Certified Legendary Thread Covid, Life, UFOs, Food, & Wordle :(

I agree that is how it's looking like playing out.

A no vote without the no vote campaigners giving a single reason why not. Just a series of intentionally dumb questions about details that have absolutely no place in a discussion about whether or not the statement should be included within the constitution.

I actually don't know what the yes campaigners can do to turn the tide. It's just such a simple concept and question that people are being asked to vote on, but it's continually being diverted to whether Ernie Dingo will be part of the voice, or whatever other stupid short term, one term detail is being questioned. All designed to make it sound like those details should be part of a constitutional change and make it sound like any initial Albanese Government decision on the form the voice takes will be unchangeable for all of eternity.

Conservatives have it good - it's just so easy to drum up fear of change. Pretty astounding that the Aussie ones are generally so incompetent at the moment that they can't win an election.

Speech by Anthony Albanese
Australia was divided by race as soon as the British stepped ashore and planted their flag. The Voice is a small but important step in the ongoing journey of reconciliation, a way for Indigenous Australians to speak directly to parliament about laws which affect them.

The proposal doesn't come from Labor; it comes from a meeting of Indigenous peoples at Uluru. What they came up with is an invitation for dialogue. With goodwill and open hearts, they have shown us the way towards greater understanding and better outcomes for Indigenous peoples.

All we have to do is listen.

Others say that the Constitution shouldn't be marked by race, and yet it already is, with Aboriginal people written into it as a separate people. No other people are specified in this way.

We have an opportunity to write Indigenous people into the Constitution on their own terms, and we've been invited to take another vital step in Reconciliation. We need to say 'yes' to a brighter future.

Written and authorised by JB1975.

Hold on mate you haven't answered the most important question of all.

How do we know that the Voice will not break down the whole space time continuum and leave the entire universe in peril?
Always the drama queen.

In this 'woke' world in which many believe we are living, where sincere but lack lustre Australian government ministers fail to mount a convincing and comprehensive Yes case in the face of a fairly vocal opposition, is it any wonder the vote is doomed to fail?

Really, much of the campaign has vindicated the outcome of conflict in 'Lord of the Flies'. Mistakenly, readers and viewers reserved the largest portion of their sympathy for Piggy, the one-eyed fat figure, who paid a high price for stating emphatically that there was no such thing as a beast.

The only other boy killed, Simon, had something in common with the evil leaders of the rival gang, Jack and Roger. All three boys recognised that there was no external beast, that it was a capacity for evil that resided within all people which could be cultivated and released by fear. Simon was the boy most deserving of sympathy, for he died trying to reveal the truth of the beast to the other boys. Meanwhile Jack and Roger garnered support and became the island's own Hitler and Himmler.

Albanese is a bit like Piggy and Ralph - well intentioned and rational, but useless when it comes to seeding idealistic views and values into the minds of suspicious Australians. The eclectic group of No campaigners, which includes the likes of Sam Newman, Don Scott and mates who have a number of No Vote videos circulating, have played on the fears of fairly shallow thinking average Aussies, and their efforts will be rewarded.

Unless there's a genuinely water tight case presented, being rational and sensible is just not going to cut it anymore with the average Joe Blow in this modern world, but even more so when people suspect missing details or that they are being hoodwinked into creating something which will later be equipped with claws and teeth.

More and more Australians have turned to the No campaigners for protection from the beast, while the likes of Albanese and foreign minister of the century, Penny Wong, are being viewed as its the birth parents.
Hardly any referenda have ended up causing meaningful change, whether due to apathy, suspicion, conservatism, ignorance, deliberate obfuscation or nebulous terms of reference.
Remember avowed monarchist John Howard's republic referendum?
It was couched in a way to deliberately confuse people, when it just needed to be a yes or no to "Do you want Australia to be a republic?"
I don't think Albo has done a very good job of selling the yes vote in this one.
The only worthwhile outcome to a referendum in recent times was the one in favour of same sex marriage.

Hardly any referenda have ended up causing meaningful change, whether due to apathy, suspicion, conservatism, ignorance, deliberate obfuscation or nebulous terms of reference.
Remember avowed monarchist John Howard's republic referendum?
It was couched in a way to deliberately confuse people, when it just needed to be a yes or no to "Do you want Australia to be a republic?"
I don't think Albo has done a very good job of selling the yes vote in this one.
The only worthwhile outcome to a referendum in recent times was the one in favour of same sex marriage.
Same sex marriage wasn't a referendum.

Speech by Anthony Albanese
Australia was divided by race as soon as the British stepped ashore and planted their flag. The Voice is a small but important step in the ongoing journey of reconciliation, a way for Indigenous Australians to speak directly to parliament about laws which affect them.

The proposal doesn't come from Labor; it comes from a meeting of Indigenous peoples at Uluru. What they came up with is an invitation for dialogue. With goodwill and open hearts, they have shown us the way towards greater understanding and better outcomes for Indigenous peoples.

All we have to do is listen.

Others say that the Constitution shouldn't be marked by race, and yet it already is, with Aboriginal people written into it as a separate people. No other people are specified in this way.

We have an opportunity to write Indigenous people into the Constitution on their own terms, and we've been invited to take another vital step in Reconciliation. We need to say 'yes' to a brighter future.

Written and authorised by JB1975.

Yes. But is Derek Kicket going to be on the voice, or will the voice use more Aussie vowels like Tony Armstrong ? And how long will we have to listen for before we get to ignore the voice? And what's the budget? This sounds really expensive to me. What's going to happen? Are Aboriginals going to take our homes? What about our cars? How can you possibly expect us to vote yes to irrevocably alter the constitution in such a dangerous way without giving us any of these details?

Nonsense courtesy of SR36

Yes. But is Ernie Dingo going to be on the voice? And how long will we have to listen for before we get to ignore the voice? And what's the budget? This sounds really expensive to me. What's going to happen? Are Aboriginals going to take our homes? What about our cars? How can you possibly expect us to vote yes to irrevocably alter the constitution in such a dangerous way without giving us any of these details?

Nonsense courtesy of SR36
What will this Voice sound like? Male voice or female voice? Will the voice be high pitched or low pitched?

What I can say as someone in their twenties is that virtually everyone I speak to from my age group intends to vote yes. I've yet to have any of my mates suggest any aversion or opposition to it. My fellow younger folk, who likely are not heavily represented in the polls, are overwhelmingly in favour of the voice, but not sure if that'll be enough to swing the pendulum or not.

Obviously living in an inner Melbourne suburb would skew this a bit but everyone I know reckons it's a no brainer. You can put most of the 21-30 age group down for yes I reckon.

What I can say as someone in their twenties is that virtually everyone I speak to from my age group intends to vote yes. I've yet to have any of my mates suggest any aversion or opposition to it. My fellow younger folk, who likely are not heavily represented in the polls, are overwhelmingly in favour of the voice, but not sure if that'll be enough to swing the pendulum or not.

Obviously living in an inner Melbourne suburb would skew this a bit but everyone I know reckons it's a no brainer. You can put most of the 21-30 age group down for yes I reckon.
You could even include 18,19, 20 year olds in that.

Unfortunately there are a lot of old farts who will vote no.

is Morgan freeman still with us?
If you haven't heard it before, YouTube his recording of the bedtime story "Go the **** to sleep" - very funny.

Will more people vote yes if we get a black American celebrity to be the voice of black Australia. What about Eddie Murphy?

If you haven't heard it before, YouTube his recording of the bedtime story "Go the * to sleep" - very funny.

Will more people vote yes if we get a black American celebrity to be the voice of black Australia. What about Eddie Murphy?
You're thinking of Samuel L Jackson.

If you haven't heard it before, YouTube his recording of the bedtime story "Go the * to sleep" - very funny.

James earl jones ftw

How can you go past darth Vader

Vic and Tassie will probably vote yes, but not for a good reason. They're the states who took genocide the most seriously in the first century of colonisation and thus have had relatively small Aboriginal populations for the last century. Thus there's been less culture clash over the last century and there's now less rusted on racism towards Aboriginals.

Unfortunately there are a lot of old farts who will vote no.
I'm an old fart, I'm voting Yes.

It's a no brainer for me and I vote Liberal more often than Labor.

The Voice is basically a consultative committee. It can make recommendations to the Government but has zero power. The Power remains with the government to legislate changes and it can choose to listen to the voice, Ignore it and anywhere in between.

The Voice won't take anyone's house, raise taxes or do anything else because it can't, only the Government can and if a Government does dumb shit they get voted out of office.

My view is that I like the recognition in the Constitution of the First Australians and I like that the Voice would be in the Constitution so a future Government can't scrap it, but can change how it works by legislation when things break down.

people really need to stop paying attention to rubbish scare campaigns on Facebook and other Social Media.

James earl jones ftw

How can you go past darth Vader
I think we're on to getting yes across the line. We need a black voice, but we've got a lot more time and understanding for foreign black voices. Those Aussie one's are a bit too close to home. Much more comfortable to condemn the Yanks for their slavery or even empathise with an evil galactical tyrrant who had a difficult family relationship.