Vic Daniel Andrews and the Statue of Limitations

Iā€™ve never understood why people take the piss out of this slogan. Considering what it stands for and means.

Pretty distasteful donā€™t you think?
Actually RUOK is a bullshit corporate event that trivialises actual issues

It means nothing and stands for nothing

The event is distasteful

Iā€™m assuming youā€™re talking about RUOK day? Thatā€™s just a very small part of it. Peetoo knows he was taking the piss out of mental health, hence he changed his post.

The event is distasteful
In a previous job the OH&S represntative was also the RUOK one

Most believed that he was on the spectrum and had limited insight into his own behaviour let alone insight, imagination or empathy into anybody else's

He was also a gossip monger of monumental proportions (worse than a groups of tradies sitting round at smoko) and nobody would confide in him anything least it be fed back to management in whispered closed door discussions

We always had posters om every simple door and in the break room though

Iā€™m assuming youā€™re talking about RUOK day? Thatā€™s just a very small part of it. Peetoo knows he was taking the piss out of mental health, hence he changed his post.
The whole thing is bullshit someone using RUOK anytime is not someone who is equipped for the answer not to be yes

peetoo makes very little sense to me at the best of times though

You can support close colleagues in many ways without the RUOK stuff. For workers in the same organisation you donā€™t really know, itā€™s fairly blunt instrument just hope their colleagues are supportive in times of need.

But when they said we should be on the lookout when we were only seeing people on teams? That was just counter intuitive

A statue no less? Just to rub it in to the families who unnecessarily lost loved ones over COVID lock-downs and businesses that went broke. They better put this statue on top of the Eureka building because it won't last anywhere else! What an insult to every single Victorian.
1727709721588.jpg

Even worse than Jeff "I worship Hawthorn hawks" Kennet?
People on the left side of politics will say Dan was better than Jeff, and vice versa. For me there was no comparison. Jeff inherited a mess and tried to fix it, getting himself voted out after two terms. He took his just desserts and moved on. He's now an old and largely irrelevant man.

Jeff also had a sense of humour. I recall in about 1995 or 1996 a group of us were on one of those charity walks around Albert Park Lake, and at the end of the walk Jeff sidled up to us for a chat and laugh. We were nobodies. He was just enjoying himself and mingling with the throngs. My point is you would never ever have seen Dan mix with the public like that. Everything was scripted for him and he simply would not put himself in a situation where he did not have absolute control.

The financial mess Dan has created and the absolute deterioration in transparency under his government far outweigh anything Jeff's government did. And you need to remember Kennett inherited what at the time was a shocking mess left behind by another Labor government, whereas Dan inherited a state in good financial state. Dan may have had the best intentions with his Big Build initiatives, but because everything was rushed with no due diligence, and because of the "CFMEU factor" for which I blame Labor 100%, good initiatives have become costly time bombs.

born and raised in a regional area that was absolutely ripped apart and destroyed by kennett ... spare me the glowing history revision of that a$$hole
Kennett's strategy seemed to be austerity, cut funding (particularly if you were, say, in the arts and criticised his government), sack everyone, sell everything.

There were literally public servants in 1992 who didn't do anything. Under Cain departments just made bids for money and they got approved. The State Bank of Victoria was sold by Kirner, who allowed poker machines and began the casino process (because they had no money).

Kennett had no choice but to sell everything. Kirner and Cain were buying things with money that wasn't their own and that they didn't have.

Kennett having no choice is such a lie

it was a massive wealth transfer to his private sector mates

its not like Labor don't also do that

but we've had decades of public assets sold off to private interests and the states are getting poorer and life is getting worse for everyone

and they keep selling and leasing more stuff off

its a massive rort

There were literally public servants in 1992 who didn't do anything.
And there were many who did. Teachers, for instance.

Under Cain departments just made bids for money and they got approved.
Honestly I don't know much about the Cain government. I was talking about Kennett.

"At this time unions and other left-wing organisations coined the term "Jeffed" as a euphemism for words connotating deception and abuse. The term refers to Jeffrey Kennett. It was a very common phrase on placards and other public slogans in rallies at the time."

The State Bank of Victoria was sold by Kirner, who allowed poker machines and began the casino process (because they had no money).
These are facts, yes.

If I do a little Wikipedia reading (this was all 25+ years ago), I see Kirner also introduced the first endangered species protection legislation.

Kennett closed tech schools and sacked 7,000 teachers. Skills shortages ensued. Skilled migration followed.

So, really, if people are having a spit about migration into Victoria in the 10's and beyond (and whatever social, infrastructure, and housing issues they think arose from that)...

You cannot ignore the legacy of Cain and Kirner governments when assessing Kennett.

From 1990:

"THE resignation of John Cain as Premier could well be the final, crowning disaster for Victoria. That's because the State has as serious a financial crisis as any government in Australia's history and, to fix it, it will have to sell assets, lay off employees to cut costs and increase charges.

If Joan Kirner becomes Premier - as seemed certain last night - then for the next two years all those things won't happen, only the last of them. She will resist privatisation and, because of her union links, will not cut costs through staff reductions.

The burden of the State's problems will fall upon increases in business taxes and businesses will leave town. In short, the prognosis for the Garden State would look even worse.

But whoever is Premier next week may have an unpleasant duty: announcing the prospect of between $1.3 billion and $1.9 billion in new losses from the State Bank and the Farrow Group...

Add to those the losses of $795 million already announced by the SBV and -perhaps a little unfairly - John Cain's legacy will be losses of about $2.5 billion from Tricontinental and Farrow. "Unfairly" because he was let down by others whom he trusted, and he has paid the price."

Vic Daniel Andrews and the Statue of Limitations