List Mgmt. COLLINGWOOD Trade and F/A Discussion 2023

There's some debate as to whether we bid on him because we were keen on him or because we were trying to manipulate the points by pushing selections back by placing a bid, etc.

I seem to recall it actually coming out pre draft that we liked him though, despite him being Brisbane NGA. So it might be more legitimate than us bidding on Lachie Jones which was definitely tactical.

Blake also a Collingwood supporter I reckon, not that it counts for anything.

The concern is obviously why he hasn't come on quite as much as his brother. Suspect if he's any good we give him a shot but assume they've let him go due to shortcomings.

Another Oleg story would be great I just can't see that happening for a long time!
I think a lot of players from the 2020 draft haven't developed as expected due to lack of football during the initial Covid shutdowns.
There may still be potential there, but there's also the chance that players from that draft have been misread in terms of their upside.
As a DFA he might be worth a shot, because his brother is certainly a good player.

Nick wasn’t actually an draft pick….he was via a different pathway.

Neither was Moore.
Neither was IQ.

You can argue Pendles isn’t either (depending on whether they would have taken daisy ahead of him anyway).

The better you do on FA and other formats…the longer you contend.
The more you “hit the draft”……
Hine confirmed in an interview recently that he’d have picked Pendles and not Thomas if we didn’t have the priority pick.

Thanks.
Wondered what the decision would have been….

At the time it was very much Thomas Vs Ellis at 2.
Remember word getting out afterwards that Ellis at 2 was never a go because his lack of contest.

The Bangkok Thais love Halloween. I was in Bangkok one year and couldn't believe the celebrations and the thousands of young people into it.
I'll have to tell my Thai mate he is out of the loop. I'd have though given Thai's obsession with ghosts that they would love Halloween.

I noticed he was gone a while ago (the board has been way less toxic coincidentally). Wasn’t sure if he’d quit the board or passed away, but either way I was afraid to say anything for fear of somehow summoning him back.
He was only 69. Should still have years of life left in him. I am surprised the GF win didn't lure him back.

Thanks.
Wondered what the decision would have been….

At the time it was very much Thomas Vs Ellis at 2.
Remember word getting out afterwards that Ellis at 2 was never a go because his lack of contest.
“I remember him saying to me ‘we’ve got pick two and we’ll get Dale Thomas instead of Xavier Ellis. There’s another kid. If we only had one pick, we’d go for this bloke. But we’ve got two and I reckon he’ll be there. He has a basketball background, there’s something about him, I think he could be one of the greatest players ever.’ ”
The funniest part is he copped so much criticism for even taking Pendles at 5. Caro savaged him on 3aw, and the Tigers head recruiter was gleefully walking around the room telling everyone how Hine had “f***ed up the draft”, while proceeding to use the Tigers first pick on Jarrad Oakley-Nicholls, who he picked solely based on a YouTube highlights package he’d seen 😆

He was only 69. Should still have years of life left in him. I am surprised the GF win didn't lure him back.
Maybe he yelled at one too many clouds and they took their revenge on him.

The funniest part is he copped so much criticism for even taking Pendles at 5. Caro savaged him on 3aw, and the Tigers head recruiter was gleefully walking around the room telling everyone how Hine had “f***ed up the draft”, while proceeding to use the Tigers first pick on Jarrad Oakley-Nicholls, who he picked solely based on a YouTube highlights package he’d seen 😆
Bullshit!!!
(In a positive way!)

Think the quote is a bit OTT if real,
But FMD.

I can def see the tigers recruiter calling it.
Same guy that passed on buddy?
If so….he’s hardly a beacon for “I’m good at my job”!!

Tbf I was also surprised as we had been heavily linked with Xavier Ellis.

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

More likely left in a huff rather than shedding his mortal coil.
He’d know all about leaving in a huff, though, from the 766 years he spent driving trucks… here let me tell you…

Worth a look at Borlase for defensive cover?
I have never seen him play
Slightly undersized, doesn’t really suit how we play and if they weren’t skinny for KPD’s I think he’d be on the way out. A punt on Sofronidis makes more sense to me.

Apologies if I've missed the discussion but any interest in looking at Blake Coleman as a rookie or DFA? Delisted today by Brisbane, we bid on him at his draft.

On SM-S916B using BigFooty.com mobile app
I think we bid on him to push Reef down the order, not because we wanted him.

I thought the same, but we bid on him after GWS matched Reef. We must have been keen.

But it was under the previous footy department and supposedly he isn't a runner, so can't see us still being interested.

I thought the same, but we bid on him after GWS matched Reef. We must have been keen.

But it was under the previous footy department and supposedly he isn't a runner, so can't see us still being interested.
Did some reading and Coleman was expected to go earlier but he slid. If he's not a runner, then he doesn't have a future at the club. Oleg was a former athletics participant so that helped him be considered.

I agree with some posts about 2020 and development. It was a strange year, hard to judge. We only have Macrae, McInnes and McCreery left on our list from that draft. Ruthless with the time we've given them to develop. Probably the most disappointing was McMahon, who now plays VFL for Carlton when needed. Chugg was a rookie pick taken on athletic talent more so than football. He plays country footy and looks at home at that level.

Did some reading and Coleman was expected to go earlier but he slid. If he's not a runner, then he doesn't have a future at the club. Oleg was a former athletics participant so that helped him be considered.

I agree with some posts about 2020 and development. It was a strange year, hard to judge. We only have Macrae, McInnes and McCreery left on our list from that draft. Ruthless with the time we've given them to develop. Probably the most disappointing was McMahon, who now plays VFL for Carlton when needed. Chugg was a rookie pick taken on athletic talent more so than football. He plays country footy and looks at home at that level.
I've been told that Coleman runs like Ginnivan. Spicer is another delisted small forward we were keen on in that draft. I think he'd be more likely. But I doubt it, small forward was a glaring deficiency at the time, which is now a major strength.

Let’s be honest, we drafted about 10 kids in 2020 (and 2021 midseason which I always. Like to include as part of that type of analysis ) because players on base wages were all we could afford as a result of the salary cap debacle. Add that we were flying blind as there was zero junior football played in 2020 in many states.

Quantity was the only strategy left. Throw as many darts at the board, relatively blindfolded because of Covid, and hope some land. We’ve got two premiership players out of it already, three if you count landing tom mitchell when Henry wanted to go home to suckle on his mummy.

Poulter might have been moved on a bit soon but unclear if he’s a great loss. Same applies to Ginnivan for different reasons. There was nothing we could do about Henry except not draft him in the first place which probably would have been the weak option.

Ollie Murphy 200cm key defender lured at pick 20 in Twomey’s phantom draft
Sounds good

If Cal has the right range he might need to fall a bit more to get to us coming in at around 24. But if it does continue up to be a possibility I wonder what the knocks on him are considering how in vogue key backs are and how eager clubs are to secure them.

I think a lot of players from the 2020 draft haven't developed as expected due to lack of football during the initial Covid shutdowns.
There may still be potential there, but there's also the chance that players from that draft have been misread in terms of their upside.
As a DFA he might be worth a shot, because his brother is certainly a good player.
I think the impact of Melbourne lockdowns might still be washing through the drafts. Two years gone as a 12-13 year old might be a bigger hit tan those from 2020 draft got hit with - both in terms of retention within the sport and development. I wouldn't be surprised if Vic metro have a few lean years.

I've been told that Coleman runs like Ginnivan. Spicer is another delisted small forward we were keen on in that draft. I think he'd be more likely. But I doubt it, small forward was a glaring deficiency at the time, which is now a major strength.
Spicer was hopeless at Norf Melbourne. We have enough small forwards as you say, reckon we'll target the midfield and defensive lines. Maybe even consider a ruck.