Discussion Coronavirus

You lot are far too lenient. I thought that press conference was an absolute shit show. Morrison failing to deliver a clear & concise message. Murphy way out of his depth & came across as a bumbling fool. How he is the chief medical officer is beyond me. He gives me zero confidence.
Yep

What a load of rubbish.....Owners have hurt American sport big time ...shifted clubs / players to even
different states ....been a disaster here too.....Brisbane Bears & Swans were disastrous ventures at the time.

one of the most successful teams in NFL Green Bay is owned by its supporters ..

The most iconic coach Vince Lombardy ..the very trophy they play for ...was from Green Bay

Public Transport needs to keep running so hundreds of essential workers can get to their jobs.
Talking to people in the industry the trains are very quiet.
Although it's a shitshow when it comes to training new cleaners. Following social distancing and the national rail safety act at the same time make things very hard.

Morrison holding onto keeping the schools open will ultimately be his downfall.

Every measure he brings in are directly contradicted by his position on Schools. It contributes to the unclear messaging coming from the Gov. As do the waffle answers that may have helped him weasel out of questioning during the bushfires, but are further confusing what needs to be clear, concise communication.

Probably trying to short the market.
People are going to disagree with me on this, but I think he's doing the right thing. Ballsy, but right.

If the shut down continues for 4 or 5 weeks, maybe 2 months, we'll eventually bounce back. If it rolls on for months, I fear for what will happen, I fear a Depression. That would do a lot more damage than the virus.

We're talking 2 to 4 million unemployed, the same amount under-employed, inflation and the government printing money. Not good, not good at all.

People are going to disagree with me on this, but I think he's doing the right thing. Ballsy, but right.

If the shut down continues for 4 or 5 weeks, maybe 2 months, we'll eventually bounce back. If it rolls on for months, I fear for what will happen, I fear a Depression. That would do a lot more damage than the virus.

We're talking 2 to 4 million unemployed, the same amount under-employed, inflation and the government printing money. Not good, not good at all.

Depression?
The world will have a second depression. It's like nothing we have seen. Pretty much guaranteed now after America cops it big time virus wise.

Depression?
The world will have a second depression. It's like nothing we have seen. Pretty much guaranteed now after America cops it big time virus wise.

How you going Teddy?

I'm going to back him to pull this off. This f**ker never seems to fail. But seriously, no one wants a depression here or even the US. I don't think they'll cop it as bad as expected from the virus. They are mass-producing the anti-malaria drug which I think will work. It may also work as a preventative measure, but that is yet to be clearly determined.

On the mass production of meds. I found out today that we aren't talking about the drug in Australia because we don't produce are own meds. and given the circumstances there is a shortage of availability for importation.

That's really something that needs to addressed as a leaning from this crisis.

I can't stop thinking about the possibility of us going under because of our shitty finances.

We prop up the AFL for years at Marvel and now we're out in the cold after they blow millions on the Gold Coast, GWS, AFL X and everything else.

What's everyone else thinking?

Possibility of a full lockdown for 6 weeks to take effect from the weekend onwards. Food, petrol, medical, essential shops, etc remain open. Could be announced tonight or tomorrow.
The inside word my nephew heard from someone in Canberra is that we'll be in lockdown by Friday.

That was as of sometime before about 7pm today (the time my sister passed it on to me), or yesterday though, so may have been pushed back to the weekend since.

Sounds like it's a happening thing though.

Everyone's going to just have to buckle up and get ready to ride this out the best they can.

That as much as I love my footy club, there's a lot more at stake than that, so it's barely entering my mind.

Gut feel is that's we'll get through though.

If we don't? Well we've had well over 100 years to get our shit together, so if we haven't managed to, we don't really have anyone but ourselves to blame, if we weren't strong enough as a club to get through this.

Data has us at day 14.

By this stage, Italy and Spain both had well over 300 deaths. China over 600. The US just under 100, France close to 70, South Korea at 35.

We only have had 8 - all high risk patients over 70.

Whatever our doctors are doing, it is working.
What I found staggering was when I heard on the news earlier today that we only had a dozen who were actually in hospital with it at the moment (up from 6 yesterday).

If that was correct obviously most are only mildly affected by it.

Guessing it helps a ton that we're in a warm climate and just coming out of summer.

We need to stop the spread before winter hits or we could be in big trouble.

What I found staggering was when I heard on the news earlier today that we only had a dozen who were actually in hospital with it at the moment (up from 6 yesterday).

If that was correct obviously most are only mildly affected by it.

Yes most of the infected are mildly affected by it. Our massive testing here in Australia means that we test many of those. Whereas in Italy, and many other countries, hey are testing mainly those who are serious affected.

So in Italy they are mainly testing just the tip of the iceberg. Here in Australia we are testing much lower down as well.

Bottom line is in countries like Italy that they have a lot, lot, lot more infected people than we have in Australia. So our critical Covid 19 patients all currently get outstanding care. In Italy they do not. Look at Germany who have also not overloaded their hospitals and so their case mortality rate at present has been 0.42%.

MORTALITY RATES: See Global Covid-19 Case Fatality Rates - CEBM
  • Most of the stated % rates are based on deaths / case rate and the case rate in a particular region is a highly variable from country to country, state to state, city to city etc due to a range of factors with a key one being actually how many tests have been deployed. Australia for example had done a lot of testing, whereas many countries have not.
  • The actual mortality rate is unknown but in terms of either deaths /infected or deaths /total population (as not everyone will get infected) will be lower than the mortality rate determined by only looking at the case rate.
  • Currents estimates are say a mortality rate of 0.5-1.0% of the infected. Lower again for the total population, but this will of course very by what % do not get affected.
  • BUT the mortality rate will escalate if a country's hospitals get overwhelmed (ie Italy) as quality of car will be greatly less. ie not enough ventilators, oxygen and skilled staff and time per patient available
  • The countries keeping the mortality rate down apart from the strategies discussed earlier have had the ability to provide quality hospital care
  • Now not all populations are the same. For example with Italy and in particular the worst affected regions it is winter (cold), has poor air quality (from the industry) and the with the population In Italy, there are several reasons why CFR might be higher: the age structure of the Italian population (2nd oldest population in the world); highest rates of antibiotic resistance deaths in Europe which might contribute to increased pneumonia deaths (Italy tops the EU for antibiotic-resistance deaths with nearly 1/3rd of the deaths in the EU). Smoking also seems to be a factor associated with poor survival – in Italy, 24% smoke, 28% men. In the UK, for instance, 15% are current smokers.
  • In addition some drug treatments are already being trialled including in Australia which may be "cures". As these are only be trialled a if a country's hospitalisations are very low like they are in Australia then that may suppress the mortality rate.
  • Also with Australia in particular our current number of critical cases is very low and so they are getting outstanding care and attention. If our numbers spike this will not remain the case once we get beyond the number that we can provide that high level care for.

Or simply put,

The more we flatten the curve the better our hospitals can care for the critical Covid 19 patients and so the more such patients who will live.

Yeah the fact that the malaria and HIV drugs that have seemingly cured the cases they've treated here in Vic will be sent to 50 or more hospitals here for "trials" will presumably help enormously, if they continue to be successful.

Although not as much if they're not successful or as successful when used apart (as they reportedly will be in some of those trials), as they were when used together.

Basically if you're really crook with it here in Vic at the moment you're almost certainly being given these drugs, which I presume is a huge part of the reason we haven't had anyone die from it yet.

I can't stop thinking about the possibility of us going under because of our shitty finances.

We prop up the AFL for years at Marvel and now we're out in the cold after they blow millions on the Gold Coast, GWS, AFL X and everything else.

I fear that the club will only survive by becoming as much a tool of the AFL as GWS & Gold Coast. The AFL will demand control in return for drip feeding funds to enable the club to survive.

As for the wider picture. I wonder what the government will do if the peak infection (top of the bell curve) in Australia is reached at a level too low to provide herd immunity & a vaccine is not found by then. Loosen the restrictions I guess until said level of infections is reached. But do not expect them to admit it.

I fear that the club will only survive by becoming as much a tool of the AFL as GWS & Gold Coast. The AFL will demand control in return for drip feeding funds to enable the club to survive.

As for the wider picture. I wonder what the government will do if the peak infection (top of the bell curve) in Australia is reached at a level too low to provide herd immunity & a vaccine is not found by then. Loosen the restrictions I guess until said level of infections is reached. But do not expect them to admit it.

I think the AFL have pretty much sent in their people because we couldn't self manage. The AFL has always taken control of clubs when they are hopeless. Melbourne and Brisbane both had soft take overs.

How you going Teddy?

I'm going to back him to pull this off. This f**ker never seems to fail. But seriously, no one wants a depression here or even the US. I don't think they'll cop it as bad as expected from the virus. They are mass-producing the anti-malaria drug which I think will work. It may also work as a preventative measure, but that is yet to be clearly determined.

On the mass production of meds. I found out today that we aren't talking about the drug in Australia because we don't produce are own meds. and given the circumstances there is a shortage of availability for importation.

That's really something that needs to addressed as a leaning from this crisis.
"Depression" - mate you need to do some research - USA has only ever had one depression and that occurred because Herbert Hoover sat on his a*** for 3 years following the collapse of the share market in 1929.

When Roosevelt won in 1932 and introduced the "New Deal" in 1933 he revived the US economy to such an extent that it fully recovered to pre 1929 levels.

Fast forward to today and you see govts responding within months or even weeks rather than waiting years.

As for Trump - yeah in his own mind he never fails. As long as he doesn't die he'll consider it a success irrespective of the impacts.

The inside word my nephew heard from someone in Canberra is that we'll be in lockdown by Friday.

That was as of sometime before about 7pm today (the time my sister passed it on to me), or yesterday though, so may have been pushed back to the weekend since.

Sounds like it's a happening thing though.

Everyone's going to just have to buckle up and get ready to ride this out the best they can.

Look it may well be right, but i'm sick of hearing that someone has the inside word and we should all get ready for the lockdown.
When it happens it will happen.

Logically we have not yet had time to see how well the latest measures are doing, we are looking at the results from 2 weeks ago.

We still have a reasonable rate of "serious" cases which is the aim.
If we have 50 000 mild cases all in quarantine , not infecting anyone , and 20 serious, and no deaths, that's great.
In a lot of countries ( including USA ) they get serious, then they test them.
In Indonesia they pick them up out of the street.