Darwin Football Association - Part 4

Re: Darwin Football Association Part 2

a couple of valid points there the game,but somerset boys opinion is the only one that counts on this forum, he and moocher should start their own thread dedicated to themselves so they dont have to disagree with everything everyone else has to say!
Am I not allowed to disagree on a point of opinion??

Hang on a minute buddy... the call was THE BEST ON BALLER IN THE STATE. Ive played against Brett a couple of times and he is a very handy player no doubt about it..... The players i mentioned played consistent VFL FOOTBALL for quite a number of years.... they were a class above any other midfielders in the state when they were in there prime back then.

Ask most people that know there footy who would you pick first in there side out of Jordan Doering and Brett Wilson to play in the midfield and i reckon they would pick Jordan..... Wils was a good player but he wouldn't be picked in front of all those players back then!!! Not a chance
Just because Wils never played VFL doesn't mean he never had the ability to do so. He probably just didn't want to move to Hobart as that was the only way to get a game back then. I'm not saying he was the best but he would be right in the mix when talking about the best on baller back then!

Lets agree to disagree. Im not sure that you know enough about the devils program to debate it champ.... i reckon your just going on what you hear up the coast.

BUT i will repeat that Brett Wilson was a very good footballer but not as good as the midfielders in the previous post

Clinton Brown, Matthew Smith and Jason Ling who are all top line players in the state played VFL footy... It was a big commitment from them but they took it on and they can all say 'I had a crack and played VFL'

Dont use the 'I live up the coast' as an Excuse. That only really applied to the last couple of years when the kangaroos came in.

Facts are he was a good player at NTFL level... Unproven at VFL (for whatever excuse you want to make)

Hang on a minute buddy... the call was THE BEST ON BALLER IN THE STATE. Ive played against Brett a couple of times and he is a very handy player no doubt about it..... The players i mentioned played consistent VFL FOOTBALL for quite a number of years.... they were a class above any other midfielders in the state when they were in there prime back then.

Ask most people that know there footy who would you pick first in there side out of Jordan Doering and Brett Wilson to play in the midfield and i reckon they would pick Jordan..... Wils was a good player but he wouldn't be picked in front of all those players back then!!! Not a chance

I know Jordan quite well. He is a sooky, sulky, abusive over-rated prick. Wilso b4 him too any day. How many flags has Jordan played in again.....:rolleyes:

You saying that if you play VFL it makes you a superstar? Ben Britton played for gods sake. And dont EVER mention Wilso and Matt Smith in the same sentence agoain. Wilso would eat his face off!

LOL.... You blokes have NO idea!..... And NO i didn't say that if you play VFL your a superstar... Read my posts Dick Cheese

Don't associate me and the Cheese as having the same opinion on anything in football! Not disagreeing with you mate as you do have some valid points. Just in my opinion I'd say Wils used to be up there and that 95% of people that played for the Devils lived in or moved to Hobart.

No worries mate... we will leave it at that.

Boys boys boys, to clarify a few things here, even though it's a darwin website!

For starters, Brett Wilson pound for pound is one of the best players i have ever seen. Dogga Armstrong did chase him early but when Brett showed no interest he didn't persue him, as he did with alot of other players on the coast. Wils from 01-05 was one of the best onballers in the NTFL, i think he could have played VFL if he tried but the facts are he didn't. His courage is unquestionable, but the skill levels of Callinan Beams and Hall were by far much better than Wilsons which is why they have played at much higher levels for a long time. One played in the big one, one played AFL also, and they other has played in two SANFL flags. Comparing Smith and Wilson is also a tough one. Wils has one 5 flags, 3 b&f's and one R/up B&f, rep the NTFL on 2 occassions. Smith has played in 3 Flags, 1 B&F, 1 Runner's up B&F, best on ground in a GF, Best on ground in a rep game, rep the NTFL on 6 occassions and played at a higher level. If you go on stats, Smith is better, because Wilson chose not to that is just bad luck, "could of, should of" didn't! And thats all you can go on!

Boys boys boys, to clarify a few things here, even though it's a darwin website!

For starters, Brett Wilson pound for pound is one of the best players i have ever seen. Dogga Armstrong did chase him early but when Brett showed no interest he didn't persue him, as he did with alot of other players on the coast. Wils from 01-05 was one of the best onballers in the NTFL, i think he could have played VFL if he tried but the facts are he didn't. His courage is unquestionable, but the skill levels of Callinan Beams and Hall were by far much better than Wilsons which is why they have played at much higher levels for a long time. One played in the big one, one played AFL also, and they other has played in two SANFL flags. Comparing Smith and Wilson is also a tough one. Wils has one 5 flags, 3 b&f's and one R/up B&f, rep the NTFL on 2 occassions. Smith has played in 3 Flags, 1 B&F, 1 Runner's up B&F, best on ground in a GF, Best on ground in a rep game, rep the NTFL on 6 occassions and played at a higher level. If you go on stats, Smith is better, because Wilson chose not to that is just bad luck, "could of, should of" didn't! And thats all you can go on!

Have a good read of the statement above boys.... I hope you take something out of it.

who cares buddy,browny is a knobb,as is everyone else at motten

at least with brown back over there,fliiper and steve or any other of our players for that matter wont be getting a call at all hours of the day and night from the fxxwit

Managed to make 5 grand finals in 6 years at Preston, not too shabby for a bunch of knobs !. ps Darwin man, knob is spelt with 1 b not 2 , and Motton has no e in it . Maybe you are the knob , an illiterate one at that !.

Darryl has a good coaching record because he has got two premierships and two wooden spoons. He won two comp best and fairest when he was at preston in a very ordinary reserves comp. I went and watched the grand final again this year and the standard in the reserves is still poor.:p

I got told that Darryl got the coaching job at Turners Beach they announced it at there dinner and then two days later the pres went to his house and took the job of him because the reserves players at the beach dont like him.:thumbsu:

Not sure about the reserves standard in the NWFA being that bad. When Darryl first went to Cuprona he took a few Preston reserve players with him that were struggling to get a game and to my amazement some of them played seniors with Cuprona in a year where they reasonably competitive !!!!. Havn't heard the rumors of him losing the job at the beach but spoke to a beach player who believes a big following of players are going there with him. Time will tell but I have my doubts many will follow.

lay of it would you please
the only reason duff is staying on up there is cause u guys had a good yr this season, got news for you arrow,natone wont finish anywhere near south,ridgley,yolla and maybe even queeny in 2010
if i was u id be asking bj if hes going around again too champ
Shocking call **** head. Get ya check book out if ya think queenie goin to finish above natone. You'd have to be one of those typical south knob jockeys wouldn't you ?

a couple of valid points there the game,but somerset boys opinion is the only one that counts on this forum, he and moocher should start their own thread dedicated to themselves so they dont have to disagree with everything everyone else has to say!
Hey knucklehead aka Shaw Thing, Somerset Boy and I cannot help it if we are right most of the time, put that in your pipe and smoke it !

Shocking call **** head. Get ya check book out if ya think queenie goin to finish above natone. You'd have to be one of those typical south knob jockeys wouldn't you ?
Pencil in, Yolla, South, Ridgley as certain top 3, the rest apart from Cuprona can fight the last 2 spots out

as i said before, your two opinions are the only ones that matter.
p.s i dont smoke,not like you smoking on somerset boys rusty nutsack.classic case of the master and the apprentice.

Pencil in, Yolla, South, Ridgley as certain top 3, the rest apart from Cuprona can fight the last 2 spots out
rnt u backing the great coaching of chalky moocher :confused:, i thought you of all people would be backing cuprona to lead the way with chalky at the helm
doesnt matter anyway,no one is going to get near the hawkers in 2010

rnt u backing the great coaching of chalky moocher :confused:, i thought you of all people would be backing cuprona to lead the way with chalky at the helm
doesnt matter anyway,no one is going to get near the hawkers in 2010
No doubt the Hawks will be up there for sure however their discipline will have to be curtailed as it was when Sheep Smith sorted them out but Yolla will be massive improvers along with Ridgley obviously being up there again especially if Couls is on board as aplayer only and Natone are not to be discounted if their list stays as was.The Dogs will be lucky to win any games next year

Well being from Queenstown your probably married to your sister. So I'll skip on making a joke at you!

no second prize ****, i forgot you dont like being the butt of the joke, because you run this forum and youve kicked 100 goals in a season.
your SSSSSSSSSSSSSPPPPPPPPPPPPPPEEEEEEEEEEEEECCCCCCCCCCCCIIIIIIIIIIIAAAAAAAAAAALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL

Comaparing smith and wilson isnt that hard browny. I know who i would rather in my team, bottom line. And it aint your mate wuffy. Stats arent all you can go on, , courage, loyalty & playing for your teammates and the way it affects their game comes into it also. Respect of teammates would have Wilson in front i imagine. Fair call with callinan, beams and hall, absolute guns.
If you are going on any stats you failed to mention wilsons b&fs were in premiership years i believe.

Comaparing smith and wilson isnt that hard browny. I know who i would rather in my team, bottom line. And it aint your mate wuffy. Stats arent all you can go on, , courage, loyalty & playing for your teammates and the way it affects their game comes into it also. Respect of teammates would have Wilson in front i imagine. Fair call with callinan, beams and hall, absolute guns.
If you are going on any stats you failed to mention wilsons b&fs were in premiership years i believe.

Who you would have in your team is personal preference and everyone is entitiled to their opinion. Your right Wils B&F's were in premiership years, if i had to pick one i couldn't cause i think they were both great in their own right. To say wuffy doesn't have courage mate, your kidding yourself! And loyalty, i believe he stayed at burnie when everyone left in 2005 did he not when horse took over??? As for impact on other players, i don't reckon you have played long enough with him to make that call! Don't go on other people's assumptions, make your own! As for you Kicktospace, i know who you are champ! You keep driving around in your big Red troopy being a woody wanttobe!

Darwin Football Association - Part 4