No-one ever seems to leave on good terms
But what can you do?
As we say on the farm
Never name something you might have to eat
The players need to know there’s a new broom before the end of the season
A full list and a low mid table finish wasn’t going to let Dewy continue
I reckon he was Rankine and Jones short of a plan in the end

Biggest worry is losing players. Reckon we are going to have issues again there.

What would be on brand would be if we haven’t lined up the big name coach who will make sure the players stay
You have to presume the guy they/we want has inked the deal

...I reckon he was Rankine and Jones short of a plan in the end
This is the truth, it's as big or small as this. There had to be a bigger effort for Rankine, the hardest type of player to find anywhere in any draft or trade. I'd love to know the workings of those conversations but I imagine Dew would have been cluey enough to know he needed Rankine to achieve a functional forward line this year.

To me it makes 0 sense to sack Dew this late into the season.
But then again, this is the Gold Coast Suns, making 0 sense is kind of our tradition

On SM-G996B using BigFooty.com mobile app

If they have decided he will not coach next year, let him go asap.
A few reasons I suspect but here are two.

Six month payout.
Finding a job for next year.

Has the time to find a job in footy for next year if he wants one and keeps the soft cap is clean for next year.

It’s very sad
We seem cursed as a footy Club
No-one ever seems to leave on good terms
But what can you do?
As we say on the farm
Never name something you might have to eat
The players need to know there’s a new broom before the end of the season
A full list and a low mid table finish wasn’t going to let Dewy continue
I reckon he was Rankine and Jones short of a plan in the end

Sorry to interrupt, Is there more to this rather than the coach all the time? As it always seems the coach’s fault rather then anything else.

And some small forwards
Yeah, but I reckon small forwards are the easiest part to solve. You just need a couple of super fast blokes that give 100% every week. Holman for example is a limited player, but plays the role well. Better organisation/delivery getting into the F50 will help massively.

I’ve been fielding calls all morning.
I’m alive and well.
Like I’ve told everyone.

This wasn’t my first choice.
I liked what Dew had done to the players and the club off field better than it ever.

Just the lack of winning was to big to hide from anymore.

I’m rather sad he couldn’t get the wins on the board.

Thanks Stewy.

I feel like i've been sucker punched in the mouth (and I do know how that feels)

I've got nothing, I wanted to believe so bad it would be different this time...

If nothing else he raised the boat when Rocket tried to sink it.

Thanks for everything Stewy

What does that even mean. Players leave Premiership winning Clubs.
Players were identified as being way too comfortable with Dew as one of issues.

On CPH2333 using BigFooty.com mobile app
And Dew connected really well with some players who will be pissed he has been sacked. Could well be a catalyst for them to decide to go home. Hardwick doesn't just come in and magically fix our issues like some are spruiking on here. We are still flawed in list build and front office.

News Coaching Thread: The Hardwick Era