• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

D3 D3 2009

number orders is not your forte? at least under your theory melbourne would still have had the #1 draft pick :) freo and essendon would be the big winners as they wouldve jumped up the order. Im trying to say I dont understand what youve done :S

I think you just walked right into his attempt at humour - someone said in an earlier post that he couldn't count to 5

Yawn....next topic please

Is there anyone out there from St Francis Xavier? If so how is your team looking & preseason going? Anyone of interest to talk about?

Relatively new club to VAFA, how does everyone else rate them, especially those from West Brunswick?
Speaking of StFX.. this is from the article about the VAFA AGM:
Following the meeting, the annual dinner was conducted where the 2008 premiers from each section were presented with their premiership flags.
Other presentations made on the night included the VAFA Personality of the Year Award, won by Russell Barnes form Ormond, the Club Warehouse Trainer of the Year Award, which went to Alex Beveridge from Old Camberwell and the Press awards awarded to St Francis Xavier - D4, Old Westbourne - D2, Hampton Rovers – C Section and St Bedes Mentone Tigers – A.

What does this one mean??

Round 1 draw released as per VAFA website:

Bentleigh v St Johns
St Marys v Uni High
West Brunswick v SFX
Elsternwick v Power House
Hawthorn v Monash Gryphons

Not sure if this confirms or shoots Griff19's source to pieces

Round 1 draw released as per VAFA website:

Bentleigh v St Johns
St Marys v Uni High
West Brunswick v SFX
Elsternwick v Power House
Hawthorn v Monash Gryphons

Not sure if this confirms or shoots Griff19's source to pieces

To pieces unfortunatley..... my source did say it may change, but i just ran with it anyway...!!

Standard process is that an interim draw is released. The clubs all provide feedback and then the draw is finalised - now that it's on the website, it should be pretty right.

Speaking of StFX.. this is from the article about the VAFA AGM:
Following the meeting, the annual dinner was conducted where the 2008 premiers from each section were presented with their premiership flags.
Other presentations made on the night included the VAFA Personality of the Year Award, won by Russell Barnes form Ormond, the Club Warehouse Trainer of the Year Award, which went to Alex Beveridge from Old Camberwell and the Press awards awarded to St Francis Xavier - D4, Old Westbourne - D2, Hampton Rovers – C Section and St Bedes Mentone Tigers – A.

What does this one mean??

id take a stab & say st francis xavier were second to none with their reporting of matches to the d4 scribe, duncan palmer who then passed these onto league headquarters.

anyone else have thoughts or can someone from the saints confirm this??

one funny thing ive noticed is now we have two sets of saints in d3 for 2009. itll be interesting when these teams play each other... a battle of whos going to have bragging rights to the nickname!! ;)

id take a stab & say st francis xavier were second to none with their reporting of matches to the d4 scribe, duncan palmer who then passed these onto league headquarters.

one funny thing ive noticed is now we have two sets of saints in d3 for 2009. itll be interesting when these teams play each other... a battle of whos going to have bragging rights to the nickname!! ;)

Bragging rights to be the best club in the history of the AFL with one cup??

handy weve moved from d2... ive looked at their fixture & theres some horror road trips for some teams up there next year!!

Pretty much on the ball there Stewie. The scribes love to call us the X-Men. I reckon SMS will have the bragging rights to the Saints nickname.

welcome to the newest club in the amateurs & congratulations on promotion in your 2nd year!!

oh yes of course... i missed the nickname palmer coined for you so i guess there will only be one set of "saints" next year!! :D

im looking forward to mixing it up with you blokes - from what i saw in the finals this year youll probably go alright...

Everyone was wondering where you'd gone Stew.
But seeing you've posted 5 times today I don't know how you survived not logging on for the last 3 weeks!!

**laugh** make this 6. i was down on the west coast of victoria where computers just didnt seem to exist. i survived... only just though!! ;)

At least on this thread there's always something to come on and read, it's never boring.
There's always something or someone to come on and laugh at or about.
I'm looking forward to training session #2 tonight after getting a taste of the new breed of people around the club on Monday.
Hopefully the sun stays out and you can rip the shirt off, Stewie.
See ya there fellas!!

welcome to the newest club in the amateurs & congratulations on promotion in your 2nd year!!

oh yes of course... i missed the nickname palmer coined for you so i guess there will only be one set of "saints" next year!! :D

im looking forward to mixing it up with you blokes - from what i saw in the finals this year youll probably go alright...

Thanks Stewie, ye we were very happy with wat we achieved last season and hopefully we can give a good show of ourselves in D3.

And we are all looking forward to moving into D3. But we know that we are making a step up a grade and the standard obviously go's up a notch.

Looking forward to the challenges!!!

I see round 9 has been penciled in as "rivalry' round!

We at SMS have Bentleigh @ Bentleigh. Should be a ripper!! (hopefully better than last round this year!!)

I see round 9 has been penciled in as "rivalry' round!

We at SMS have Bentleigh @ Bentleigh. Should be a ripper!! (hopefully better than last round this year!!)
Yeah a fair matchup for rivalry round with both coming down from D2.
Are there other notable significance in the other games?
UHS-VU v West Brunswick
Elsternwick v Monash
Power House v Hawthorn
St Johns v St.F.X.
Having not played against any of these clubs before, I'm not sure of any grudge matches or rivalries..

UHS-VU v West Brunswick
Elsternwick v Monash
Power House v Hawthorn
St Johns v St.F.X.
Having not played against any of these clubs before, I'm not sure of any grudge matches or rivalries..

I know UHS-VU and West Brunswick are from the same neck of the woods. Not sure about the others.
I would have thought Elsternwick and Powerhouse would have been a better idea for a rivalry given their close proximity to one another.

UHS-VU v West Brunswick
Elsternwick v Monash
Power House v Hawthorn
St Johns v St.F.X.

I would have thought that West Brunswick & Hawthorn would have been playing in rivalry round, since they've played Grand Finals & they used to dislike each other, but I've been out of the loop for a while - things might have changed

Power House and Hawthorn have a similar recent history including grand finals, etc. West Brunnie would be hard pressed to break the lock that these clubs have on rivalry round. Historically, Power House also have a history with Elsternwick and a few others like Monash that could have also been picked

I know UHS-VU and West Brunswick are from the same neck of the woods. Not sure about the others.
I would have thought Elsternwick and Powerhouse would have been a better idea for a rivalry given their close proximity to one another.

I think they're all based on geography from my (admittedly limited) understanding of where everyone's home ground is. Possible exceptions being the 2 D2 teams and the Powerhouse Vs Hawthorn (perrenial D3 teams - no offence)

At least on this thread there's always something to come on and read, it's never boring.
There's always something or someone to come on and laugh at or about.
I'm looking forward to training session #2 tonight after getting a taste of the new breed of people around the club on Monday.
Hopefully the sun stays out and you can rip the shirt off, Stewie.
See ya there fellas!!

unfortunately im stuck at work doing afternoon shift this week so unable to train. :(

**laugh** thatll be a sight for sore eyes, brother!! ;)

Thanks Stewie, ye we were very happy with wat we achieved last season and hopefully we can give a good show of ourselves in D3.

And we are all looking forward to moving into D3. But we know that we are making a step up a grade and the standard obviously go's up a notch.

Looking forward to the challenges!!!

no worries taskmaster. if you played the way you did from what i read & saw this year then the step up shouldnt prove too difficult.

but then again you may come in for a bit of a "beg your pardon" when you meet us at arthur st... ;)