D2 D2 Section 2009

Maybe you should have spoken too the ammos when the fixture came out and suggested a change. Also there were heaps of guys standing around that were not players. This was not an extensive evaluation of your club but a disappointment when we have to travel from GE to mad max country and supply all our personnel.

Remember when you come to GE to observe the jumper clash. You overlooked that last year.

Some of these comments didn't only come from me but also the umpires who I believe fined you accordingly.

This was the first time we had 4 teams at home so we were a little 'under the pump' so to speak, I will do my utmost to assure there is a hot chocolate and a hot water bottle awaiting you next time you visit our shores.....

I cant recall you guys using the clash strip last year either? but I may be wrong. Using it this time around was much appreciated however (as there is definitely a clash) and I would think we will do the same for you later in the year.

Ok Phantom I'll bite.

Firstly as you would have noticed had you not been busy critiquing the club and facilities with your little checklist and clipboard, we had all 4 senior teams play at home on Saturday- the Club XVII and U19's on one oval, and Reserves and Seniors on the other.

All these teams require a great number of resources to operate effectively. In regards to personnel, we required; boundaries in all four games, field umpires in the twos and clubbies, goal umpires, scoreboard attendants, trainers, water boys, team managers, canteen staff, timekeepers, interchange stewards, and umpire escorts.

That puts the admin personnel up past 30 by my count? Now being a team manager in the past I can tell you its quite hard to find people to help out on game day, I can’t imagine how hard it would have been for the team managers on Saturday with so many spots to fill, and not enough people to fill them.

In regards to the team sheets, our team manager is only new to the job, and it takes a while to get used to it as a lot of people would attest to. No excuse for the scores however, they should have been put in on time, and correctly

I suggest you take all these things into account before you submit your extensive evaluation of our club.

All clubs from the VAFA, to NFL or Eastern find it hard to fill these spots, sometimes things just clash.

If I was you Phantom I would be more worried about getting a win.

Remember when you come to GE to observe the jumper clash. You overlooked that last year.

Last year neither side wore clash jumpers at either home or away games so that comment is a little bit hypocritical.

With all due respect Phantom Strobler your comments don't really bother me but what sort of feedback were you expecting from the Westbourne faithful in response to your criticism. Obviously they will be loyal to their club likewise you with yours. I think everyone understands that all clubs rely on the support and committment of volunteers and no one does a bad job on purpose but we will endeavour to get everything in order for our return game. The last thing we would want is for you to take the time out of your busy schedule to have to make another post on bigfooty about your frustrations on the weekend.

Only 3 on you though:D

See you in a few weeks at Hoe Park!!

Yeah - they normally gave me the guy who would do the least amount of damage:p

I've had 10 kicked on me one day......so maybe you sold yourself short or had an off day? ha ha ha

I do recall though at the end of the day the Bears season was still alive.....and we had to lick our wounds.

See you at Hoe park in a couple.

Chump.

Last year neither side wore clash jumpers at either home or away games so that comment is a little bit hypocritical.

With all due respect Phantom Strobler your comments don't really bother me but what sort of feedback were you expecting from the Westbourne faithful in response to your criticism. Obviously they will be loyal to their club likewise you with yours. I think everyone understands that all clubs rely on the support and committment of volunteers and no one does a bad job on purpose but we will endeavour to get everything in order for our return game. The last thing we would want is for you to take the time out of your busy schedule to have to make another post on bigfooty about your frustrations on the weekend.

Maybe the Westbourne faithful can get out out of the relative comfort of their cars and do a job or two around the place instead of just sitting on their spotty behinds and pumping their horn every time the Warriors kick a goal!
That would give my mate Ivan a chance to relax and enjoy a game for a change. Come on Westbourne, you must now have some past players by now.

Hey Guys - something I have heard on the rumor mil and just wanted to see if it had any truth.

Both Eltham and Williamstown players have been told to stop posting? Any truth Sandshoes?

i still think the willy boys are yet to hit top gear, they have experienced that winning feeling.
by mid year i think they will be smashing sides on the run home to september to make it back 2 back flags in two divs.

any thoughts on the biggest dangers are and players to watch?

Hey Guys - something I have heard on the rumor mil and just wanted to see if it had any truth.

Both Eltham and Williamstown players have been told to stop posting? Any truth Sandshoes?

Nah eltham players havent, not much 2 say bout satday should/could have etc gets us nowere.....

Banyule play decent footy, not as good as there $1.50 pots from 7 till 8.30 tho!!!!!!

Wamba / Chump,

While visiting relatives this evening I heard an interesting rumour from Hoe Park.

A key on baller from the Hoes with a recent injury has gained an infection which may keep him out for most of the year if not all of it!!

No restrictions on Willy, we just have nothing to say. No point talking sh1t for the sake of it. Definitely not in the same frame of mind as Sherlock007, at this stage we're just happen to take each week as it comes. It's still a long season ahead, so anything can happen.

go easy hit man, you know you had a blinder on the weekend its only a matter of time big fella.

[While visiting relatives this evening I heard an interesting rumour from Hoe Park.

A key on baller from the Hoes with a recent injury has gained an infection which may keep him out for most of the year if not all of it!!

I haven't been down the club this week Oldtimer.

Maybe you can come straight out and say what you've heard rather than allude to it????

Yarra Valley v Old Westbourne. Yarra Valley are very unlucky to be winless IMO. They still have a lot of quality in Veloppi and Pagan and I think they will quietly fancy themselves for an upset here on their home turf. Having said that, for the Warriors to stay in touch with the four, or even break into the four, we need to win these games. I think the run of players like Wilson, Hunter, and Walker will get us over the line. OW by 1 point, Horsburgh to kick 6.

Williamstown v Ivanhoe. I can’t really see Willy losing this one. Ivanhoe will really struggle to contain Cooper and Barlow down forward for Willy. The Hoes find very hard to win when Collins doesn’t kick goals, and he seems to be struggling without big Ange Pace there to help him. Willy by 65 points.

Therry Penola v Banyule. Match of the round for mine. Banyule are coming off three solid wins against Paradians, GE, and Eltham, and will really get themselves up for this. Therry are going great guns as well, and will be very hard to beat on their home turf. I'm gonna tip an upset here though, I reckon players like Young and Shepherd can get on top of the Therry midfield and restrict supply to Bannister. Drapac is in goal kicking form and will need to be at his best if they are to win. Banyule by 5 points.

Glen Eira v Old Paradians. We are still to play Paradians but their best players seem to be similar to last year: Young, Sage and Brabender. If Glen Eira have anything going for them it is their ruckman Spink. He is a gun, very around the grounds and can take a strong mark. Unfortunately I don’t think Glen Eira have enough winners around the park, whereas Paradians form suggests they do. OP by 42 points.

Peninsula v Eltham. As I have said all season, Peninsula have a MASSIVE home ground advantage and I cannot see them getting beaten there this week. Crooks has been in great form for the Turtles, but he will needs some mates if they are gonna beat the Pirates in this one. Eltham have had their upset for the year, Peninsula by 33 points. Payze BOG

Yarra v Westbourne-Yarra struggling & with Grant Connors back and firing, Westbourne by 54 pts.

Willy V Ivanhoe-Willy the 3rd best side in the comp IMO and appear to have too much for the Hoes. However, Nielsen to bag 9 in a surprise 3 goal win to the Hoes.

Therry v Banyule-Therry too strong by 50 pts

Glen eira v OP's-Glen Eira to push Op's all the way but OP's to get the points by 2 goals.

Peninsula v eltham-Peninsula to continue their roll by 80 pts over Eltham.

Yarra v Westbourne-Yarra struggling & with Grant Connors back and firing, Westbourne by 54 pts.

Willy V Ivanhoe-Willy the 3rd best side in the comp IMO and appear to have too much for the Hoes. However, Nielsen to bag 9 in a surprise 3 goal win to the Hoes.

Glen eira v OP's-Glen Eira to push Op's all the way but OP's to get the points by 2 goals.

Ofcourse i agree that westbourne will take the chockies as its my club but by 54??? Yarra valley are hard done by not to have a few wins and think it will be a great game and alot closer than 54 by either side
Ofcourse i agree

Ofcourse i agree that westbourne will take the chockies as its my club but by 54??? Yarra valley are hard done by not to have a few wins and think it will be a great game and alot closer than 54 by either side
Ofcourse i agree

Agree they've been hard done by Hoppers but I get the feeling they're starting to lose confidence. I hope for their sakes that it's not the case.

your tips couldn't get any further away the hoes to beat willy by 3 goals , willy won by 16goals let me warn you again willy will win the flag i will be anticapating your tips next week i hope you dont draw them out of a hat like last week. do you play for ivanhoe or something????:thumbsu:

sherlock007

your tips couldn't get any further away the hoes to beat willy by 3 goals , willy won by 16goals let me warn you again willy will win the flag i will be anticapating your tips next week i hope you dont draw them out of a hat like last week. do you play for ivanhoe or something????:thumbsu: 22 May 2009 17:30

I can see why you're called Sherlock. Yes I've been involved with Ivanhoe for some time and my tips do involve a certain bias.

Willy are a good side but they're a long way from flag certainties.

Therry, Peninsula & Banyule all have a claim.

I look forward to your tips this week Sherlock or do you just investigate after the scene of the crime???

your tips couldn't get any further away the hoes to beat willy by 3 goals , willy won by 16goals let me warn you again willy will win the flag i will be anticapating your tips next week i hope you dont draw them out of a hat like last week. do you play for ivanhoe or something????:thumbsu:
fair to say your not from the cy's mr sherlock bcoz no one down at the y's are thinking like that.......was a very good and hard game on the weekend with the hoes falling away late in the game.....but they certainly came to play and will give alot of teams some trouble this year!!!!! so sherlock ur opinion is one that no one else has, and i hope no one on this forum takes any notice of it!!!! coldsore over and out!!!!!

as previously stated sherlock is definitely not from willy cy's. went down to the fearon on saturday, ivanhoe are a very well drilled side that ran out of puff before 3/4 time. before that time it was a good game of footy, not knowing a single thing about ivanhoe i can't offer a reason for the turn around, maybe they have injuries, i don't know, but they look like a well run club that will bounce back.

I can see why you're called Sherlock. Yes I've been involved with Ivanhoe for some time and my tips do involve a certain bias.

Willy are a good side but they're a long way from flag certainties.

Therry, Peninsula & Banyule all have a claim.

I look forward to your tips this week Sherlock or do you just investigate after the scene of the crime???

Fair comment, Wamba !!! :thumbsu: