Roast CROWD v DOGS (WHERE ARE WE HAWKS?)

Would love the club to publish a list of the members that did attend on Sunday. Would embarris alot of people I reckon.

I'm just going to presume you're taking the piss, Henry.

All up, I agree that it is important to attend games etc, but to tar all non attendees with the "soft" brush is pretty harsh.

Thank you, skipjack. Voice of reason.

There's a few reasons for the low crowd at Etihad stadium.

Firstly the time slot ,a twilight match on a Sunday the worst possible time for people going out for a footy match,families with kids will not generally go.

Second ,for some reason Hawthorn supporters and members dislike for Etihad stadium.

And the low support base for Bulldogs members with their bad start to the year did not help.

But in saying that, we far outnumbered the Bulldogs supporters it was pleasing to see all the Brown and Gold colours there.

If the match had been played at the MCG 40K would have turned out.

And with next weekends match against Fremantle at the G i'm quite confident that we will get 40K.

Quick question.

Why do people hate Etihad so much? I love watching footy there.

This.

Agree, its an absolutely fantastic venue. :thumbsu: State of the art (conceding the fact that it is over a decade old), seats are fantastic, atmosphere is brilliant (especially with the roof shut), you don't have to sit in the wind and rain, and patron amenities are second to none. There are plenty of food and drink outlets, and good bars on both the first and second levels (eg: Locker Room). It is easy to get to (no more then one change of train from the East max) and the viewing is brilliant from virtually any vantage point in the stadium

I spent several years of my football supporting life going to Waverley (and I live 10 minutes from there as well). With all things being equal, I prefer Etihad any day of the week. Fair enough, its not our home ground, but as a football facility, it is miles and miles better then Waverley. People who complain about 'stale atmospheres', 'cold food and warm beer' and every other soft excuse under the sun need to harden up and stop making excuses for excuses sake. Just admit, you couldn't be arsed supporting your team!

Hawthorn has our Gold seating money x2 this season already. My clubs bottom line is not affected if I sit on the couch, pee in my toilet, drink my grog and eat some decent food at half time, but mine is by attending.

Maybe it's getting soft, maybe it's growing up and realising you have other priorities? Really had the cbf's after getting up and watching the Mancs get smashed yesterday morning too.

But you live in lala land if you think attendance will impact how many games are played in Tassie. Our own benevolent dictator decides that, not the bums on seats. But that's another story.

You make some valid points mate.

1. It was a Bulldogs home game with about 15000 seats up for non Bulldogs members. If the game was an absolute sellout, 35000 Hawks members would miss out. Do you propose naming and shaming 35000 people for not attending a sold out away game?

I never said to name and shame those that didn't attend did I? Infact, I think you will find I said quite the opposite.

You make some valid points mate.

I never said to name and shame those that didn't attend did I? Infact, I think you will find I said quite the opposite.

Ok - you got me.

Naming those that DID attend is certainly not as harsh as naming those who didn't.

I still don't like the idea, but it isn't as harsh as I first thought.

Some people are soft for not turning up.

Probably.some of the same ones that are against the Tassie games.

For crying out loud, atleast give the club some justification for bringing games back to Melbourne.

The same Tasmanian games that have stagnated at 15,000 per match?

The Tasmainain growth is overstated by the club, 5 years ago when they released the 5-2-50 plan the target was 50,000 members (with 10,000+ in Tasmania)

5 year on and we now have 55,000 members with only 8,000 in Tasmania…in fact if you look at our growth since 2007 our Tasmanian membership has only increased by 4,000 as compared to the rest of Australia (16,000)

Speaking of attendance, our attendance per home game has actually decreased in Tasmanian compared to 2006 compared to the enormous growth in Melbourne - when is it time for the Tasmanian’s to start voting with their feet?

With North Melbourne moving into Hobart before too long (with the AFL blessing) we risk losing access to tapping into Tasmanian support in the heavily populated South

This.

Agree, its an absolutely fantastic venue. :thumbsu: State of the art (conceding the fact that it is over a decade old), seats are fantastic, atmosphere is brilliant (especially with the roof shut), you don't have to sit in the wind and rain, and patron amenities are second to none. There are plenty of food and drink outlets, and good bars on both the first and second levels (eg: Locker Room). It is easy to get to (no more then one change of train from the East max) and the viewing is brilliant from virtually any vantage point in the stadium

I spent several years of my football supporting life going to Waverley (and I live 10 minutes from there as well). With all things being equal, I prefer Etihad any day of the week. Fair enough, its not our home ground, but as a football facility, it is miles and miles better then Waverley. People who complain about 'stale atmospheres', 'cold food and warm beer' and every other soft excuse under the sun need to harden up and stop making excuses for excuses sake. Just admit, you couldn't be arsed supporting your team!

Yes Ian Collins!!

If the AFL spent what they spent on Etihad, on Waverley, it would be all over Etihad. The G sh.ts all over Etihad!

I thought it was a poor turn out too!

granted i missed the first 1/4 but that was due to a 4 hr trip back from lakes entrance.

where is the LOVE?

Collingwood has 70k members but in round 1 they played Port the turnout was poor 35,773 only at Ethihad. Round 2 they played Roos the turnout was 40,578. First 2 games after they won premiership!

Reason most of them don't want to turn up @ Ethihad is they are not guaranteed a seat unlike the G.

I am a Hawks gold member with reserved seating at the G i had to pay $90 for 2 seats last week @ Ethihad.

I just feel it lacks atmosphere. Maybe it's the roof, maybe it's the timeslot but every Etihad game i've been too I've just felt...flat? Maybe it's the teams we play at Etihad just don't generate any passion either. The Dogs for example.

I dunno - it's just very strange.

Agree with other posts.....Hate Etihad, it was a Doggies home game and more so, I Hate Sunday twilight games. The timing just doesn't suit me with a young family.

Hope AFL will some day get the message that Sunday twilight games are not popular - as is the opinion of most footy fans I know, anyway.

And don't me started on Monday night games :rolleyes:

Never realised that supporting your team required you to attend every game. I must be a pretty crappy supporter only attending around 10 home and away games a year. Probably should cancel my trip to New Zealand, because god forbid somebody miss a game.

I still think its a bigger issue that in Kennedy Club seating on the second level it is usually half full for our home games.

I don't mind the actual watching of the game at Etihad, but there are a number of things can conspire against going there.
Obviously the price is the main thing. It's not covered on my membership, and by the time you get a ticket (crap seating as opposed to my reserved seat at the g), a train ticket, maybe some food you've spent at least $50-60.

I live in the South East suburbs and the train home is a giant pain in the butt from Etihad. There is the overcrowded walk on the footbridge to the station which can sometimes take half an hour depending on the crowd and where you are sitting, and then there is the complete lack of trains that head in that direction. I remember the drawn Saints game last year on a Friday night that I didn't get home from until after midnight, purely because of the lack of trains and the overflow of people into Southern Cross.

The other thing in general about Etihad for me is that if we are playing there, it is extremely unlikely to be a Saturday afternoon game, which is the most convenient timeslot to attend. And then when you start adding in the other factors like I stated above, it just becomes too hard.

when in reality they should be applauded for buying a membership despite their inability to attend every week.

Yep. Absolutely.

Buy my Gold Membership even though I live in the country and could easily just buy a country membership and save about $300. With family commitments and with the tyranny of distance, each game is a week to week proposition - no game is a 'just turn up' affair.

In a good year, will get to 8-10 games. When circumstances conspire, I might only see 3 or 4 live.

This year I have only sat in my reserved seat once (Geelong, great :rolleyes:) and the next game I see will be next week (Geelong again - hosted in MCC :D).

Point being, I would love to go to every single game and have pre-game drinks with the London crew. I love the Hawks and love watching my team play footy. I am passionate. If I can't go I make sure I watch every game live on Fox or FTA (or as live as FTA allows). However, due to life circumstances, I just can't go as often as I would like. What I do though, is buy my membership every year so the club has my financial support even if I don't know if I'll be able to see 1 or 15 games.

Edit: As for Etihad - no problems at all. I love going to the footy. I prefer the MCG but still happily attend Etihad and that includes having to travel from the country from the South Gippsland side of the city. If I am able to travel to the game at all, getting over to Etihad hardly makes a difference.

dogs home game and absolutely shit time for football = average crowd .
hawks way out numbered the dogs , think you will find a fair crowd at the mcg for an earlier sunday home game , even agaisnt an interstate team .
also for those who dont have memberships or have busy lifestyles , they will pencil in certain games each year to go see , .. cats , bummers and pies will see crowds of 60 - 80 k over the next month . i reckon we do ok . go hawks !!!

Personally I think a crowd of 32,000 (similar to what we drew against Port in 2009) would be a very strong and expected roll up given that we are 7-2, (probably) have a base of 38-40,000 Victorian members against a low drawing non Victorian club.

Give or take 75

Not a bad roll up considering the icy wind gusts

Should be looking at 75,000+ against the Cats this week, its far and away the biggest game we've played against them since the GF

Give or take 75

Not a bad roll up considering the icy wind gusts

Should be looking at 75,000+ against the Cats this week, its far and away the biggest game we've played against them since the GF

A record crowd between the two clubs at the MCG ;)

It looked (and sounded in the last quarter) like there were more than 32,000 there.

Roast CROWD v DOGS (WHERE ARE WE HAWKS?)