• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

D4 D4 2008

Rhodes knee wasn't the best, almost pulled out on Thursday night but he/we thought he would get through the game at CHB, decision was left right up to before the game. This ment Finkmeyer at CHB played h/forward and he pulled some big marks down early but didn't convert.
No excuses to table here but just to say AP were far to good and well done to them.

Stewie41: Have only been in D4 for two seasons not three, hopefully next year we can overcome the "collywobble" curse if we make finals again:eek:

thanks for clearing that up tunnel. pity about rhodes because i saw him in last years elimination final & he was your best player on that day.

i wasnt sure about that statistic. no doubt youll make it again... quality sides do!!

12 team d3 in 09. Sholly hinted at it in his column that was so popular during the year.
I was only speculating in my column. I would guess a 12 team A grade(like EFL), or 12 team D1 would be more likely. Either option would create two extra opportunities in a higher grade. Whether this means Swinburne and Latrobe hold their place, or two others get promoted would be up to the powers that be. traditionally teams are saved from relagation, however historically this does not work, as these teams struggle again. It would be better to promote 3rd and 4th from the lower grade IMO. There are also other teams applying for entry, so options like 3 regional D3 of 8 teams(24 total) each also leaps to mind.

I was only speculating in my column. I would guess a 12 team a grade, or 12 team D1 would be more likely. Either option would create two extra opportunities in a higher grade. Whether this means Swinburne and Latrobe hold their place, or two others get promoted would be up to the powers that be. traditionally teams are saved from relagation, however historically this does not work, as these teams struggle again. It would be better to promote 3rd and 4th from the lower grade IMO. There are also other teams applying for entry, so options like 3 regional D3 of 8 teams(24 total) each also leaps to mind.

Top 4 sides are quite even this year.

Trent Hotton? That is a blast from the past! Is Hotto still running around anywhere? He would still be a very very handy footballer

I was about to say the same thing! ... I met him when I was dating a girl that was friends with his wife a while back ... Small world....I hope its the same person.

[/b]

i think rhodes just had an off day but he seemed to handball often instead of kick. i was hoping he would put in a massive game because ive heard so much about his qualities through here.

mount lilydale backmen had no answer to allan & murnane... just too strong the both of them. agree, brown played a blinder from the backline.

What was wrong with Rhodes yesterday? He looked lame. McIndoe also looked a bit injured.

Allen and Murnane were excellent up forward and #60 (Brown?) at Full Back for AP was very good.

Nothing wrong with big Will, just took the advantage of being well in front at 3/4 time to rest the big man for next week.

Great to see Sean Allan get a bag and turn back the clock 5 years when he kicked the ton & Rich Baker have his best game for the year. Great games from Dallas, Maunder, Lyne in the middle and down back Brown Kane, Hansen, Winchester & friends held sway all day.

The Falcons ran Mt Lilydale off their legs after an even first quarter. No injuries and a couple of regular senior players missing through illness leads to interesting selections for this week.

Disappointing for Rhodes to carry an injury into the game & admire the manner in which Mt Lilydale played out the game. The Dead Man wishes them every success for 2009.:thumbsu:

So...

Bad luck to Richmonds reserves... We came out firing, nearly kicked clear a few times in the first half, but very late goals in both quarters kept box hill close. We suffered a few injuries late in the second quarter and didn't come out well in the third quarter. BHN got their confidence, and ran over the top of us.

It must be said though, we were playing just about BHN's senior side from the last time our seniors played them. Nothing wrong with that though. They picked the best side available. We had pretty much our strongest Ressies side for the year and they touched us up in the second half. They should make the GF. Not quite sure if they can win it though, Kew are pretty strong in the twos, and if their seniors don't make the finals then they will easily win the reserves flag.

With the possibillty of 2 new sides I think there is a chance that d3 and d4 could be split in to 3 divisions eg D3 North West , Central , South East. Likelyhood of 24 teams split into 3 divisions of eight. I think this could be better than 2 x 12 team competitions.

Sounds good, but who gets promoted and to which grade? And if the relegated team isn't from the same area as the promoted team, which area will they get put in? Perhaps 3 divisions is a good idea, but they would still need to be in some kind of graded order for promotion and relegation to work.

It would be like the old E grade days - three up three down.

OC ,
Do you think this format could work?
Mate i have absolutely nothing to do with the powers that be other than writing an article for free for them, so I'd better set that straight. I do hear things, but have heard nothing but rumours from other clubs on this one.

In my opinion- i think it would work. At least for a few years until things settled. It would help with travel costs(particularly considering petrol costs), and it would increase the likelihood of moving through the grades/It is possible though that the league may have a 12 team grade in A grade like the EFL(though this would still allow another 12 team grade elsewhere- we can only wait and see.

The only format I see working is:
12 Team D4 - 3 Up
12 Team D3 - 2 up, 3 down
The three division E grade did work quite well a few years back RM. helped a few clubs get a leg up into higher grades.. Take Old Carey for example- G grade to E white to D1 in 3 years- equivelant of clubbies to D1 in the same time frame

This system would not maintain parity amongst the divisions. You would have a very good side playing a crap side every second week.

I agree with Sholley in that D4's numbers should be reduced to provide a more even season. This would mean 12 in D1 or D3 or whatever, and 8 or 9 in D4.

This system would not maintain parity amongst the divisions. You would have a very good side playing a crap side every second week.

I agree with Sholley in that D4's numbers should be reduced to provide a more even season. This would mean 12 in D1 or D3 or whatever, and 8 or 9 in D4.

It happens now. I don't believe the gap between the grades is that great. 3 out of the 4 sides playing d3 finals have all been d4 clubs in the last few years. Eltham's side from last year looks quite similar and they are through to the prelim in d3.

An example of this could be (minus Willi and Hawthorn who look d2 bound)

South East

South Mornington
St Francis
Mount Lilydale
Bentleigh
Syndal
Elsternwick
Monash Gryphons
St Johns

Central
Powerhouse
Albert Park
West Brunswick
Swinburne
Uni High
St Mary's
North Brunswick

North East
Box Hill North
Latrobe
Eltham
Eley Park
Bulleen
Kew
Dragons ???

New teams would be required but the Travel factor wouldn't be an issue. Don't shoot me down it was just an idea.

It happens now. I don't believe the gap between the grades is that great. 3 out of the 4 sides playing d3 finals have all been d4 clubs in the last few years. Eltham's side from last year looks quite similar and they are through to the prelim in d3.
My question Crazy is still what would happen with relegation/promotion? If the Premiers of all three zones were promoted but the bottom 3 in the grade above were (hypothetically) OW, Therry and Werribee which one of these would join the south east group? Would they just rearrange all three zones every year? I don't know how it worked back in the E grade days.
If the grade above was still a 10 team comp, is relegating 3 a good idea or no big deal in people's opinion??

An example of this could be (minus Willi and Hawthorn who look d2 bound)

South East

South Mornington
St Francis
Mount Lilydale
Bentleigh
Syndal
Elsternwick
Monash Gryphons
St Johns

Central
Powerhouse
Albert Park
West Brunswick
Swinburne
Uni High
St Mary's
North Brunswick

North East
Box Hill North
Latrobe
Eltham
Eley Park
Bulleen
Kew
Dragons ???

New teams would be required but the Travel factor wouldn't be an issue. Don't shoot me down it was just an idea.

Pretty bloody good crazy.....locations are right etc.

Only thing is, the whole proposal goes against the Ammo's beleifs, that the cream should rise to the top. Thats why we have the divis and the promotion and relegation.

BUT: Are you guys suggesting the 3 grades are "equel" and whoever wins the flag in each division is promoted and the bottom 3 from D2 are relegated? What if 2 of those sides have to go to the same zone? (Would be rare I know) OR: Do we have a superbowl type playoff series with the 3 premiers to see who goes up? It would make sense and be a ripper series but Uncle Mike would never allow that.

What about a breakaway league? MFL - Melb footy league? Biz Waz can be the first prez??? We can make the league in our own image......

Sorry about the rant......