- Dec 14, 2002
- AFL Club
- North Melbourne
- Other Teams
- Sturt, Liverpool
Team selection tonight tonight should reveal whether " tipping point " has been reached, irregardless of injuries.
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Team selection tonight tonight should reveal whether " tipping point " has been reached, irregardless of injuries.
We would be silly to allow external white noise distract us from what we know needs doing. The media destabilising only works when they are a mouthpiece for factional interest inside the club. My point was more about thinking we know what we doing & more United than we have been for a very long time.Of course, he’s not. However, my point is that is that I completely understand the rationale of running with the older players initially. Also, the press can destabilise/undermine a club - we’d be mad not to accept that fact. No need to give them “free” hits.
Jabba the Hutch just easing him in through the back door Garry Lyin’ style.The King is back. Just will not stay down for the count. Lol
Oh good. Can't wait to hear again about how he would have left 'the Kangaroos' if he was JHFF.The King is back. Just will not stay down for the count. Lol
goldChicken squawks loudest in footy legend stoush
The room was filled with swinging utensil-doodle-doos. But it took one rooster to crow loudest. Actually, make that chook, as in former AFL player agent Ricky “Chicken” Nixon.
Nixon squawked in disappointment regarding a heated concussion discussion involving ex Magpie Tony Shaw and Kangaroos legend Wayne Carey.
TV and radio broadcaster Shaw said some concussion lawsuits filed by former footy players might be problematic in future.
Shaw told a Prestige Global Events dinner at Collingwood’s Glasshouse: “A lot of them won’t be able to prove whether you fell off a swing when you were five, or alcohol dependent, drug dependent, whether you were hit in the juniors, whether you were hit before you went to the AFL. That’s why they want the payout beforehand.”
Carey’s former manager Nixon jumped to his feet and bellowed: “Shawry and Wayne Carey, pull your f---ing heads in. You didn’t manage these players and the stuff they’ve gone through, and the health they’ve had.”
Dinner speakers and guests included Sam Newman, Kevin Sheedy, Peter Daicos, Jonathan Brown and James Hird.
Shaw retorted: “I hope you’re not in the class action trying to make a quid out of it. I’ve got no worries about the ridgey-didge blokes, but you know there’s going to be a lot of players going down that track who haven’t even had issues.”
And Nixon’s comments clearly ruffled the Duck’s feathers.
“You know what I love about the Chook?” Carey said, smiling.
“He’s made more money off me than anyone.
“Let’s be honest: We all signed up — Sam, Shawry, Jonno, Daics. The science at the time, that’s what we knew. We thought we were being tough.
“That was a badge of honour, Sam, badge of honour. Getting f---ing knocked out, get back out there. Yeah? That was a badge of honour. We didn’t know the science,” Carey said.
“So the AFL aren’t in the wrong by saying they didn’t see this. The doctors weren’t in the wrong by sending us back out there. As the science improves they’re improving what we do with a particular player.”
Kane Cornes is right on this one. Logue had too many pies and pasties during summer .I just saw Cornhole serve up a bit of a fat shaming clip at Griffin Logue on Footy Classified, booooooo
I take revenge through others, otherwise what is the point of watching neutral matches and the finals.
I wonder if that's actually true what he says in the last part. I find it hard to believe in the 90s there weren't doctors a bit suspicious about players getting knocked out and sent back out there. Ali developed signs of brain damage at the beginning of the 80s. I feel it was just ignored for decades until the technology caught up to prove suspicions.Chicken squawks loudest in footy legend stoush
The room was filled with swinging utensil-doodle-doos. But it took one rooster to crow loudest. Actually, make that chook, as in former AFL player agent Ricky “Chicken” Nixon.
Nixon squawked in disappointment regarding a heated concussion discussion involving ex Magpie Tony Shaw and Kangaroos legend Wayne Carey.
TV and radio broadcaster Shaw said some concussion lawsuits filed by former footy players might be problematic in future.
Shaw told a Prestige Global Events dinner at Collingwood’s Glasshouse: “A lot of them won’t be able to prove whether you fell off a swing when you were five, or alcohol dependent, drug dependent, whether you were hit in the juniors, whether you were hit before you went to the AFL. That’s why they want the payout beforehand.”
Carey’s former manager Nixon jumped to his feet and bellowed: “Shawry and Wayne Carey, pull your f---ing heads in. You didn’t manage these players and the stuff they’ve gone through, and the health they’ve had.”
Dinner speakers and guests included Sam Newman, Kevin Sheedy, Peter Daicos, Jonathan Brown and James Hird.
Shaw retorted: “I hope you’re not in the class action trying to make a quid out of it. I’ve got no worries about the ridgey-didge blokes, but you know there’s going to be a lot of players going down that track who haven’t even had issues.”
And Nixon’s comments clearly ruffled the Duck’s feathers.
“You know what I love about the Chook?” Carey said, smiling.
“He’s made more money off me than anyone.
“Let’s be honest: We all signed up — Sam, Shawry, Jonno, Daics. The science at the time, that’s what we knew. We thought we were being tough.
“That was a badge of honour, Sam, badge of honour. Getting f---ing knocked out, get back out there. Yeah? That was a badge of honour. We didn’t know the science,” Carey said.
“So the AFL aren’t in the wrong by saying they didn’t see this. The doctors weren’t in the wrong by sending us back out there. As the science improves they’re improving what we do with a particular player.”
Very apt, Gaso. For the way we are travelling we'll need to thaw our revenge out before serving.Revenge is always best served cold
It will happen
A post siren win in a Final
Something like that
Oh good. Can't wait to hear again about how he would have left 'the Kangaroos' if he was JHFF.
On SM-S901E using BigFooty.com mobile app
He laboured this exact point on his vanity podcastGenuine question - was that just a plausible thing he'd say - or did he actually say this?
He laboured this exact point on his vanity podcast
We would be silly to allow external white noise distract us from what we know needs doing. The media destabilising only works when they are a mouthpiece for factional interest inside the club. My point was more about thinking we know what we doing & more United than we have been for a very long time.
Random question..
Does anyone paid for Code sports? I see a fair bit of interesting content, but I also pay enough in subscription services already. Any thoughts from subscribers?
I did a trial - some interesting articles but not enough to make subscribing worthwhile for me.Random question..
Does anyone paid for Code sports? I see a fair bit of interesting content, but I also pay enough in subscription services already. Any thoughts from subscribers?
cant think doctors had anything to gain here, and fwiw most doctors involved withclubs would be far from experts in long term head traumas.I wonder if that's actually true what he says in the last part. I find it hard to believe in the 90s there weren't doctors a bit suspicious about players getting knocked out and sent back out there. Ali developed signs of brain damage at the beginning of the 80s. I feel it was just ignored for decades until the technology caught up to prove suspicions.
AFL great Wayne Carey has ruled out a return to mainstream media.
The former commentator with Channel 7 and radio Triple M says he won’t be pursuing a high profile media career again, saying he felt “muzzled” at times.
He parted ways last year with all his commitments, including as a columnist with The Age, after a bag of white powder fell from his pocket at Perth’s Crown casino.
“No, no, no, those days are gone,” Carey told SEN Breakfast on Friday.
“I was just about done anyway … I was planning not to probably do TV next year.”
He added: “You are certainly muzzled to a degree there’s no doubt about that and there’s certain things you can and can’t say for varying different reasons.
“I do have strong opinions some of which I haven’t been able to deliver.”
Carey, 51, said he was now enjoying more time with his three children and also appearing and speaking at the Good Blokes Society events in support of mental health.
Now he has his own podcast, The Truth Hurts, but admits he misses the footy banter with colleagues.
“Obviously Triple M is probably different to any other station and that is, you know, it is a real jocular, fun (environment),’’ he said.
“A lot of it isn’t footy, which I really enjoyed, but I’m getting that (banter) with my mates outside of footy.
“So, I can guarantee you there’s still plenty of banter … that’s probably my second language.
“That is have fun and have that sort of banter with your mates while watching footy or anything else for that matter.”
C’mon Wayne Carey is a known and respected truth teller. How can you not take him for his word?I’m sure The King would still be doing all the media he was working at previously if he hadn’t been dethroned.
Yep. A total POS. Club should have nothing to do with him.I want us to be premiers again not so much to spite him, but to consign him once and for all to a past chapter of the North Melbourne Football Club.
There's past players who did decide to travel forward with us and be part of our future.
But he's chosen not to and it's way overdue that we set up for a generation of kids who will yell Larkey, Zurhaar or Sheezel as their premiership idols instead of hearing their North Melbourne smitten parent(s) still reminiscing about a great but flawed player from what will soon be 30 years ago.
Just for your tarpy information, you know, because you obviously have your head buried deep under cover.You are dreaming, why would McKay stay?
Go and count the number of ex-North players currently on the lists of other Clubs