heartbroken

Mar 1, 2004
It seems as though other clubs rate him.

What are peoples thoughts about a straight swap Rodan for McGough - McGough seems to get the ball more than ROdan.

Alternatively what about Rodan for Hamish McIntosh - hasnt played a senior game yet but at his size, he has the physical attributes to dominate for years to come.

Yeah, I'd take either of those deals, although I wouldn't be disappointed to see him stay, I think he'd be another who could thrive under a new coach.

if the price is right.... would like to see what tw can do with him, but he along with at least a dozen others would be shopped around i reckon

Put Rodan on the juice now until Xmas,then watch him go. :eek:

Maybe Wally wants him to be the new Libba.

heartbroken said:

What are peoples thoughts about a straight swap Rodan for McGough - McGough seems to get the ball more than ROdan.

Alternatively what about Rodan for Hamish McIntosh - hasnt played a senior game yet but at his size, he has the physical attributes to dominate for years to come.
McGOUGH can't kick over a Jam Tin. He would be an ideal replacement for Dunc. :D

me thinks now with krakouer resigning and looks like us getting tamblnig in the draft we might offload rodan.

heartbroken said:

I would suspect that Collingwood are saying... It appears people rate McGough. Maybe we should offload him and see what we get!

I would not trade for McGough. Overated and underskilled. Can't kick and is too slow. Is able to get the ball though!

If we could trade Rodan for a key defender, then I would take it.

Also, it may be worth while seeing how Rodan goes under a real coach. Maybe we are being a little to hasty! Wallace has had tremendous success before with little, stumpy legged fellows who people say weren't good enough and who had won Morrish medals! :eek:

Rodan finished a lot better towards the end of the year, I agree with CJH, lets see if Terry can do something with him this season.

heartbroken said:
Biddiscombe
Houlihan
King
Fletcher
Marsh
etc. etc
McGough

Enoughs enough of these castaways.

No McGough... the kid wins an anzac day medal and thinks that has pushed him into the elite echelon of football players... No McGough I say.

Crumden said:
Biddiscombe
Houlihan
King
Fletcher
Marsh
etc. etc
McGough

Enoughs enough of these castaways.

Unfortunately the castaways are always going to exist. I was speaking to GM at a sportsmans night recently and its purely financial reasons for any club to draft these players with late picks etc. A young Kid taken out of the draft can cost upto $150,000 over two years by the time you include their relocation costs, transfer fees etc, base payments etc. So if a club no longer thinks the players that remain left in the draft are a chance of making it at league level they "gamble" on a discard that they can get for base player payments and very little other fees. They then use the rookie system for their "youth" gambles , ala Moore and Tivendale.

A dud for a dud is what we'll get for trading Rodan. Makes no difference.

The issue with players like Rodan is whether they should be delisted, not what can we get for him.

So this is the tale of our castaways,
they're here for a long, long time.
They'll have to make the best of things, it's an uphill climb.
The first mate and the skipper too, will do their very best,
to make the others comfortable, in their tropic island nest.
No Phone! No Boat! No Motorcar Not a single luxury.
Like Robinson Crusoe As primitive as can be.
So join us here each week my friends,
you're sure to get a smile,
from seven stranded castaways, Here on Wallace's Isle!.

Rodan has no footy smarts and gets caught with the ball.

He does not have clean hands and constantly fumbles the ball, tapping it along in front of himself till he gets knocked aside.

He is not slick by hand or foot, constantly misses players on the lead, and is one sided to boot.

and also for those that compare him to Libba,

He is placid as a church mouse. He cannot make a tackle stick and has no defensive side to his game (which was Libbas biggest strength).

That's a fair bit that Wallace has to turn around.

Is it worth it?

I was a big fan and used to think so, but a player of his stature must have clean hands and this is something that comes naturally. At U18 level he could get away with tapping the ball along in front of himself, probably assisted him in winning votes and catching the eye, however there is no time for it at AFL level.

IMO trade him for anything we can get.

A bit harsh 'One Eyed Tiger', but you're more than entitled to opinion. He's explosive and nimble around the packs, and showed promise towards the end of the season, I reckon we should give the following players one more chance (one more season) to get their game on track under a new coach;

Pettifer (im not expecting anything)
Rodan
Fiora
Fleming

Colonel Matrix said:
I reckon we should give the following players one more chance (one more season) to get their game on track under a new coach;

Pettifer (im not expecting anything)
Rodan
Fiora
Fleming

I totally concur,

Although if a trade came up for Fiora for Salopek then I would take it.

Totally unrelated, but i'd love to see Phil Matera in a Tigers jumper, i rate him highly, sit him in a pocket at Richmond as that much needed second target in the forward line.

Colonel Matrix said:
Totally unrelated, but i'd love to see Phil Matera in a Tigers jumper, i rate him highly, sit him in a pocket at Richmond as that much needed second target in the forward line.

I totally don't Concur,

Phil Matera is not fit to do up Nathan Brown's shoelaces

David Rodan