Past Daniel Bradshaw (1996-2009)

Re: Daniel Bradshaw

Link

Landing clearance for round one
9:42 AM Sun 10 February, 2008
By Jennifer Witham
for lions.com.au

BRISBANE Lions forward Daniel Bradshaw has ruled out making a NAB Cup appearance, and will continue to aim for a return to the game early in the Telstra AFL Premiership season.
Bradshaw underwent a knee reconstruction 12 months ago after rupturing his anterior cruciate ligament in the Lions' pre-season of 2007.
With "still a bit of jumping and landing work to go", the 29-year-old is refusing to put a definite date on his first appearance in over a year, but is excited nonetheless about his impending return.
"Now that we're getting close to playing games, and the physios seem to think that I should be playing in about eight weeks, that's something to look forward to," Bradshaw told afl.com.au.
"It definitely feels like it's longer than 12 months since I played last. When you're sitting on the sidelines just watching, it's pretty hard.
"So this is probably the most excited I've been coming into a season. You really take it for granted a bit until you have an injury like this. You appreciate it a bit more."
The Lions won five straight games from round 14 of last season, and looked like making a late charge for a place in the top eight.
It's this rate of improvement that has Bradshaw particularly thrilled about rejoining his side and taking his place in the Lions' attacking structure.
"The second half of the year was really exciting. The young players are starting to get a bit of confidence, and starting to get a few more games," he said.
"You could just see the team improving over the whole season, so I'll definitely be excited about getting out there and being a part of it."

bradshawat9.jpg

http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,23196285-10389,00.html

Although Brown will be ready by then, Bradshaw will still be at least a month away from playing and Clark might struggle for selection given Matthews' long-standing rule that players must have had competitive match practice before a senior call-up.

Last year Hadley was coming off his second reco and from memory played the round 3 game against Sydney (which I thought was too early personally). They're saying round 4 at the earliest. Gee, I don't really mind, but they seem to be taking an overly conservative approach with Bradshaw.

The injury was initially diagnosed as a partial tear and on the minor side as far as ACL injuries go. 11 months ago it sounded like he would be ready well in advance of round 1. Nathan Thompson did his knee at a similar time and he has already had a competitive hitout. So yes, Bradhsaw's recovery does seem to be taking a bit longer than originally expected.

Thommo's injury might have been a couple of weeks earlier than Bradshaw's -- from memory Kangas/Saints non-NAB practice match at Optus -- but Thompson was a very legitimate chance to play in the Kanga's prelim. He's talked about it at length on SEN and his knee came up 100% on all tests at the time and he was in full contact training. The only reason they didn't risk it was, at 29, if it went again he was probably finished.

Same *could* be said about Braddles, but we're talking about Thompson almost getting picked nearly 5 months ago.

According to Hammo

... it is becoming increasingly obvious Bradshaw, whose last season of footy produced 57 goals, will make his return at centre half back.

Link

Bradshaw ready for early return
Article from:
Andrew Hamilton
March 03, 2008 11:00pm

DANIEL Bradshaw could be a shock inclusion for the Lions' premiership opener against West Coast at Subiaco.
The standard recovery time for a knee reconstruction is 12 months but the two-time premiership forward's training form has coach Leigh Matthews weighing up an early recall.
The Lions may give the veteran a run in a scratch match against AFLQ club Morningside on Sunday which would allow him to press his claims for the trip to Perth at Easter.
Bradshaw injured his knee in the Lions' last scratch match of last season and the 12 months expires on Easter Thursday, two days before the round 1 clash.
His initial return date was scheduled for round 3 after two games at the lower level, but Matthews admits the prospect of having his most experienced big man available for round 1 is appealing.
"It would be a very large temptation," he said.
Brisbane plays Sydney in Canberra on Saturday, but Matthews has also scheduled the scratch match for Sunday.
The decision on whether Bradshaw plays in that game won't be made until late in the week after consulting the player and club medical staff.
Matthews said the medicos had to sign-off that Bradshaw's recovery was complete before he would be considered, but once they made that call his fitness wouldn't be an issue.
"All through the summer we've thought the week of round 1 is when he would be ready to resume at the lower level, but that was only a calendar thing," Matthews said.
"He is flying at the moment. His training over the past few weeks has been fantastic so the question is being asked.
"I certainly won't be pushing anybody, but conditioning-wise he has done enough. It will be a medical decision."
If the club's 2006 leading goal kicker plays he would be an almost certain starter against the Eagles, given young forward Mitch Clark and defender Jason Roe won't be available.
The pair and premiership-winning small forward Ash McGrath won't be available this week which means they will run out of time to play a game before the season starts.
The factor that could hinder Bradshaw is Brisbane's poor history of players re-injuring knees.
Former Lion Richard Hadley and rookie Pat Garner both had multiple reconstructions.

bradshawod6.jpg

I'm hoping that says Jake and not Jane - not that I'm against daughters at all, just thinking of another possible father-son selection in the 2018 draft ;)

Pretty sure both Braddles & CJ had 3 boys each, so we're looking pretty healthy for a FB & FF line in 15 years or so!:thumbsu:

Yeah, it could be Jake. Jane didn't ring a bell, but you just ablut need a magic decoder ring to read that Ye Olde English typeface.

Cozi, where do you think Bradshaw should play - up forward or in defence?

I'd like him up forward myself has a lesser chance of re-injuring his ACL as he will be doing less running and change of direction (like tackles and weaving his way out of defence). His 56 goals in 2006 can't be forgotten he is most likely to score more goals than Brown too (when fully fit). But I think Leigh will play him at full forward or pocket and CHB for half a game each. Someone needs to learn how to play at CHB (Patfull or Roe) as Braddles won't be here forever (I think he will retire end of next season).

Link

Bradshaw named in Lions squad
2:36 PM Thu 06 March, 2008

The Vodafone Brisbane Lions will take their strongest squad of the pre-season to Canberra tomorrow for their final NAB Challenge match against Sydney.

Dual club leading goal kicker Daniel Bradshaw has been selected among the Lions’ 29-man squad to tackle the Swans and, if chosen in the final team, will play his first competitive match in 12 months.

bradshawxh9.jpg

Link

Bradshaw to finally return for Lions
March 6, 2008 - 7:09PM

Brisbane key forward Daniel Bradshaw will return from a knee injury to play his first AFL match for a year against Sydney in Canberra on Saturday.

His return will be warmly welcomed by the Lions, particularly star forward Jonathan Brown, who had to carry the attack in Bradshaw's absence last season.

The 29-year-old was the Lions' leading goal kicker in 2005 and 2006, before a knee injury in March last year wiped out his 2007 season.

He is expected to play just the second half of Saturday's match, as he works his way back to full fitness.

The Lions are uncertain whether he will be ready to make his premiership season return in the opening round of the home and away season, when Brisbane play West Coast at Subiaco.

Link

Double happiness for Bradshaw
Article from: Andrew Hamilton
March 06, 2008 11:00pm

AT 7.45 this morning Daniel and Angie Bradshaw will welcome their fourth child into the world.
After a couple of hours together, Daniel will board a plane for Canberra and his first game of football in a year against the Swans on Saturday. Bradshaw famously missed the 2000 second semi-final against Carlton to be with Angie for the birth of their first child, a game the Lions went on to lose by 82 points.
This time, thanks to some deliberate scheduling – Angie is booked in for a caesarean delivery – he can be there for the big occasion without missing his last opportunity to grab some crucial match practice and stake a claim for an improbable round 1 berth against the Eagles at Subiaco Oval on the Easter weekend.
And after 12 months on the rehabilitation trail from a knee reconstruction, he can't wait.
"I am a little bit excited. It has been a long time coming and I can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel," he said.
The 181-game veteran's return gives coach Leigh Matthews some much needed options.
His 57 goals in 2006 – his last season of football – proved he is a goalkicking threat and he has also carved a niche as Matthews' fix-it man who can hold down key posts in defence.
Conventional wisdom suggests centre-half back would be his best position this season as it requires less lateral movement than in attack because the player is generally running straight at the ball.
And Brisbane has a shortage of strong-bodied defenders.
But with Mitch Clark still unavailable, Matthews might also be tempted to put Bradshaw deep into attack to re-form a partnership with Jonathan Brown.
Bradshaw injured his knee in a reserves scratch match against an AFLQ side the week before last year's season opener.
The standard 12 months that ACL injuries usually take to overcome expires the Wednesday before the round 1 clash in Perth.
Given Brisbane's terrible run of recurring knee injuries, an early return could be excused for creating some mental baggage.
But Bradshaw insists he is ready – both physically and, equally as importantly, mentally.
"I feel pretty confident. I have done heaps of marking, contesting and tackling," he said.
"I'm ready to go. I wouldn't even think about playing if I wasn't."
The dual premiership utility is one of three key inclusions for the clash with the Swans. The others are hulking defender Daniel Merrett and ruckman Matthew Leuenberger.

bradshaw6yi3.jpg

Go Braddles, all the best Angie I hope it's another boy too. Two of the kids can play in attack and the other two can play in defence (good one Andy) - it's going to be a commentators nightmare haha.

Link

Lions on edge as Daniel returns
Nick Smart
07Mar08

THE LIONS hierarchy will tomorrow hold their breath when forward Daniel Bradshaw runs out for his first match in 12 months.
The dual club-leading goalkicker was yesterday named in a 29-man Lions squad to tackle the Sydney Swans in an NAB Regional Challenge match in Canberra, the final hitout before the season proper.
Coach Leigh Matthews can no longer hold back two-time premiership player Bradshaw, who has been training the house down over the past five weeks.
But it will be a nervous day as Brisbane have a poor history of players re-injuring their knees. Former Lion Richard Hadley, who is now at Carlton, and rookie Pat Garner both had multiple reconstructions.
If he proves himself fit for the round-one clash against West Coast in Perth, Bradshaw could be a welcome addition to the Lions forward line, where he would re-join co-captain Jonathan Brown.
But there is talk that Bradshaw will play at centre half-back for most of the year and switch forward when needed.

bradshaw6de4.jpg

Nick, if you read this I would be curious to know where this talk about Bradshaw playing back is coming from. Are you referring to public speculation or you referring to sources within the club?

News this morning reported Braddles will be making his long awaited comeback tomorrow against the Swannies!!!

Welcome back Daniel - great to see you again :thumbsu:

I hope its another boy! That would be 4.

Two Bradshaws up forward and two down back in 18 years would be nice. :D

I read somewhere that they had a girl.

Congratulations to the Bradshaws:thumbsu:

I read somewhere that they had a girl.

Congratulations to the Bradshaws:thumbsu:

Oh well, women will be able to play AFL in 20 years anyway. ;)

Congrats to the Bradshaws.

That is correct CTD.

Link

133.jpg

08 March 2008 - 9:31AM
Merryn Sherwood

Baby overshadows Lions' long-awaited return
Teammates of Brisbane Lion Daniel Bradshaw weren't surprised yesterday the key position player was a little preoccpuied with family business rather than his long-awaited return to the football field in Canberra. Bradshaw was with wife Angie as she gave birth to their fourth child.
But today, barely 24 hours later, Bradshaw will line-up for his first game of AFL in 12 months against the Swans at Manuka Oval on his return from a knee reconstruction.
Bradshaw's teammate and friend Robert Copeland yesterday congratulated him on the birth of Jada Grace Bradshaw, the first girl in the household of three boys.
"Hopefully he plays - they left it up to him," Copeland said.
"It's his decision and I think he is confident enough to play. But I think the way that he has been going with training, he looks ready to play." Copeland said.
Bradshaw injured his knee in a reserves match the week before the Lions' 2007 season opener.
"I'm a good mate of Braddys so I always stir him up and try and get his confidence up a bit," Copeland said.
"I suppose it comes from encouraging him with what he is doing - his training and his preparation.
"We've roughed him up a bit at training. Big Daniel Merrett has had a bit of a go - just all trying to get his confidence up with his knee."

bradshaw8fj1.jpg

Past Daniel Bradshaw (1996-2009)