Coronavirus/COVID-19

I’m watching the Geelong vs Freo match.

Thursday night footy, prime time.

I have not seen a single ad promoting vaccination for Covid.

Prime time viewing with thousands of people watching - say, maybe this could be a good time to show some ads telling people to go and get vaccinated?

Nah, of course not, that would take space from every second “Did someone say KFC?” ad and “That’s gooder” Toyota ad.

Serenity now.

What was the old state of origin tagline?

State against State, Mate against Mate.

It's a sad state of affairs that we have become so divided against each other 😪
I wonder how much it's the common people of NSW vs the common people of Vic (or anywhere else for that matter). I think there is a fair bit of solidarity among most of the people across the country.

I think the divisions are being played out more at a political level. For a while there was an "all in this together" feeling but when the various politicians were under the pump for one reason or another that soon melted away. They couldn't help themselves. Having four or five state and territory elections last year didn't help. Pretty much all of those leaders played strongly to a domestic audience.

However I'm not certain if my perspective is correct. I have a foot in three different legislatures (no I don't actually have three feet!) so perhaps I'm seeing it in a more bi-partisan (tri-partisan) way than it really is. Yes, there will always be the odd friendly dig about Queenslanders or Cockroaches or Mexicans but I think the common people are much more united than the behaviour of our leaders would suggest.

How do others see it?

I’m watching the Geelong vs Freo match.

Thursday night footy, prime time.

I have not seen a single ad promoting vaccination for Covid.

Prime time viewing with thousands of people watching - say, maybe this could be a good time to show some ads telling people to go and get vaccinated?

Nah, of course not, that would take space from every second “Did someone say KFC?” ad and “That’s gooder” Toyota ad.

Serenity now.

What would be the point of encouraging people to get vaccines when we don't have enough anyway?

Not hearing much criticism of Andrews, McGowan and Anna P’s calls to reduce international arrivals anymore.

Maybe because that’s right, this all started from a flight crew.

This delta strain is proving pretty much uncontainable in the face of human nature and bureaucratic incompetence.

Shutting the borders until ScoMo gets the vaccines (after every other country gets them first), is the only option left.

I wonder how much it's the common people of NSW vs the common people of Vic (or anywhere else for that matter). I think there is a fair bit of solidarity among most of the people across the country.

I think the divisions are being played out more at a political level. For a while there was an "all in this together" feeling but when the various politicians were under the pump for one reason or another that soon melted away. They couldn't help themselves. Having four or five state and territory elections last year didn't help. Pretty much all of those leaders played strongly to a domestic audience.

However I'm not certain if my perspective is correct. I have a foot in three different legislatures (no I don't actually have three feet!) so perhaps I'm seeing it in a more bi-partisan (tri-partisan) way than it really is. Yes, there will always be the odd friendly dig about Queenslanders or Cockroaches or Mexicans but I think the common people are much more united than the behaviour of our leaders would suggest.

How do others see it?
I live in an area of NSW that is a tourism hub and believe me it's real. At the height of the Melbourne lockdown last year we had people with Victorian number plates being abused by our locals. As a former "mexican" who moved north of the border some 20 years ago it was actually quite distressing for me.

One of my mates has lived here most of her life but spent the last two years in Qld before moving back 6 months ago. She said she has copped similar abuse purely for appearing to be from another state (Qld number plates).

Perhaps regional NSW is not as inclusive as it should be and my evidence is purely anecdotal?

I live in an area of NSW that is a tourism hub and believe me it's real. At the height of the Melbourne lockdown last year we had people with Victorian number plates being abused by our locals. As a former "mexican" who moved north of the border some 20 years ago it was actually quite distressing for me.

One of my mates has lived here most of her life but spent the last two years in Qld before moving back 6 months ago. She said she has copped similar abuse purely for appearing to be from another state (Qld number plates).

Perhaps regional NSW is not as inclusive as it should be and my evidence is purely anecdotal?
Well mine's anecdotal too. That's why I was interested in others' experiences.

I do put some of whatever divisions exist down to leaders who encourage an us-vs-them approach, often for their own gain or for their party. I imagine a lot of people would take their cue from such leaders.

If it's any consolation, no run on toilet paper yet in several Woolies in Ballarat. Maybe it's finally sunk in that dunny rolls are not the critical pivot of our economy?

The toilet paper thing has always been a weird one because you’re in lockdown, so you’re home anyway, so….sorry, I’ve said too much.

As a long term Sydney and NSW resident I can explain the NSW problem.

Remember the Green line in Beirut? It is similar here.

There is a very small civilised area bounded by the south pylon of the Harbour Bridge in the north and the end of south Newtown before St Peters in the south. To the west the boundary is Leichhardt and to the east Surry Hills just before Paddington.

The rest of Sydney and the state of NSW is full of campaigners.

Side note - I just saw an ad with Bruce McAvaney claiming the Tokyo Olympics are “The most anticipated Olympic Games ever!”

Dafuq?

Can’t think of an Olympic Games that’s been looked forward to less.
Especially by the locals

How do others see it?
I dunno. Victorians I've spoken to seem to have developed a siege mentality. Other states have closed ranks against the rest, people say "Glad we don't live in xxxstate". Humor in all states has died of covid. (Note to self: look for covid joke that's not political... :think:🤷‍♂️)

The toilet paper thing has always been a weird one because you’re in lockdown, so you’re home anyway, so….sorry, I’ve said too much.
So it's time for my least favourite couple of T shirts to get nervous again?

To be completely honest, the NSW removalists who are not cooperating with contract tracers are making me re-think my stance against capital punishment.

Coronavirus/COVID-19