List Mgmt. COLLINGWOOD Trade and F/A Discussion

He also said he is getting fit so if he is needed to roll through the midfield, he is capable.

Lot of good in this one. 2019 he turned up at my nephews school. School for kids with special needs. They thought he would last a week, ended coming every week plus school concerts etc. often bought a mate named Jordan

My SIL, a Collingwood tragic, won’t hear a bad word about either. If you ever see her phone avatar her son and Brayden have been cut out of the image leaving only her and Jordy.

Humans are complex, often good bits with the not so good.

Why would the AFL compensate collingwood for de goey leaving or being fired?
Just pointing out that other clubs get compensation for losing their lighters at the tab.

I don't expect the Pies to get anything from the AFL but whining and sour looks.

Losing De Goey will set us back years

I say keep and last chance

His an absolute flog but on the footy field we need him

Next contract on less money or he can walk

Taking the piss right? Barely a handful of great games. Good player not great, inconsistent, absolutely!

Gone, you betcha!

Here’s our JDG midfield replacement. We have a number of blokes that can play HB.
Who are these blokes? Becuase I think we’ll need to shuffle around a few player because our current depth half backs are average

It would be a stretch to play both Crisp and Maynard in the midfield, but one of them shouldn't be an issue - If we get lucky with injuries - which is the only way we're competitive - Crisp, IQ, Howe, Maynard, Roughy and Moore are a very good back 6 (if Ruscoe is as good as I think he's gooing to be).

I think Ruscoe has already shown enough to suggest he's going to be a pretty good (or better) player.

Ruscoe showed he was god awful as a fwd and showed Some good signs as a defender
Reckon the 7th defender comes down to Ruscoe or Noble. Should be horses for courses depending on matchups

I said if Moore wants to bend us over at FA he can leave.
What is "bending us over"? He's the best key defender in the competition, a great person and part of our leadership group. Hard to argue he doesn't deserve the coin he's on

If Moore wants more than he’s on, then for mine he can go. His injury history alone has me concerned. We have to make smart list decisions going forward

I love our boys but we need to be much more pragmatic in our salary decisions / losing players
I think GW will always make calls that he believes is best for the club
I think Wright's whole mantra of no long contracts will be very refreshing. 3 year deals for guys like Moore and Maynard, 1-2 for veterans. It allows us to always have flexibility.

Obviously hampered by Ned Guy throwing out a 7 year extension before he joined, but still!

I think Wright's whole mantra of no long contracts will be very refreshing. 3 year deals for guys like Moore and Maynard, 1-2 for veterans. It allows us to always have flexibility.

Obviously hampered by Ned Guy throwing out a 7 year extension before he joined, but still!
I'm sure GW will make it clear to the players that we need to avoid another "fire sale", so no long contracts or excessive payments. Someone wanting $1M a year will squeeze out someone else.

Do you really think a club will offer him the kind of deal that gets us a first rounder in compo after this, even if the courts find him not guilty?

If he is found guilty in the next month or so it's a stretch to think we'll keep him on the books long enough to become a restricted free agent.

Yep. Worst charge already dropped. 1st round compo easily.

That Hawks team had a mantra of no contract starting with a number higher than 7. With salary cap increases, that number 7 has probably gone up - but it's the type of policy I'd like to see him bring across to the Pies. And if it involves us losing stars like they did Buddy - I still think it works out better in the long run.

Losing De Goey will set us back years

I say keep and last chance

His an absolute flog but on the footy field we need him

Next contract on less money or he can walk

Yep, this. Changes the dynamic around contract extension discussions completely. An opposition team tries to lowball us on a RFA offer to him then we match and force them into a trade.

That Hawks team had a mantra of no contract starting with a number higher than 7. With salary cap increases, that number 7 has probably gone up - but it's the type of policy I'd like to see him bring across to the Pies. And if it involves us losing stars like they did Buddy - I still think it works out better in the long run.
Yeah the whole Buddy thing worked out so well for Sydney didn't it ? ;) o_Oo_O:oops: