D3 D3 2010

G'day Buddy, I see you are on here causing trouble.....you must be playing again as you always got a little 'pep in your step' when you were having a kick.

Top 5 battle is a ripper :

For me:

1/ St Johns - best team in it - IMO
2/ La Trobe - very close second.
3/ Powerhouse - some good late season form.
4/ Hoes - hoping we can get another win this week and sneak in.
5/ Albert Park - roughy to get in if they knock over Yarra as they did earlier in the year,

6/ Yarra - have been playing well and will make the job very tougfh for AP's
7/ Wicks - much improved second half of the year, but La trobe last round makes it tough ( although the small ground will not suit the Trobbers).
8/ USH-VU - would need Wicks and Hoes to lose and and AP's to beat Yarra for any chance.....and they would need to fix up West Brunny.

Good luck all....makes for a great last round in 2010.

Chump.

G'day Chump. I would hardly say causing trouble. Although I must say I often attract negative attention on here for some reason.... Blokes like having pot-shots at my harmless comments. :D[/QUOTE]
UHS wont be a challenge for us this week - we got this 8points.

First week of finals grounds announced

Elimination Final 22/08/2010 Scammell Reserve
Qualifying Final 21/08/2010 Sportscover Arena

[FONT=&quot][/FONT] [FONT=&quot]UHS-VU[/FONT][FONT=&quot] vs West Brunswick. There is still a thin shread for the western students to grab an unlikely finals spot and that should propel them to a win.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Elsternwick vs La Trobe University. The Wicks have everything to play for while the Students are probably resigned to the qualifying final. But that shouldn't stop the visitors shooting down the Wicks finals plans.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Albert Park[/FONT][FONT=&quot] vs Yarra Valley. For both teams it's win and pray. This should be a last man standing affair what with the prize at stake. Fancy the home side to get the free pass into the finals.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Hawthorn vs Ivanhoe. The Magpies have come good at the right time and surely can't blow their finals spot on this one.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]St Francis Xavier vs Power House. For the Power it's a win and finals and there should be no doubt.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]St Johns[/FONT][FONT=&quot] vs Kew. Top versus bottom. Is there any doubt?[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Good luck to all teams playing their final season match Saturday.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]UHS-VU[/FONT][FONT=&quot] vs West Brunswick. There is still a thin shread for the western students to grab an unlikely finals spot and that should propel them to a win.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Elsternwick vs La Trobe University. The Wicks have everything to play for while the Students are probably resigned to the qualifying final. But that shouldn't stop the visitors shooting down the Wicks finals plans.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Albert Park[/FONT][FONT=&quot] vs Yarra Valley. For both teams it's win and pray. This should be a last man standing affair what with the prize at stake. Fancy the home side to get the free pass into the finals.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Hawthorn vs Ivanhoe. The Magpies have come good at the right time and surely can't blow their finals spot on this one.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]St Francis Xavier vs Power House. For the Power it's a win and finals and there should be no doubt.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]St Johns[/FONT][FONT=&quot] vs Kew. Top versus bottom. Is there any doubt?[/FONT]

[FONT=&quot]Good luck to all teams playing their final season match Saturday.[/FONT]

Hey mate. The nickname for the Ivanhoe team is the HOES. Not magpies. By the way, this has been mentioned on this forum before. We don't wish to be associated with Collingwood in any way, shape or form. Thankyou.
My tips:
Yarra Valley to beat Albert Park
The HOES to beat the Hawks in a physical contest
St Johns in a training run over Kew
Powerhouse to beat STFX in a closer one than people would think
UHSVU to win against West Brunny
E'wick to beat Latrobe and stay in the finals.

Go Hoes.

Hey mate. The nickname for the Ivanhoe team is the HOES. Not magpies. By the way, this has been mentioned on this forum before. We don't wish to be associated with Collingwood in any way, shape or form. Thankyou.
My tips:

Go Hoes.[/quote]

No wonder nobody on here likes you buddy

G'day Buddy, I see you are on here causing trouble.....you must be playing again as you always got a little 'pep in your step' when you were having a kick.

Top 5 battle is a ripper :

For me:

5/ Albert Park - roughy to get in if they knock over Yarra as they did earlier in the year,

7/ Wicks - much improved second half of the year, but La trobe last round makes it tough ( although the small ground will not suit the Trobbers).
8/ USH-VU - would need Wicks and Hoes to lose and and AP's to beat Yarra for any chance.....and they would need to fix up West Brunny.

Chump.[/quote]

Yarra to make up a game on elsternwick despite losing chump. Interesting

It's a reasonable call Buddy as there is a magpie on our jumper; that's what happens when Collingwood supporters design your jumper (still a good design old Eagle IMO).

[FONT=&quot]UHS-VU[/FONT][FONT=&quot] vs West Brunswick. There is still a thin shread for the western students to grab an unlikely finals spot and that should propel them to a win.[/FONT]

My tips:

Go Hoes.

So what's that on the top masthead of your website, a website which I note hasn't been updated since Round 18 of season 2009 !

LOL. :D

So what's that on the top masthead of your website, a website which I note hasn't been updated since Round 18 of season 2009 !

LOL. :D

G'day McCoy, we're waiting on the National Broadband policy to be finalised before pushing forward with our new improved website;)

It's a reasonable call Buddy as there is a magpie on our jumper; that's what happens when Collingwood supporters design your jumper (still a good design old Eagle IMO).

I would agree Wamba. Also the confusion around the Magpie is further made when you consider it was the Collingwood Football Club that gave Ivanhoe their first set of jumpers many years ago.

Some more History will be revealed on Saturday night when The IAFC celebrates it's 100 years at a gala event. Should be a cracking night.

Hopefully we can enjoy the evening with a win against the Hawks and the knowledge that we have made finals. I predict a physical game that will go down to the wire. The Hawks would love to spoil the party - that's for sure.

Chump.

Chump.

Yarra to make up a game on elsternwick despite losing chump. Interesting[/quote]

Thank you for pointing out this factual error LD...... my apologies for any distress it has caused.

Chump.

I would agree Wamba. Also the confusion around the Magpie is further made when you consider it was the Collingwood Football Club that gave Ivanhoe their first set of jumpers many years ago.

Some more History will be revealed on Saturday night when The IAFC celebrates it's 100 years at a gala event. Should be a cracking night.

Hopefully we can enjoy the evening with a win against the Hawks and the knowledge that we have made finals. I predict a physical game that will go down to the wire. The Hawks would love to spoil the party - that's for sure.

Chump.

Great effort by the hoes to notch up 100. Even greater effort by the chump who has played in most of those games since 1910.

Why did no one tip Elsternwick this week - clearly the form side of the comp. They have lost two games in 10 weeks by a total of 12 points...

mmm Phil - seems like you forgot to review the form of the entire comp and 2 other sides in particular!!!

Where are all our Hoe friends? - this board misses them!!!! Mad Monday I suspect.

No Mad Monday but a lot will be nursing sore heads after a 4am finish for the club's 100 year celebration and a wake from lunchtime yesterday.

In the end we finished where we deserved to be and hope that we get better in years to come as we have some great juniors.

Good luck to all teams competing in the finals.

My tip is St Johns to take the flag and Latrobe to join them in D2 next year although Latrobe are vulnerable at a smaller venue so Elsternwick may take the runners up spot.

No Mad Monday but a lot will be nursing sore heads after a 4am finish for the club's 100 year celebration and a wake from lunchtime yesterday.

In the end we finished where we deserved to be and hope that we get better in years to come as we have some great juniors.

Good luck to all teams competing in the finals.

My tip is St Johns to take the flag and Latrobe to join them in D2 next year although Latrobe are vulnerable at a smaller venue so Elsternwick may take the runners up spot.

Bad luck Wamba. Tough end to a promising season. Good luck for next year.:)

Any Latrobe Uni boys about to explain the slip up on the weekend? Not good form heading into finals, especially against a team it may meet again shortly..Was there any players rested?

From what I saw, no resting about Saturdays' game. The Latrobes were as full as any team can be after a fully wet, cold and tough season. "Danger" Patten was in the goal square, leading strongly, Terry Ludeman, Brad Van Ooi etc. were all running around. After all, they were playing for top spot. Four points and % was all it would take. Slip-up? It was a bit more than that. Elsternwick's third quarter 'into the wind' was brilliant. They rested their twin towers and 'ball-magnet' Mahony in the last and won going away.
I don't think any team in these divisions "rests" players ( except perhaps Werribee or Williamstown and those with unfathomable depth.)
St Johns gets a valuable rest while the other contenders bash about one week ahead.

LaTrobe v Power House on Saturday on the Sportscover looks likely to suit the Bundoora boys for size. If their legs are not too sore from last weeks pressure game. The House, will, no doubt revell in the muddier expanses of the big patch but will not find enough mud to shut down games like they do at Ross Gregory. Brewers for the second semi.

Elsternwick v Albert Park at Scammell Res. Oakleigh. Sundays' game will be a corker. Both teams pretty right for finals and this game will test the depth of talent remaining fit from 18 games so far. Confidence is a vital factor going into finals and the St Kilda Street boys have toiled hard to build their game this season. Cherry ripe to go to the First semi.

St Johns have a ringside seat for the preliminary "bouts". Always an advantage. Hard to see them loosing it from here but that said, it is finals footy.

Ah, after all the posturing, the finals are finally here and the five best teams, well at least they think so, have made it thru to the next round. And what an exciting finals series it promises to be with the four playing this weekend all capable of beating each other.
Elimination Final. Elsternwick vs Albert Park. The Parkers probably go into this match with better recent form although the 'Wicks big win last week will give them plenty of confidence. The teams split results during the year, I really think it is a tos sof the coin game and fancy the Parkers to survive for another week.

Qualifying Final. La Trobe University vs Power House. The Students put in a couple of shockers in the second half of the season including a loss to Power House, while the Power fought some inconsistent form to make it this far. I think the big ground will suit the Students and they should get the chance to play the second semi.

And as I mentioned elsewhere, for tomorrow's other big battle: "Vote early and vote often !"

Ah, after all the posturing, the finals are finally here and the five best teams, well at least they think so, have made it thru to the next round. And what an exciting finals series it promises to be with the four playing this weekend all capable of beating each other.
Elimination Final. Elsternwick vs Albert Park. The Parkers probably go into this match with better recent form although the 'Wicks big win last week will give them plenty of confidence. The teams split results during the year, I really think it is a tos sof the coin game and fancy the Parkers to survive for another week.

Qualifying Final. La Trobe University vs Power House. The Students put in a couple of shockers in the second half of the season including a loss to Power House, while the Power fought some inconsistent form to make it this far. I think the big ground will suit the Students and they should get the chance to play the second semi.

And as I mentioned elsewhere, for tomorrow's other big battle: "Vote early and vote often !"

Bad Call - terrible call - you know nothing about football call....

La Trobe v Powerhouse: La Trobe 4 goals

Elsternwick v Albert Park: Albert Park 6 goals