Opinion Commentary & Media VII

Some of the best Chardys I’ve had are from Margs and had some brilliant CSavs. A couple of Adelaide Hills Pinots are my favs of all time but yeah, Tassie is the go to. Barossa, MV and CV are hard to split for reds. So many brilliant wineries. And CV aged Riesling are just wow.

One thing is for sure, Australia shits all over Napa Valley
I was very impressed with the quality of Margaret River wines when I spent a week or so there years back.

Was expecting great whites but the reds really blew me away there were some fantastic ones.

In general my wine preferences are: Shiraz, Cab Sav, Chardonnay, Sav Blanc.

Preferred wine regions Coonawarra, Margaret River, Barossa Valley, McLaren Vale and some of the Hunter Valley reds are decent.

We're truly blessed with the quality of wine produced here.

And yes we do shit all over Napa Valley from what I've tasted from there when I've been to the US.

I don't usually get my hopes up for this thread because north related commentary and media is middling at best, but * me if we aren't dredging the bottom of the barrel with wine talk.
Just you wait until we get on to Baldur's Gate 3 chat.

Whoops that's the Clarko thread.

Carry on!

spoilsport...i was just about to get into the NZ wines !
I used to travel to NZ for a week at a time 4 times a year a while back, yeah I love kiwi wines, but lunch and dinner client visits with a different colleague for a week,...."you gotta try thus Suv Blanc, and thus Pinot, with these oysters and thus lamb, theyre the bust in the werld broI" literally every meal.......by the end of the week, give me the flipping wine list there has to be an aussie shiraz on here somewhere.

I was very impressed with the quality of Margaret River wines when I spent a week or so there years back.

Was expecting great whites but the reds really blew me away there were some fantastic ones.

In general my wine preferences are: Shiraz, Cab Sav, Chardonnay, Sav Blanc.

Preferred wine regions Coonawarra, Margaret River, Barossa Valley, McLaren Vale and some of the Hunter Valley reds are decent.

We're truly blessed with the quality of wine produced here.

And yes we do s**t all over Napa Valley from what I've tasted from there when I've been to the US.
Have a good mate who lived in San Fran for many years and was involved in the wine industry. He gave me some places to visit and some the wine is good but it’s just so bloody expensive. Give me two Wild Witches over some $150 bottle from Napa any day.

I used to travel to NZ for a week at a time 4 times a year a while back, yeah I love kiwi wines, but lunch and dinner client visits with a different colleague for a week,...."you gotta try thus Suv Blanc, and thus Pinot, with these oysters and thus lamb, theyre the bust in the werld broI" literally every meal.......by the end of the week, give me the *ing wine list there has to be an aussie shiraz on here somewhere.

I like Aussie Shiraz..dont care from where..if they've spelt "Shiraz" right I drink it

NZ Pinot is pretty good too

White Wine is wasted on me.....tastes like Sodastream

Average AFL player wage to become up to 600K in the new CBA. For kicking some leather around. Wow

View attachment 1809043

I want the next deal to include - If a player requests a trade the club is allowed to trade them to whatever club gives the best trade option.

- Or at least if a player requests a trade because of homesickness, the club can trade them to any club in that state that offers the best deal.

The players have way too much power.

Country footy has a lot of coin. Entire Towns usually get behind their club footy and netball, farmers, pubs, local business, revenue from games and social events. Some towns have more than others due to their size but players being paid 5-10k and coaches up to 50+ grand is not out of the question

A few of my mates got paid shitloads to go play country footy a couple of years ago. The club would put them up for Friday & Saturday night too. They just had to stay fit when back in Melbourne. They gave it away though because of the travel.

I want the next deal to include - If a player requests a trade the club is allowed to trade them to whatever club gives the best trade option.

- Or at least if a player requests a trade because of homesickness, the club can trade them to any club in that state that offers the best deal.

I'm more on the players side with this. People should have a right to decide where they work. Probably even more so in professional sport like AFL, where the average AFL player career lasts only 3.5 to 4 years.
Having said that, if a club is losing a player, the deal has to be somewhat fair for the club.

I'm more on the players side with this. People should have a right to decide where they work. Probably even more so in professional sport like AFL, where the average AFL player career lasts only 3.5 to 4 years.
Having said that, if a club is losing a player, the deal has to be somewhat fair for the club.
That's fine to allow people the right to decide where they work geographically, but there should be some give and take within that allowance. If a player wants to be traded, let them nominate the state they want to be traded to, not the club. At least give clubs the opportunity to extract the best deal from competing clubs.

Not exactly. The collective entertainment product is an 18 team national league. The player gets to be a professional athlete because of this giant entity.

The good money is because of the structure of an entire nationally spread brand. If moving interstate is unpalatable to a player they can always find another occupation.

Yeah but now they’re entering an extremely high pay bracket with loads of time off. It can’t be all one way. At the moment the players have all the control.

The players that don’t make it past the 4 year mark is just because they aren’t good or dedicated enough to make it.

That's fine to allow people the right to decide where they work geographically, but there should be some give and take within that allowance. If a player wants to be traded, let them nominate the state they want to be traded to, not the club. At least give clubs the opportunity to extract the best deal from competing clubs.
I disagree. This isn't a horse stable where the stable owner says to all the horse trainers in another state "hey guys we have this prize filly and I'm prepared to sell her for the best offer".

As I said, people should have the right to decide where they work, for financial reasons but also mental health. I have no doubt there are players with mental health issues because they are stuck in an environment that they didn't choose and don't want to be in. "Suck it up because you're being paid well" isn't the answer.

I disagree. This isn't a horse stable where the stable owner says to all the horse trainers in another state "hey guys we have this prize filly and I'm prepared to sell her for the best offer".

As I said, people should have the right to decide where they work, for financial reasons but also mental health. I have no doubt there are players with mental health issues because they are stuck in an environment that they didn't choose and don't want to be in. "Suck it up because you're being paid well" isn't the answer.
So the natural extension of that is, why can't an 18 year old have that right too?

It's not like that all.

It's more akin to someone going through WAAPA then declaring "I want to be a highly paid movie star in big name American movies ... but I don't want to leave Perth".

Yeh, that's not how it works.

Just reduce the years of service for a restricted free agent to say 5 years..

Everyone else under that you don’t get to choose specifically where you want to go if you request a trade.

It's not like that all.

It's more akin to someone going through WAAPA then declaring "I want to be a highly paid movie star in big name American movies ... but I don't want to leave Perth".

Yeh, that's not how it works.
Why not? If there's a market in Perth and an employer in Perth willing to pay for their services, that's exactly how it works in other industries.

e.g I'm a A grade truck driver, and I'm on the books of Drake Contracting, but I only want to work in Perth for family or mental health or lifestyle or whatever the reason. I don't want to work in QLD, or SA, or any other state.
Done.
Happens all the time.

I don't agree that players should be traded against their will but 100% agree about the middle part. If a JHF-type wants to go home but Adelaide's offer is better than Poort's then his club should have that option.

Likewise, from a NMFC point of view, if a Victorian kid wants to come home then he's simply going to nominate a bigger club or one in immediate contention. But what if we fork out the better offer?

Then there's the Ollie Henry type who claims homesickness playing for Collingwood but wants to go to Geelong. That's BS. I hope he enjoyed Grand Final Day.