List Mgmt. COLLINGWOOD Trade and F/A Discussion

This right here is the thinking that leads to guys like Gault, T Brown and Kelly remaining on AFL lists for years. The deficiencies in their game are right there in front of us, but “development” is assumed to come with time… Ash Johnson is the same body shape, had injuries and been in the system half as long yet has shown five times as much talent. You want to get a good run at it be tall and have the correct surname.
TBF Sco Johnson has 2-3 years on Kelly body development wise - it’s a tough comparison especially for a KPP.

This right here is the thinking that leads to guys like Gault, T Brown and Kelly remaining on AFL lists for years. The deficiencies in their game are right there in front of us, but “development” is assumed to come with time… Ash Johnson is the same body shape, had injuries and been in the system half as long yet has shown five times as much talent. You want to get a good run at it be tall and have the correct surname.

Ash Johnson is 24 years old isn't he? So he's not really a young guy compared with most recruits. Wouldn't that make him older than the Browns, Kelly, Bianco, Macrae, half the other fringe players?

2022 Pies play Moore in defence.

I think Naughton is a good forward, but would be a great defender and be more influential on matches than he is as a forward.

They don't realistically have any other choice, plus he is pretty much set back there.

Naughton would be a role change even given his u18 days. I also don't believe he'd be a pack crashing impact player as a defender. He'd have to follow a forward around.

Naughton was leading the Coleman earlier in the season so is very capable up there. 47.40 last year as 4th year KPF and has 47.26 on board this year in his 5th season. He's only going to consolidate and improve on that.

My point was you favour defence over attack and as such look to put all your elite resources there.

Ash Johnson is 24 years old isn't he? So he's not really a young guy compared with most recruits. Wouldn't that make him older than the Browns, Kelly, Bianco, Macrae, half the other fringe players?

Cal Brown is 24.

Tyler is 22 turning 23 end of year. But has had 5 years on an AFL list.

Johnson was late to the game so whilst 24 his development path was nothing like the other 2.

Johnson grew up in Halls Creek mucking around with a footy. Most of those other guys grew up with access to the best most structured junior coaching.

I still can't stomach the name Frampton. Why does it bother me so much! Do I need a psych?
It must be the cover photo of Frampton Comes Alive.
220px-Frampton_Comes_Alive.jpg

Frampton at 200cm would be a more like-for-like Roughead replacement than Dean. I just don’t see $300k as justifiable.

to play devils advocate, there are a few guys in the vfl that may never pay another AFL game and which should be moved on so the money / cap shouldnt be an issue.

Frampton has at least played senior footy and had some AFL size. Right now we desperate for a big key back to release Howe (and yeah next year maybe different) so guessing he is a break glass in case of emergency. If that's the case I'd prefer they talk to Darcey Gardiner.

PS 300k is a throw at the stumps imo.

Every team needs role players though. Too early to tell with Poulter.
True, but I can't see a role for him. He can pretty much only play wing and there are far better players already playing wing. I would rather Murley play wing next year, he's super quick and has a great kick on him, not to mention a breakaway speed that not many players have. HH and draper will probably go ahead of him next year, not to mention Reef. He's just surplus to needs, perhaps adelaide

I wouldn't be trading or delisting poulter.
Maybe he will develop and he is still young, however my main issue with Poulter is that he is a 194cm wingman but he doesn't really use that height to his advantage. He might as well be 180cm. He looks very one paced, one sided and his kicking doesn't look great he also doesn't get a tonne of the ball. He looks like he has next to no weapons. He can run out a game well and can cover good distances but so could Rantall.

Poulter is a skinny unicorn.

Rantall was a beast and it was frustrating he left.

My concern with Poulter is that he forms part of the family tree related to Reef McInnes/Pick 2 trade. At the moment, neither team is winning nor losing. The fourth rounder found its way to Brisbane in exchange for points that were used on Daicos. It would be useful if the AFL documented trades more clearly as Wikipedia can only be used for so much.

True, but I can't see a role for him. He can pretty much only play wing and there are far better players already playing wing. I would rather Murley play wing next year, he's super quick and has a great kick on him, not to mention a breakaway speed that not many players have. HH and draper will probably go ahead of him next year, not to mention Reef. He's just surplus to needs, perhaps adelaide

I reckon he could be played at half-back, but otherwise might play wing more in the vein of Mayne - hard-running, not quick but can take a mark to help the defence. We have Sidebottom, but he's got a year in him, I reckon. Daicos has the other wing sewn up. But with rotations, there's a role there still.

My concern with Poulter and forms part of the family tree related to Reef McInnes. At the moment, neither team is winning nor losing. The fourth rounder found its way to Brisbane for points that were used on Daicos. It would be useful if the AFL documented trades more clearly as Wikipedia can only be used for so much.
que GIF

Style wise, I think you might have this one wrong. Dean is pretty good one on one and a good defender of the high ball. He lacks a yard IMO and will struggle on a mobile leading forward but will do well on gorillas. Very much a Roughie replacement.

My comments on Frampton, are coloured by a Adelaide v Giants game where Hogan gave him a fair dinkum bath. 1 on 1 Frampton looked hopeless, NFI. Gave him far too much space, poor in body work. To be fair he did seem athletic for his height, took some nice intercept marks, used it ok, but style wise played as a 3rd tall interceptor type…Happy to be corrected by someone who has seen him more, but he didn’t seem a player you want on gorillas…

Apparently he played a ripping game against the Dogs in Ballarat… might be worth me tracking that one down to see what the “fuss” is about (if any).

Height, solid mark, neat kick. No champion, but a decent B grade player with potential.
He has good pace for his size, but is heavily one sided and I couldn’t say his marking is strength.
I’d hoped he’d have added some bulk by now and fear his lack of progress given the absence of any key strengths makes him vulnerable.

I watched the Brisbane v Carlton game closely just to really see McStays game as he's been quiet most weeks.

I noticed he was playing deeper than usual and was far more imposing and dangerous. He did it all too. He scored, brought other forwards into the play, he created, he worked.

Really turned my thought on the trade around, if we play him deep, maybe freeing up Mihocek to play a bit further up the field at times (because Mihocek is a beautiful field kick,) I think he might really benefit from being the big target rather than third fiddle like he is at Brisbane.

I'm excited.

Apparently he played a ripping game against the Dogs in Ballarat… might be worth me tracking that one down to see what the “fuss” is about (if any).

If the Frampton rumour is true I doubt it's 300k and think it might be that Keane, Kelly, McMahon depth he'll be replacing rather than Dean.