Combined Soccer vs AFL threads - please post here

ParraEelsNRL said:
I don't really care about the crowds, but the NRL is the biggest Rugby comp on the planet, so I don't care.
This is a serious question...i thought that RUGBY was UNION and NRL was LEAGUE? If you are comparing all Rugby codes, isn't the Super 14 a bit bigger and more powerful than NRL, and why do all the best NRL players go to England?

Once again, this is not a pi$$ take!!!

Beckers said:
This is a serious question...i thought that RUGBY was UNION and NRL was LEAGUE? If you are comparing all Rugby codes, isn't the Super 14 a bit bigger and more powerful than NRL, and why do all the best NRL players go to England?

Both are rugby, one is union one is league. Super 14 is different from the NRL in that it covers 3 countries not 2 and players go to england because if your an average player here you can make more there, but not very many good players go there until their careers are starting to slide.

Ragnarok14 said:
Good example comparing the current situation with soccer to cricket, much more similar than soccer and AFL. Cricket is probably the only sport that has anything to worry about soccer taking off in this country seeing as its pretty much the only major sport played at the same time (top level here) as it.

Swimming has the most participants (mainly due to the fact a ton of girls do it) but if you look at just the pure male count (which we all know is the main one) soccer is waaay ahead, at least at youth level (5 - 14) then it starts to level out between it and the other footy codes, cricket does ok because its the main alternate sport to whichever footy code people play.

Really AFL and the other rugby codes have nothing to worry about from soccer, except at youth level now that the national team is getting some good exposure. Australians will always support the national team in the major sports so rugby will be fine, the FFA is never going to be stupid enough to try running the a-league up against rugby league or AFL as it would almost definitely lose out to both and badly. The only thing thats going to change is that there will be something other than cricket on during the footy off season.

Trust me Cricket is in no danger at all in this country, it's most footballers (what ever code) sport to play over the summer...

Also just look at how cricket is quickly becoming the one of the biggest sports in the world...

-Already strong in Australia and New zealand.
-Huge following in Asia, The Chinese government is putting money into cricket
-Africa is VERY quickly becoming one of Crickets powerhouses.
-already strong in Great Britain, starting to really tap into the rest of europe...
-A growing support in South America, believe or not Argentina play matches against Chille annually.
-Immagration has led to quite a following in North America, especially Canada.

It's played all around the world and it's mainly the kids that are getting involved in it...

Cricket will be played at a relatively high level on all continents in 25-30 years, and a lot sooner in some of them :thumbsu:

It certainly won't die. i could find eveidence to back me up if you want ;)

Beckers said:

That's what the media want you to believe.

What do you think the R is in NRL?

It's Rugby, it always had been.

S14 (union) goes for 12-14 weeks, it's half a comp, the 3 nations involved are not that big when you consider that the s12 was averaging about 30,000 TV viewers on Australian pay TV a week.

NZ is only 4 million, smaller than Sydney, not everyone would watch the matches.

Sth Africa has a white population of around 4 million, again smaller than Sydney, even adding them together is smaller than NSW and QLD, RL heartlands.

The S14 would not get 3.5 million people through it's gates, not in Australia, not in NZ and not in Sth Africa.

The NRL TV deal is bigger than the S14, you never hear of S14 getting upwards of $80 million a year.

The ARU was crowing about a $40 million gift they got after the WC, so what, it's not much compared to the bigger sports out here and they'll be lucky to hold another in say 20 years?

Rugby and Rugby League hate each other. To suggest they are the same is an insult to league people and union people.

They don't like each other and RL was formed to get away from the union people.

Never say NRL and ARU are basically the same. Never.

The NRL would help promote the AFL first before it has anything to with ARU.

Diego said:
Rugby and Rugby League hate each other. To suggest they are the same is an insult to league people and union people.

They don't like each other and RL was formed to get away from the union people.

Never say NRL and ARU are basically the same. Never.

The NRL would help promote the AFL first before it has anything to with ARU.

NRL and ARU are basically the same.

Don't tell me what to do.

:D

sainters said:
Trust me Cricket is in no danger at all in this country, it's most footballers (what ever code) sport to play over the summer...

Also just look at how cricket is quickly becoming the one of the biggest sports in the world...

-already strong in Great Britain, starting to really tap into the rest of europe...
-A growing support in South America, believe or not Argentina play matches against Chille annually.

It's played all around the world and it's mainly the kids that are getting involved in it...

Cricket will be played at a relatively high level on all continents in 25-30 years, and a lot sooner in some of them :thumbsu:

Never said cricket was going to die, was mearly saying that cricket is the only major sport that might be concerned about a surge in interest in soccer as i said its the only major sports going up against it in the other footy codes off season. Crickets been in africa for a while, same with asia, haven't heard about the china investment though, and I can't see it taking hold in mainland europe, but hey I could be wrong, but i'm not commenting on that mearly saying cricket has more to worry about at a senior level here than the other footy codes do.

ParraEelsNRL said:
Feeling threatened are we?:D

Oh, I love this thread.

So the mighty AFL is starting to feel the pressure huh, damn, imagine what it's going to be like over the next 7 years with Rugby League, Soccer and even Union over in Perth putting the pressure on like never before.:D

It's a known fact that the ARL is pumping $23 million into Vic over the next 3 years, the Storm and Victory moving into and brand new purpose built stadium and the Force becoming a Force in the player market, yep, the AFL has pounded at NSW-QLD for years, pumping all that money in, have they saved enough money to fight the fight in Melbourne, you know, the heartland of Aussie Rules?

Don't worry about Rugby League mate, your code needs NSW and QLD to survive, Rugby League's already got it.:p

Rugby League in Australia has never been a code that gets crowds like AFL, it's perfect for TV.

Hence the good TV ratings it gets.

I don't really care about the crowds, but the NRL is the biggest Rugby comp on the planet, so I don't care.

Hey, Sterlo, who said this?

"Based on available figures, junior participation in AFL in Queensland has already outstripped junior participation in rugby league."
He said the move (by the NRL/ARL) could jeopardise the code (rugby league) in this state (Qld), with AFL already becoming the most popular sport at a junior level.

http://au.sports.yahoo.com/060607/2/qudl.html

And he should know, having access to official figures.

Ahh, Queensland, beautiful one day, Aussie rules the next.

If any of the three football codes have a need to feel threatened by soccer, then rugby league is it, without a doubt (what with all that 'macho-man culture' an' all). "Bring Back the Biff", indeed.

D/MoN said:
Hey, Sterlo, who said this?

"Based on available figures, junior participation in AFL in Queensland has already outstripped junior participation in rugby league."
He said the move (by the NRL/ARL) could jeopardise the code (rugby league) in this state (Qld), with AFL already becoming the most popular sport at a junior level.

http://au.sports.yahoo.com/060607/2/qudl.html

And he should know, having access to official figures.

Ahh, Queensland, beautiful one day, Aussie rules the next.

If any of the three football codes have a need to feel threatened by soccer, then rugby league is it, without a doubt (what with all that 'macho-man culture' an' all). "Bring Back the Biff", indeed.

Good work, do you have more of those particpition stats from all across Australia?

Mithrandir said:
NRL and ARU are basically the same.

Don't tell me what to do.

:D
I like to think of it like this;
Rugby Union have people called names like Stirling.
Rugby League have people called names like Wally.

blah blah blahblahblah . . .blah blahblahblahblahblahblah . . .

going to see geelong v freo this week with a couple of serbian mates who've never been to a game before. should be heaps of fun.

and did anyone see beckham to crouch's goal last night? that was some pin-point passing there. amazing. definately more skill in soccer.

definately more toughness in footy.

ParraEelsNRL said:
That's what the media want you to believe.

What do you think the R is in NRL?

It's Rugby, it always had been.

S14 (union) goes for 12-14 weeks, it's half a comp, the 3 nations involved are not that big when you consider that the s12 was averaging about 30,000 TV viewers on Australian pay TV a week.

NZ is only 4 million, smaller than Sydney, not everyone would watch the matches.

Sth Africa has a white population of around 4 million, again smaller than Sydney, even adding them together is smaller than NSW and QLD, RL heartlands.

The S14 would not get 3.5 million people through it's gates, not in Australia, not in NZ and not in Sth Africa.

The NRL TV deal is bigger than the S14, you never hear of S14 getting upwards of $80 million a year.

The ARU was crowing about a $40 million gift they got after the WC, so what, it's not much compared to the bigger sports out here and they'll be lucky to hold another in say 20 years?

Over here in Europe, Parra, S14 is widely shown on sports stations in Britain, Ireland, France and Italy. They (the locals) know many of the players involved by first and surnames, as well as the current status of the comp in general. They watch it in the pubs with interest (though not with nearly as much passion as they watch Wasps, Munster or Biarritz).

However, they know very little of NRL, nor League in general. The local sports nuts are no more likely to know who the Parramtta Eels are than they are, say, the Richmond Tigers. English RL as a spectator sport is hopelessly dwarfed by the Premier League - there would be lucky to be one rugby league shirt being worn for every one hundred fans in Arsenal, Barca or Liverpool top.

Union is huge here, whilst League is effectively non-existent in the perception of the natives. How that effects your enjoyment of your own competition at home, I'm not sure, but it's the pure reality of the status of the two rugbys on an international scale.

Re: Soccer Vrs AFL - Will we go global???

the_messiah said:
Another Reason why AFL Will NEVER be global.
Umpires, not the quality, but the quantity.
A popular game as soccer has...1 referee, the way it should be.
A domestic game such as footy, has 3 on field umpires, 2 goal umpires, 2 boundary umpires and an emergency umpire...and were complaining about consistensey.

There are as many umpires in our game as players in soccer.

You are forgetting 2 linesman, not to mention the plethora of officials on the sidelines, holding the extra time board and subs board etc.

Re: Soccer Vrs AFL - Will we go global???

Lunchlady Doris said:
You are forgetting 2 linesman, not to mention the plethora of officials on the sidelines, holding the extra time board and subs board etc.
You're right about the linesmen but the only other official is the fourth referee who handle's the sub's and indicate's the injury time.I think in case the ref injure's himself the fourth ref take's his spot on the pitch.

sainters said:

With both cricket and Aussie rules needing ovals it would make sense to team up on the internationalisation front..

GhostofJimJess said:
Over here in Europe, Parra, S14 is widely shown on sports stations in Britain, Ireland, France and Italy. They (the locals) know many of the players involved by first and surnames, as well as the current status of the comp in general. They watch it in the pubs with interest (though not with nearly as much passion as they watch Wasps, Munster or Biarritz).

However, they know very little of NRL, nor League in general. The local sports nuts are no more likely to know who the Parramtta Eels are than they are, say, the Richmond Tigers. English RL as a spectator sport is hopelessly dwarfed by the Premier League - there would be lucky to be one rugby league shirt being worn for every one hundred fans in Arsenal, Barca or Liverpool top.

Union is huge here, whilst League is effectively non-existent in the perception of the natives. How that effects your enjoyment of your own competition at home, I'm not sure, but it's the pure reality of the status of the two rugbys on an international scale.

http://sport.guardian.co.uk/columnists/story/0,,1721452,00.html?gusrc=rss

the viewing figures for Sky and the BBC's Super League Show have been excellent, with the opening match between Castleford and Hull comfortably outrating Gloucester-Leicester from the other code's Premiership, by 254,000 to 95,000 according to the Barb figures.

http://www.barb.co.uk/

CODE
Sky Sports 1 Individuals 4+ Viewing (Including Timeshift) - w/e 19/02/2006
Programme 000's
1 LIVE FA CUP FOOTBALL (Sun 1530) 1574
2 FORD SUPER SUNDAY (Sun 1259) 822
3 FORD MONDAY NIGHT FOOTBALL (Mon 1930) 610
4 SOCCER AM (Sat 0900) 395
5 SPANISH CUP FOOTBALL (Tue 2200) 278
6 LIVE SUPER LEAGUE (Fri 1930) 236
7 GILLETTE SOCCER SATURDAY (Sat 1200) 207
8 LIVE SUPER LEAGUE (Sat 1745) 184
9 GILLETTE SOCCER SPECIAL (Tue 1930) 143
10 LIVE WWE WRESTLING (Sun 0100) 143

If you look at these, the bottom 1 has a SL replay at midnight and it got bigger ratings than a live rugby union game on a Saturday at 5.00pm.

Sky Sports 2 Individuals 4+ Viewing (Including Timeshift) - w/e 19/02/2006
Programme 000's
1 LIVE FORD FOOTBALL SPECIAL-MATCH (Tue 1900) 1105
2 LIVE FOOTBALL LEAGUE (Fri 1930) 313
3 GUINNESS RUGBY - LIVE (Sat 1430) 146
4 GUINNESS RUGBY - LIVE (Sun 1300) 100
5 LIVE US TOUR GOLF (Sun 2030) 64
6 SOCCER A.M'S ALL SPORTS SHOW (Fri 2202) 63
7 SUPER LEAGUE (Fri 0001) 48
8 THE WILLIAM HILL POKER GRAND PRIX (Tue 2235) 37
9 GUINNESS RUGBY - LIVE (Sat 1700) 37
10 PREMIERSHIP YEARS (Wed 1205) 37

The only thing you were right about was the Soccer, if you want to debate the union myth, ok.

And I've seen the Barb figures that show more ppl in England watch the NRL than S14, but usually they are around the same with about 40,000 each.

You think Italy and France don't have RL?

Well RL has been played in France for 70 years, it has a decent following, they have a Super League team, they have a promotion and relegation system in place with a few teams that can spend big.

Places like the south in Catalonia, up to Corsica, a new Spanish team that just played in a comp in Italy against French, British, Sth African and Italian teams.

There is a big Moroccan population in France, they play RL.

Just to let you know, some of those teams in the Italian Union comp are old RL teams.

Some places in Scotland have more RL juniors that Union.

It doesn't matter, just don't believe everything the media want you to believe.

ParraEelsNRL said:
http://sport.guardian.co.uk/columnists/story/0,,1721452,00.html?gusrc=rss

the viewing figures for Sky and the BBC's Super League Show have been excellent, with the opening match between Castleford and Hull comfortably outrating Gloucester-Leicester from the other code's Premiership, by 254,000 to 95,000 according to the Barb figures.

http://www.barb.co.uk/

CODE
Sky Sports 1 Individuals 4+ Viewing (Including Timeshift) - w/e 19/02/2006
Programme 000's
1 LIVE FA CUP FOOTBALL (Sun 1530) 1574
2 FORD SUPER SUNDAY (Sun 1259) 822
3 FORD MONDAY NIGHT FOOTBALL (Mon 1930) 610
4 SOCCER AM (Sat 0900) 395
5 SPANISH CUP FOOTBALL (Tue 2200) 278
6 LIVE SUPER LEAGUE (Fri 1930) 236
7 GILLETTE SOCCER SATURDAY (Sat 1200) 207
8 LIVE SUPER LEAGUE (Sat 1745) 184
9 GILLETTE SOCCER SPECIAL (Tue 1930) 143
10 LIVE WWE WRESTLING (Sun 0100) 143

If you look at these, the bottom 1 has a SL replay at midnight and it got bigger ratings than a live rugby union game on a Saturday at 5.00pm.

Sky Sports 2 Individuals 4+ Viewing (Including Timeshift) - w/e 19/02/2006
Programme 000's
1 LIVE FORD FOOTBALL SPECIAL-MATCH (Tue 1900) 1105
2 LIVE FOOTBALL LEAGUE (Fri 1930) 313
3 GUINNESS RUGBY - LIVE (Sat 1430) 146
4 GUINNESS RUGBY - LIVE (Sun 1300) 100
5 LIVE US TOUR GOLF (Sun 2030) 64
6 SOCCER A.M'S ALL SPORTS SHOW (Fri 2202) 63
7 SUPER LEAGUE (Fri 0001) 48
8 THE WILLIAM HILL POKER GRAND PRIX (Tue 2235) 37
9 GUINNESS RUGBY - LIVE (Sat 1700) 37
10 PREMIERSHIP YEARS (Wed 1205) 37

The only thing you were right about was the Soccer, if you want to debate the union myth, ok.

And I've seen the Barb figures that show more ppl in England watch the NRL than S14, but usually they are around the same with about 40,000 each.

You think Italy and France don't have RL?

Well RL has been played in France for 70 years, it has a decent following, they have a Super League team, they have a promotion and relegation system in place with a few teams that can spend big.

Places like the south in Catalonia, up to Corsica, a new Spanish team that just played in a comp in Italy against French, British, Sth African and Italian teams.

There is a big Moroccan population in France, they play RL.

Just to let you know, some of those teams in the Italian Union comp are old RL teams.

Some places in Scotland have more RL juniors that Union.

It doesn't matter, just don't believe everything the media want you to believe.

Firstly, I don't care much for media hype, so don't think that I've established my opinion on what the media want me to believe.

Secondly, your numbers are very Anglo-centric, Parra. I must admit that of all the above countries I mentioned, I have spent less time in England than the rest, so maybe the underlying interest is in reality greater than I perceived during my time there.

Next, I never said that RL wasn't played in France and Italy, just that there is very little interest from the wider populace, especially in comparison to soccer. In these countries it's very much a minority sport, like it is in most areas of England outside of a few select counties. The Six Nations Rugby Union, however, received broad media coverage - both electronic and print - and the performances of home teams Biarritz and Perpignan in the HC were also widely covered in France.

And finally, as far as Ireland, Scotland and Wales go, there is effectively NO interest in RL at the elite level. No numbers of SKY TV will change that perception because I'm here living it every day. Leinster, Glasgow, Munster etc do huge business in their home countries - tickets for the Heineken Cup Semi were going for no less than €1500 each from the touts, such was the demand. Even the Celtic League garners more interest than Super League in these countries.

Good for Rugby League that it has that modest international presence to help sustain it.

The AFL clubs likewise would benefit, and benefit immensely in time, with a completely achievable (the grass-roots already there) international spread of Aussie Rules. It just needs some strategically appointed full time administrators in a few countries to take the game to the next level - see again WorldFootyNews story

GhostofJimJess said:
Wales go, there is effectively NO interest in RL at the elite level.

Challenge Cup, anyone?

I suppose all those 70,000+ who attend the games in Cardiff are all intruders from the north?

Re: AFL vs World Cup

Diego said:
This is why so many pockets of australia is filled with mediocre simpletons. When its people like you who embrace mediocrity and think "ohh how grouse they named the team afta our kangas - grouse"

No other country has ever used a nickname to describe their team- only Australia and the US? Look again- most countries use nicknames to describe their team

Re: AFL vs World Cup

If any sport is to be concerned it would be League. The only area which could "fall" to soccer would be sydney.

Hicham said:
Challenge Cup, anyone?

I suppose all those 70,000+ who attend the games in Cardiff are all intruders from the north?

Yeah and they all travelled from the deep dark North to Scotland when it was held there.;)

GhostofJimJess said:
And finally, as far as Ireland, Scotland and Wales go, there is effectively NO interest in RL at the elite level.

warriorsoffcrusaderson.jpg

Well here is a Welsh team in NL2, it's their 1st year and they are confident of promotion to NL1 at the end of the season, they have a count down clock on the home page and it's counting down to 2008 when they say they will be in SL.

The two fastest growing areas in the UK for sport are London and Wales, and RL is the sport that is growing.

I showed you that RL beats the union on SKY sports, I know the biggest drawing Rugby clubs in England are Rugby League teams.

You say that Scotland don't care and don't watch n play.

Didn't they sellout their own stadium for the challenge cup?

Each team only get 15,000 tix, considering it was full, they must've had some locals come down a watch it?

http://www.answers.com/topic/rugby-league-in-scotland

In 2000 and 2002 the Challenge Cup Final was held at Murrayfield in Edinburgh, the home of the Scottish Rugby Union. in 2000 Bradford Bulls defeated Leeds Rhinos 24-18, and in 2002 Wigan Warriors beat St. Helens 21-12. Both ties were played in front of over 60,000 spectators, by far the biggest rugby league events ever held in Scotland.

I know how small it is, but it's not as small as you're making out.

Ireland is the same as Scotland but they have more teams, it gets shown on SKY TV as does the rest of the UK.

They have 13 teams in their top division.

http://www.rli.ie/

Ireland, Scotland and Wales put together wouldn't have as much support as the French have.

I don't really care, but you said some things that aren't true, some of these places have a very rich and proud history when it comes to RL, it's a pity the media always bags RL and doesn't let anyone know about them.

It's hard to find anything out about French RL simply because they don't call it Rugby League and they don't seem to travel around the English speaking sites, but they do exist.

Jeu à Treize