• South Melbourne

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Yarra Valley

Votes: 0 0.0%

Gee my surname doesn't look out of place on this thread. Nothing but crap being posted in here these days. Scribe obviously saving his best stuff for the weekly review/preview in the Amateur Footballer. Got a little interesting when JC 15 piped up and had a fig after the BT loss, but has since reverted back to the mindnumbing drivel (i.e Scribe/Harper love affair) that has seen many turn their backs on the D1 forum.

The story so far.... NOBS are flying and the BT juggernaut might finally be living up to the hype around them pre-season. Same can't be said for Ben Magees youth policy of yesteryear. The kids seem burnt out and are lacking. Going's a bit tough and understandably the boys are finding it hard to get themselves up for a 'man' of his character.
The Valley boys are a little more sluggish then season '07, without an OP or Therry and one feels at 0-9 there's no rabbit in the hat for them. Not even a Tiger Woods special on the back 9 can save them from the inevitable.
The wheels seemed to fall off in semi final 1 for the Two Blues last year and they're now cartwheeling down Orrong Road with no end in sight. D2 beckons.
The promoted boys have found the going tough. Can't see them threatening the top end after the turn. Will each do enough to survive the drop. Peninsula will again go about their business causing few headaches. D1 seems to be a comfortable section for them.
Now for the Reds. BT at the sand/fortress begins a tough 2 weeks of footy as I see the OGG giant awaken and rampaging out of the pack to have booked a finals berth by Rd 15-16.

NOBS 36 (going swimmingly and shouldn't find Peninsula or YV a problem)
BT 28 (lack the substance to pull themsleves out of D1. Are capable, but the past 2 years suggests near enough is good enough for them)
OGG 24 (get ready lads. The sideline inspiration is about to give them an extra leg)
OM 22 (toss of the coin against SMD. A draw and then a Prahran win will keep them thereabouts)
Reds 20 (tough couple of games coming up. The 5 year plan to see them up the grades has stagnated and their mid-season will too)
Aquinas 16 (there's light in at the end of the tunnel. Expect them to be 4-5 at after the first 9.
SMD 14 (a year learning the ropes before a solid 2009. Underestimated the requirements to come up a grade and will suffer for it)
Peninsula 12 (bugger all to say about these also rans. A poor man's BT destined to hang around in D1 for a few years yet.
Prahran 8 (won't ruffle too many more feathers as they tumble down the grades)
Yarra Valley 0 (One word.... tanking. Hoping to pick up a Cloke in the pre-season draft)

Sorry to bore you Yawny, I'll do my best to keep my posts as entertaining as possible and ignore anything Fraser Blade contributes.

I'm pretty sure all at SMD are Keysborough virgins so it'll be interesting to see how the travel effects the bloods this week. With Snow most likely available for the Panthers champion pest Goblet may have his work cut out.

Should be a cracker!

Reds 20 (tough couple of games coming up. The 5 year plan to see them up the grades has stagnated and their mid-season will too)

Yawner. The Reds just smashed the hell out of Old Mentonians, but somehow you have the Panthers as a better team overall. I'd be interested in your theory. Was last week's mauling just a 17 goal hiccup for the Keysborough mob ?

Gee my surname doesn't look out of place on this thread. Nothing but crap being posted in here these days. Scribe obviously saving his best stuff for the weekly review/preview in the Amateur Footballer. Got a little interesting when JC 15 piped up and had a fig after the BT loss, but has since reverted back to the mindnumbing drivel (i.e Scribe/Harper love affair) that has seen many turn their backs on the D1 forum.

The story so far.... NOBS are flying and the BT juggernaut might finally be living up to the hype around them pre-season. Same can't be said for Ben Magees youth policy of yesteryear. The kids seem burnt out and are lacking. Going's a bit tough and understandably the boys are finding it hard to get themselves up for a 'man' of his character.
The Valley boys are a little more sluggish then season '07, without an OP or Therry and one feels at 0-9 there's no rabbit in the hat for them. Not even a Tiger Woods special on the back 9 can save them from the inevitable.
The wheels seemed to fall off in semi final 1 for the Two Blues last year and they're now cartwheeling down Orrong Road with no end in sight. D2 beckons.
The promoted boys have found the going tough. Can't see them threatening the top end after the turn. Will each do enough to survive the drop. Peninsula will again go about their business causing few headaches. D1 seems to be a comfortable section for them.
Now for the Reds. BT at the sand/fortress begins a tough 2 weeks of footy as I see the OGG giant awaken and rampaging out of the pack to have booked a finals berth by Rd 15-16.

BT 28 (lack the substance to pull themsleves out of D1. Are capable, but the past 2 years suggests near enough is good enough for them)
OGG 24 (get ready lads. The sideline inspiration is about to give them an extra leg)
OM 22 (toss of the coin against SMD. A draw and then a Prahran win will keep them thereabouts)
Aquinas 16 (there's light in at the end of the tunnel. Expect them to be 4-5 at after the first 9.
SMD 14 (a year learning the ropes before a solid 2009. Underestimated the requirements to come up a grade and will suffer for it)
Peninsula 12 (bugger all to say about these also rans. A poor man's BT destined to hang around in D1 for a few years yet.
Yarra Valley 0 (One word.... tanking. Hoping to pick up a Cloke in the pre-season draft)

Would be surprised if Prahran get relegated ahead of Peninsula, SMD or Aquinas - what's wrong with the boys down at Toorak Park? Lost a few players due to a tightening of the salary cap??

Good summary . Well put together even if I don't agree with it all.
You are very bullish on oggs?

Agreed, they could simply ring each up and have the conversation in private!

Yawner. The Reds just smashed the hell out of Old Mentonians, but somehow you have the Panthers as a better team overall. I'd be interested in your theory. Was last week's mauling just a 17 goal hiccup for the Keysborough mob ?

BT gave them the hiding of a lifetime last year too. Ditto to Prahran. Both teams still played finals footy. One aberration doesn't constitute a write off. Thus confirming my initial thoughts on BT. Have the cattle, but lack the heart. To flog both those sides so convincingly and still fail to make the finals shows a distinct lack of ticker. Resting on laurels that are no mean feat.

It will also help OM's with these names starting to play in the next few weeks. Graham (from Beau), Wiltshire (Runner up BnF last year) Biggs (back early from his knee reco), Prowse, Fairbanks x 2 and Wilton all to come back into the side. OM's had their little bump in the road now just wait for the OM's to just roll on and go one step further this year. All other teams should be getting worried they can only get stronger. One bad result means nothing only going to make them tougher to beat now they have gotten the one bad game a year out of the way that they are known for (2006 OGGS, 2007 BT, 2008 Reds) just good to get it out of the way earlier this year.

Benny got you believing that crap has he? This type of arrogance is why you're struggling. And Biggs will not play in 2008. Nor will the older Fairbanks.

Yawn - and another dig at BT. No worries mate.....

Typical. That response in itself indicates you're happy with what you have(n't) achieved. One with a more positive outlook might see it as a backhanded compliment. You've got 11+ weeks to prove me wrong. I'm a sceptic and based on priors, can't see it happening.

This type of arrogance is why you're struggling.

Probably onto something there Mike.

A couple of big games this weekend. Bulleen Temp v Fitzroy Reds will be a big one. The Reds have surprised a few after a low key start to the year. I hope they stitch up the Bullants this week, but think Bulleen by 10pts.

Aquinas v Prahran is an interesting one. I refuse to believe Prahran are no good, but I still hope Aquinas give them a touch up. Prahran by 28pts.

OMs will be under the pump to produce after last week's effort, or lack of effort. Will give them the benefit of the doubt. OMs by 18pts.

OG are just travelling at the moment. If they can't beat Yarra Valley at Como they should give the game away. OG by 33pts.

NOBS good. Peninsula not. NOBS by 68pts.

Benny got you believing that crap has he? This type of arrogance is why you're struggling. And Biggs will not play in 2008. Nor will the older Fairbanks.quote]

yawn,

older fairbanks was seen kicking goals from 60 meters out. Biggs did all the training but the contact stuff.. and is moving well. All the others are stayed 30mins after the main session doing sprints. No crap. Just a lot of hard work to make up for last year... thats all.

As was proved last week at Fitzroy,OM are soft,soft,soft,sooks.

When your coach and captain are soft sooks what more can you expect,soft. quote]

Thats a big call on JC, never played with anyone more tougher who never sooks, only guys that might be tougher in the OM's team are Ironmonger, Biggs, B. Carroll.

BM is a sook so what??? Its easy to bag a bloke from behind your computer screen in your little cube in your office. So what if he complains players are smart enough now to not worry about it.

The biggest thing for the panthers is at least class finishers are coming back. Hitting targets will make a big difference. And it also helps with making it harder for selection there for improving the whole squad. Just means the fringe players have to work harder.

When your coach and captain are soft sooks what more can you expect,soft. quote]

Thats a big call on JC, never played with anyone more tougher who never sooks, only guys that might be tougher in the OM's team are Ironmonger, Biggs, B. Carroll.

BM is a sook so what??? Its easy to bag a bloke from behind your computer screen in your little cube in your office. So what if he complains players are smart enough now to not worry about it.

The biggest thing for the panthers is at least class finishers are coming back. Hitting targets will make a big difference. And it also helps with making it harder for selection there for improving the whole squad. Just means the fringe players have to work harder.

Wouldn't worry about the Einstein argument raised by Greg Madigan - obviously his awesome mullet has grown internally and affecting his brain.

However, whilst last week may well be an aberration, what was of great concern was the refusal of many players to make a contest, and the ball movement going way too wide. No-one backed themselves to hit players up in the corridor, and there were way too few handballs to running players attacking from halfback.

Sure - hitting targets makes a difference, but confidence in your own ability is critical if you want to hit more targets. Can't see many players leaving the BSO with their confidence enhanced or renewed. Its critical that the coaching staff work hard on building these fellas back up, because they left the field a pretty dejected mob last weekend.

Don't focus on those who haven't played yet, you need to work hard on those who have/are.

Wouldn't worry about the Einstein argument raised by Greg Madigan - obviously his awesome mullet has grown internally and affecting his brain.

However, whilst last week may well be an aberration, what was of great concern was the refusal of many players to make a contest, and the ball movement going way too wide. No-one backed themselves to hit players up in the corridor, and there were way too few handballs to running players attacking from halfback.

Sure - hitting targets makes a difference, but confidence in your own ability is critical if you want to hit more targets. Can't see many players leaving the BSO with their confidence enhanced or renewed. Its critical that the coaching staff work hard on building these fellas back up, because they left the field a pretty dejected mob last weekend.

Don't focus on those who haven't played yet, you need to work hard on those who have/are.

Frase,

Fair call on the ex-Bulleen/Fremantle/Hawthorn Premiership player.

When are you going to bite the bullet and step out from behind the security of a reserves gig to the pressure of a senior job ?

Each week on VAFA Tv,here on Big Footy and in your job as C Grade scribe you preach your football ethos judging other clubs like you did to Hampton last season,Rupertswood this season and now Old Mentonians thinking that you have the magic bullet in fixing all other club's ills when really you your arrogance is quite overwhelming.

You are an excellent scribe compared to the forlorn Quill,Horn and others,but please if you are going to preach to each club on how they can and how they should fix there playing style or how there playing style does not suit a opposition or ground then you have to have the courage of your advice and put your hand up to coach a senior club.

You seem like a good likeable bloke, your not the VAFA wisdom of knowledge on all things,particularly the ins and outs of all clubs.

Goodluck to your team,keep the coloumn up to its standard,think about answering some adverts come August September in the back of the Footballer.:)

Let this be said once and only once. Whilst Greg Madigan (the real one) is a good mate of mine AND a proud ex Bullant; I am absolutely sure the BF version is not one from our club. His knowledge of OM players and particular knowledge of last years finals campaign suggests to me he may infact be from HR.

Good day all.

Couldn't be happier for Hampton mate. Gives us all hope that C grade is not much of a step up..... I wouldn't be talking B grade yet thou. Long way to go.

Enjoying watching us fly this year,Deano ? Or is C section a blur for you boys ? Even if you get C section we will be in B section and you will be retired the next time we meet,you should be on CSI Bulleen !

Don't defend those soft sooks BM and JC after the abuse and heckling they gave us in the PL and GF,soft.

JC is a gun. You can get stuck into BM as much as you like no one will defend him. Some of the stuff he did last year was uncalled for. But getting stuck into JC is just stupid. The bloke could play at a higher level if he wanted has stuck by the club in good and bad. He is champion old mentonian. All in D1 would agree. Leads by example on the field. Leave him alone and worry about your own back yard. Go stir up crap in the C Grade thread.

your not the VAFA wisdom of knowledge on all things,particularly the ins and outs of all clubs.

Absolutely, Jase has got him (and the entire community) well and truly covered.

Couldn't be happier for Hampton mate. Gives us all hope that C grade is not much of a step up..... I wouldn't be talking B grade yet thou. Long way to go.

Raised my eyebrows a bit, too.

Seems as though people are trying to fire OM up. SMD are a lock tomorrow, they will win. Killer has given the rev up and it will work. Dropped 3 senior players in Bracchi, Kealy and Rieman. Giving the performing 2 players a run which is good thinking.

As for the dogs at the VAFA. Threratening a player with de-registration and fining the club is a discrace. If you dont wanna play dont play, if they decide to pay for the match then maybe people who dont give a stuff will play. You cannot make it compulsary, especially on a Sunday morning, some blokes have a life and are still kicking on at that stage.

Let this be said once and only once. Whilst Greg Madigan (the real one) is a good mate of mine AND a proud ex Bullant; I am absolutely sure the BF version is not one from our club. His knowledge of OM players and particular knowledge of last years finals campaign suggests to me he may infact be from HR.

Good day all.

Great work by you, Derm! You are all right.:D
Bit sore today...except for the feet (those golden slippers went well, felt like cinderella!!)

was not hard to flush him out. Shame we had to put up with it for 3 weeks.I look forward to seeing you back out there. Would be one of the great comebacks of all time.....

When your coach and captain are soft sooks what more can you expect,soft.

Snow did he punch or go for glory last finals campaign,soft sooks,Fairbanks could have sealed the same final,soft,soft sooks,what other soft sooks will you wheel out form soft sookland,soft soft,Whiltshire soft sook that does not pay his opponent any defensive respect soft sook so soft that every opposition coach knows to play through his man as he is a soft sook,could have should have didn't as your all soft sooks, soft,so soft you stayed in D1 not in C grade as your club is led by soft sooks,BM & JC your soft sooking club leaders,soft,soft soft.

Confirmed OM's are soft sooks.

Very subtle Gerg. I'm struggling to read between the lines. Can you spell it out a bit clearer for us?