Combined Soccer vs AFL threads - please post here

Well I'm glad that people from all walks of life in Australia have embraced soccer very dearly to them during the world cup. We may never compete in the cup again so might as well live it up as much as possible. As for Australian Rules Football, i'm fine with it and have no problems at all with the sport since i'm a great fan of the game. It's okay for Soccer to take over in the future, but as long as they don't stop footy.

can you people please stop embarrissing yourselves with your melbourne mentality on things.

I love AFL but have become disenchanted with the game for soem time now many other fans over here in Germany have the same view. You all live in melbourne where everyone lives nad breathes footy but it is not liek that elsewhere. The way i see it now is that Soccer or Football is now the number 1 sport in Australia.

In terms of the product,participation, money and now fans i reckon the AFL don#t got sh

Treasurer said:
can you people please stop embarrissing yourselves with your melbourne mentality on things.

I love AFL but have become disenchanted with the game for soem time now many other fans over here in Germany have the same view. You all live in melbourne where everyone lives nad breathes footy but it is not liek that elsewhere. The way i see it now is that Soccer or Football is now the number 1 sport in Australia.

In terms of the product,participation, money and now fans i reckon the AFL don#t got sh

lol, a bandwagon vs passion! we all love the socceroos, but it's time to put things in perspective, Soccer is more of a novelty event, i think you may be getting carried away overthere...

The day The A league pulls gigger crowds than the AFL and bigger TV ratings then it's number 1...

Cricket is participated more than Aussie Rules, but is there more passion for Cricket or Aussie Rules?

BTW, where was all this support for the Socceroos before the WC qualifiers?

Australia v Japan No 6 on ESPN's top 10 plays of the day tonight.

I love AFL like most people here but Aussie Rules can only dream of getting that sort of international recognition.

Daytripper said:

I love AFL like most people here but Aussie Rules can only dream of getting that sort of international recognition.

No one is doubting that Soccer is recognised around the world...

grayham said:
Soccer, the game, on the other hand I find too slow. Just personal opinion. The WC is a great specticle, but in truth I dont think I could watch a full game until the semi's at least.

You like what you're used to, I guess. I can understand many find soccer boring, but I, being European and having grown up in a soccer continent, find Aussie rules very boring.

I can only say you can't compare the 2 sports, they're both great games for different reasons. How do you convince a die hard fan of action movies John Malkovich is a better actor than Jean-Claude Vandamme? You can't and you shouldn't, each his own taste.

grayham said:
What irks me about Soccer at the moment is that they want to call it "Football" and never use the name "Soccer" ever again. Whats wrong with the word "Soccer" ? Australia, like the US, is unique in that it has several other football codes. For one, especially a minority one, to take ownership of the word "football" seems arogant and elitist. Call it football in Europe where there is very little else called football, but have a bit of cultural sensitivity to places that do. Its like a multinational like McDonalds renaming Big Macs as "food". Cultural imperialism I think the term is.

There are rugby leagues in England, France, Italy... too.

We like to call it football because that's the name of the world game, simple as. Practically everywhere it's football, futbol, fussball, voetbal, le football...

Pick whatever you like, I guess for one Australia is the world while for the other it's only a small part of it :thumbsu: .

I had a friend who came out here from England several years ago. I took him to a big AFL clash at the G and he absolutely loved it. He said he'd never known a sport that had the fans so glued to what was happening on the field. With soccer and cricket, he said, you'd spend a good portion of the game just chatting with your mates because often the game itself was pretty uneventful, but this was the complete opposite!

He conceded he was pretty much in awe of Aussie Rules as a spectacle - it had the toughness of rugby but also a high level of skill, and he'd never known a sport to be so FAST. He roared along with everyone else when a player took a "speccie".

I spoke to him recently about this recent spurt of interest in soccer, and how a lot of people are claiming it will eventually take over as the number one football code in this country. He couldn't believe it: "Why???" He not only reiterated his thoughts on the game as a spectacle, but he added that one of the best things about it was that it was one-of-a-kind. In this increasingly homogenised world, he said, countries should do all they can to preserve things that are culturally unique - particularly when what they've got to offer is so clearly superior to what others are offering.

He said he felt like coming down-under and telling all those "prats" to start appreciating what they've got, or else one day you're going to have witnessed your third consecutive nil-all draw (as happened to him a few years back) and wonder how the hell you'd been so duped.

I said I might post his thoughts on this forum. He said to go for it, but made sure I included the following point: that it's actually rare to get a good game of soccer. You'll get the odd beauty like the West Ham-Liverpool clash last month, but most games are dour, sluggish affairs where "very little happens." "Please don't get sucked in by the hype," he said.

Nandoz said:
mate if the aussies were playing in the same place at the same time yesterday, same cool day, there would have been 99,000 in the stadium

You're comparing the Socceroos to Melbourne vs Collingwood?

You've got to remember that everything is big at "international" level. Hell, "International Rules" is big at International level. Look at Cricket in Australia. Only big at International level, meaningless and fan-less at every other level.

The true test of a sport in a country is its domestic league. The AFL match you were comparing the Socceroos to, was a DOMESTIC match that included two teams from a 10 team city. In some ways it's remarkable that this kind of match gets 79,000. AFL offers a unique spectavle that draws these types of crowds, that the NRL, FFA and Super 14's can only fantasise about.

To draw an equivalent, there is ONE Soccer team in Melbourne, the Victory. They get 13,000 on their own. Hypothetically, add nine more Soccer teams in Melbourne. Spread that 13,000 around 10 teams instead of one. Play a derby between two of those teams at the MCG and see what it gets. Probably 800 people.

You cannot look at an international event and draw comaprisons with one of the great domestic leagues anywhere in any sport (the AFL). Not many leagues in the world can comapre with the AFL for domestic interest. Only the NFL and Bundesliga draw more people. And the AFL is closing fast on the Bundesliga.

Think of how big the AFL is at domsetic level here and imagine if it was just as big in every other country, and they played internationals. Multiply the interest in the domestic league (which can get 79,000 as proved on Monday) by about 10, and you get an idea of how good a product we have here in Australia, if it was played internationally, and its potential.

Of course it's not played internationally, and won't be in our lifetime, but that is not they key to a successful sport. It's the domestic league which is the key, and the week-to-week combat in all sports which is the lifebood. Soccer doesn't have that here, and won't have it in this country.

Using an International event as a comparison is silly, because they are only one-off events (as opposed to week-to-week) and pretty much everything is big at the International level. It's not the true indicator of where a sport is at in a country.

RICHO: A GOD AMONGST MEN said:
I had a friend who came out here from England several years ago. I took him to a big AFL clash at the G and he absolutely loved it. He said he'd never known a sport that had the fans so glued to what was happening on the field. With soccer and cricket, he said, you'd spend a good portion of the game just chatting with your mates because often the game itself was pretty uneventful, but this was the complete opposite!

He conceded he was pretty much in awe of Aussie Rules as a spectacle - it had the toughness of rugby but also a high level of skill, and he'd never known a sport to be so FAST. He roared along with everyone else when a player took a "speccie".

I spoke to him recently about this recent spurt of interest in soccer, and how a lot of people are claiming it will eventually take over as the number one football code in this country. He couldn't believe it: "Why???" He not only reiterated his thoughts on the game as a spectacle, but he added that one of the best things about it was that it was one-of-a-kind. In this increasingly homogenised world, he said, countries should do all they can to preserve things that are culturally unique - particularly when what they've got to offer is so clearly superior to what others are offering.

This is the point (in bold) lost on the Craig Fosters of the world (he of the "Make no mistake, the sleeping giant (Australian soccer) has stirred, and the other football codes had better watch out!" -- SBS-TV, post-WC Qualification.) And the Soccer-is-Football thing. (Still soccer to me.)

Our footy is culturally unique in so many ways. So unique, so Aussie, so god-damn privileged I feel to know and love this great game of ours.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
This Great Game Of Ours™
The Most Spectacular Team Sport In The World™
That is, Australian Rules Football.

Treasurer said:

You are embarrassing yourself by trying to claim you are in Germany :rolleyes: Aussie rules is and will continue to be the number one sport in Australia ...soccer will be loved by girly types like yourself

As one who saw the Aussies play in their previous World Cup incarnation, I'd have to say, in all honesty, that last night's game by the Aussies absolutely crapped all over the game we used to play then. Back in '74, our ONLY concern was to save ourselves from an embarrassing loss. Christ, it was boring to watch, and yes, of itself, embarassing. I was proud of how our players took it up to the opposition last night, and MADE the game.

I have no problem with this sometimes splendid game having its time in the sun. I don't need to justify the existence of my indigenous game to the detriment of another. I really feel for the afficionados of this sometimes-football game (contrary to what some might say, they also play with their heads, torsoes and thighs - one bloke on each team actually is allowed to use his hands). They have suffered the unwarranted slings and arrows of disdain from those who follow other codes in this country.

Good on them that their time appears to have arrived. If he never does anything else in his life, Cahill will forever be known as a national sporting hero, because of about five minutes work. This is the wonderful, unpredictable nature of sport. Whether they'll go any further under the genius who is their coach, remains to be seen.

To deny the magnificence of their achievement last night is to ignore the number of sports lovers who cried last night. Not all of them were followers of this code. It was a celebration of our sporting philosophy. Ultimately sport is useless, but anything which can make sports lovers feel this good has my understanding. BTW, it's not to do with nationalism, it's about recognising participants in sport who exceed expectations and make themselves into more adroit humans than they thought they were.

RICHO: A GOD AMONGST MEN said:

He said he felt like coming down-under and telling all those "prats" to start appreciating what they've got, or else one day you're going to have witnessed your third consecutive nil-all draw (as happened to him a few years back) and wonder how the hell you'd been so duped.

I said I might post his thoughts on this forum. He said to go for it, but made sure I included the following point: that it's actually rare to get a good game of soccer. You'll get the odd beauty like the West Ham-Liverpool clash last month, but most games are dour, sluggish affairs where "very little happens." "Please don't get sucked in by the hype," he said.

your friend is a champ...tell him that

Blues_Man said:
You are embarrassing yourself by trying to claim you are in Germany :rolleyes: Aussie rules is and will continue to be the number one sport in Australia ...soccer will be loved by girly types like yourself

Why do you think only girly types?

Cro_Pavo said:
Revised List of VFL/AFL players with Croatian background

Adrian Barich
Alan Didak
Marc Dragicevic
Gordon Fode
Damien Gaspar
Darren Gaspar
Travis Gaspar
Brent Grgic
Ilija Grgic
Allen Jakovich
Glen Jakovich
Stephen Jurica
Ivan Maric
Matthew Pavlich
Val Perovic
Steven Salopek
Craig Starcevich
Peter Sumich
Jacob Surjan
Scott Watters

Full list of nationalities:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_VFL/AFL_players_by_ethnicity

Hey Cro_pavo.... have you seen this South Freo team.

Quite clearly South Freo has a big connection with the Croatian community - see below

Sth Fremantle Croatian side.

From FB

Jon Dorotich Darren Gaspar Travis Gaspar

Damien Gaspar Glen Jakovich Danny Civich

Rod Grijusich Tony Parentich Otto Santich

Eric Sarich Tom Grijusich Allen Jakovich

Peter Sumich John Gerovich Scott Watters

Ruck jack Sumich Mathew pavlich jack Rocchi

INT Ivan Glucina George Grijusich Tony begovich dean Ercegovich

Don,Mark,Andy & Ross Grijusich,Ivan Bartul,Matt & Mark Sambrailo,Budi,Laurie & JoeSumich,Murray Bogunovich,Branko & Craig Civich,Joe & Nick Silich,David & Terry Lucich,Kym Zubrinich,Frank Lendich,Bob Bucat,Gary Cukrov,Jason,Surjan,Dennis Novak,John,Pavlovic,Gary Jakovich

fabulousphil said:
Hey Cro_pavo.... have you seen this South Freo team.

Quite clearly South Freo has a big connection with the Croatian community - see below

Sth Fremantle Croatian side.

From FB

Jon Dorotich Darren Gaspar Travis Gaspar

Damien Gaspar Glen Jakovich Danny Civich

Rod Grijusich Tony Parentich Otto Santich

Eric Sarich Tom Grijusich Allen Jakovich

Peter Sumich John Gerovich Scott Watters

Ruck jack Sumich Mathew pavlich jack Rocchi

INT Ivan Glucina George Grijusich Tony begovich dean Ercegovich

Don,Mark,Andy & Ross Grijusich,Ivan Bartul,Matt & Mark Sambrailo,Budi,Laurie & JoeSumich,Murray Bogunovich,Branko & Craig Civich,Joe & Nick Silich,David & Terry Lucich,Kym Zubrinich,Frank Lendich,Bob Bucat,Gary Cukrov,Jason,Surjan,Dennis Novak,John,Pavlovic,Gary Jakovich

I do remember that being a story in The West a few years back! But's that's a different topic!

Blues_Man said:

Personally, I'm a fan of both, and you and your ilk are giving Aussie Rules supporters a bad name. Stow it.

Cro_Pavo said:
I do remember that being a story in The West a few years back! But's that's a different topic!

Yep sure was.... add jacob Surjan to it now, not sure if he is different to jason surjan ?

This debate is starting to annoy me. I love both sports and i am sure that most would agree that there is enough room for both sports! Some others might actually be like me and could watch any sport with 2 teams and a ball (except Gridiron(or is that American FOOTBALL??)). We just need to get the naming conventions right because Football, Soccer, Aussie Rules, World Football etc is starting to become confusing!

....RANT OVER!

Beckers said:
This debate is starting to annoy me. I love both sports and i am sure that most would agree that there is enough room for both sports! Some others might actually be like me and could watch any sport with 2 teams and a ball (except Gridiron(or is that American FOOTBALL??)). We just need to get the naming conventions right because Football, Soccer, Aussie Rules, World Football etc is starting to become confusing!

....RANT OVER!

American Football is a great sport as well. You just need to know what happening on the field.

D/MoN said:
This is the point (in bold) lost on the Craig Fosters of the world (he of the "Make no mistake, the sleeping giant (Australian soccer) has stirred, and the other football codes had better watch out!" -- SBS-TV, post-WC Qualification.) And the Soccer-is-Football thing. (Still soccer to me.)

Our footy is culturally unique in so many ways. So unique, so Aussie, so god-damn privileged I feel to know and love this great game of ours.

Some people love the cultural differences the world throws up, and some like the world to be exactly like their home town when they travel.

I'm one of the ones who would go to a gridiron or baseball game in america, not the American soccer league.

Daytripper said:

Who cares if it doesn't get international recoognition? It's Australian Rules. :confused:

For any of you guys bemoaning the loss of the traditional game of Australian Football as we knew it growing up, you could do a lot worse than getting hold of a tape of, or even better get to see a game of the Irish game of Hurling. Unlike AFL, Hurling has retained the emphasis on one-on-one clashes, and just about every possession is a contested possession. It's spectacular, it's brutal, it's fast, high-scoring, the fans are as passionate about it as any sportfans in the world, and you blokes would bloody love it.

Matt_TY said:
Personally, I'm a fan of both, and you and your ilk are giving Aussie Rules supporters a bad name. Stow it.
If you are a true Aussie rules fan (which i very much doubt) then you would not come on an AFL forum and belittle the greatest game in the world .
now go away nuffy