La Trobe University vs Old Westbourne
Glen Eira vs St Marys Salesian
St Johns vs Old Eltham

Aquinas vs Therrry Penola
Emmaus St Leos vs South Melbourne
La Trobe University vs Old Westbourne
Glen Eira vs St Marys Salesian
St Johns vs Old Eltham

Guru & Phantom maybe one in the same....

Crazybear & Johnno Nash could be one as well, neither has any idea. Of that I am sure. Nearly time for a 2 buck chuck... See you in the mirror Guru

OK I own up. I am Johnno Nash and I am La Trobe's love child. reading my match reports are worse than drinking SMS's 2 buck chuck.

OK I'm confused
Phantom Strobler is Guru is Dr Truth is Johnno Nash......FFS
Here's my tips...and i'm still sayna

Aquinas vs [B]Therry[/B]Therry to continue their unbeaten run,although the Aquinas boys are improving by the week

Emmaus St Leos vs South Melbourne The Animals at home will be too good
La Trobe University vs Old Westbourne The students to bounce back with a few back from holidays
Glen Eira vs St Marys Salesian The Saints...easily ! Err imean the home team saints not the other ones
St Johns vs Old Eltham Game of the round.If the JOCs an overcome the Ciavola curse..they'll get the lollies and keep D2 interesting

Another good day for G.E. St Marys came to play in both the 1s & 2s but were slowly worn down until the game opened up and G.E went on with it.
Best wishes goes out to the St Marys reserves player who was taken to hospital, reports after the game said he suffered a fractured skull and broken eye socket which occurred from a head clash during a tackle. Get well soon mate.

Another good day for G.E. St Marys came to play in both the 1s & 2s but were slowly worn down until the game opened up and G.E went on with it.
Best wishes goes out to the St Marys reserves player who was taken to hospital, reports after the game said he suffered a fractured skull and broken eye socket which occurred from a head clash during a tackle. Get well soon mate.

Haven't posted for quite some time, but must agree with the above and wish the lad from SMS a speedy recovery. No genuine supporter likes to see anyone injured like that!

Why ask Guttertrash -if you don't put yours in?...I always thought Thursday night was selection night!!

FWIW-

ESL vs JOCs-
In the words of the ‘majicman’ -The JOCs are coming -they pumped the Turtles last week, and conversely the Animals let themselves down badly last week against the Bloods. Have the wheels fallen off at SLEWP or are the JOCs the real deal? Sat night will tell, but JOCs for mine in the game of the round.

SMS vs Therry
Saw SMS up close last week and their 1st half was excellent, but their 2nd half was equally disappointing…
Was it fitness or confidence loss?? They have guns in Murphy, Dwyer and Baum but big George will be a loss.
The Broady boys have done nothing wrong and I expect them to get over the hump even away from home with ‘Boy' George the difference between the teams.

LU vs E
At least both teams will be used to playing on a big ground….Eltham really disappointed last week when they had an early chance to put some space on the field, Ciavola goalless????WTF
The Students on the other hand bounced back …and hard. LU easily

SMD vs A
At long last the Bloods got a sniff of it and showed some of the form that got them to D1 a few years back. It was the ‘bloods of old’ their supporters were saying.
On the back of that form and with a home game and with the Ringwood boys still struggling to gel, I think the Bloods will go 2 on the trot.

OW vs GEI
t’s always difficult to win at windswept Westy, but the GE boys will just have too much firepower for the Warriors.
Pavez and Hudson will give their all again, but not enough to get a W for OW.

Good luck to all.

Why ask Guttertrash -if you don't put yours in?...I always thought Thursday night was selection night!!

FWIW-

ESL vs JOCs-
In the words of the ‘majicman’ -The JOCs are coming -they pumped the Turtles last week, and conversely the Animals let themselves down badly last week against the Bloods. Have the wheels fallen off at SLEWP or are the JOCs the real deal? Sat night will tell, but JOCs for mine in the game of the round.

SMS vs Therry
Saw SMS up close last week and their 1st half was excellent, but their 2nd half was equally disappointing…
Was it fitness or confidence loss?? They have guns in Murphy, Dwyer and Baum but big George will be a loss.
The Broady boys have done nothing wrong and I expect them to get over the hump even away from home with ‘Boy' George the difference between the teams.

LU vs E
At least both teams will be used to playing on a big ground….Eltham really disappointed last week when they had an early chance to put some space on the field, Ciavola goalless????WTF
The Students on the other hand bounced back …and hard. LU easily

SMD vs A
At long last the Bloods got a sniff of it and showed some of the form that got them to D1 a few years back. It was the ‘bloods of old’ their supporters were saying.
On the back of that form and with a home game and with the Ringwood boys still struggling to gel, I think the Bloods will go 2 on the trot.

OW vs GEI
t’s always difficult to win at windswept Westy, but the GE boys will just have too much firepower for the Warriors.
Pavez and Hudson will give their all again, but not enough to get a W for OW.

Good luck to all.

Sorry but i leave the selections to that guru in the footy record Johnno.

Where were you Dr Truth. I had some of our superior red wine waiting but you didn't show. Tough day at the office for you blokes. What are you going to do?
Could say it was a tough day, scoreline probably flattering. GE too strong & too good. Superior red? Well I did miss out. One of the umps wanted to do some weights, so the Guru & I (as one) spotted for him. Needed to tighten things up with some bench presses.

Don't go jumping off the Westgate if OW get a result. I doubt it.

bewary of the Joc's they are the real deal and will win more than they lose
I can not wait for the D3 grand final replay between the jocs and the students this will be a cracker of a game

bewary of the Joc's they are the real deal and will win more than they lose
I can not wait for the D3 grand final replay between the jocs and the students this will be a cracker of a game

Appears to me that there is a club from Packer Park that just might party come finals if the previous 4 rounds are anything to go by.:)

Anticipated winners of tomorrow's matches are:

Emmaus St Leos vs. St Johns
St Mary's Salesian vs. Therry Penola
La Trobe University vs. Old Eltham
South Melbourne vs. Aquinas
Old Westbourne vs. Glen Eira

Stay warm my friends ..... :thumbsu:

Ladies and Gentleman, its time! Still dominating the tips, feel free to take notes.

ESL v STJ - The jocs comfortably.

SMS v Therry - Tough assignment for the saints and have a few injuries after the last 2 games but ill stick with them to win by 5 points.

Lat v Elt - Latrobe by 10 goals. I still think they will take out the title

SM v AQ - Aquinas having a horrid year and this will continue

OW v GE - OW always tough out at home, seem to play on the windyest place on earth but GE are the form side and will get over the line by 30

And Guttertrash, theres only one Guru and he's right here!

Guru Out!

Seems that westbourne are having a terrible start to there season.
Have been hearing mixed reports on young player James DiBlasi who has been a real stand out in a struggling side. One to watch...

How did all the other teams cope after the easter break?

I heard he struggled to get fully fit last year. Hindered at training by a tutu

Emmaus St Leos vs. St Johns this one is tough st leos only because of home ground
St Mary's Salesian vs. Therry Penola Therry to get the chockies at this one
LaTrobe University vs. Old Eltham this could be close depends if the big full forward for eltham fires Latrobe just at home
South Melbourne vs. Aquinas South just over an improving Aquinas
Old Westbourne vs. Glen Eira Glen Eira as they are the team to beat this year

Emmaus St Leos vs. St Johns - I think JOCs will win this one. The animals' ground is in much better nick this year and they lose their advantage. I think Hickey is still a massive loss. Costas and Cachia to clunk a few marks.
St Mary's Salesian vs. Therry Penola Interesting game here. SMS were with GE til half time. They have the league BnF playing for them and there new rooms. While TP don't travel well, obviously can't kick straight and were behind at halftime last week. Still think TP but they will need to show something.
LaTrobe University vs. Old Eltham - was it the travel distance that got to the turtles last week. they were horrible in the 1's and 2's. They only had 19 in the 2's and have lost one to suspension this week. Ciavola may have to play 2 games again. It seems the turtles are starting to slide. La Trobe will be too strong and enjoy running on the big ground. Lauderman to rack them up.
South Melbourne vs. Aquinas Another close game. The 2 relagated teams from D1. I'm only going for SMD as its their home game. Aquinas lost alot of players over the preseason and the young players are now slowly starting to gel and understand senior football.
Old Westbourne vs. Glen Eira - No brainer here. Its just how many goals are GE going to win by. It will be tough conditions out there but OWB only have Tex, Pavez and Hudson and thats it. So they will be no match for the GE juggernaut.

After rd 5, lets give the Maggoo's some space.
St Johns by 6 pts over St Leos. Sounds like a good contest.
Therry by 85 over SMS One sided affair?
Uni Boys by 109 over a goaless Eltham! What more could you say?
SMD by 32 over Aquinas. Not a thrashing.
GE by 76 over the Warriors. Sounds like there's no stopping them.

After rd 5, lets give the Maggoo's some space.
St Johns by 6 pts over St Leos. Sounds like a good contest.
Therry by 85 over SMS One sided affair?
Uni Boys by 109 over a goaless Eltham! What more could you say?
SMD by 32 over Aquinas. Not a thrashing.
GE by 76 over the Warriors. Sounds like there's no stopping them.

Why the low scores at La Trobe in the seniors? Was the ground underwater? I wouls also imagine the conditions at OW were as bad as ever.

Took the trek over Westgate to OW on Saturday. Conditions were fair, should have been a jumper clash. Good club, but the Sainters always like to stop for a drink, unfortunately the GREAT social rooms had a few chairs tossed around, no tables put out. Would have stayed longer to support but too uncomfortable.

i dropped in for a quick look at he uni boys v turtles and it was a hard slog by both teams the ground had a fair amount of water on it but not enough to ruin the game it was just a plain old fasion hard slogging type of game with not quater ask for or given by both side :thumbsu:

I heard he struggled to get fully fit last year. Hindered at training by a tutu

Rumours have it that Old westbourne have been really struggling.
After the exit of some key players to country leauges it must be a real tough task for "burra"
Key position players such as Chris Hudon and Hayden barker is a huge loss to the club
Good to see the boys who have stuck it out with the club. Troy Dennis has been consistantly performing well after recovering from an ACL injury post season and I wish him all the best
Hope my man diblasi recovers well from his laser eye surgury and is back this week
;)

Rnd 6 approaches. All very interesting matchups this week.Here's my tips:
Turtles V SMS-The key for SMS is to keep Ciavola goaless. SMS have been competive and have a good midfield, but I think Galvin will lead the way in a victory for the trutles at home
Therry V LaTrobe-Match of the round, it will be a tight close affair. I think LaTrobe will have too much run and the ability to put big scores on the board. Van Ooi to return and Pattern to kick a few. Plus Lauderman has been dominating in the last 2 games
GE V St Leo's- The juggernaut to continue rolling. Boyd will probably notch 100 goals this year. Harris to be in the best with his strong body and Paterson to run his opponent into the ground.
St Johns V SMD- Another tight Tussle but the Jocs to continue their form. Costas and Cachia have been good in front of goal and I believe Captain Chalk is to return this week.
OWB V Aquinas The battle for the first win of the season.Even though its a home I just think OWB will struggle. I think last years D1 side still has a few old heads like Ex captain J.Jess to guide the team to their first victory. lead TP a few weeks ago while OWB have been smashed the last few weeks.

TIPS FOR THE ROUND
Turtles V SMS-
I just reckon the SMS boys will get the lollies here. Eltham are way better at home, but they haven’t really performed well for the last couple of weeks. They have simply stopped scoring goals – A total 8 goals in 2 weeks is not going to win you too many games.

Therry
V LaTrobe-
Equal Match of the round. Wise old man told me once…don’t tip against the Broady boys at home….if you want to get home safely. Therry have done nothing wrong yet while the students fell at their first big hurdle in R3

GE V St Leo's-
ESL will hold fond memories of Packer Reserve. They stopped GE run in R18 last year coming home with a wet sail- but still missed the finals. GE can either prove they are the ‘real deal' here as they have some key outs this week… or not. Their star performers in the Magoos are putting pressure on the Senior players week in week out … so this should be their chance to shine.
This time last year Dimashki was nearly on top of the Seniors competition goalkickers list. In 2011 he’s doing his time in the 2s…I think the Saints will have the depth to get over the Animals

St John’s V SMD-
If this wasn’t at JOC land, I’d go with SMD here. The districts boys genuinely look like they’ve turned the corner, but conversely the JOCs have done nothing wrong since pushing GE all the way in R1.

OW V Aquinas
Match of the round-Pivotal game for the cellar dwellers this week.
A win puts them in the frame, a loss means 2011 might already be a write-off. High stakes indeed. A loss here might mean you find yourselves already 2 games plus serious percentage behind the 8th team.
The Bloods have been improving steadily but a trip out to the wild Wild West is not to be looked forward to –even if you’re in tip top form. The Westy’s just.

This is a mighty tuff round to pick and the ladder will have some genuine shape after this week.