• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

D4 D4 2008

There are many Massive games looming... RC v SFX, SFX v ML, BHN v RC, AP v ML, ML v RC, AP v BHN ... All of these games are vital for a teams finals positioning/aspirations... I haven't seen Kew yet so I'm assuming they kick ass and won't lose any more games except to WB!

I don't think BHN play AP again.

when we played against bhn they had 2 grounds the one we played on which was sh1t to say the least and another 1 heaps green next to it. we asked why we wernt playin on the better they said cause its 15m shorter. i kno id prefer to play on a slightly shorter ground that got a better surface then the sh1t one we did play on

If you played, you may have warmed up on the other ground. You would have quickly realised how dangerous it was and still is.

The ground the game was played on is the ground that is 15 m shorter than the one we do not use.

When asking for our annual tenancy we must stipulate which ground we will play on, this decision must be made in January. We can not play on the other ground if we wanted to.

Three weeks prior to the Mt L game at Elgar Park our ground had a lovely covering of cooch grass. The centre corridor was a dream.
Enter the council who spray poisen on it to kill some worm that the crows like. The cooch that we (not the council) planted over 5 years ago, was then cut to dirt level, ripping out what the poisen had not killed.
At our own expense we nutured that cooch for 5 years, to where it covered 70% of the ground. Yeah, it's a real joy having Whitehorse Council as your slum lord.

On a much brighter note, Affy Odza will play his 250th game for BHN this Saturday.
One of the fairest players ever to pull on a boot, there would not be many who have not marvelled at his skill over the years. And at 34 he is still baulking and dodging like a kid playing u/14s.

His courage to come back from an injury to his throat a few years back (yes the one inflicted by a Hawthorn player) has been an inspiration to all at BHN.

Aff is very much looking forward to playing his 250th against his old mate Lorenzo. There is a rumour he wants to wind back the clock and put in a 40 possesion game to show his former team mate he can still turn it on.
Actually it is not a rumour. Those who know Affy well will understand he is still his own best publicist.

I for one hope he can do that. We need the win.

SFX still sniping at BHN?
Give it a rest... I doubt there's a finals showdown between the two. BHN are dead in the water, no use kicking them while they're down.
wasnt sniping at all just a question i was wandering about. i wouldnt write them off still a bit to go anything can happen

Tips:
North Brun will get a boost from there narrow win... but Mt Lily will smack them out of it.
(8 goals)
Box Hill North will grind the Cobras into the remnants of poisoned cooch on their oval
(6 goals)
WB to break all records after five South Mornington players get Saturday detentions
(30 goals)
AP swoop down and peck out the sharks' eyes in the battle of the parks.
(2 goals)
SFX to roll and burn S.T.H.
(15 goals)
Not even Barry White can save RC from Kew's whacking sticks.
(10 goals)

Tips:
North Brun will get a boost from there narrow win... but Mt Lily will smack them out of it.
(8 goals)
Box Hill North will grind the Cobras into the remnants of poisoned cooch on their oval
(6 goals)
WB to break all records after five South Mornington players get Saturday detentions
(30 goals)
AP swoop down and peck out the sharks' eyes in the battle of the parks.
(2 goals)
SFX to roll and burn S.T.H.
(15 goals)
Not even Barry White can save RC from Kew's whacking sticks.
(10 goals)

Could get very ugly at Brunswick on saturday.

What happened in the top-of-the-table (almost) clash between St Francis and West Brunswick? Few fireworks??

Jess Mathers, St Francis Xavier. Abuse/threats of umpire, 2 matches.
Jess Mathers, St Francis Xavier. Disputing umpire's decision, 1 match (cumulative).

*Luke Curry, St. Francis Xavier. Striking, 2 matches.

What happened in the top-of-the-table (almost) clash between St Francis and West Brunswick? Few fireworks??

Jess Mathers, St Francis Xavier. Disputing umpire's decision, 1 match (cumulative).

Also - Michael Rhodes, Mt Lilydale. Striking, 2 matches.

There goes his chances for the league medal.

TIPS ROUND 11:

Nth.B V Mt.L----Mt.L to bounce back by 10 goals
B.H.N V Bull.C----B.H.N by 5 goals
W.B V Sth.M----Gee poor buggers, W.B by F#cking plenty
A.P V E.P----A.P just by 2 goal
S.F.X V S.T.HO----S.F.X easy, 15 goals
Kew V R.C----Kew by around 10 goals
:thumbsdown::thumbsu:

The SFX boys were getting frustrated with the umpires and a few decisions that were being awarded to wb not to much aggro between teams
Mathers was shown a black card after being shown a red card for swearing at the ump i think, Curry got shown a red for hitting a bloke in the last qtr frustration i think at his inability to play footy

what is the go with with the card structure and the introduction of the black card which is the equivalent to any other leagues red card
why not just have the vcfl system of
yellow card off for 15 min no replacement in that time
red card off for game no replacement

The SFX boys were getting frustrated with the umpires and a few decisions that were being awarded to wb not to much aggro between teams
Mathers was shown a black card after being shown a red card for swearing at the ump i think, Curry got shown a red for hitting a bloke in the last qtr frustration i think at his inability to play footy

what is the go with with the card structure and the introduction of the black card which is the equivalent to any other leagues red card

Thanks for clearing up happenings from the weekend.

My understanding is the VAFA have an extra level of send off - the first yellow card is a 15 min breather with the offender being able to be replaced. red is 15 mins, no replacement and black is the equiv of the VCFL red. And it would be too simple to use a system that has been used elsewhere successfully for years.

I think yellow is players off 4 15, replacement allowed, red is off for 15, no replacement, and black, well thats off for the game no replacement and a report to the tribunal.. Any resident umps? waz from ur "high Hide" like in the lost world?

Fair sledge Iceman. Things seem to be pretty rosey down at west at the moment.

Kew don't seem to be doing it too tough either - hoping to slip into second spot quietly while the spotlight is on the World Beaters?

At least some will be revealed next weekend.

SFX don't appear to be too far behind according to the scoreboard (other than the last couple of weeks). Are the outed players going to make a difference in the next few games?

And will there be any upsets involving Mt L, AP and Richmond? Could prove the difference between 4th, 5th and no love come finals.

and that is why i dont umpire. NFI.

To be fair, it *was* 15 minutes real-time last year, but has been changed to 12 minutes + time-on this year. Allegedly when some superstars were sent off, balls were being deliberately kicked out of the park, injuries feigned etc etc to soak up the 15 minutes.*

* May or may not be true

Kew don't seem to be doing it too tough either - hoping to slip into second spot quietly while the spotlight is on the World Beaters?

At least some will be revealed next weekend.

SFX don't appear to be too far behind according to the scoreboard (other than the last couple of weeks). Are the outed players going to make a difference in the next few games?

And will there be any upsets involving Mt L, AP and Richmond? Could prove the difference between 4th, 5th and no love come finals.

We are only looking at Richmond at the moment. They were very impressive last week so we need to be right on our game or we will get jumped like last week. Nuske and Whiting have kicked a lot of goals this year so are capable of kicking large scores when they are on song.