times but am really happy for him to achieve such lofty status because he obviously works very hard and is a true leader. People tend to speak of his tactics and innovation but I think the most important thing is that he has fit into our culture and then brought some of his own ways to the club which I think was very important from the time he arrived.

The JK scenes at the GF were the best. Seeing him scowl last year and now seeing him get around everyone and them him....Wowee what a club

"Couldn't agree more Team Player"... That was by far and away the best moment of this Premiership for me....When Kennedy handed over the Cup to Clarko I'll admit that I teared up like a little Girl who had just lost her favourite Dolly!

Once again Kennedy has a direct hand in another Premiership! We owe THIS MAN everything for the Football Club that we have become Today! Without him, we'd be another St. Kilda or Footscray I reckon!

And To Alastair Clarkson......MATE...I OWE YOU A HUGE APOLOGY!...YOU have shown that you can coach in the Big Finals Now and have learnt and acquired the art of Finals strategy!...WELL DONE....I didn't think you could adapt your game style but you have...True Growth & Maturity!

I bet there would be a whole different view of Clarko if we'd lost to Geelong. On the Hawthorn website chat page last year (no longer exists), Clarko copped a lot of flack after the Sydney GF. Statements like: "The players won the 08 grand final in spite of him." I wonder where these supporters are now?

Clarko has been a massive coach for Hawthorn. I think his number one quality has been loyalty. Despite all the flack he has received over the years (Kennett, you dick), he kept on plugging away, looking for new ways to get an edge over the competition, re-inventing our core group after 08. (The side has effectively been rebuilt after that grand final.) He is a passionate footy man, and very community minded, interested in footy at the grass-roots level. I loved stories about him going to see a friend's junior match in the morning after an AFL match.

I think he is up there with Alan Jeans, who never had to do a rebuild of Hawthorn - the talent was already there, and he just walked in. Jeans was also a pretty poor tactician, and only had a 3/6 strike-rate in grand finals. (3/7 if you include his time with St. Kilda)

I bet there would be a whole different view of Clarko if we'd lost to Geelong. On the Hawthorn website chat page last year (no longer exists), Clarko copped a lot of flack after the Sydney GF. Statements like: "The players won the 08 grand final in spite of him." I wonder where these supporters are now?

Clarko has been a massive coach for Hawthorn. I think his number one quality has been loyalty. Despite all the flack he has received over the years (Kennett, you dick), he kept on plugging away, looking for new ways to get an edge over the competition, re-inventing our core group after 08. (The side has effectively been rebuilt after that grand final.) He is a passionate footy man, and very community minded, interested in footy at the grass-roots level. I loved stories about him going to see a friend's junior match in the morning after an AFL match.

I think he is up there with Alan Jeans, who never had to do a rebuild of Hawthorn - the talent was already there, and he just walked in. Jeans was also a pretty poor tactician, and only had a 3/6 strike-rate in grand finals. (3/7 if you include his time with St. Kilda)

Actually if you include his time with St Kilda he is 4/9.

Clarkson take your place among the great coaches of this club in Allan Jeans and John Kennedy Senior