List Mgmt. COLLINGWOOD Trade and F/A Discussion

I see. But if their cap is that tight, how are the bringing in both Lobb & Jones. They are getting a key backman & key forward. They won’t be cheap surely?
You’d imagine Jones would be on chips, but Lobb would be looking at a pretty decent deal, at least north of $500k, more in the $6-700k bracket imo.

Or McKay>>McStay in 2022.

It’s the obvious play. If Hinkley survives they need to bounce back next year so they’re win now. We are as well so if he were available we’d be bonkers not to enquire simply because he’s not a FA.
Would take a trade for Ben McKay 100 times before McStay as a FA.

I agree. Now what if I were to then remove our 1st pick from that scenario, replaced McKay with McStay and told you McStay was coming in as a defender. Are you still keen? What I’m really trying to get across here is that the margins are tight between a result many would be happy with and one that people will be up in arms about. For instance here it’s the McKay to McStay downgrade at the cost of a 1st round pick…

Sorry I don’t see the difference between McKay and McStay as being only marginal.

Would take a trade for Ben McKay 100 times before McStay as a FA.
Sorry I don’t see the difference between McKay and McStay as being only marginal.
The reality of McStay’s quality>>>the perceptions on Big Footy. He’s a best 22 KPF in his prime coming from a top 4 quality side. He’s not Jesse White…

I prefer McKay, but the gap is not significant. For context TRS it’s definitely not marginal either, but it’s the extra 1st Rd pick that makes it marginal.

Sam Sturt is still ooc at Freo. Probably not an area of need given the similarities between him and Henry/Johnson. But I reckon he’d be cheap.

I hope we are also monitoring the Zurhar situation. Especially if DeGoey stays. I’ve always thought they would well up forward together.

On the Grundy front at least there are multiple clubs interested this far out already. Plus unlike the farce that happened after the Treloar trade, we have time to sort out who is paying what before actually signing the trade documents.

The reality of McStay’s quality>>>the perceptions on Big Footy. He’s a best 22 KPF in his prime coming from a top 4 quality side. He’s not Jesse White…

I prefer McKay, but the gap is not significant. For context TRS it’s definitely not marginal either, but it’s the extra 1st Rd pick that makes it marginal.

Sorry mate, I’m going to put my hand up and admit I misread your second post.

Yes, I agree with your contention, and am ok with Grundy = McStay and Taranto (with the first removed from discussion).

I don’t think McStay is coming in as a defender though. I think chasing McStay and extending Cameron, are the jungle drums beating that we don’t want to overspend on the ruck position. I think McStay will be a forward/ruck, and we will pursue Frampton as an affordable key defensive option.

Sorry mate, I’m going to put my hand up and admit I misread your second post.

Yes, I agree with your contention, and am ok with Grundy = McStay and Taranto (with the first removed from discussion).

I don’t think McStay is coming in as a defender though. I think chasing McStay and extending Cameron, are the jungle drums beating that we don’t want to overspend on the ruck position. I think McStay will be a forward/ruck, and we will pursue Frampton as an affordable key defensive option.
I agree with all of the bold and although it’s not my preference McStay coming in as a FWD/ Ruck fits so much better than having Cox or Cameron in the role because they’re ruck forwards.

My initial instinct on Frampton is I don’t see it on top of Hill, McStay and TT (pretty much a given if Grundy is moved), but in terms of a list build every move makes sense because the two areas you don’t want to overcommit to in terms of cap space are ruck and defense. Right now with Moore and Grundy on the largest club contracts that’s where our heaviest investment lies. The kicker to all of that though is it most probably allows us to retain our 1st selection.

Essentially I’m in a delicate spot because it fits with my philosophical views on list management, but the numbers and players are NQR aside from TT, IMO. We’ve been thin on depth in 2022 so adding Hill and Frampton automatically seems a tick for me. The rest is probably cream if we get natural improvement.

Rusty Beam I’m not sure what’s gone wrong with Sturt, but I’d definitely be enquiring about his availability over Hill’s. He was every bit the talent of Henry coming out of U18’s, IMO.

Any chance of Grundy returning to SA? Perhaps the deal could involve him being traded to Port, with Teakle & Amon offered up in return, along with an exchange of picks? Not saying I'd want it to happen; just floating the scenario...
He has no interest in leaving Melbourne, so I doubt it.

Firstly, all reports seem to indicate Grundy wants to stay in Melbourne. He's settled here and building a house with his partner.

Second, Amon is A) basically a lock to go to Hawthorn and B) an unrestricted free agent, so any trade involving him requires him to give permission to hold off until after the free agency period expires and have a change of heart in what club he wants to go to.

Third, no it's a crap deal.

Why would we want Tinkle and Amonsterous contract? If we were looking to construct an AFL Fantasy side, I'd recommend the pair. But we're not. Amon is overrated and I haven't seen enough of the other.

If he's returning to SA, Port's first rounder looks nice and a player of our choosing. They won't put the money into Grundy, however, as Horne-Francis looks set to request a trade away from the bleakness at Norf.

Here’s an idea..

We keep Grundy and JDG. Bring in Taranto, Hill, McStay.

Don’t listen to the noise. Happy days.
Who’s listening to the noise?
You think Wright’s decisions are based on BF and rumours?

We’ve had 759 pages of discussion and NONE of it will have ANY baring on what happens during the trade/draft period.
We’re all just shooting the breeze with our own opinions.
But it’s fun.

I agree with all of the bold and although it’s not my preference McStay coming in as a FWD/ Ruck fits so much better than having Cox or Cameron in the role because they’re ruck forwards.

My initial instinct on Frampton is I don’t see it on top of Hill, McStay and TT (pretty much a given if Grundy is moved), but in terms of a list build every move makes sense because the two areas you don’t want to overcommit to in terms of cap space are ruck and defense. Right now with Moore and Grundy on the largest club contracts that’s where our heaviest investment lies. The kicker to all of that though is it most probably allows us to retain our 1st selection.

Essentially I’m in a delicate spot because it fits with my philosophical views on list management, but the numbers and players are NQR aside from TT, IMO. We’ve been thin on depth in 2022 so adding Hill and Frampton automatically seems a tick for me. The rest is probably cream if we get natural improvement.

Rusty Beam I’m not sure what’s gone wrong with Sturt, but I’d definitely be enquiring about his availability over Hill’s. He was every bit the talent of Henry coming out of U18’s, IMO.

I think I agree and the pleasing part is we seem to be correctly identifying the areas of need.

McStay = mature key that can take some heat for Checkers, Johnson etc.
Taranto = inside mid
Hill = pace and class
Frampton = mature bodied defender we could ask to play lockdown Roughead role

Apart from Taranto you’re right about the others potentially being NQR but they do have the skill set we need. You could swap Hill for Bedford as an example or Edwards from WCE for Frampton (and Dean maybe ahead of them anyway) but I think we’re on the right path as to how to improve the list.

I’m not saying that I would like Grundy to go but one thing in our favour is that because there are many clubs interested in his services, if he does leave Collingwood will have some bargaining power in regards to how much of his contract we would be required to pay.

I'm not sure if it was just tight for that season or all following, but that was the scuttlebutt that came out when they had us back in there.

Look at their list wouldn't surprise me, they are really underperformed imo. Should be a top 4 team looking at contending rather then middling inconsistent top 8 side.
When's Bevo out of contract? I think they should be moving him on.

I think I agree and the pleasing part is we seem to be correctly identifying the areas of need.

Taranto = inside mid
Hill = pace and class

Apart from Taranto you’re right about the others potentially being NQR but they do have the skill set we need. You could swap Hill for Bedford as an example or Edwards from WCE for Frampton (and Dean maybe ahead of them anyway) but I think we’re on the right path as to how to improve the list.

They are all fits for our 22 but we will need a genuine ruck prospect drafted if Grundy goes to be coming through.

Unless they are banking on Faye.

Taranto = inside mid
Hill = pace and class

If we can get Hill switched on to our style, he can be good. Pace is so crucial to our pressure game and he can help take that up a notch - not really sure how we hit such heights in terms of pressure considering many of our flankers are one paced, but he can increase the pressure and use the ball well when we do force turnovers. I'm really happy that it looks like we're adding him. Also happy with McStay's contested style and ability to cause spills when he'slittle chance of marking it. No idea who Frampton is.