Cripps or Oliver.

Who is the better player

• P. Cripps

Votes: 352 57.6%
  • C. Oliver

Votes: 259 42.4%

That's because he used to be a pure centre bounce player.
He's changed his position now though, and he's kicked 2 goals a game so far. He's certainly capable, nice kick for goal.

Yeah, I don't disagree with you. But saying he can go forward etc. is based on 3 weeks work. Because his career has shown 1 thing, that he doesn't kick goals. In fact he usually kicks between 9 and 13 goals a season across his 9 year career.
I'm just proving that people are basing their opinions on 3 weeks work. Not a full season and certainly not his career to date.

No... people have said he has the capacity to play forward... you really do live in a world of black and white
So he has the capacity to play forward but hasn't played forward in 9 years? is that what you're saying? Because Cripps has played forward for large chunks of his career. And to only kick 13 as a career high is extremely low. I honestly thought when I checked it that it'd be closer to 25-30.

Yeah mate, call me crazy but there's not too many 'good' forwards that kick 13 in a season. Also, 13 was his career high in a season.And I sure as hell know it wasn't his defensive pressure. So go on, tell me how he is a good forward lol.
ohhh mate, you are showing time and time again that you haven't watched that much footy.

cripps hasn't had the luxury of playing forward regularly until this season due to our shallow midfield. now that he can play an attacking mid role and get dangerous down forward he has kicked 6 goals in 3 games.

did you get bored in 2020 lockdown and just start following footy? it's like you have zero concept of it existing before then.

So he has the capacity to play forward but hasn't played forward in 9 years? is that what you're saying? Because Cripps has played forward for large chunks of his career. And to only kick 13 as a career high is extremely low. I honestly thought when I checked it that it'd be closer to 25-30.
You really seem to have 0 understanding of football pre 2021

ohhh mate, you are showing time and time again that you haven't watched that much footy.

cripps hasn't had the luxury of playing forward regularly until this season due to our shallow midfield. now that he can play an attacking mid role and get dangerous down forward he has kicked 6 goals in 3 games.

did you get bored in 2020 lockdown and just start following footy? it's like you have zero concept of it existing before then.
mate, im not denying that he's not playing good footy this year or is kicking goals this year but people saying he can play forward isn't exactly true, at least it hasn't been to this point. Petracca kicked 29 goals playing pure mid and Cripps should be kicking 35 plus to get the 'he can play forward' tag.

i dont reckon they understand the sport, just quietly.

too much fantasy/supercoach. which is ironic because cripps averages better scores in both of those this year :tearsofjoy: :tearsofjoy:
this year. 3 weeks. lol. i rest my case.

if you had your life savings on which player would produce this week. No way you're trusting cripps after 3 weeks of good footy in over 2 years.

go back to this thread before this season started. Carlton fans were putting their hand up embarassed that this thread exists. Now 3 weeks into a fresh season and they're trying to claim its validity again.

mate, im not denying that he's not playing good footy this year or is kicking goals this year but people saying he can play forward isn't exactly true, at least it hasn't been to this point. Petracca kicked 29 goals playing pure mid and Cripps should be kicking 35 plus to get the 'he can play forward' tag.

you honestly can't see the forest from the trees. like i said cripps hasn't had the luxury to get forward much - he's played in a shit side. but he's 195cm, strong overhead and can read the play so its pretty flipping obvious he'd make a decent forward. alas, he can now go down there and he's kicking goals. herp de derp.

petracca rests down forward as well - wtf are you on about? - honestly do you think because he's a mid in supercoach it means he doesn't go down forward or something?

you're talking that much shit.

you honestly can't see the forest from the trees. like i said cripps hasn't had the luxury to get forward much - he's played in a shit side. but he's 195cm, strong overhead and can read the play so its pretty f*n obvious he'd make a decent forward. alas, he can now go down there and he's kicking goals. herp de derp.

petracca rests down forward as well - wtf are you on about? - honestly do you think because he's a mid in supercoach it means he doesn't go down forward or something?

you're talking that much shit.
firstly, its forest for the trees not forest from the trees.

secondly, nah petracca barely rested forward at all last season. i'd say 90% of his goals were from the midfield.

Yeah, I don't disagree with you. But saying he can go forward etc. is based on 3 weeks work. Because his career has shown 1 thing, that he doesn't kick goals. In fact he usually kicks between 9 and 13 goals a season across his 9 year career.
I'm just proving that people are basing their opinions on 3 weeks work. Not a full season and certainly not his career to date.

Yes he will need to do it for a year I suppose but at this stage certainly looks capable of drifting forward a bit.

Yeah, after he was best on in an elimination final against the cats.

Back to Cripps, 2 years is a massive sample size. Saying he was injured for 2 years is a massive cop out. And definitely convenient. The game changed and Cripps' ability to spread from the stoppage was exposed. Also, his ability to shake a tag was also exposed. He would basically get tagged completely out of the game, have 3 touches to half time and then play forward. That's the challenge for Cripps this year.

Oliver's been injured for years too, his shoulders are completely stuffed, but you don't hear me going into that. We're not doctors so we can only go on exposed form. Oliver has been the best player in the game (at worst top 3), Cripps has been 40-50 in the last 2 years. I recognise he was better beforehand and I recognise his 3 games so far this year have been great. But it's 3 games. To catch up with Oliver he needs to produce this level of footy for 2 years because the 3 games that Cripps has played is the level that Oliver plays at week in week out, year in year out. Notice how everyone is talking about Cripps yet Oliver has still got more disposals, inside 50's, score launches, clearances etc. Yeah, Cripps hit the scoreboard more, that's about it.

All in all, Cripps is playing amazing at the moment. Do it for 2 seasons straight like Oliver has done, then revisit. Til then Cripps is closer to Harmes/Viney than Oliver. Maybe even put Angus Brayshaw in the mix.
not really a cop out, when it was confirmed on twitter by an ex team mate and friend

Yeah, after he was best on in an elimination final against the cats.

Back to Cripps, 2 years is a massive sample size. Saying he was injured for 2 years is a massive cop out. And definitely convenient. The game changed and Cripps' ability to spread from the stoppage was exposed. Also, his ability to shake a tag was also exposed. He would basically get tagged completely out of the game, have 3 touches to half time and then play forward. That's the challenge for Cripps this year.

Oliver's been injured for years too, his shoulders are completely stuffed, but you don't hear me going into that. We're not doctors so we can only go on exposed form. Oliver has been the best player in the game (at worst top 3), Cripps has been 40-50 in the last 2 years. I recognise he was better beforehand and I recognise his 3 games so far this year have been great. But it's 3 games. To catch up with Oliver he needs to produce this level of footy for 2 years because the 3 games that Cripps has played is the level that Oliver plays at week in week out, year in year out. Notice how everyone is talking about Cripps yet Oliver has still got more disposals, inside 50's, score launches, clearances etc. Yeah, Cripps hit the scoreboard more, that's about it.

All in all, Cripps is playing amazing at the moment. Do it for 2 seasons straight like Oliver has done, then revisit. Til then Cripps is closer to Harmes/Viney than Oliver. Maybe even put Angus Brayshaw in the mix.
Sorry mate, Cripps all day for me. Won the AFL MVP in 2019 and has been clearly hampered over the last couple of years. Oliver is an amazing player but I don't think you will find many neutrals that would take Oliver over Cripps or Petracca

Quite the opposite. I think not many would take Cripps. In fact, I think it's purely just recency bias. So let's say Cripps was the 40-50th best player the last 2 years, now all of a sudden you expect him to be the best player in the AFL after 3 games? lol. get out of town. Oliver is in the convo for best AFL player. His accolades last year speak for themselves but a 2 min google search came up with some media ppl putting Oliver at number 1 or top 5, Cripps nowhere to be seen of course. Do you really think that a player is going to go from 50 in the comp to 1 after 3 weeks? please. He's doing well but he needs to do it for at least a full season or 2 first. If you did the poll at the end of last season, it'd be 99% Oliver, 1% Cripps. If you did it now, it'd be maybe 70% Oliver 30% Cripps. At the end of the year, it will likely be back to 99% Oliver.

Please reply if you think a player can jump 50 ranking spots in 3 weeks? If so, we'll just respectively move on and disagree.

And whilst I expect Carlton supporters to discredit the bottom 4 just for the sake of it. Feel free to show me any links of anyone thinking Cripps is better than Oliver before this 3 weeks. Cheers. :)

Matthew Lloyd: Oliver is the best player in the AFL.

Cal Twomey: Oliver at 4, Cripps at 30.

Tim Watson: Tim Watson's top 5 players in the AFL

Kane Cornes

AFL Staff writers

I'm getting masssssive Darcy Parish vibes from this Cripps hype. A few good games and an improved season and Essendon fans were saying he is as good as Oliver etc. And then eventually Oliver just won just about every award you could win and Parish dropped a little bit and the hype train has pulled into the station. Very similar to Cripps. I expect the same thing will happen. Carlton lose a few games, Cripps goes quiet, maybe can't handle a tag, etc. and all of a sudden this thread becomes laughable yet again.

18 AFL Coaches: Oliver number 1
AFL umpires: 3rd best AFL player.

We're 3 weeks into a new season, nothing changes unless you think Andrew Brayshaw and Jiath are top 3 AFL players alongside Cripps.

18 AFL Coaches: Oliver number 1
AFL umpires: 3rd best AFL player.

We're 3 weeks into a new season, nothing changes unless you think Andrew Brayshaw and Jiath are top 3 AFL players alongside Cripps.
Would not bother replying to him man ahha he's a weirdo troll

Cripps or Oliver.