Collingwood: Arguably bringing together the best group of youngsters in the league

I'll give you Thomas and Shaw, both are showing a great deal of telent this season but Harry O'Brien? Come on. The guy just has delist material written all over him in a couple of years. There's just no way he'll become a good AFL player. He doesn't have any particularly outstanding attributes, and for a guy who appears to be lacking footy smarts, that spells trouble.

Re: Collingwood: Arguably bringing together the best group of youngsters in the leag

Coin_Toss said:
I am excited,

When you look at the players we drafted last year, how can you blame me..

Thomas: GUN!!! In the Ablett mould.
Pendlebury: GUN!!! In the Dal Santo mould.
Stanley: Strong lad. In the Burns mould.
Cook: Great overhead mark. In the O'Keefe mould.
Anthony: Versatile defender. Dare I say in the Clement mould, probably not as good.
Iles: Running Machine. In the Nathan D. Brown mould.
Toovey: Courageous defender.
Nicholls: GUN!!! Bit of Sam Mitchell about him.
Cox: Untapped talent.

I am a very pleased Collingwood supporter at the moment!

Mate, are you being serious? Getting excited about someone because they are a "good overhead mark in the O'Keefe mould" is ridiculous when they haven't played a game yet. Every single draftee has some quality attributes, not just Collingwood ones, that's why they are drafted.

Out of that lot, get excited aout Thomas, atleast he has shown something at AFL level, but to comparing Pendlebury to Dal Santo and Nicholls a gun (particulalry as he is just rookie listed) is absolutely ridiculous. Let them play some footy first.

snakebite01 said:
Harry O'Brien? Come on. The guy just has delist material written all over him in a couple of years. There's just no way he'll become a good AFL player. He doesn't have any particularly outstanding attributes, and for a guy who appears to be lacking footy smarts, that spells trouble.

How many times you watched him?

Guy was sensational against port last week to be honest, bloke will be a gun.

understudy said:
How many times you watched him?

Guy was sensational against port last week to be honest, bloke will be a gun.

I watched him against Essendon and Port, and a couple of times last year.

IMO, he just doesn't have anything outstanding that'll keep him in the AFL. Kicks often miss the target, isn't big enough to hold down KP, doesn't seem like a real trier (eg Nathan D Brown mould), isn't particularly clean with his hands. He's done OK, but anyone could get a kick off HB in the Pies team at the minute. See how he goes when they are not dominating the opposition.

snakebite01 said:
I watched him against Essendon and Port, and a couple of times last year.

IMO, he just doesn't have anything outstanding that'll keep him in the AFL. Kicks often miss the target, isn't big enough to hold down KP, doesn't seem like a real trier (eg Nathan D Brown mould), isn't particularly clean with his hands. He's done OK, but anyone could get a kick off HB in the Pies team at the minute. See how he goes when they are not dominating the opposition.

Hmm I've watched every game he's played and watch us every week

He went quite well last year actually imo, very important player for us

Dont know what your on about, you either know nothing about football or have a hatred of anything Collingwood?

understudy said:
Hmm I've watched every game he's played and watch us every week

He went quite well last year actually imo, very important player for us

Dont know what your on about, you either know nothing about football or have a hatred of anything Collingwood?

Pfft, don't know what you're on about. It's called an opinion.

Important player? I'm pretty sure you could replace someone quite easily who averages about 10 touches a week and doesn't do anything particularly outstanding off the ball or when he doesn't have it.

He hasn't impressed me from what I've seen. I'm far more impartial than you are. I could say the same thing...you either know nothing about football or you are a Collingwood lover. One of those is definitely true, probably both.

BTW, you're argument for him becoming a 'GUN' AFL player as you put it, is non-existant. All you're saying is he'll be good because I say so. What exactly sets him apart from others to ensure he'll be a gun?

Not yet but certianly on the right track.
Its easy to laugh off Pies recruiting ( some supporters always know better and that includes Pie fans ) but of late it has been good.

Of particular interest to me is that the last few years we ave been elevatig rookies again. that is always a good sign. Ask WCE with Cox and Fletcher. and J Graham

Well done Derek Hine for righting the ship. Need a couple more good drafts. Teams success always allow rookies to settle in also. At this early team + low injuries means they can shine.

Biggest change in Pis this year is that we have virtually all our palyers 6ft 2 under have played mid field. Rotation has been the key to our sucess.

snakebite01 said:
Pfft, don't know what you're on about. It's called an opinion.

Important player? I'm pretty sure you could replace someone quite easily who averages about 10 touches a week and doesn't do anything particularly outstanding off the ball or when he doesn't have it.

He hasn't impressed me from what I've seen. I'm far more impartial than you are. I could say the same thing...you either know nothing about football or you are a Collingwood lover. One of those is definitely true, probably both.

BTW, you're argument for him becoming a 'GUN' AFL player as you put it, is non-existant. All you're saying is he'll be good because I say so. What exactly sets him apart from others to ensure he'll be a gun?

1. Athleticism - been sensational. Tackling, marking, intercepts.
2. Closing speed - phenomenal. 20 years of age. Hard worker.
3. You have hardly watched him
4. If he wasnt important to us I wouldnt rate him.
5. If he was/is replacable I wouldnt even be worried about him.
6. Have another look against Carlton Sunday.

snakebite01 said:
I'll give you Thomas and Shaw, both are showing a great deal of telent this season but Harry O'Brien? Come on. The guy just has delist material written all over him in a couple of years. There's just no way he'll become a good AFL player. He doesn't have any particularly outstanding attributes, and for a guy who appears to be lacking footy smarts, that spells trouble.

He has alot of upside. More than this post is saying. My brother big WCE fan. Gets himself in trouble but gets out of it. Very nice build for HBF. Lots of upside. Tall fast and dual sided and still leaning the game.

understudy said:

What a joke. Anyone can do it. I get tired of hearing people say so and so has good closing speed. It is really not that hard to chase down someone running with the ball unless he has phenomenal pace. It's also not that hard to gain ground on someone leading when they have to wait for the ball to mark it.

You've been listening to Dermie too much :cool:

G-Mo77 said:
It's also not that hard to gain ground on someone leading when they have to wait for the ball to mark it.

Who says that have to wait for the ball?

No joke clown, time and again this bloke makes the spoil when you think he wont get there but youd have to actually watch him play before you realised this :rolleyes:

understudy said:
1. Athleticism - been sensational. Tackling, marking, intercepts.
3. You have hardly watched him
4. If he wasnt important to us I wouldnt rate him.
5. If he was/is replacable I wouldnt even be worried about him.
6. Have another look against Carlton Sunday.

1. 5 tackles for the season. Far from sensational. Wouldn't classify his marking ability as sensational. Dale Thomas has 'sensational' marking ability. Next.
2. Great! A hard worker. As opposed to 90% of the comp. Next.
3. Granted. But how is me having hardly watched him going to improve him?
4/5. Like I said, 10-12 touches and a few 1%ers each game is dime-a-dozen output. If you think he is irreplaceable does that mean you'll tip the Blues this week if he was a late withdrawal? Unlikely.
6. I'll be watching intently. :thumbsu:

understudy said:
Who says that have to wait for the ball?

No joke clown, time and again this bloke makes the spoil when you think he wont get there but youd have to actually watch him play before you realised this :rolleyes:

I'm not having a go at him "clown" I actually like Windscreens I just said the term "Closing Speed" is a joke. As I said you've been listening to Dermie too much.

Maybe you should actually read :rolleyes:

He has great athleticism, he has excellent pace when he gets a head of steam and is very agile, in my opinion like a taller Chris Johnson. He has a very strong body, definately will be able to take on bigger and taller opponents, as well as the smaller quicker ones. How often does he actually stuff up? He gets himself into trouble, but I would say 80% of those times he gets himself out of it with his athleticism and we retain possession and actually do well out of it. His spoiling and marking while going back is really quite good. His decision making defensively is good, but he will always be outwitted by more experienced players, that is natural. That will improve as he get older. His decision making when attacking and particularly kicking is average. But his kicking as such isn't poor it is quite decent. IMO nothing to worry about here, he will improve. Basically his versitility and mobility are what make him important, and will do for what will be a very long career in the black and white.

snakebite01 said:

What the? It's his footy smarts that I find are his best attributes!!! Reads the flight and bounce very well, and times spoils, contests and tackles to perfection, rarely gives away a free.

He moved from Brazil when he was a toddler. He is not foreign to our game!!

sp-mac said:
What the? It's his footy smarts that I find are his best attributes!!! Reads the flight and bounce very well, and times spoils, contests and tackles to perfection, rarely gives away a free.

He moved from Brazil when he was a toddler. He is not foreign to our game!!

Huh? He has had just 5 tackles and given away 6 frees this season (the 2nd MOST at the club). You guys are just making it up as you go along.

Re: Collingwood: Arguably bringing together the best group of youngsters in the leag

snakebite01 said:
3. Granted. But how is me having hardly watched him going to improve him?

Stupid comment. Whilst you having not watched him isnt going to improve him, but admitting you have hardly watched him is automatically going to make anyone with half a brain totally disregard any comment you're going to make regarding him.

He reminds me of a young mal michael. Mal was often maligned in his early years but collingwood persisted with him, until he asked to leave that is.

snakebite01 said:
Kicks often miss the target, isn't big enough to hold down KP, doesn't seem like a real trier (eg Nathan D Brown mould), isn't particularly clean with his hands.

Harry O'Brien? Come on. The guy just has delist material written all over him in a couple of years. There's just no way he'll become a good AFL player. He doesn't have any particularly outstanding attributes, and for a guy who appears to be lacking footy smarts, that spells trouble.

1. Kicks dont miss target.
2. Is clean with his hands.
3. Is a trier, hard at it type.
4. His speed and athleticism are outstanding.
5. Has great footy smarts.

To discredit you even more, Harry's committing only one clanger per 47 disposals so far in 2006, making him one of least error prone players in the competition. :thumbsu:

guys there is a kid by the name of brenton rowe from the tyntynder football club in the cmfl league,he has had some real serious knee injuries and has overcome the odds and now he is back after last year been his first year in somethig like 2 years and he is freak,came back into it like he never left the game, got everything,mite be small but got pace,skill,strength mite need a little work but one of the most fearless oplayers i have ever seen, only 18 years of age aswell,the pies need to get on to him before another club does,will step straight into the big time lime light

Harry Obrien
Overrated

wasnt it like round 2 or so when he got dropped and only came back in as a late minute inclusion. might be good in the future but right now is not as good as you think. period

please!!
and for best young list in the afl. who you got hey??? ok thomas is a dead set gun (not in young judd league though) but their is surely a big drop off from here. you telling me like guys such as cloke, rusling, obrien, egan, maxwell, pendelbury etc etc are the best young kids in the afl. who are these people and have they ever been consistent enough. this is just like comparing it to our young guns waters, selwood, graham, staker, rosa and the rest of them. definitly not the best in the comp (pretty close) but do we ever brag about them.

guess its a collingwood thing at being over the moon when one bright spark appears.

These youngsters just keep doing their job week after week. All of them are really coming on, only matter of time till football world recognises their contribution. :)

Cassius_Clay said:
Hows the 1 kick wonder going at your rabble. Big Setanta, 2 games, 2 kicks. What a star, oozing with immense talent. Probably the most unco player the AFL has seen in a while :)

hahaha me thinks we are getting a little desperate bagging a 3rd year player out of Ireland. i reckon you would take setanta over many of collingwood's duds.

Collingwood: Arguably bringing together the best group of youngsters in the league