List Mgmt. Dan Gorringe requests trade to Port Adelaide

Trade week is over.
/thread

Not a good look for who? It's an internet forum where the main topic is football.

The club, supporters are part of the club. Collingwood supporters have an image which reflects partly (badly) on the club. I hope most opposition supporters see us as a passionate, committed supporter base who are reasonable.

Talking footy doesn't mean you have to be disrespectful.

The club, supporters are part of the club. Collingwood supporters have an image which reflects partly (badly) on the club. I hope most opposition supporters see us as a passionate, committed supporter base who are reasonable.

Talking footy doesn't mean you have to be disrespectful.
Nothing that happens on BigFooty reflects badly on the club.

On the supporters what have we supposed to have done wrong? We were royally ****ed over by umpires not just in the prelim, but in many other games this year, and have taken it on the chin. Pretty much every person in the AFL has mouthed off about us at some point. We were going to finish last in 2013, then we were going to fall off the wagon at 5:0, then we weren't going to make the finals, then we were just making up the numbers, then Geelong were going to kill us, then we were going to regress to old ways in 2014, we were not the real deal at 2:1, we we're getting ahead of ourselves at 11:1, we were falling off the wagon, we were making up the numbers in the 8, we weren't going to be quite good enough to get over the line in the semi, we were been shown up by Hawthorn, we are toothless, feral bogans. Most people are on our side now, and will claim to have been all along, but in reality very few got on us early and stayed on for the entire journey. We are the most irrationally maligned club in the comp. I think we have been pretty well behaved under the circumstances, and would challenge anyone to suggest clubs would behave better. If Essendon finish 3rd next year, we won't hear the end of it for 100 years. I am all for humility, but that doesn't mean you have to take shit from people.

I don't really understand the major reaction to that article. He really didn't need to go public but I can understand that he was probably told we would do as much as we can and he was probably told exactly the sort of offers we'd put on the table to ensure we got the deal done. So if we couldn't get it done then I can understand his disappointment.

At the end of the day he shouldn't go public like he has, but at the same time we complain we get vanilla players who don't speak the truth and when one actually does, and shows he is upset he couldn't get here we rip into him.

As far as I'm concerned if he is on the market next year and Ken believes his personality will fit then he will still be welcome.

Have heard from my best sauce

37 for Gorringe (and an upgrade of later picks in favour of GC) was good to go from early on in Trade Week but we didn't pull the trigger due to not wanting to lose Ryder

fair enough IMO

Edit:

37 was then going to be packaged with another pick of GC's for an earlier pick upgrade, unsure of what club/pick

So he signed a new deal with GC and "promises" weren't kept. He wanted to come to Port and "promises" weren't kept.

Don't know him from a bar of soap or heard him speak previously but have seen and spoken to my CEO and coach and would back them in that they aren't liars.

I wish Mr Gorringe the best of luck. Hope he has a long successful career. Might need a bit of maturity and work on his EQ I think.

I don't really understand the major reaction to that article. He really didn't need to go public but I can understand that he was probably told we would do as much as we can and he was probably told exactly the sort of offers we'd put on the table to ensure we got the deal done. So if we couldn't get it done then I can understand his disappointment.

At the end of the day he shouldn't go public like he has, but at the same time we complain we get vanilla players who don't speak the truth and when one actually does, and shows he is upset he couldn't get here we rip into him.

As far as I'm concerned if he is on the market next year and Ken believes his personality will fit then he will still be welcome.

We want to see colourful characters. Prime example

Publically calling people from Port liars, saying their behaviour was disgusting, and saying you don't want to play for them any more after they approached you the year before and you backed out just makes you look like a dick, not colourful, not honest, just a dick. clubs put up with dicks if they are gun players, Gorringe is not a gun. That tells me everything I need to know.

There was no 100% guarantee we would have got Ryder either, we all entertained the thought at one time the deal with us could go wrong.
Gorringe has no avenue of complaint here, the fact that he has attacked the club that he backed out of last year and the club that was doing all it could to get him here this year despite the uncertainty of trade week and the fact that he attacked those who had a shot at him for wanting out in the first place tells me the problem is not squarely with all the things surrounding this guy but the problem is this guy himself.

Ken says quality people at Alberton is a priority which does not go well with Gorringe at this point.
This dude has more to work on than just his game and should not think that any football club these days owes him anything!
Pass him over and leave him for dead unless he pulls something serious out of the box.

I disagree with this. We obviously let the boy down. We seemed very confident we would get both deals done to about 24 hours to go (see TSWs posts and every official word from the club at the time).

If we were never going to put pressure on a player to be involved in a trade and were just going to hope we had 37 and that would do, we should have been honest and come out and said we doubt a deal could be done.

For him to say we lied is an emotional response to less than transparent dealings by us. He has a point, he just didn't express it professionally.

As for the "dickhead test" you guys trust Ken to the hilt about almost anything. He spent 2 years with the guy. If ken wanted him he is no dickhead.

My take is that (whether that was him or his dad) he is a bitterly disappointed young man not to be playing for Port. Make no mistake, if we want players to stick their necks out and nominate us, we have to do much more than hope magically we have the currency to trade. We let him down.

I think the posters getting into him above are the disgrace. His crime is wanting to play for Port. His/fathers post is over the top and emotional because he's talking about HIS LIFE, not his part time hobby.

I want people to want to play for us as much as this boy did and I want us to be up front and realistic with trade targets and not unrealistic like we were with him.

I'm sorry, but this is bullshit. He's a ****ing sook. He's obviously gone through life being shielded from any disappointment and having everything that he wants fall into his lap. The first time he misses out he has a meltdown. His father's reaction shows exactly who to blame for his exaggerated sense of entitlement.
Bridge burnt. Bullet dodged. Next year target someone with good character.

I've worked in the transport industry for over 30 years and one of the things I learnt early was never burn your bridges. I've left jobs and bosses I couldn't stand but in only one instance have I ever sprayed the company I worked for and it was at them not publicly.

I have nearly always left with a handshake and on good terms in an industry that is a lot more widespread than the industry Dan is a part of. The reason for that, as widespread as transport is that every one talks to every one else. If you spray a company to the next employer then it is going to get back to them and memories are long.

The point is, that whilst I can understand the disappointment, in an industry as close as the AFL is, for Dan to spray Port like that publicly tells other clubs that he has an attitude problem and his football had better be GAJ standard for clubs to overlook that, as most clubs will see it as shortcoming, ie if you can't handle that kind of setback off the field, how are you going to handle pressure on the field.

As for dad having a spray, you have done your son a huge disservice but then to get on a public forum and say sorry I didn't mean it doesn't cut it. You are supposed to be a role model, yet you have shown yourself to be as petulant as your child.

Edited to add: I was going to tag Mr Gorringe in this post to give us his side of the story but I wasn't sure of the board rules regarding that.

I've worked in the transport industry for over 30 years and one of the things I learnt early was never burn your bridges. I've left jobs and bosses I couldn't stand but in only one instance have I ever sprayed the company I worked for and it was at them not publicly.

I have nearly always left with a handshake and on good terms in an industry that is a lot more widespread than the industry Dan is a part of. The reason for that, as widespread as transport is that every one talks to every one else. If you spray a company to the next employer then it is going to get back to them and memories are long.

The point is, that whilst I can understand the disappointment, in an industry as close as the AFL is, for Dan to spray Port like that publicly tells other clubs that he has an attitude problem and his football had better be GAJ standard for clubs to overlook that, as most clubs will see it as shortcoming, ie if you can't handle that kind of setback off the field, how are you going to handle pressure on the field.

As for dad having a spray, you have done your son a huge disservice but then to get on a public forum and say sorry I didn't mean it doesn't cut it. You are supposed to be a role model, yet you have shown yourself to be as petulant as your child.
They don't need Port Adelaide mate.They are greater than any club.

People are missing the comment about talking to Crows but they went different direction. So we weren't even his first choice, moreso only choice in Adelaide.

Anyway, Rhode is gone next year, so if we want him next year then easy to blame rhode

He would burst into tears.

Leave-britney-alone-o_%281%29.gif

I don't understand how Adelaide come out of this so clean, if he wanted to vent. Adelaide inquired about him early in the trade period, he picked Port, then they came out and said he had competitiveness issues and wasn't the right fit. I guess he can't dump on 2 clubs in one day.

Edited to add: I was going to tag Mr Gorringe in this post to give us his side of the story but I wasn't sure of the board rules regarding that.
I for one am not worried about rule breaking. If he has willingly put himself in the public sphere then it's okay. It's not for abuse or anything of the sort, but rather to hear his perspective. This thread really only has 1 side of the story. MarkGorringe

I disagree with this. We obviously let the boy down. We seemed very confident we would get both deals done to about 24 hours to go (see TSWs posts and every official word from the club at the time).

If we were never going to put pressure on a player to be involved in a trade and were just going to hope we had 37 and that would do, we should have been honest and come out and said we doubt a deal could be done.

For him to say we lied is an emotional response to less than transparent dealings by us. He has a point, he just didn't express it professionally.

As for the "dickhead test" you guys trust Ken to the hilt about almost anything. He spent 2 years with the guy. If ken wanted him he is no dickhead.

My take is that (whether that was him or his dad) he is a bitterly disappointed young man not to be playing for Port. Make no mistake, if we want players to stick their necks out and nominate us, we have to do much more than hope magically we have the currency to trade. We let him down.

I think the posters getting into him above are the disgrace. His crime is wanting to play for Port. His/fathers post is over the top and emotional because he's talking about HIS LIFE, not his part time hobby.

I want people to want to play for us as much as this boy did and I want us to be up front and realistic with trade targets and not unrealistic like we were with him.
Agreed.

I for one am not worried about rule breaking. If he has willingly put himself in the public sphere then it's okay. It's not for abuse or anything of the sort, but rather to hear his perspective. This thread really only has 1 side of the story. MarkGorringe
Probably just a Camry flog playing funny buggers