Covid 19 (OPEN DISCUSSION)

Right now I can't jump in a plane, and go to the Gold coast for a weekend without it costing a week in solitaire. When we are "free" already work has cancelled sundowners, a field trip, monthly award morning tea's and curves on meetings as the meeting rooms don't comply. Spare a thought for small businesses. And for what?
The main question that this post raises is why you would want to go to the Gold Coast.

No there is a partial lockdown and probably the most complete array of other mandates of any other jurisdiction on earth. But keep making it about anyone pointing these out.
I'm not going to bother with your statement about "any jurisdiction on earth," but what is your obsession with the current point in time? Yes, WA could be coming down from the peak and reducing restrictions now if they had opened up earlier. As you pointed out, NSW is removing mask mandates. NSW also had nearly a thousand people die last month from Covid (something which you have made abundantly clear that you don't care about), hundreds of thousands of people sick, great strain on their health care system, and before that they had a fun three months of lockdown while we were doing whatever we wanted over here in the west. Would you have preferred to go through things like Sydney and Melbourne just so that you could stop wearing a mask slightly sooner?

I reckon this time next year we'll look back at this and have a laugh

Glad the border is opening up can finally see family and friends again not to mention get out of here for a week or so.without breaking the bank (Australia in general is extremely expensive to travel in granted it's cos of labour costs)

Afl.season doesn't get affected either.

Fact is this. Our vaccination rates are so high even with the modelling I don't think we'll come close.to.it. will be far less. And doctors have even said that..sure there will be some losses of life and such but not catastrophic scores upon scores

And for the record the ama predicted 30000 deaths initially a few years ago. They are without a doubt a joke of an organisation. Duncan smith is a.plastic surgeon who lactates when he has the spot light. A ****en disgrace with the amount of shit he regurgitates.

These restrictions that we have will probs only be round till April then only with hospitals and such. I don't think we will need a fourth booster nor will it mandates. Think mandates will be removed by spring and then the quarantine by force maybe next year will also be removed. The government now is even looking at removing close contacts at home who are asymptomatic not being forced to stay in..

One thing I hope we see is some.uniformity with the health rules once we've all past our peaks.

I reckon this time next year we'll look back at this and have a laugh

Glad the border is opening up can finally see family and friends again not to mention get out of here for a week or so.without breaking the bank (Australia in general is extremely expensive to travel in granted it's cos of labour costs)

Afl.season doesn't get affected either.

Fact is this. Our vaccination rates are so high even with the modelling I don't think we'll come close.to.it. will be far less. And doctors have even said that..sure there will be some losses of life and such but not catastrophic scores upon scores

And for the record the ama predicted 30000 deaths initially a few years ago. They are without a doubt a joke of an organisation. Duncan smith is a.plastic surgeon who lactates when he has the spot light. A fu**en disgrace with the amount of sh*t he regurgitates.

These restrictions that we have will probs only be round till April then only with hospitals and such. I don't think we will need a fourth booster nor will it mandates. Think mandates will be removed by spring and then the quarantine by force maybe next year will also be removed. The government now is even looking at removing close contacts at home who are asymptomatic not being forced to stay in..

One thing I hope we see is some.uniformity with the health rules once we've all past our peaks.
That's what we all thought around this time in 2020

Right now I can't jump in a plane, and go to the Gold coast for a weekend without it costing a week in solitaire. When we are "free" already work has cancelled sundowners, a field trip, monthly award morning tea's and curves on meetings as the meeting rooms don't comply. Spare a thought for small businesses. And for what?

Yeah spare a thought for the small businesses that need support.

I'm assuming you are still going to small businesses and giving them much needed cash rather than say, oh I dunno staying home because it's too much of a personal inconvenience for you to go out and wear a mask/check in?

Right?

time watch GIF by Chris Kläfford

Gonna put this out there, and maybe I'll be flamed, but I've basically stopped checking in at places with QR codes. It's not a moral objection, my phone is really shit at scanning the QR codes and if we aren't really contact tracing any more what is the actual point?

Rebel of the highest order. Out.

Gonna put this out there, and maybe I'll be flamed, but I've basically stopped checking in at places with QR codes. It's not a moral objection, my phone is really sh*t at scanning the QR codes and if we aren't really contact tracing any more what is the actual point?

no longer a requirement over the border in the free world, it becomes irrelevant with mutation NW2.1 or what ever we are up to.

Gonna put this out there, and maybe I'll be flamed, but I've basically stopped checking in at places with QR codes. It's not a moral objection, my phone is really sh*t at scanning the QR codes and if we aren't really contact tracing any more what is the actual point?

I still do it because I want to be notified if I've been to an exposure site. Although, would I be notified?

I think it serves its purpose, but theres some individual consideration to be taken into account. Yesterday I fuelled up. Walked into the servo, noone in front of me, tapped and left within 30 seconds. I didn't scan in for that, and it wasn't intentional at the time, but my phone can't scan their QR code outside the building so I usually use the one at the kiosk bench. Given how fast it all unfolded and that I hadn't been in close contact with someone for 15 minutes, it did seem a little redundant to do so.

Food shopping, bottlos, pubs, things of that nature I'll continue to scan in.

If you're anywhere under 2 hrs you're not considered a close contact anyway are you?

I've pretty much stopped anywhere too that doesnt have someone directly asking you to do it, seems completely redundant to me.

Probably unrelated but I haven't had a missed parcel msg for two weeks

I still do it just to annoy Ziad.
Also I dunno where you're all going to during a lockdown anyway. Unless you're part of the lucky 150?
you dont annoy me, I always check in. Mind you when you get a message that there was a contact at bunnings (always bunnings for some reason) and you were there 15 minute, didn't get within 10m of another person and self checked out! All you can do is think ok all is ok.

All the weekend party goers getting sick

Don't know if I posted, but Hong Kong went from 100 cases to 1300 cases in 10 days.

We are tracking pretty similar

All the weekend party goers getting sick

Don't know if I posted, but Hong Kong went from 100 cases to 1300 cases in 10 days.

We are tracking pretty similar

The modelling forecast nearly 500,000 cases and 130 deaths.

I'm hoping we better it obviously, but if that's the end result I think WA has gotten out of the past couple of years with mostly incredible results.