D1 2009

...thereby ensuring the SMD President doesn't have to pull the boots on again in the curtainraiser?

I hear they're putting on a good spread in the Community Rooms tomorrow for the Bedford/Stephen Cup Showdown #4.

BUT - surely a month's break from reserves' playing duties is enough for the body to repair itself Rosco? It can't be any worse than your last trip to BSO.

I drove away from Clarke Shields last night with the knowledge that I had been named up forward Frase, I have also accepted Craig's invitation to lunch so I may have to set up a chair and table in the now infamous forward pocket at the Eastern end of the ground....or forget my kit and just head on into the community rooms.

Hot carvery with all the trimmings, open bar, cheese & fruit platters... you're call.

Community Rooms it is, I'll make my return at Bennettswood, pending an invite from Stephen.

Multi-tasking is surely one of the greatest skills of a good VAFA club President.

Your schedule for tomorrow should be as follows:

10.30am - attend ground
11.00am - reserves' team meeting
11.40am - start match on ground in forward pocket
11.55am - interchange and place tracksuit on bottom half, kick mud off boots, enter Community Rooms to say g'day to Bill Atherton.
12.00pm - excuse oneself from conversation and attend quarter time huddle to discuss how to stop the Roy reserve juggernaut

12.10pm - resume on ground in the 'dead' forward pocket
12.30pm - 2nd interchange, attend rooms for 1st service of carvery.
12.40pm - exit rooms with lamb, chicken, roast potatoes and lemon squash in hand
12.45pm - halftime, return to room for a couple of quick reds with Hille and Litza

1.00pm - resume on ground for 3rd term in the 'dead' forwardline
1.25pm - cheese and biscuits with another quick red in the rooms

1.30pm - start of final term, with Rosco's Paddock in full operation.
1.35pm - grab loose ball in the forward pocket, run (well kinda), take 2 bounces, line up for goal, burp loudly, get tackled from behind, and blame the 3rd glass of red Hille forced into you before coming off the ground for the remainder of the game.

Sounds like a plan.

Go Roys

Multi-tasking is surely one of the greatest skills of a good VAFA club President.

Your schedule for tomorrow should be as follows:

10.30am - attend ground
11.00am - reserves' team meeting
11.40am - start match on ground in forward pocket
11.55am - interchange and place tracksuit on bottom half, kick mud off boots, enter Community Rooms to say g'day to Bill Atherton.
12.00pm - excuse oneself from conversation and attend quarter time huddle to discuss how to stop the Roy reserve juggernaut

12.10pm - resume on ground in the 'dead' forward pocket
12.30pm - 2nd interchange, attend rooms for 1st service of carvery.
12.40pm - exit rooms with lamb, chicken, roast potatoes and lemon squash in hand
12.45pm - halftime, return to room for a couple of quick reds with Hille and Litza

1.00pm - resume on ground for 3rd term in the 'dead' forwardline
1.25pm - cheese and biscuits with another quick red in the rooms

1.30pm - start of final term, with Rosco's Paddock in full operation.
1.35pm - grab loose ball in the forward pocket, run (well kinda), take 2 bounces, line up for goal, burp loudly, get tackled from behind, and blame the 3rd glass of red Hille forced into you before coming off the ground for the remainder of the game.

Sounds like a plan.

Go Roys

You forgot the part: 1.45pm - take a huge hanger over #8 and #23 from Fitzroy, go back, wipe lamb juice and red wine from top lip, hear siren, casually slot through the winner, sing "shake down the thunder" then "happy birthday" to Mappa

Even better Rosco, whack 36 candles in a lamb roll, put the runners t-shirt on, bring out aforementioned roll to the forwardline and you can sing happy birthday out on the field :D

I would like to congratulate David "babydoll" Bardoel on his remarkable comeback to footy after months in the wilderness hope it all goes well for the speedy forward.

I know snips r us and north of the river would be very proud of you.

win lose or draw bazza supports your team

Baz

I would like to congratulate David "babydoll" Bardoel on his remarkable comeback to footy after months in the wilderness hope it all goes well for the speedy forward.

I know snips r us and north of the river would be very proud of you.

win lose or draw bazza supports your team

Baz

This thread is limping to a bit of a grind so time to try and fire things up lads:

Suggest the following and happy to cop whatever I deserve:

OM's - Just so full of sH*t and bravado probaly the most scared team in D1! Lots of blokes who should keep their footy experience to watching on the couch on friday nights, soft as butter!

Werribee - Lots of bully boys but when it counts wont be up to it! Will be found out over the next 4 weeks!

Fitzroy - Good blokes and enjoyable group to play against, love the beers there but not much good.

SMD - try hard but not much good

ESL - Probably too much falls on too few, good blokes but struggling

Aquinas - Worst fridge in the ammos only offering Corona's & Blondes very ordinary! Give them 3 years they will be in C grade loads of abilitiy.

Prahan - Battlers!

Rupo - Bit like the Poms loads of cracks in their armour but no one has tested them, when the going gets tough next week they will be exposed again. Finals won't be easy against Werribee & Friars! I reckon they will miss and stay in D1.

Friars - No stars but a good group need to stop whingeing at Umps will challenge for a GF spot - Go the Brown & Whites!

This thread is limping to a bit of a grind so time to try and fire things up lads:

Suggest the following and happy to cop whatever I deserve:

OM's - Just so full of sH*t and bravado probaly the most scared team in D1! Lots of blokes who should keep their footy experience to watching on the couch on friday nights, soft as butter!

Werribee - Lots of bully boys but when it counts wont be up to it! Will be found out over the next 4 weeks!

Fitzroy - Good blokes and enjoyable group to play against, love the beers there but not much good.

SMD - try hard but not much good

ESL - Probably too much falls on too few, good blokes but struggling

Aquinas - Worst fridge in the ammos only offering Corona's & Blondes very ordinary! Give them 3 years they will be in C grade loads of abilitiy.

Prahan - Battlers!

Rupo - Bit like the Poms loads of cracks in their armour but no one has tested them, when the going gets tough next week they will be exposed again. Finals won't be easy against Werribee & Friars! I reckon they will miss and stay in D1.

Friars - No stars but a good group need to stop whingeing at Umps will challenge for a GF spot - Go the Brown & Whites!
Fair call on the fridge,never seen our fridge full of that crap hope I never see it again.

I thought you had a bit more respect for us Jack, we definitely respect the friars.
Next week is a dilemma in a couple of ways, you can work that out yourself.
We will go into the finals favorites and very confident no matter what transpires over the next two weeks, Round 18 is a dead match against Fitzroy as the four is settled.
We certainly don't come up against an Old Camberwell or Old Carey this year, so for the first time we will be and deserve to be favorite. What is interesting is we have never not played in a preliminary final in the 8 finals series we have played in. That is one record we hope to break. Our best will beat anyone this year IMO, just like the Aussies at their best.

I thought you had a bit more respect for us Jack, we definitely respect the friars.
We will go into the finals favorites and very confident no matter what transpires over the next two weeks, Round 18 is a dead match against Fitzroy as the four is settled.
We certainly don't come up against an Old Camberwell or Old Carey this year, so for the first time we will be and deserve to be favorite. What is interesting is we have never not played in a preliminary final in the 8 finals series we have played in. That is one record we hope to break. Our best will beat anyone this year IMO, just like the Aussies at their best.

Agreed KB, the final four is settled with a 2 game and roughly 40 goal gap between Fitzroy and NOBSPC. I'd expect Werribee to hang on to 2nd spot, but the round 18 clash at Friar Park should be a ripper. Hope they belt the living suitcase out of each other!:D

The Districts put on a good show yesterday up until halfway through the 2nd term when the young legs of the Roys started to motor away, and a couple of injuries seemed to take their toll on SMD. Still, there was only 4 goals in it about 5 minutes into the final term. Once Fitzroy replied, though, the life went out of the game, and it pretty much was a procession as we kicked 6 goals to one to finish the match.

With OMs and NOBSPC now pretty much left in limbo for the remainder of 2009, the focus surely turns to the south end of the table, where the bottom 2 both have winnable games (albeit one against each other). Prahran in rd 18 could be a massive one for SMD whilst ESL may face a do-or-die trip to East Ringwood to stay up.

Certainly good to see the relegation battle will be waged all they way through to the end of the regular season. Good luck to SMD in their efforts to remain in D1 for 2010.

Loads of respect KB just thought some provactive comments may get things moving! Good comments and will be a ripper game next week, good rivalry brewing with you blokes 2007 2-0 your way 2008 -2-0 our way and thus far 1-0 your way, hope we can square the ledger!

fantastic win by the om ressies who beat a respectable opponent in rupertswood. can someone tell me why tony bournon isnt playin a grade?

Loads of respect KB just thought some provactive comments may get things moving! Good comments and will be a ripper game next week, good rivalry brewing with you blokes 2007 2-0 your way 2008 -2-0 our way and thus far 1-0 your way, hope we can square the ledger!

very interesting thoughts Jack as you say we are getting to the business end of things and it is a good time to have a look at the contenders & pretenders
from 5th
Nobs - cant make it now it would tke miracle to see the nobs push into the final series from here , probably most interest out there is the upcoming battle between coach terry and rocky balboa

Fitzroy - 4th - my tip 3rd the smokies have improved enormously in the last month and the prize scalp of werribee will have them confident of an good show , may not have the cattle to go with the top three on big grounds but will have a crack and give good value

Friars -3rd - my tip 4th slow start and have been comming on ok , beat wrrbees a couple of weeks ago and havent faced roopo since rd1 - On exposed form fitzroys are going better, they can be one paced and again with many bigger bodies, speed / fitness could be the issue against the big 2, for me two big weeks are the big test for them

wrrbeess - 2nd - and my tip -GF?.. goin great guns apart from a few downs they work well together, have beaten rupo out there only by 2 kicks but still won but are yet to beat wfriars ? they have kept most their best mix on the paddock and if they get through rd 18 and win it will be a very interesting 2nd semi final

roopos - 1st - my tip GF ..the king brown of the D1 snake kingdom ,going by the vafa site they had 5 changes from the week before playing at oms on sat got brennan back and with 2 games under his belt will only get better , me thinks the wrrbees loss wont hurt or worry them, and they may even drop one more as with a 2nd semi birth sown up would be would be to trying to get everything right for the end of the month

Unfortunately I cant see Friars getting 2nd spot now, the % ends that, unless OMs can pull of a huge upset this week, atleast its 1 less week at St Bernards :p

Will be very interested to see who wins the 2nd semi, Rupo are the better side, Werribee won the last meeting

Looking forward to a trip out to the middle of nowhere this week

fantastic win by the om ressies who beat a respectable opponent in rupertswood. can someone tell me why tony bournon isnt playin a grade?

he will get there, just has to work his way out of D1 reserves.

Wow, good to see you on the park however you seem to have put on some weight with the enforced lay-off and red card. Good luck with shedding those extra kilos before wacking on the speedos for summer.

Just wanted to know how the top 4 teams have faired against each other this year. Couldnt be fagged looking through the fixture on the website.

Werribee are 2 wins (Fitzroy & Rupo, both away), 3 losses (Friars, Rupo & Fitzroy, all home).

cheers

Rumour has it that OM are stacking their 2's side against Werribee this week to hold onto 4th spot. Should be an interesting game;)

Ha, WEST, looks like it has been on your mind!

Of course they will! May as well play finals in one of two section, even if twos.

Goodbye to Werribee twos - thugs.

Done it in previous seasons so I can't see why this year should be any different.

OMG I didnt know Dean Bailey was coaching OM's!

Tanking Exists in the VAFA........

I wouldnt believe it until the senior side runs out at 2pm on Saturday.

After seeing all the venues and facilities D1 VAFA has had to offer this year...

Ground:
1. Whitefriars
2. Mentone
3. Prahran
4. Werribee
5. Rupertswood
6. Nobs
7. Fitzroy
8. Aquinas
9. Sth Melb Dist
10. Emmeus St Leos
- quite a good standard of grounds across the board i think - was only dissapointed in travelling to sth melb and emmeus st leos

Rooms:
1. Nobs
2. Whitefriars
3. Mentone
4. Fitzroy
5. Prahran
6. Sth Melb Dists
7. Werribee
8. Aquinas
9. Rupo
10. Emmeus St Leos

Jumpers:
1. Fitzroy
2. SMD
3. Ruppo
4. NOBS
5. Emmeus St Leos
6. Friars
7. Mentone
8. Prahran
9. Werribee
10. Aquinas

Rumour has it that OM are stacking their 2's side against Werribee this week to hold onto 4th spot. Should be an interesting game;)

werribee 2's shouldnt have put themselves in this position, dropping that game against rupo at home was always going to cost them.