Rumour Clayton Oliver

I guess you must be perfect then.
Where did I imply I was perfect?

Because I wouldn't drive whilst my licence was suspended because I might have a seizure? Or I don't go around destroying other people's property? Or because I haven't been threatened with the sack by my employer because I don't treat fellow workmates with respect?

I reckon most people think that's unacceptable behaviour. Has nothing to do with perfection.

It's just being a decent human.

Nah, actually I have seen things turn haywire with young men more than most. You sit here on your keyboard assassinating, but you have absolutely no idea what his state of mind is. People keep pushing and pushing and pushing till people break. What happens on here is symbolic of what happens in society. Really sad, I expected better from you.

Ah okay, so because I don't know him he is therefor above criticism of his selfish actions.

Makes so much sense, thank you. Zero responsibility.

Where did I imply I was perfect?

Because I wouldn't drive whilst my licence was suspended because I might have a seizure? Or I don't go around destroying other people's property? Or because I haven't been threatened with the sack by my employer because I don't treat fellow workmates with respect?

I reckon most people think that's unacceptable behaviour. Has nothing to do with perfection.

It's just being a decent human.

Who honestly gives a * ?

Since when does being a decent human cry into the criteria of being an AFL player anyway ?

The boy (Clarry) is clearly struggling with personal and mental health issues right now and i would actually say its flogs like you who are not behaving like decent human beings but like the Puritans in tbe Salem Witch trials.

He is already guilty and beyond redemption in the eyes of you and fellow bible thumping crusader in Jesus Junior Fabab

Who honestly gives a * ?

Since when does being a decent human cry into the criteria of being an AFL player anyway ?

The boy (Clarry) is clearly struggling with personal and mental health issues right now and i would actually say its flogs like you who are not behaving like decent human beings but like the Puritans in tbe Salem Witch trials.

He is already guilty and beyond redemption in the eyes of you and fellow bible thumping crusader in Jesus Junior Fabab
Oh poor widdle Clayton & Elmer Fudd...

Why don't we just let these grown men act like total tools & delinquent twats, so they can all have a laugh with all the lads & their bros..hahaha

You're a moron. You've told us so many times.

The more you criticise me, the better I feel about myself.

And what's with the Jesus & the Bible crap?

This thread is like that Bill Burr quote, “what’s my problem? My problem is I live in a society where the guy that’s smoking is telling me I can’t smoke”

Who honestly gives a * ?

I only commented on you not the melbourne player,you thought you were billy big balls ripping stuff from nice cars and yet you mention not behaving like decent human beings! I hope you suffer your drug induced come down tomorrow ,hope you stole some good stuff from rich snobs tonight.

Ah okay, so because I don't know him he is therefor above criticism of his selfish actions.

Makes so much sense, thank you. Zero responsibility.

No one who is defending Clarry (like myself an# South of the Yarra ) says he shouldn't be above criticism or reproach

I once lived with a young woman in my late teens at a youth shelter (when I was displaced cause I was facing personal abuse and trauma at my own home) and J (her name was) became a street worker and heroin addict, because of her awful home experience (from.NSW)

Now obviously no one is saying Clarry should be
exonerated for his wayward and dysfunctional public behaviour of late,

The hypocrisy of footy fans never ceases to amaze

Will defend anyone for just about anything if they play for the club they support but will line up to celebrate and sink in the boots for any player who plays for another club and the more high profile the player the more people seem to celebrate the downfall

I just find the whole Oliver situation sad, probably one of if not the best mids in the comp when up and about but obviously struggling with some pretty complex off field issues

Just hope he has some decent support in his corner and he can sort out his issues
Would be a shame for the game to see this be the end of him

I know he’s extraordinary well paid but I’ve come across some post-retirement footballers who had long, successful careers and who are flat broke as adults, with their lives totally off the rails.

Needs to get it together. At the rate he’s going it has all the hallmarks of a quick burnout and the money won’t mean much for long.

Pretty embarassing that other clubs are laying the boots into the guy with some serious issues going on. Don't forget that Clarry would casually stroll into all of your clubs and win your BnF each and every year, outside maybe pies with Daicos.

Well I've popped onto your board and similar vibes from this thread is happening. (minus a few dimwits). So settle down

So the Gawns have had a baby Tuesday.

Max has headed to training camp Wednesday.

Almost simultaneously Clarry has cleared out and presumably gone home to the Gawns.

So Ms Gawn has got a very newborn and Clarry on her hands solo.

If that's not a ripping premise for a sit com, I give up.
men.jpg

I haven't seen many Dee's supporters defend Clarry on here tbh. Go and read their thread on him. Majority are sick to death of him & wish the club had traded him out when they had a chance. So it's weird that you're taking the supporters angle. The biggest defender of Oliver on here is a Carlton supporter who brags about urinating in drinking fountains.
Just an overall observation of trends and not just specifically about Oliver

Either way people thinking they need to pot a player for the sake of it instead of actually having a legitimate discussion about mental health issues is a missed opportunity within itself, it just keeps the stigma around mental health issues alive

Regardless of the poor taste of taking satisfaction in the fall and struggle of someone else

Australian society is known for its toxicity especially surrounding tall poppy syndrome and this thread just seems more evidence of it

Pretty embarassing that other clubs are laying the boots into the guy with some serious issues going on. Don't forget that Clarry would casually stroll into all of your clubs and win your BnF each and every year, outside maybe pies with Daicos.
Weird comment.

I don't think there would be any club at the moment that would like him casually strolling through their door.

Until he sorts his shit out he's a cancer to any club. You only need to look at what Cousins did to WCE to see that.

But hey, he can find the pill though.

Why does the game owe it to him? They don’t owe him anything.

No different to any other place of employment. If you have behavioural issues outside of the work place it’s not on your work place to take care of that person
. If they can’t perform their role to the required level then they had better sort themselves out or find another career.

Clubs shouldn’t be expected to hand hold them like toddlers if they can’t get it together. They make decisions and have to live by them and the consequences of them as we all do.
This is not entirely true.

I have had staff at times that have had issues outside of work (some very much self inflicted) and even though it is not my fault that the individuals have problems, it is my responsibility to help where I can.

You can perform your role (see ball, kick ball, or in my staff's case drive heavy machinery) but culture is more than the direct role.

I have had gun operators, who were a pain in the arse and cancerous to my organization because of outside influence.
I could cut them loose but then I set a precedent that if you have problems, you're out.
No good for culture.

Best to set a standard to try and help them through, as this reflects on the rest of the team, which creates unity, trust and eventually a culture shift.
As others have learnt in football and all other walks of society, we cant save them all but we must at least try.

To have a legitimate discussion about something, you'd need to know some specifics & what the subject is.

What specific mental issue is it, that he's currently dealing with?

It's not everyone else's responsibility to sort him out & fix it.

He has a whole club behind him to give him support & help him if he chooses to take it. The club brought his issues into the public domain. And he keeps fueling it with a new saga every week.

You want people to talk about 'it' (whatever 'it' is), but then complain when people do talk about the weekly incidents we've all been told about by the club & media.
To me the specifics don’t matter be it, depression, anxiety, addiction, a combination of these or any other of the other possible diagnosis

Yes mental health can cover any number of specific diagnoses but to claim because you don’t know that specific diagnoses means you can’t have a legitimate discussion is a cop out

& his actions/ seemingly self destructive behaviour are obviously a symptom of the larger issues he is facing, no one is claiming he hasn’t got support nor is it any of our responsibility to fix it

But like I said in the post earlier some of the posts in this thread just keeps the stigma about mental health struggles alive and could potentially make someone else who is struggling not speak out or seek help

Rumour Clayton Oliver