• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Darwin Football Association - Part 3

Re: Darwin Football Association Part 2

there is nothing wrong with me trying to improve my game fitness ect. one of my best mates plays for east, so unless u know what is going on im my life i would'n't comment

if youve got a mate, let alone a best mate, treat him like gold, because from all reports you hav'nt got that many!

there is nothing wrong with me trying to improve my game fitness ect. one of my best mates plays for east, so unless u know what is going on im my life i would'n't comment
must be an old school mate because you wouldnt have time to build friendships at clubs when you have been at four different clubs in the last five years

I think this just about decides our debate that DFA is no where near the NTFL,

A lot of things could be drawn from that game. How well do the players know each other, how many times have they trained together, how many players who were named were available to play, and even whether those players were the ones who should have been picked to play. Where certain players picked on reputation rather than what they have shown this season? Perhaps next season the whole process needs an overhaul and things need to be done differently so as to avoid a result such as this. I'm not having a go at anyone, as I know that the logistics of the whole thing would have been hard and most people were doing the best they could on a bad wicket, but next season I think this years game could be used as a bit of a spark to ingnite a fire.

Captain cupcake don't go to rocca's if you can't take your shirt off and do push ups. Its pretty simple. They tell me the Docker boys are always well behaved when they are out or is that a falacey. Captian Cupcake i like that.

Few of them carry on a bit when they go out, same as every other team though so nothing new there. As for someone taking there shirt off doing pushups, think he was just being stupid, so get over it. Probably better than fighting and having your shirt ripped off. If it is you Stret that claims to be Docker 5, shut the f*#k up and stop giving the rest of us a bad name.

And to the Darwin boys who played in the rep side, i hope you guys can do something about it next year. Cause thats an absolute disgrace to the comp. And if there are other players good enough to be in it but choose not to, i suggest the rep game get canned as it's not a true reflection of the comp. SOme of the guys that played are putrid, and don't tell me any different.

A lot of things could be drawn from that game. How well do the players know each other, how many times have they trained together, how many players who were named were available to play, and even whether those players were the ones who should have been picked to play. Where certain players picked on reputation rather than what they have shown this season? Perhaps next season the whole process needs an overhaul and things need to be done differently so as to avoid a result such as this. I'm not having a go at anyone, as I know that the logistics of the whole thing would have been hard and most people were doing the best they could on a bad wicket, but next season I think this years game could be used as a bit of a spark to ingnite a fire.

I feel for Couls, i know the bloke and reckon he would have tried everything possible. Conclusion, How well do the players know each other = bullshit, trained together = bullshit. I'm assuming it was wet. 18 on 18, beat your opponent it's quite simple.

Few of them carry on a bit when they go out, same as every other team though so nothing new there. As for someone taking there shirt off doing pushups, think he was just being stupid, so get over it. Probably better than fighting and having your shirt ripped off. If it is you Stret that claims to be Docker 5, shut the f*#k up and stop giving the rest of us a bad name.

And to the Darwin boys who played in the rep side, i hope you guys can do something about it next year. Cause thats an absolute disgrace to the comp. And if there are other players good enough to be in it but choose not to, i suggest the rep game get canned as it's not a true reflection of the comp. SOme of the guys that played are putrid, and don't tell me any different.

Fair call, was just an example but bit harsh on my behalf tarring all with that brush. As for the rep side, and as stated by a few already, you cant choose a rep side on reptation alone. Fair enough these blokes have a good rep for a reason, but there are plenty of good so called 'unknown' players deserved of a guernsey based on this years performance that would truly put in 110%. What is better? A great player at 70% or a good player at 110%??? The later in my opinion. And eagleeye5 fair enough you have gone to East on personal circumstances, you shouldnt have to justify yourself, but at the end of the day no one really cares what you do!!

Thanks captain, we have all acted like fools at one state or another on the piss out at the dome, or somewhere else. As for the rep side, my experiences tell me you will "always" get a few guys picked on reputation, it's one of those things in footy. Would have been hard for couls to pick side as he only sees one side a week. Sometimes it's easier for an outsider to go watch. You want to see the local guys go well so i hope for the DFA sake some of these blokes put their hands up next year. It's funny lot of dockers knockers out there as you said, i think sometimes success does bring the little green eyed monster out in people. Lot of talk on this site about so called guns and jets and going to be's, hope all these blokes play next year and put up a show :thumbsu:

Oh my god! I'v just had a look at the scores of the rep game and just decided to take a new career path! Who's laughing now boys! It's hard work being right all of the time! If i was the DFA, I'd fine the ass off all the weak as p##s blokes that pulled out and suspend them for 2 weeks.:mad:

I think this just about decides our debate that DFA is no where near the NTFL,

Thats good news. Lets stop this talk of players in the DFA being jets etc. The truth is that there are no good players in the comp. They are there because they can't cut it at the levels above including the NTFL. That performance on Sat was a blight on all the people that play football at this end of the coast. The DFA is only in front of the Leven in footy comps in Tassy at the moment. Thats the truth.

Bad luck for the Darwin rep side, your turn will come,don't lose faith like the NWFA did when the Darwin was given them floggings each year, so they decided to not play rep footy anymore.

Thats good news. Lets stop this talk of players in the DFA being jets etc. The truth is that there are no good players in the comp. They are there because they can't cut it at the levels above including the NTFL. That performance on Sat was a blight on all the people that play football at this end of the coast. The DFA is only in front of the Leven in footy comps in Tassy at the moment. Thats the truth.

Yeh right mate, whatever. The reason most of the guys I know that play in this league play Darwin is because it's a bit of fun. They train when they feel like it and get out for a kick on the weekends. A lot of them can't commit to strenuous training regimes due to work commitments but still want to get out there on the weekend and have a kick. There are a lot of quality players playing, and if they put their minds to it they could be just as good as a lot of the hacks I see running around in the NTFL. If you honestly think the DFA and Leven are the two worst football comps in Tasmania I guess you haven't seen a game of ODFA in Hobart recently.

They were a disgrace. I went over to see the best the country could offer and came away thinking that after that performance dished up by the Darwin that rep games like this could know be in serious jeperady. Coulson Fisher and Guy Grey even though he didn't kick any were the only Darwin players that came away with their reputations in place. These 3 at least respect what rep football is all about. Who picked the following players. Number 15 Matthew Clarke(dud) 20 Adrian King(bigger dud) 7 Luke Corbett(embarrising) 11 Chris Temby 5 Josh Barry and i can't think of the rest because i lost my program as i left the ground. How could Clarke get a game before Mitch Oliver. The Darwin wants to sit down in the next week and put plans in place to ensure that this type of performace never rears its ugly head again or other wise these games will be scratched. Once again someone has to take responsibility for the wost most spineless effort in 46 meetings. I hope those players that wore the navy blue jumper today dont ever put them on again with the exception of the 3 named.

A real reality check wasn't it.

I was at the game saturday and i felt sorry for coulson who battled his guts out all day and im not a ridgley supporter. I agree with the comments from Northwester only a few of them can hold their heads up high. Max fisher tried hard all day, at times taking the ruck duties and he's only 5"7. Where were the quailty bigs? Guy Grey didnt get much of the leather but battled when it was in his area. Anyway to their credit, atleast these guys took the field. unlike these other slack bastards (Bj Miller) included. I listened to Coulson's half time speech and what more could the man say. Big improvement in 2010!

Oh my god! I'v just had a look at the scores of the rep game and just decided to take a new career path! Who's laughing now boys! It's hard work being right all of the time! If i was the DFA, I'd fine the ass off all the weak as p##s blokes that pulled out and suspend them for 2 weeks.:mad:

I reckon if you were the DFA alot of dumb shit would happen. As for your chirping Dennis i suggest you go clean the cheese off your doodle

Well its a perfect league for you to join then docker5. considering your at the end of your career.

Some of the stuff being posted on here is gold - I can't get over how highly some of you rate yourselves ;)
There is so much talk of players being picked in the rep side that shouldn't have been - so, who should have been picked that wasn't??? It's easy to make general, sweeping statements but how about a bit of substance from a few of you???

Well its a perfect league for you to join then docker5. considering your at the end of your career.

Would find it very hard to get motivated to play in a comp like this. Unlike some money is not the be all and end all. I like to be able to get something out of the hours i put into training. Thats just me.When i retire i could spend all day Saturday polishing the 7 premiership medals i have been involved in or wash the 4 NTFL jumpers i earnt in the days when football was a real mans game.

I was at the game saturday and i felt sorry for coulson who battled his guts out all day and im not a ridgley supporter. I agree with the comments from Northwester only a few of them can hold their heads up high. Max fisher tried hard all day, at times taking the ruck duties and he's only 5"7. Where were the quailty bigs? Guy Grey didnt get much of the leather but battled when it was in his area. Anyway to their credit, atleast these guys took the field. unlike these other slack bastards (Bj Miller) included. I listened to Coulson's half time speech and what more could the man say. Big improvement in 2010!

this is a bit harsh. Not only did i work on saturday i wasnt a %100 after last weeks game after big dougie frankcombe cleaned me up. if i was %100 i would of made myself available.

Some of the stuff being posted on here is gold - I can't get over how highly some of you rate yourselves ;)
There is so much talk of players being picked in the rep side that shouldn't have been - so, who should have been picked that wasn't??? It's easy to make general, sweeping statements but how about a bit of substance from a few of you???

well the reality is roos 08, in the end there were quite a few players that wore a rep guernsey that shouldn't of but the thing is the dfa still had to put a team on the park, i agree the tickets that a fair majority of the class players in the darwin have got on themselves is unbelievable heres some reasons for the 200 point loss:
*as mentioned on here previously, the geographical reasons, the nwfa being a central nw coast association and having those ntfl/tfl sides to feed off, and the darwin being predominantly burnie based association.
*the selfishness and financially driven motives of the better players in the darwin e.g if the players originally picked by couls had of been told hypothetically "you will be paid what your club pays you on a normal saturday and you will get a chance to shine on the big stage with the darwin winning by 200 points", everyone picked in the original squad would of played, barring serious injuries, but because they knew it would be hard day at the office they didn't want a part of it beacause they are only interested in themselves.
*people are saying it wasn't handled professionally enough by the coach ing staff in the selection phase, but couls knew who he wanted and he was anticipating a fair amount of commitment from the initial squad, from a squad of 36 you would expect to fill a 22 man side, it was only when everyone pulled out it become messy and that is no fault of couls's.
wearing a representative guernsey should be an honour, but the jumpers were getting handed out like hotcakes in the end because the dfa was desperate it should of never got to that stage.people are jumping on the bandwagon saying how poor a league the darwin is, but it's not an accurate assessment, something mick malthouse said when describing the cats against the pies is appropriate. "if geelong is at full strength and we are at full strength we still aren't going to beat them because they are better than us", that applies to the nwfa/dfa game, but the margin didn't have to be 200 points if some players grew some balls and knew how to play in team environment.
some of the guns of the comp need to take up an individual sport, golf, tennis or marbles?

No good players in the comp Strett??? None at all??

Strett, this is the stupidest thing I've read in all my life. Why do people like you consider guys playing in leagues lower than yours to be no good? Some people can't walk around in suits all day, and choose their own hours. This causes them to make a choice between playing next to guys as great as yourself, or working long hours to provide for themselves and their families instead of training 3 - 4 nights a week.
NTFL at Burnie was just as big of a commitment as statewide football demands. That's why they have been successful over the years, not because of you mate. The coaching staff, and administration has been the best in the state for quite a while, but there are clubs in the Darwin who try just as hard, albeit on a much smaller scale. I'm sure they'd all appreciate your comments!

I'm sure there are a lot of people in the Darwin I'd put ahead of you in skill, heart, commitment, and loyalty to ex teammates. And a lot of them ex teammates of yours are playing in the Darwin mate.

Priorities change cobber, and I reckon this stupid post you have put up has sealed retirement for you after Burnie anyway - who's going to want to play with you now??? :mad::thumbsdown:

Strett, this is the stupidest thing I've read in all my life. Why do people like you consider guys playing in leagues lower than yours to be no good? Some people can't walk around in suits all day, and choose their own hours. This causes them to make a choice between playing next to guys as great as yourself, or working long hours to provide for themselves and their families instead of training 3 - 4 nights a week.
NTFL at Burnie was just as big of a commitment as statewide football demands. That's why they have been successful over the years, not because of you mate. The coaching staff, and administration has been the best in the state for quite a while, but there are clubs in the Darwin who try just as hard, albeit on a much smaller scale. I'm sure they'd all appreciate your comments!

I'm sure there are a lot of people in the Darwin I'd put ahead of you in skill, heart, commitment, and loyalty to ex teammates. And a lot of them ex teammates of yours are playing in the Darwin mate.

Priorities change cobber, and I reckon this stupid post you have put up has sealed retirement for you after Burnie anyway - who's going to want to play with you now??? :mad::thumbsdown:

Only being honest. As i said i would not play in the Darwin. Full of little bit players that never quite made the grade but hey theres nothing wrong with that until you galahs get on here and call them great players. As i said i will be busy when i retire on a Saturday polishing and washing all the goodies i collected through out my career.

Darwin Football Association - Part 3