Darwin Football Association - Part 3

Re: Darwin Football Association Part 2

Anyone heard that wynyard footy ground might b off limits 4 grand final due 2 condition of ground? Disappointing if is, b hard 2 have final @ wivenhoe if conditions stay as is. By the sound of things might as well play it @ Ridgley everyone seems 2 thing its them & daylight 2nd?

The ground is alright just a bit soft Cats havent been training on it much
Ive got a bit 2 do with its upkeep and it will be played on Keep out of the scoreboard pocket tho unless your wearing waders

I dont know what the hell some people look at when they go to the footy. Wivenhoe would be one of the best draining grounds on the N.W, and as for its surface, take a look at west park on a wet day and compare the two.:thumbsdown:

I reckon young max fisher from natone will go very close to bringin home the cheddes has had a very good year. But as for go dogs saying there was only 2 serious reports come on mate get your head out of your ass they had 7 players rubbed out when more then half the clubs didn't have a single report let alone a suspension from both teams. You'd piss on someones back and tell em it was rainin you would.

Nigel Coulson is a near certainty mate.:thumbsu:

Near certainty hey, well is he certainly goin to win it or nearly goin to win it ? Pity he couldn't pick a decent rep side or at least go threw the right processes to pick one instead of last minute phone calls. Other side had formal letters with training times and congratulating them on makin it and all sorts of things you'd expect from goin up to a higher level.

Its a bit hard to pick a decent rep. side when a fair chunk of the so called decent players arent available, and some pull out of the squad so close to game day. I understand where your coming from about the lack of proffesionalism, but mate, letters or not, there is no way in hell the DFA would have come even close to the NWFA:cool:

i herd there will be no dogs at all next year they are stone broke and are going to fold and the dfa are opening the doors up for the circular head to come into the comp

I have been told that the CC council WILL be rebuilding the club rooms.. Which would indicate to me that the Dogs musnt be that bad off.. Wouldnt be worth doing it of they were going to fold..

Lets get some facts right about Cuprona

First of all while most players deserved what they got at tribunal with a couple of exceptions

Josh Townsend was suspended for 1 week for striking Nathan Russell(SB) he was reported by a goal umpire who was 70 meters away while central umpire was 10 meters away did not even pay a free kick

Shaun Braslin was reported while he was in the showers because the Ridgley player he struck father came on the ground complaining to central umpires that they better report him

Justin Bloom received 3 weeks while Troy Pile received a week after the umpire gave evidence that Pile struck first and Bloom hit pile with open hands The Club paid $200 to have the suspension heard by AFL Tas they took nearly 2 weeks to tell the club after talking to Tribunal chairman they did not have a case to rehear it the Club got $200 back big deal Bloom missed rep game which he was selected in

Yes the dogs where undisciplined and it was a disgrace at times young townsend was hard done by and Bloom was a case of a kanagroo court

The DFA has to do something about umpires most are 40 plus cant keep up with game and very few move from center corridor

As for dogs committee Ruffles has done well against the odds maybe what they need is more help from players not just players who throw thier hand out to get paid

10 maybe 12 players of their senior list would get games at other clubs the others are just seconds players

dont lie when u go up. just ask bloomy cause thats why he was suspended longer than piley

get off nigels back. the bloke is a great footballer with a big back cause everyone just expected him to carry the combine side. yes he will go close to winning the dfa b and f if not win it cause he plays great footy. dont tell me your one of the players who wouldnt help the dfa out in the combine side cause u sure have a lot to say about.

I dont know what the hell some people look at when they go to the footy. Wivenhoe would be one of the best draining grounds on the N.W, and as for its surface, take a look at west park on a wet day and compare the two.:thumbsdown:
Good that ground drains well, but lets hope there's not a howling wind, rain on the day or there will be finals played with no atmosphere & a few people in grandstand obout 50 metres from play? Not the greatest ground for spectator & players comfort for big games as finals? My thoughts only.

Its a bit hard to pick a decent rep. side when a fair chunk of the so called decent players arent available, and some pull out of the squad so close to game day. I understand where your coming from about the lack of proffesionalism, but mate, letters or not, there is no way in hell the DFA would have come even close to the NWFA:cool:
Too right, Couls did a great job with the resources available to him. If he wins the award , good on him as he continually puts his head over the pill, does not winge to the umpires or mouth the opposition, runs as hard as anyone I have seen both ways might I add and does not give the cheap ones under the pack as a certain previous winner has done in the past.

Good that ground drains well, but lets hope there's not a howling wind, rain on the day or there will be finals played with no atmosphere & a few people in grandstand obout 50 metres from play? Not the greatest ground for spectator & players comfort for big games as finals? My thoughts only.
Yep the surface is fine but it is disgraceful for spectators and they should be looked after as they pay to watch, there is not a lot of alternatives unfortunately, interestingly the BCL do not play their Combined game there because the facilities are just too far away and they only did it this year cause Langley Park was getting its drainage fixed, would be good if the weather was like it is today for the weekend

dont lie when u go up. just ask bloomy cause thats why he was suspended longer than piley
Am I right in thinking that this was not Bloomys first time-if he was arepeat offender then the tribunal are usually not too happy to see blokes back there, just ask Dave Fraser !

I don't think the tribunal has anything against Cuprona in particular. Any player going there is going to get rubbed out - the trick is not to get in the umpy's book in the first place (I think Leigh Heath may have been the only player to get escape suspension this year after being reported). The umpires can be a bit trigger happy with reporting blokes but the players have to keep that in mind and change there ways
Just by the way, Heathy mouths off and gets away with far too much because he is Leigh Heath, this is wrong, everyone should be treated fairly by the umpires

anyone no if rat hering going to play finals did troy pile or rob williscroft plat saturday was not named.somerset will beat natone .but it will not matter saints got it in the bag.
No Pile or Williscroft as well as quite a few others, South will be thereabouts come this weekend with a full side in

Am I right in thinking that this was not Bloomys first time-if he was arepeat offender then the tribunal are usually not too happy to see blokes back there, just ask Dave Fraser !

Dave used to be fairly intimidating to some guys,and there is room in a side for a player like that. But lets face it, Frase wasnt very smart in the way he went about it. Ie: Thumping blokes while the umps were watching ( on most occasions ).

Just by the way, Heathy mouths off and gets away with far too much because he is Leigh Heath, this is wrong, everyone should be treated fairly by the umpires

Agreed:thumbsu: In the games I have seen him in this season, I would have seen him deck at least two blokes, and both times a free kick was paid. Why no report?

Yep the surface is fine but it is disgraceful for spectators and they should be looked after as they pay to watch, there is not a lot of alternatives unfortunately, interestingly the BCL do not play their Combined game there because the facilities are just too far away and they only did it this year cause Langley Park was getting its drainage fixed, would be good if the weather was like it is today for the weekend

I agree about the grandstand being too far away. Langley Park is ok, if you are there early enough to get your car in, but because there is no grandstand, thats not ideal either. I think a deal should be struck with Burnie Sports and Events to get finals footy back at West Park. I know they are being unreasonable about their terms and conditions, but if it was worked upon earlier in the season, surely they could have come to some arrangement, given there will be no finals action there in either NTFL or SFL:thumbsdown:

I have been told that the CC council WILL be rebuilding the club rooms.. Which would indicate to me that the Dogs musnt be that bad off.. Wouldnt be worth doing it of they were going to fold..

Was talking to a life member at the dogs this morn at the store, YES they are re-building the club rooms and in fact this week have been training there again so all is well in that department anyway.

The bulldogs discipline has been shocking this season which has resulted in these suspensions, pre-season i made the comment that cuprona have been down for too long and should think about dropping back into the leven league, i still stand by this, they have no money, no quality players, shit ground and facilities, i have followed the doggies as a second team ever since paul dicker was captain there which must be over thirty years now and in that time they have had very small periods of success and very large periods of mediocre ladder positions (THIS IS FACT)
From what i have heard this year from people involved at the club, no serious supporters have enjoyed the actions of those mentione on here in regards to their performances and tribunal appearances-they are a disgrace.
I have heard their commitee is almost non existent and has relied on ur jack rileys and darrel browns all year to keep their club running, i asked the life member who was going to be coaching them next year and he replied that brown had told the commitee he wouldnt even be there next year at all, and that this life member was worries that riley might even join his family at yolla next year to boot.
The dogs to get their act in order if they wish to be around next year i think, they are supposeably chasing a high profile coach for next year to generate numbers and support at the club again, one name mentioned in todays conversation was our forums favourite son chalky :D so come on chalky any truth in this one

Was talking to a life member at the dogs this morn at the store, YES they are re-building the club rooms and in fact this week have been training there again so all is well in that department anyway.

The bulldogs discipline has been shocking this season which has resulted in these suspensions, pre-season i made the comment that cuprona have been down for too long and should think about dropping back into the leven league, i still stand by this, they have no money, no quality players, shit ground and facilities, i have followed the doggies as a second team ever since paul dicker was captain there which must be over thirty years now and in that time they have had very small periods of success and very large periods of mediocre ladder positions (THIS IS FACT)
From what i have heard this year from people involved at the club, no serious supporters have enjoyed the actions of those mentione on here in regards to their performances and tribunal appearances-they are a disgrace.
I have heard their commitee is almost non existent and has relied on ur jack rileys and darrel browns all year to keep their club running, i asked the life member who was going to be coaching them next year and he replied that brown had told the commitee he wouldnt even be there next year at all, and that this life member was worries that riley might even join his family at yolla next year to boot.
The dogs to get their act in order if they wish to be around next year i think, they are supposeably chasing a high profile coach for next year to generate numbers and support at the club again, one name mentioned in todays conversation was our forums favourite son chalky :D so come on chalky any truth in this one
I reckon Chalky would be ideal as he would not expect a Premiership straight away and knowing him quite well from our days at Somerset he would work on the "culture" before anything as the horse does in fact come before the cart and I know for a fact he is pretty keen to coach again bit I doubt whether he would go again in the Darwin after coaching Somerset to the wooden spoons although Pete Saward was the twos coach that particular year.I doubt whether Chalk would have time but he does not train nowdays much either and it looks like he may hang the stolen boots up after the Roos last game this season, this bloke must have a bit of inside info but loose lips sink ships as they say.Will be interesting to see what happens at the Dogs next year if in fact Browny is on the move but the only way is up so good luck to them

No quality players Arrow? The top 8 in Cupronas best and fairest would all play seniors with any other Darwin club, This I am sure of and I think most people on this forum would agree. As for Jack going to Yolla I highly doubt this as Jack is too loyal.Jack along with Darryl Browne,Darryls wife Jenni and Vaughan Ruffles have been the people keeping Cuprona running behind the scenes.

8 players you are dreaming name them all i am keen for a laugh!

Darwin Football Association - Part 3