D4 D4 2009

hmmm - are kew slipping? do they have injuries? surely it could not be a simple case of Eley Park being a decent side. maybe a little better than the simpletons on this blog give them credit for. ask kew what they think. after what i saw - good luck to all who face the sharks at home. by the way i was there in a scouting capacity. i am not a shark by any means. but queitly impressed by their hardness at the ball. many options. funnily enough i'll be at la trobe next week.

Great win by the sharks and I'm just a simpleton however 'decent sides' don't normally get beaten by 77 points, 77 points and 139 points in the past month .
Don't know how successful your 'scounting' will be next week at La Trobe given the break.

He spat on the ground in the general direction of the other player. Other player said there was nothing in it yet still got two weeks. Go Figure

TIPS
Sth V MT Lilydale MTL by 10+goals (South proved last week they are no good against good sides
NB V BHN BHN by 2 goals
RICH V LTU LTU by plenty
HAM V SWIN Swin by 10 goals
AP V CHAD AP by plenty
EP V Kew Kew by 10 goals

MTL x 13g......Bigwaz said that MTL would be to slow for the young SM team, we play them this week so how did they beat you? I'm told that the MTL captain and vc, Rhodes and many other key players didn't play.

Great win over Q, now for the mountain men

hmmm - are kew slipping? do they have injuries? surely it could not be a simple case of Eley Park being a decent side. maybe a little better than the simpletons on this blog give them credit for. ask kew what they think. after what i saw - good luck to all who face the sharks at home. by the way i was there in a scouting capacity. i am not a shark by any means. but queitly impressed by their hardness at the ball. many options. funnily enough i'll be at la trobe next week.

do you mean scouting or poaching?

MTL x 13g......Bigwaz said that MTL would be to slow for the young SM team, we play them this week so how did they beat you? I'm told that the MTL captain and vc, Rhodes and many other key players didn't play.

Great win over Q, now for the mountain men[/quote]

Gee, the E.Park boys have jumped on the forum big time, with three E.Park fellas throwing up posts as 'newbies'......Good on 'em it was a great win by thier mob at home against a good outfit in Kew.
I also did not give you guys a chance and stand corrected.
I look forward to hosting E.Park at Mt.L in two weeks time as we have had some cracking games in the last couple of years and good to see the Viola bro's playing good footy.:thumbsu:

Maybe my old 'mate' yellowblue can let the forum no about the slow Mt.L boys!!!;)

Always enjoy having a read through here ...

Not exactly sure that northwichvic is an EP-related newbie ... at least if the http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=11483778#post11483778 post is anything to go on!

please - as much as i enjoyed their game on saturday - don't put me in with that lot. had a couple of experiences throughout the years at shark park. their previous captain had a vicious smell about him. not sure what he'd been up to.

Great win over Q, now for the mountain men

Gee, the E.Park boys have jumped on the forum big time, with three E.Park fellas throwing up posts as 'newbies'......Good on 'em it was a great win by thier mob at home against a good outfit in Kew.
I look forward to hosting E.Park at Mt.L in two weeks time as we have had some cracking games in the last couple of years and good to see the Viola bro's playing good footy.:thumbsu:

Maybe my old 'mate' yellowblue can let the forum no about the slow Mt.L boys!!!;)[/quote]

Hey Sneako -
Let’s look at this MTL 'Slow' debate that our good friend Bigwaz has brought to the table. It could be said that at certain games this year MTL have not been as pacey as their opposition. But that said it can be easy to assume a side is slow when in fact they are being outclassed in the midfield or on other lines and that can make that team as a whole look slow.
I personally believe that when RICH played MTL in round 3 it was not pace that was the difference it was determination on RICH's behalf and other factors that I wont mention (as I may be accused of making excuses).
As I glance over the MTL team that defeated Sth Mornington on Saturday I see a mixture of age and youthful pace that I would not classify as slow. - but I am bias.

Maybe my old 'mate' yellowblue can let the forum no about the slow Mt.L boys!!!;)

Hey Sneako -
Let’s look at this MTL 'Slow' debate that our good friend Bigwaz has brought to the table. It could be said that at certain games this year MTL have not been as pacey as their opposition. But that said it can be easy to assume a side is slow when in fact they are being outclassed in the midfield or on other lines and that can make that team as a whole look slow.
I personally believe that when RICH played MTL in round 3 it was not pace that was the difference it was determination on RICH's behalf and other factors that I wont mention (as I may be accused of making excuses).
As I glance over the MTL team that defeated Sth Mornington on Saturday I see a mixture of age and youthful pace that I would not classify as slow. - but I am bias.

I only said MTL would be too slow for SM, thats because I thought SM were lightning according to other match reports.... Apparently not!

More news to come!

According to the VAFA, only 1 team will be relegated from D3 in 2009, and 3 D4 sides will be promoted!

Is this fair dinkum? Just had a look on the VAFA website - nothing there.

This was the big rumour that was going around late last year, as Southern FL was tipped to close down their Div 3 & only play 2 Divisions. They were going to shunt a couple of teams to the VAFA & a couple were going to fold meaning on 1 team was to be relegated to D3& D4.

Where are you getting your info from BigWaz, or are you just trying to get some discussion going in slow news week? :)

Is this fair dinkum? Just had a look on the VAFA website - nothing there.

This was the big rumour that was going around late last year, as Southern FL was tipped to close down their Div 3 & only play 2 Divisions. They were going to shunt a couple of teams to the VAFA & a couple were going to fold meaning on 1 team was to be relegated to D3& D4.

Where are you getting your info from BigWaz, or are you just trying to get some discussion going in slow news week? :)

A letter has come out from the big man at the VAFA.

I only said MTL would be too slow for SM, thats because I thought SM were lightning according to other match reports.... Apparently not!

More news to come!

When SM played EP they were far to quick on that day, and when EP played MTL in a practice match earlier in the year, even though they beat us MTL didn't look to have any pace, their talls beat us on the day.

Anyway who will be undefeated after next round, I'll go La Trobe at home on the "G".

Will be a very interesting match, if AP can win it out of the middle I don't think LTU have the talls to match up on AP's forwardline.

When SM played EP they were far to quick on that day, and when EP played MTL in a practice match earlier in the year, even though they beat us MTL didn't look to have any pace, their talls beat us on the day.

Anyway who will be undefeated after next round, I'll go La Trobe at home on the "G".

It should be a very close game. I think if anything, Albert Park is a bigger, taller side than latrobe. Latrobe has a quality side, but not a large side. Shouldn't be anything in game I reckon.

Latrobe's 4th quarter was too good for Richmond on Saturday. Considering there was a three (or so) goal breeze we thought we were in a good spot down just 11 points at the start of the last with the wind behind us.

Bugger it!

It should be a very close game. I think if anything, Albert Park is a bigger, taller side than latrobe. Latrobe has a quality side, but not a large side. Shouldn't be anything in game I reckon.

Latrobe's 4th quarter was too good for Richmond on Saturday. Considering there was a three (or so) goal breeze we thought we were in a good spot down just 11 points at the start of the last with the wind behind us.

Bugger it!

Lets just hope AP can get a few of there top players back for this one would like to see the best 2 sides with a full compliment of players going head to head although i dont think it will happen with a few long term injuries. Should be a great hit out anyway good to see the depth

sm v ml south to rebound this week after an embarrassing showing against the front runners. ml will lack the pace to keep up with the young kids. smc by 5 goals.nb v bhn this game will be as close as it gets. i think sneako may be right, rm to be the difference after a few weeks rest. bhn by e point.rc v ltu surely match of the round. if we can hang with these guys at home we'll be looking good. rc by 1 point.man v swin swinburne will just be too big for man to handle. they are still hunting a premiership and have too much at stake to lose this. swin by 5 goals.ap v the chad ap by 20 plus goals. no contest. ap has so many players they're telling the stragglers to shove off. good situation to be in. ep v kew i agree kew will be too tall and physical for ep. bears by 10 goals.reserves: sm, nb, rc!, man (upset?), ap, kew.

Dunno about this comment there Bigwaz, dunno of many clubs that would tell players to shove off i know that hasn't happend at AP. Players were told they will all get a game and that there will be rotations to enable this to happen happen. Yes good position to be in with so many numbers but to be expected a few guys get upset and go elsewhere coz they arent getting a regular game (fair enough) but no club would tell them to shove off. More people the better, but how do u manage a big list? I think they have done it very well and is a credit to them. But game on from here

You guys must have had enough for club XVIII then? Its a shame to see so many players miss out each week I reckon. As i've mentioned before, a few years back, Hawthorn were telling players that rocked up to go play for another side to get a game. They had 90 on the track regularly from what I recall. Rediculous!

Pretty sure thats been enquired about thru the league. Dont know the reasons why it was knocked back and i hear its also pretty costly but from my understanding they have tried, as we want all guys having a kick every weekend

Lets just hope AP can get a few of there top players back for this one would like to see the best 2 sides with a full compliment of players going head to head although i dont think it will happen with a few long term injuries. Should be a great hit out anyway good to see the depth

tossin up the excuses a little early there bomber!
i dont think any club is lucky enough to have their full compliment of top players available at any stage

tossin up the excuses a little early there bomber!
i dont think any club is lucky enough to have their full compliment of top players available at any stage
Not an excuse at all mate as im fully aware that most clubs dont have their full compliment. I was saying would be good to see them both have their full compliment of players in that game. Anyway will be a great fast flowing, full of running game but i'm still confident the AP boys can come away with the chocs with there strong forward line.

Whats this club 18 stuff anyway. Sorry for my ignorance but im new to VAFA and have heard this stuff mentioned. Im assuming its a kick and giggle league??. What are the costs of having a team in this league. I'm sure someone on here can fill me in coz i cant be stuffed looking on the VAFA website :thumbsu:

Basically its 3rds.... The VAFA provides all the normal services... You take it as seriously as you like I suppose. Most higher level clubs have club XVIII players who try to make reserves, who try to make seniors...

Clubbies is for the following:

* Older guys who still want to have a kick
* Younger guys who a) can't train or b) won't train
* Left over players from the reserves and under 19's.

Fees are about $3,000 per year. There are 15 games in the season.

Standard varies depending on Div 1, 2, North and South. Top sides in Div 1 (old xav's) would beat the lower teams in seniors D4.

Round 8 Tips

Chadstone vs North Brunswick - Someone to lose their cherry this week and I am going with NB by 2 goals.

Manningham vs Box Hill North - BHN by 1 point

La Trobe vs Albert Park - La Trobe by 2 goals with La Trobe's superior Ruck division being the difference.

Mt Lilydale vs Eley Park - Eley park coming off their best win since joining D4. Mt Lilydale are also coming off a very good win. Home ground advantage will be the difference, Mt Lilydale by 2 goals.

Swinburne vs South Mornington - South Mornington don't have the back line to stop Yaman and the suspension of Scott Smith will hinder South's ability to win ball out of the middle. Swinburne by 7 goals.

Kew vs Richmond - Very tough game to call. The extra weeks rest will help Kew (Horne) more than RC. Kew by 2 goals.