Darwin Football Association - Part 3

Re: Darwin Football Association Part 2

Come on guys it Grand final week!!! lets pump it up

Does anyone know how many Premierships Nick Barnes has won including res and under 19? its not a trick question someone said he is going for 10

After weekend how can anyone beat Ridgley?????? Ridgley's has a major problem who do they drop to bring scott hay in??
will scott hay play ?how many south get back fromseniors?is ridgley going for 3 flags and south for 4 any kind of record in both?

Is it true Max Fisher only got 2 votes? If so what a joke he is a gun and has consistently been in Natones best almost every week! Sometimes the umpires get it so wrong! Congrats to Coulson though must be about his 10th B&F. His trophy cabinet would be just about full these days.

Come on guys it Grand final week!!! lets pump it up

Does anyone know how many Premierships Nick Barnes has won including res and under 19? its not a trick question someone said he is going for 10

He played in Burnie's 98 Reserves, Burnie seniors 01 and 02. Missed 03 with injury. Not sure how many he has won with Ridgley, two i think, so 6th i think he is going for.

Is it true Max Fisher only got 2 votes? If so what a joke he is a gun and has consistently been in Natones best almost every week! Sometimes the umpires get it so wrong! Congrats to Coulson though must be about his 10th B&F. His trophy cabinet would be just about full these days.

Funny how it is a common occurence with the F--k wit Darwin Umpires getting it wrong.

He played in Burnie's 98 Reserves, Burnie seniors 01 and 02. Missed 03 with injury. Not sure how many he has won with Ridgley, two i think, so 6th i think he is going for.
Also played in Dockers Reserves of 96 coached by Owen "Bullfrog" Johnson and captained on the day by our favourite son on the forum here-Chalky Grey !Definately none at Penguin but the Band F in all three grades at Burnie also-will he be at Ridgley next year ?

So he would be going for his 7th then. He also won the George Watt medal for B&F in the SWL reserves in 98. He also insists on having Hot Milk on his Weetbix for brekky in 42 degree heat!

What are people's thought's on this weekend's games.
I reckon both games are going to be ripper's and any of the 4 clubs competing could win the flag.

I believe Sth Burnie will have Wilkie and Baldy Grey dropping back and with Burry and Fraser running around for the roos it could go either way.

Not to sure who Duffy will bring in for Petterwood who is a big loss because of his run espically at wivenhoe and was starting to find some form at the right time of the year.

Not to sure if anyone is to come into the Ridgley side?

Bring on Saturday.........:thumbsu::thumbsu::):)

So he would be going for his 7th then. He also won the George Watt medal for B&F in the SWL reserves in 98. He also insists on having Hot Milk on his Weetbix for brekky in 42 degree heat!
He is going for his 10th including under17s and 19s. Also is expecting a 5 dollar fine within the next few days!

Does any one think natone can turn there last performance against the saints around. 100 points alot to turn around.Coulson lucky to win B&F didnt Willie kick 14 goals in the last round & still couldnt get 3 vote

No, Couls a great bloke and player, poor Willy, like all the good forwards in the comp-not recognized enough !

Depends who you are with the umpires. Look at Adam Goodes, he got 8 touches in a game when he got a three! I can remember when Queenstown first came into the DFA, the very first year they pumped a side on the gravel by 200pts and the losing side got the three votes!

Im tellin ya the umpires no who have what votes and the umpires take into account what people say, like this forum i wonder if any read this as we all said couls should win and the votes should not have come to the last round(couls should have had it won by then) and guess what couls won. I would be very suprised if most on this forum havent heard from a darwin umpire who got what votes on any certain day

Always a bit of controversy, I reckon it is dissapointing as everyone knows most of the umpires ar at least some on a personal basis through work or the general community and they take this in when giving votes however Couls is the hardest runner both ways in the comp and if he furthers his coaching credentials down the track which he is very capable of it would have been a travesty of justice had he not won a Darwin B AND f - good stuff and well done to him

Spot on :thumbsu:. You only had to see the way he gave himself for the Darwin v the NWFA. A fantastic player.

I'm sure the day Willy kicked what ever he kicked Couls did enough to show he was worthy of the three votes. I think we hear this argument every year about who should have got what votes, everyone has a different opinion or reasons. Could be worse they could leave it up to the advocate journo's to do! :thumbsdown:

Come on now if ya kick 14 goals in a game you get the 3 votes no matter wat. And the paper would probably do a better job max fisher got nearly 5 best on grounds in a row and got 1 piss weak vote for the whole year can't tell me the umpires don't have there favourites.

I know you still have to kick the goals, but if couls has got 40 touches himself and put the ball on a platter and dished it up to the forwards i think that is worthy of the three. But i'm a biased midfielder! Either way it's harder for defenders to get votes!

yeah get Chloe No Hope to do it, she knows a thing or two about footy. And that would be about it.

I heard when Willy kicked his 14 his teammates were taking marks 20 out dead in front and hand balling them back to him just to get him the goal kicking award. Nothing against Willy as he is a good bloke and 14 is still a massive haul but Its not like he was dominating the game if most of them were gifts. If Coulson had 50 or so and was probably dominating the midfield he probably deserved the 3.

I know you still have to kick the goals, but if couls has got 40 touches himself and put the ball on a platter and dished it up to the forwards i think that is worthy of the three. But i'm a biased midfielder! Either way it's harder for defenders to get votes!

yeah get Chloe No Hope to do it, she knows a thing or two about footy. And that would be about it.
I think she writes a good story:D

I heard when Willy kicked his 14 his teammates were taking marks 20 out dead in front and hand balling them back to him just to get him the goal kicking award. Nothing against Willy as he is a good bloke and 14 is still a massive haul but Its not like he was dominating the game if most of them were gifts. If Coulson had 50 or so and was probably dominating the midfield he probably deserved the 3.

I think she writes a good story:D

She certainly does, writes footy reviews like they are a childrens novel :(

What are people's thought's on this weekend's games.
I reckon both games are going to be ripper's and any of the 4 clubs competing could win the flag.

I believe Sth Burnie will have Wilkie and Baldy Grey dropping back and with Burry and Fraser running around for the roos it could go either way.

Not to sure who Duffy will bring in for Petterwood who is a big loss because of his run espically at wivenhoe and was starting to find some form at the right time of the year.

Not to sure if anyone is to come into the Ridgley side?

Bring on Saturday.........:thumbsu::thumbsu::):)
Be nice @ wivenhoe on sat if weather stays ordinary. Will conditions help Natone as Ridgley have been best team all year?

Where do you guys rank the standard of the DFA compared to the other leagues in Tasmania?

I would probably say:

TSL
NTFL
SFL
NWFA
Old Scholars
DFA
NTFA
Circular Head
Leven
ODFA

Much of a muchness in the middle there.

NTFA a lot better standard than DFA,OLD SCOL,NWFA-TO SUGGEST OTHERWISE IS PLAIN SILLY

Darwin Football Association - Part 3