News Coaching Thread: The Hardwick Era

And Dew connected really well with some players who will be pissed he has been sacked. Could well be a catalyst for them to decide to go home. Hardwick doesn't just come in and magically fix our issues like some are spruiking on here. We are still flawed in list build and front office.
Are we talking about grown men or 12 yo school boys.
As l said identified as way to comfortable.

On CPH2333 using BigFooty.com mobile app

Im very close to a player and this is disgusting behaviour. The poor bloke hasnt got the results I agree but if they think Hardwick is the saviour they are kidding. CLarkson did a good job at Kangaroos didnt he. You need the cattle and unfortunately Dewy hasnt had the cattle to be up near the top the players love Dew but someone in hiogher places has stabbed him big time. Caro should name the leaker and then let that person see how it feels to be ridiculed.

I personally think he has done a good job of building a foundation for success.

I remember how far back we were at the end of 2018. So crook that we got a big list of draft and list concessions and a lot of the usual Melbourne blowhards were OK with it.
And now there are a lot of very talented players who have signed on for multiple years at fair money for a northern club.
Some big ticks in that.

But now is the time for some cold hard light of day decision making. Can he do the rest? Can he get enough of these players playing their best team football and influencing wins week after week and be able to win 13 or 14 games?

He had 1/2 a chance last year and got a pass mark (10 wins and 12 losses) and another go at it. With some big injuries.
He had a pretty decent chance this year to do something and we started 1-4 after the Freo loss and after getting blown away early against both the Swans and the Saints. Clawed back, but a pass mark this year has to be 12 wins and 11 losses and we are miles off that. And we have had a healthly list most of the year. Touk played the 1st 5 games before he went down.

Bottom line is that not enough of the players are playing as well as they can, and we keep having long periods in some games where we get flogged. Getting flogged gets you the boot. Whether we like it or not.

Only one man can save us now.

Jason Sudeikis Hello GIF by Apple TV+

Isn't this the classic re-build move to?

Coach comes in when the club is at rock bottom, rights the ship to some extent (good man-management/team builder). Then gets the arse as the list matures and needs more of a tactician/new system to give them the next push?

Isn't this the classic re-build move to?

Coach comes in when the club is at rock bottom, rights the ship to some extent (good man-management/team builder). Then gets the arse as the list matures and needs more of a tactician/new system to give them the next push?
Yes in all sports
Look at soccer there are coaches specifically hired to coach teams towards the end of the year with the soul purpose of not getting them relegated

Its the right time and right move by the club. Gives us time to stabilize before the year is out and if we lock in 'Hardwick', it gives us alot of time to attract some new talent to the club. If we left him for another year and it didnt pan out we would have alot of players wanting to leave anyway.

Credit to Dew for bringing stability and building a place where everyone was happy to come to work. Gotta give him credit for that. There was brief moments where I started to believe he was the man to take us all the way...

In the end the results speak for themselves, not enough winning....

It is still a big risk.

Ultimately we are here to win games.

The bigger risk was going in to next year with a lame duck coach and have another failure of a year.

If you want to leave because a good guy who was your coach who couldn't get the job done then there's the door.

The bond is the players wanting to play together and hopefully win together.

I’d be going after Josh Carr before Hardwick. Look how Freo have gone this year without him and how Port have risen. Rated very highly by many in the industry.

I’d be cautious of Hardwick after everything that happened the last period of time at Richmond.

And Dew connected really well with some players who will be pissed he has been sacked. Could well be a catalyst for them to decide to go home. Hardwick doesn't just come in and magically fix our issues like some are spruiking on here. We are still flawed in list build and front office.

It's why it had to be done this year whilst they are all still in contract, next year the likes of king come out of contract which a coach sacking would make him more likely to move then.

It's similar to Essendon last year, the players liked rutten and had a sook at his treatment, but now they all can't stop frothing over how great Scott is and how amazing it is to be winning.

He won a flag. Dew hasn't finished above 12th.
Is this guy serious. Flag winning coach multiple final appearances and now basically has a WAFL State league team to coach they have so many injuries.
In the past we kept making excuses injuries, training facilities, lack of experience. Well friends that's all dried up now what do we have to blame?

Yeah I agree with a lot of others here. Right time to move him on. He’s had more time than any coach I can recall without ever getting close to finals. Gives us plenty of time to get a good replacement rather than being last out of the blocks and getting left the scraps. Might even convince a decent player to make the move up north too.

It's why it had to be done this year whilst they are all still in contract, next year the likes of king come out of contract which a coach sacking would make him more likely to move then.

It's similar to Essendon last year, the players liked rutten and had a sook at his treatment, but now they all can't stop frothing over how great Scott is and how amazing it is to be winning.
The players will be gushing over Hardwick after 1 month in charge. Bookmark that.

A Hardwick/Dusty package probably gives us a nice marketing angle too.

If we are actually in a selection process I guess Josh Carr has to be looked at too. But I reckon Hardwick gets the AFL push into the job.

I’d be going after Josh Carr before Hardwick. Look how Freo have gone this year without him and how Port have risen. Rated very highly by many in the industry.

I’d be cautious of Hardwick after everything that happened the last period of time at Richmond.

The AFL will likely pay a big chunk of Dimmas contract as an 'ambassador'.
A big name to bring attention, a quality assistant or two, and maybe a player or two.

And the ambassador money should really helps with bringing in assistants under the soft cap that we probably could not afford before. A bit of the AFL 'magic' book keeping.

News Coaching Thread: The Hardwick Era