Collingwood vs Adelaide

Um, how many of you have actually looked at Adelaide's best team for 2011?

There best player is Scott Thompson, a very good player but he is getting on in years himself and the question is will he get better??

Thompson is in his prime. He's 27, so he will be "getting on" in 3 years time

I would say he does not need to improve, his second half of the season (after over coming knee tendonitis) was exceptional. An absolute magnet

For Adelaide to climb up the ladder, we need the likes of Vince, Danger, Mackay to take the next step, we need Knights to actually play and Porps to pull his finger out

Anyone comparing our list to Collingwoods would clearly see that the Pies are better. They won the flag FFS, can't get any better than that

Don't think we'll challeng them next year, but a spot in the 8 is not out of the question

Both these teams were at a similar stage last year and were tipped to challenge for top 4 spots this year. I've been having a debate with a crows supporter who believes that the crows list is better than collingwoods and if it was not for all the crows injuries, they would have been better than collingwood this year. I obviously disagree but wanted to see if anyone backed this view.

Personally I think it's a laughable prediction.

I seriously do not remember C'wd and Adelaide being at a similar stage last year.

Adelaide supporters will be doing plenty of this in the next few years, they are simply not as good as they think they are.

Adelaide finished 1/2 a game ahead of Melbourne, and two games behind North.....both those teams have much better young players and will improve much more than Adelaide next year.

We also played the two grand finalists in the final two rounds this year - losing to Collingwood by 3 points and beating St Kilda - with Goodwin , McLeod , Edwards & Burton all missing.

Laughable.....

Collingwood and St.Kilda had pulled up stumps at the end of the H&A season....both lost games in rd 22 - the Hawks rolled us and all their fans decided to think they were a legit flag threat.

Come first week of finals, both St.Kilda and Collingwood had great wins....clearly showing they treated the final rds of the H&A as nothing more than training runs.

Bit of a myth that we had no injury troubles.

Brad Dick is best 22 and missed the first 8 rounds, came back and kicked 4 goals in the draw on Queens Birthday after playing in the VFL the previous day and then did his shoulder again.

Other players that started the year in the best 22, but missed heaps of football due to injury and ended up missing the best 22 at the end of the year were Presti, Medhurst, Davis & Anthony. We covered for them in depth, but they were best 22 players when the season started and all went out for the first time due to injury, but never made it back.

Didak also tore his pec off the bone, Maxwell missed 6 weeks with a calf, Ball had his usual groin trouble, Nathan Brown had a shoulder operation in the middle of the year and Rusling spent another season injured.

Do you really want me to go through all of our injury problems? Really?

I mean come on , Davis , Anthony & Medhurst aren't even in your best 22 - one has retired and another is being used as trade bait.

You were clearly one of the most injury free teams this season , couple that with not having to travel in the last 3 months of the season and you were always bound to successful to a certain extent this year and to your credit you went all the way.

Adelaide supporters will be doing plenty of this in the next few years, they are simply not as good as they think they are.

Adelaide finished 1/2 a game ahead of Melbourne, and two games behind North.....both those teams have much better young players and will improve much more than Adelaide next year.

If we have a good run with injuries , we will make the 8 and push for the 4. You're underestimating how disruptive and significant our injuries were this year.

Laughable.....

Collingwood and St.Kilda had pulled up stumps at the end of the H&A season....both lost games in rd 22 - the Hawks rolled us and all their fans decided to think they were a legit flag threat.

Come first week of finals, both St.Kilda and Collingwood had great wins....clearly showing they treated the final rds of the H&A as nothing more than training runs.

You missed the point. I was replying to someone who said we struggle without Goody, Macca, Edwards & Burton - not that we're better or just as good as both teams.

Um, how many of you have actually looked at Adelaide's best team for 2011?

FB Petrenko Rutten Sellar
HB Johncock Davis Vince
C MacKay Sloane Douglas
HF Knights Henderson Porps
FF Jaensch Tippett Walker

R Maric Thompson Dangerfield

Int Otten, Gunston, Van Berlo, Martin

Looking at that team, I'd say that the crows issue would be depth.
There are some good youngsters there, but a lot of them.

Who would be the next 2-3 players in line if there were a couple of injuries injuries? (which is bound to happen to every team at some stage)

I know Adelaide had a pretty bad run with injuries... but they weren't the only side, so I don't see why they're seen as this club who should've been pushing for top 4 if it wasn't for injuries. They just weren't that good this year. I mean Port had just as bad an injury run and we finished above Adelaide. I'm sure as hell not gonna come out and say if we'd had a good injury run we would've dominated, cos it just isn't the case. I don't see Adelaide as being in any different a boat to us.

Collingwood's list is far and away better than both our clubs at the current time.

"Not as good as we think we are"? I think we'll finish anywhere between 7th and 10th next year.

You are a realistic one.

The majority seem to think you blokes are a chance to push top4.

You lost Bock, McLeod, Goodwin, Edwards, Burton....irrespective that they may not have been what they once were in 2010, they are tremendous leaders.

You cant replace that overnight, let alone replace them and expect the club to somehow find another 6+ wins!!, and promising kids have form fluctuations and can drop off very quickly if things dont go right.

And Thompson our best player, really? Thanks for clarifying, I thought Richard Douglas won our B & F this year . As for midfield class, Vince had a lean year but some in the media were tipping him for the brownlow after 2009,q

If a player like Richard Douglas has won your b&f, then you are well and truly struggling...

You cant replace that overnight, let alone replace them and expect the club to somehow find another 6+ wins!!, and promising kids have form fluctuations and can drop off very quickly if things dont go right.

Obviously we can't replace the amount of experience we have lost but again I'll ask ..

Why do you think it's going to be such a big ask to win another 6 games when the majority of games we won this year were without most , if not all of those players you have mentioned?

Don't forget , our season got off to a horrible start at 1-7 and that was when McLeod , Goodwin , Burton & Edwards were in our starting 22.

Both these teams were at a similar stage last year and were tipped to challenge for top 4 spots this year. I've been having a debate with a crows supporter who believes that the crows list is better than collingwoods and if it was not for all the crows injuries, they would have been better than collingwood this year. I obviously disagree but wanted to see if anyone backed this view.

Personally I think it's a laughable prediction.

Next week you will have a Carlton mate followed by a Bomber mate the week after etc etc.

In other words you are just a flog who is showing his insecurity to all. :rolleyes:

I seriously do not remember C'wd and Adelaide being at a similar stage last year.

5 points between Collingwood and Adelaide making last years PF. They were at a very similar level last year.

And as we all know, Collingwood took the next step and Adelaide, due to a run on injuries as well as attitude issues, slumped out of the 8th due to a horrible start. That said, thread reeks of Pies fan asking for more praise.

Why do you think it's going to be such a big ask to win another 6 games when the majority of games we won this year were without most , if not all of those players you have mentioned?

Because your list aint that good, the young blokes who you think are stars will not be as influential on the teams performance as you think they will be.

Going from 9 wins to 15 is huge!

Don't forget , our season got off to a horrible start at 1-7 and that was when McLeod , Goodwin , Burton & Edwards were in our starting 22.

Your season got off to a rubbish start because your coach has a sh1t gameplan.

Bockchoy67;19251467T said:
And as we all know, Collingwood took the next step!

Collingwood only matured a little, the teams above them dropped off a wee bit and then collingwood got momentum and with that belief which is i suppose (momentum) is them taking the next step! (that momentum started before the 3 months of playing at the g every week)

Adelaide's list is much better than they showed this year but you'd have to be delusional to suggest it's better than the Pies right now.

I think Adelaide will be back in the finals and pushing for a top 4 spot next year but Collingwood will be the bench mark.

Agree with this.

Crows should have been top 4 this year, but injuries and lack of fitness killed us, and then the wheels fell off.

Second half of the year obviously much better, and shows what we're capable of.

Saying that, our development will have stalled a bit this year, where as Collingwood's has clearly flown ahead.

We'll be top 6 next year IMO, but we'd need everything to go our way to be challenging for a Grand Final
spot.

Goodwin is a huge loss for us, as is Bock (**** you AFL), but Macca was hot/cold all year, Burton shouldn't have even been retained, and Edwards (excluding his last game) was pretty mediocre.

Knights, Otten and a fit Porps back in the mix, and we're stronger already.

If the Crows lose either Rutten or Johncock for a lengthy period they will challenge for a bottom 4 spot.

As a crows fan i dont really rate Rutten. Would happily see him replaced with one of our taller young players. It seems we spent the last 2 drafts getting nothing but bigs, so we may as well play them.

Rutten is too slow and gets exposed whenever he is one out.

But yeah in response to the thread... we are no where near Collingwood at this stage. We get smashed by elite midfields and until we get more class in there we will always lose to the top 4 teams :(.

Aren't we all hindsight masters?:rolleyes:
Actually, some of us are foresight masters.

BACCS, you should recall this thread - you were one of the key contributors.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=663540

From the Opening Post:

There are many who rate Adelaide as serious premiership contenders in 2010, and I simply cannot understand the hype. They are clear 4th favourites after notching up only one win against a top four side in 2009, and that was by less than a kick. They also lost the unlosable Semi Final against a Magpie outfit who were on the ropes and who will have handy inclusions such as Pendlebury, Jolly and Ball if the same situation occurs in 2010.

Can someone please tell me where their improvement is going to come from?

Granted Dangerfield, Vince, Porplyzia and Tippett are potential stars of the competition, but are they going to be THAT good in 2010? Vince was quite exceptional in 2009 - how much upside does he actually have?

And can we honestly expect similar output from their ageing champions in Mcleod, Edwards and Goodwin as they provided in 2009? They are not getting any younger.

Are Burton AND Hentschell going to both stand up in 2010 and kick 130 goals between them?

Did they draft a Joel Selwood or Daniel Rich type kid who will burst onto the scene next year and have an immediate impact?

There are some classic calls in this thread - a very interesting read.

I actually had them still playing finals given the lack of depth after my annointed top 5 (Pies, Cats, Saint, Dogs and Hawks), so I guess I didn't gt it exactly right...

Collingwood vs Adelaide