Culina: AFL supporters who dont embrace football are "insecure in their code"

I've lived in a number of countries around the world, including Japan and the States. The sports I follow are AFL, NFL, Cricket, NHL and Rugby Union. In that order. I think I like 4 of those because they are contact sports, with differing things I find interesting/exciting. I don't know why I like cricket, maybe it is because I played it stacks as a kid. I played soccer too, but really only care about it when there is a big game on (however I will watch almost any sport if there is something riding on it).

Soccer just doesn't really take my fancy. I find it annoying the arrogance of a lot of soccer fans who think that we need to accept their game because it is big elsewhere. I have and always will accept that soccer exists and people like it. However, personally I find it boring. That is my opinion and I'm not going to change. It is not because I have not given soccer a chance, just that I find it boring. I would rather watch the Hawks play St Kilda than Chelsea play Manchester United if we replayed their games from the weekend. I will never accept soccer into my heart. Ever. Not because I am scared, but because I think it is boring to watch.

I wasnt talking about the Allied and Germans troops, thats common knowledge. So thanks for ranting on about it. Football (soccer) unites in ways AFL can only hope it ever does, but alas, it wont

Ranting is what you've been doing. It's actually very hard to make out what you're talking about between all of the, I hate, I hate and we should be best, bla bla's so I'm sorry for wasting my time trying to make sense of you.

Soccer and Rules are both sports enjoyed both by particpants and spectators. Why should people not have the right to chose which of the two sports they enjoy watching or playing? Most people who like both get to watch and play both. I've played Soccer and Rules and Cricket and Hockey and Basketball all at the same time for most of my life, why would you want to only watch or play one if you love them all just as much?

I've lived in a number of countries around the world, including Japan and the States. The sports I follow are AFL, NFL, Cricket, NHL and Rugby Union. In that order. I think I like 4 of those because they are contact sports, with differing things I find interesting/exciting. I don't know why I like cricket, maybe it is because I played it stacks as a kid. I played soccer too, but really only care about it when there is a big game on (however I will watch almost any sport if there is something riding on it).

Soccer just doesn't really take my fancy. I find it annoying the arrogance of a lot of soccer fans who think that we need to accept their game because it is big elsewhere. I have and always will accept that soccer exists and people like it. However, personally I find it boring. That is my opinion and I'm not going to change. It is not because I have not given soccer a chance, just that I find it boring. I would rather watch the Hawks play St Kilda than Chelsea play Manchester United if we replayed their games from the weekend. I will never accept soccer into my heart. Ever. Not because I am scared, but because I think it is boring to watch.

Yep, the one game of the year that was admittedly, from any footballing fan, the worst of the season, you'll use to make your point. Good work

it is ironic when i hear bogans bag soccer being a boring game to watch when the same bogans have no qualms in sitting and farting in front of a tv all day for 5 days watching a game that really is as entertaining as watching grass grow.

But you expect that with the bogan population. Full of contradictions due to their lack of intelligence.

:thumbsu:

Ranting is what you've been doing. It's actually very hard to make out what you're talking about between all of the, I hate, I hate and we should be best, bla bla's so I'm sorry for wasting my time trying to make sense of you.

Soccer and Rules are both sports enjoyed both by particpants and spectators. Why should people not have the right to chose which of the two sports they enjoy watching or playing? Most people who like both get to watch and play both. I've played Soccer and Rules and Cricket and Hockey and Basketball all at the same time for most of my life, why would you want to only watch or play one if you love them all just as much?

You can play, watch, do what you like. I couldnt care less. No one has to like more than one, no one has to like them all. But when you all get on your high horse after what Branko said, and then you have the nerve to criticise us when idiots like HUtchy are roaming the streets preaching, then theres not much else to do but argue back.

American sports lovers are not fit to judge anything.

Its insecure to not find soccer interesting?

Its insecure for you to get defensive when Branko says something, but when Sheedy and the rest of the AFL driven media attack soccer, its ok? Get real, Australians are finally waking up, after being blinded by this poor excuse for a sport

it is ironic when i hear bogans bag soccer being a boring game to watch when the same bogans have no qualms in sitting and farting in front of a tv all day for 5 days watching a game that really is as entertaining as watching grass grow.

But you expect that with the bogan population. Full of contradictions due to their lack of intelligence.

Wow, what a classy post. You're just as bad as anything you've described. But it seems to be the way some people go about their lives, "I hate this, I hate that, blah, blah, blah." What a waste of time.

Yep, the one game of the year that was admittedly, from any footballing fan, the worst of the season, you'll use to make your point. Good work

Thanks. I used the only one I have seen recently and compared it to what is arguably the worst game of footy I have ever seen. Good games to compare I thought.

I don't watch many soccer games and efforts such as that are not going to change my mind.

You say that game was the worse of the season. At least it ended in a result. What happened the last few times those teams played? Draws all round weren't they? Sorry, any game where nobody scores is not interesting as a spectator sport to me. Sounds like a bad night out on the pull.

Wow, what a classy post. You're just as bad as anything you've described. But it seems to be the way some people go about their lives, "I hate this, I hate that, blah, blah, blah." What a waste of time.

I'm just telling it how it is. No hate here - enough of that is coming from AFL obsessed morons.

Thanks. I used the only one I have seen recently and compared it to what is arguably the worst game of footy I have ever seen. Good games to compare I thought.

I don't watch many soccer games and efforts such as that are not going to change my mind.

You say that game was the worse of the season. At least it ended in a result. What happened the last few times those teams played? Draws all round weren't they? Sorry, any game where nobody scores is not interesting as a spectator sport to me. Sounds like a bad night out on the pull.

Because you need to get off on goals? Such simple minds, its quite pathetic. 1-1 at Old trafford was riveting, 0-0 at stamford bridge wasn't...who knows why...oh thats right! You see in the game of football, teams have more than 1 competition to participate in, cos you see, our game is how do I put this...played in more than one country. So you see, Manchester had won the premiership, and had to concentrate on other games..are you keeping up with me? Cos there is more than one trophy on offer...are we clear yet? Do I need to illuminate more to you?

You truly are a knob and a troll.

Rubbish comment from Culina. Why am I insecure because I don't wish to have a sport that I am indifferent to shoved down my throat? I just don't care about soccer. Others do, and good for them. It's not my thing and I don't need to have someone tell me that I am 'unAustralian', of all the bulldust cliche words to throw out there, because it's not for me.

**** off Culina. You're only showing your own insecurity about the place of soccer in Australia.

Its insecure for you to get defensive when Branko says something, but when Sheedy and the rest of the AFL driven media attack soccer, its ok? Get real, Australians are finally waking up, after being blinded by this poor excuse for a sport

It's OK because I agree with them. Soccer is boring to watch. I disagree with Branko because I don't need to accept soccer because I don't like it as a spectator sport (I did used to enjoy playing it but).

Do you care to elaborate about why AFL is a poor excuse for a sport? Or are you too immature to put up any semblance of an argument?

You call soccer a sport?

Well the the rest of the world does..and i think thats saying something don't you think? I mean ask anyone around the world who Pele and straight away you get a smile and a comment about being the best ever.

you ask anyone outside Australia who Ron Barrassi is and they will first look at you with a blank expression and then wonder if its some bloke who played for AC Milan in the 50s.

Oh good, another troll.

The Melbourne Victory board is elsewhere, I am sure you know how to find it :)

It's OK because I agree with them. Soccer is boring to watch. I disagree with Branko because I don't need to accept soccer because I don't like it as a spectator sport (I did used to enjoy playing it but).

Do you care to elaborate about why AFL is a poor excuse for a sport? Or are you too immature to put up any semblance of an argument?

I find it boring. Do I need to elaborate? No...cos neither do you idiots when it comes to soccer

You can play, watch, do what you like. I couldnt care less.

Doesn't stack up with what you've been saying.

No one has to like more than one, no one has to like them all.
Spot on, so why are you here champing at the bit to have a go at anyone who like Aussie Rules?

You generalise, you call Aussie Rules lovers bogans, you insult their intelligence because they might not like Soccer, and then you contradict yourself like this?

But when you all get on your high horse after what Branko said, and then you have the nerve to criticise us when idiots like HUtchy are roaming the streets preaching, then theres not much else to do but argue back.

To be honest, I don't even know who HUtchy is, which says alot about his standing around the country when it comes to anything to do with Aussie Rules. Meanwhile Branco is one of the people who run Soccer in Australia and is way out of line to say what he has.

Melbourne has absolutely embraced the A-League, unlike Sydney. Perhaps you should spend more of your time on an NRL forum?

Well the the rest of the world does..and i think thats saying something don't you think? I mean ask anyone around the world who Pele and straight away you get a smile and a comment about being the best ever.

you ask anyone outside Australia who Ron Barrassi is and they will first look at you with a blank expression and then wonder if its some bloke who played for AC Milan in the 50s.

Hahahha, great call mate

Culina: AFL supporters who dont embrace football are "insecure in their code"